|
Last revised: August 2009
Baroque Music History
This guide provides a selective list of basic tools for research into the history of 17th and early 18th-century European music. It should be used in conjunction with the UM Libraries Basic Music Reference Guide. [http://www.lib.umd.edu/guides/music-basic.html] Email librarian Steve Henry (shenry@umd.edu) or call 301-405-9256 for more information.
- Baron, John H. Baroque music: a research and information guide New York: Garland, 1993.
LOCATION: PA LIB REF
CALL NUMBER: ML116.B37 1993
Recommended use [http://music.lib.byu.edu/RefGuide/bibliographies/miscellaneous.html#Baron]
- Gleason, Harold and Warren Becker. Music Literature Outlines, Series II: Music in the Baroque, 3rd ed. Bloomington: Frangipani, 1980.
LOCATION: PA LIB REF
CALL NUMBER: ML194.G55 1980
A capsule view of Baroque music history. Has good general bibliographies.
- Sadie, Julie Anne. Companion to baroque music. New York: Schirmer Books, 1991.
LOCATION: PA LIB REF
CALL NUMBER: ML193.C56 1991
A classified guide/dictionary of baroque music. Includes entries on people, places, genres, forms, and performance practice.
- Silbiger, Alexander. Italian manuscript sources of 17th century keyboard music. Ann Arbor: UMI, 1980.
LOCATION: PA LIB REF
CALL NUMBER: ML128.H35S5
- Weaver, Robert L., and Norma W. Weaver. A chronology of music in the Florentine theater, 1590-1750; operas, prologues, finales, intermezzos, and plays with incidental music. Detroit: Information Coordinators, 1978.
LOCATION: PA LIB REF
CALL NUMBER: ML1733.8.F6W4
return to top
Bach
- Ambrose, Z. P. J. S. Bach: Texts of the Complete Vocal Works with English Translation and Commentary [http://www.uvm.edu/~classics/faculty/bach/]
- Bach-Archiv Leipzig Website. [http://www.bach-leipzig.de/]
Descriptions in English of "the world’s pre-eminent centre of Bach scholarship."
- Boyd, Malcolm, ed. J. S. Bach. New York: Oxford University Press, 1999. (Oxford composer companions)
LOCATION: PA LIB REF
CALL NUMBER: ML410.B1J15 1999
An alphabetically arranged dictionary of people, places, titles, and things relating to Johann Sebastian Bach.
- Herz, Gerhard. Bach sources in America. New York: Barenreiter, 1984.
LOCATION: PA LIB REF
CALL NUMBER: ML134.B1H5 1984
Provides an overview of the many Bach manuscripts held by American libraries.
- Kenney, Sylvia W. Catalog of the Emilie and Karl Riemenschneider Memorial Bach Library. New York: Columbia Univ. Press, 1960 + suppls.
LOCATION: PA LIB REF
CALL NUMBER: ML134.B1B3
- Melamed, Daniel R., and Michael Marissen. An introduction to Bach studies. New York: Oxford University Press, 1998.
LOCATION: PA LIB STKS
CALL NUMBER: ML134.B1M45 1998
A clear, concise bibliographic guide to literature about "the supreme lawgiver of music" (according to Nicolas Slonimsky), Johann Sebastian Bach.
Charpentier
Frescobaldi
- Hammond, Frederick. Girolamo Frescobaldi: a guide to research. New York: Garland, 1988.
LOCATION: PA LIB REF
CALL NUMBER: ML410.F85H37 1988
Handel
- Burrows, Donald, and Martha J. Ronish. A catalogue of Handel's musical autographs. Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1994.
LOCATION: PA LIB REF
CALL NUMBER: ML134.H16B9 1994
- George Frideric Handel home page [http://gfhandel.org/]
GFHandel.org site created and maintained by Handel scholars Brad Leissa and David Vickers. Click on 'Handel on the Web' for more links.
- Handel collections and their history, edited by Terence Best; foreword by Brian Trowell. New York: Oxford University Press, 1993.
LOCATION: PA LIB REF
CALL NUMBER: ML410.H13 H259 1993
Papers of a conference organized by the Handel Institute and held at King's College, London, Nov. 24-26, 1990.
- Jacob Coopersmith Collection of Handeliana [http://www.lib.umd.edu/PAL/coopersmith.html] at the Michelle Smith Performing Arts Library. Contact the Curator for access.
-
Parker-Hale, Mary Ann. G. F. Handel: a guide to research. 2ne ed. New York: Routledge, 2005.
LOCATION: PA LIB REF
CALL NUMBER: ML134.H16P37 2005
Table of Contents
- Smith, William C. Handel: a descriptive catalogue of the early editions. London: Cassell, 1960.
LOCATION: PA LIB REF
CALL NUMBER: ML134.H16S6
return to top
Lully
Monteverdi
- Adams, K. Gary, and Dyke Kiel. Claudio Monteverdi: a guide to research. New York: Garland, 1989.
LOCATION: PA LIB REF
CALL NUMBER: ML134.M66A5 1989
Purcell
- Zimmerman, Franklin B. Henry Purcell: a guide to research. New York: Garland, 1989.
LOCATION: PA LIB REF
CALL NUMBER: ML134.P95Z55 1989
Rameau
- Foster, Donald. Jean-Philippe Rameau: a guide to research. New York: Garland, 1989.
LOCATION: PA LIB REF
CALL NUMBER: ML134.R14F7 1989
Scarlatti
- Vidali, Carole F. Alessandro and Domenico Scarlatti: a guide to research. New York: Garland, 1993.
LOCATION: PA LIB REF
CALL NUMBER: ML134.S218 V5 1993
Schütz
- Skei, Allen B. Heinrich Schütz: a guide to research. New York: Garland, 1981.
LOCATION: PA LIB REF
CALL NUMBER: ML134.S412S5
Vivaldi
- Talbot, Michael. Antonio Vivaldi: a guide to research. New York: Garland, 1988.
LOCATION: PA LIB REF
CALL NUMBER: ML134.V7T34 1988
return to top
- Bouissou, Sylvie. Jean-Philippe Rameau, catalogue thématique des uvres musicales Paris: CNRS éditions: Bibliothèque nationale de France, c2003-
LOCATION: PA LIB REF
CALL NUMBER: ML134.R14B68 2003
Appearing over time; volume two in library.
- Duckles, Vincent and Minnie Elmer. Thematic catalog of a mss collection of 18th century Italian instrumental Music.... Berkeley: Univ. of California Press, 1963.
LOCATION: PA LIB REF
CALL NUMBER: ML128.I65C3
Catalogs 990 manuscripts by 82 composers from Padua.
- Fanna, Antonio. Antonio Vivaldi: catalogo numerico-tematico delle opere strumentali. Milan: Ricordi, 1968.
LOCATION: PA LIB REF
CALL NUMBER: ML134.V82I8
- Gustafson, Bruce. French harpsichord music of the 17th century: a thematic catalog of the sources with commentary . Ann Arbor: UMI, 1979. 3 vols.
LOCATION: PA LIB REF
CALL NUMBER: ML128.H35G9 1979
- Gustafson, Bruce and David Fuller. A catalogue of French harpsichord music: 1699-1780 . New York: Oxford, 1990.
LOCATION: PA LIB REF
CALL NUMBER: ML128.H35G75 1990
- Händel-Handbuch in 4 Bd., gleichzeitig Suppl. zu Hallische Haendel-Ausgabe. Kassel: Barenreiter, 1978-.
LOCATION: PA LIB REF
CALL NUMBER: ML134.H16H26 vols. 1-4
The standard thematic catalog for Handel's works.
- Hitchcock, H. Wiley (Hugh Wiley). Les oeuvres de Marc-Antoine Charpentier: catalogue raisonné = The works of Marc-Antoine Charpentier. Paris: Picard, 1982.
LACATION: PA LIB REF
CALL NUMBER: ML134.C426H6 1982
- Longo, Alessandro. D. Scarlatti: indice tematico delle sonate per clavicembalo contenute nella raccolta completa = Thematic index of the harpsichord sonatas included in the complete collection. Milano: G. Ricordi, 1952.
- Marx, Hans Joachim. Die Überlieferung der Werke Arcangelo Corellis: Catalogue raisonné . Colgne: Arno Volk Verlag-Hans Gerig, 1980. (Arcangelo Corelli: Historisch-kritische Gesamtausgabe der musikalischen Werke, Supplementband)
LOCATION: PA LIB REF
CALL NUMBER: M3.C812 1970z Suppl.
- Ryom, Peter. Repertoire des oeuvres d'Antonio Vivaldi: Les compositions instrumentales . Copenhagen: Engstrom& Sodring, 1986.
LOCATION: PA LIB REF
CALL NUMBER: ML134.V7A33 1986
The most current (and probably best) of numerous Vivaldi thematic catalogs. A second volume is projected covering Vivaldi's vocal music.
- Schmieder, Wolfgang. Thematisch-systematisches Verzeichnis der musikalischen Werke von Johann Sebastian Bach, 2nd ed. Wiesbaden: Breitkopf & Hartel, 1990.
LOCATION: PA LIB REF
CALL NUMBER: ML134.B1S3 1990
Thematic catalog outlining the Bach-Werke-Verzeichnis (BWV) cataloging system. Indexes Bach complete editions, provides information on sources and editions and bibliographies. Ray Reeder's Bach English-title index, PA LIB REF ML134.B1R43 1993, is keyed to this index.
BWV online [http://www.bachcentral.com/BachCentral/BWV/index.html]
- Schneider, Herbert. Chronologisch-thematisches Verzeichnis sämtlicher Werke von Jean-Baptist Lully (LWV). Tutzing: Hans Schneider, 1981. (Mainzer Studien zur Musikwissenschaft, Bd. 14)
LOCATION: PA LIB REF
CALL NUMBER: ML134.L956S358 Folio
- Schulze, Hans-Joachim and Christoph Wolff. Bach compendium . Frankfurt: C.F. Peters, 1985-.
LOCATION: PA LIB REF
CALL NUMBER: ML134.B1S38 1985
A multi-volume set divided into three parts providing an overview of all of Bach's works in their authentic versions. Also provides information in sketches, drafts, lost and spurious works.
- Zimmerman, Franklin B. Henry Purcell 1659-1695: an analytical catalogue of his music . London: Macmillan, 1963.
LOCATION: PA LIB REF
CALL NUMBER: ML134.P95Z5
return to top
return to top
|