|
Last revised: August 2009
Behavior, Ecology, Evolution, and Systematics
Scope: This is a selective guide to finding key research material in the related areas of
Ecology, Evolution, and Animal Behavior. Ecology is the study of the structure and function of nature, and how living organisms interact with their environment. Evolution is the process through which current biodiversity has
developed from earlier forms of life. Animal Behavior is the study of an animal's response to its environment. These areas are often studied in conjunction, as behavior is examined from an ecological, evolutionary, and developmental perspective. Resources and organization of this guide are largely based on Using the Biological Literature: A Practical Guide. 3rd. Edition. by Diane Schmidt, Elisabeth B. Davis, and Pamela F. Jacobs., 2002.
Email the subject area specialist at
tharrod@umd.edu for more information.
Click here to learn more about the Behavior, Ecology, Evolution, and Systematics (BEES) program at the University of Maryland at College Park.
To find books about cell and developmental biology in our catalog try searching for the following subject terms: Animal Behavior,
Animal Behavior Mathematical Models, Human Behavior Animal Models, Animal Behavior Evolution, etc.
- Barrows, E.M. Animal Behavior Desk Reference: A Dictionary of Animal Behavior, Ecology, and Evolution
Boca Raton, Fla. : CRC Press, c2001.
Location: UMCP McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
Call Number: QL750 .3 .B37 2001
- Beacham's Guide to the Endangered Species of North America - Beacham, W., Castronova, F.V., & Sessine, S. (eds.)
Detroit : Gale Group, c2001.
Location: UMCP McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
Call Number: QH77.N56 B43 2001
- Beacham's Guide to International Endangered Species - Beacham, W. & Beetz, K.H. (eds.)
Osprey, Fla. : Beacham Pub., 1998-c2001.
Location: UMCP McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
Call Number: QL82 .B435 1998
- Birds of North America
http://bna.birds.cornell.edu
Comprehensive resource on bird life.
- Cambridge Encyclopedia of Human Evolution
http://catalog.umd.edu/docno=001975928
Location: UMCP McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
Call Number: GN281 .C345 1992
- A Dictionary of Ecology - Jones, S. et al. (eds.)
Cambridge [England] ; New York, NY, USA : Cambridge University Press, 1992.
Location: UMCP McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
Call Number: QH540 .4 .C66 1998
- Ecology Basics - Editors of Salem Press (eds.)
Pasadena, Calif. : Salem Press, c2004.
Location: UMCP McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
Call Number: QH540.4 .E39 2004 v.1 and 2
- Encyclopedia of Animal Behavior - Bekoff, M. (ed.)
Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 2004.
Location: UMCP McKeldin Library Reference Stacks Call Number: QL750.3 .E53 2004
- Encyclopedia of Biodiversity - Levin, S.A. (ed.)
San Diego : Academic Press, 2001.
Location: UMCP McKeldin Library Reference Stacks Call Number: QH541.15.B56 E53 2001
- Encyclopedia of Life Sciences
http://www.mrw.interscience.wiley.com/emrw/047001590X/home
General encyclopedia of all biological sciences topics.
- NatureServe: An Online Encyclopedia of Life
http://www.natureserve.orgOnline Resource
(These are ranked by impact factor, also please note that our print coverage of these journals is often not current)
Behavioral Sciences
Ecology
- Bulletin of the American Museum of Natural History
http://catalog.umd.edu/docno=000419216 Print Location: UMCP McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks Call Number: QH1 .A4
- Trends in Ecology and Evolution
http://catalog.umd.edu/docno=001434812 Print Location: UMCP McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks Call Number: QH540 .T732
- Annual Review of Ecology, Evolution, and Systematics
http://catalog.umd.edu/docno=003089806 Print Location: UMCP McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks Call Number: QH541 .A5
- Ecology Letters
http://catalog.umd.edu/docno=002461423 Print Location: UMCP McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks Call Number: QH540 .E316
- Global Change Biology
http://catalog.umd.edu/docno=002216350 Print Location: UMCP McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks Call Number: QC981.8.C5 G633
- Molecular Ecology
http://catalog.umd.edu/docno=001952798 Print Location: UMCP McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks Call Number: QH541.15.M63 M64
- Global Ecology and Biogeography
http://catalog.umd.edu/docno=002517902 Print Location: UMCP McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks Call Number: QH84 .G58
- Ecological Monographs
http://catalog.umd.edu/docno=000479023 Print Location: UMCP McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks Call Number: QH540 .E28
- Frontiers in Ecology and Evolution
(Available Online Only)
- Ecology
http://catalog.umd.edu/docno=000549846 Print Location: UMCP McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks Call Number: QH540 .E3
- Evolution
http://catalog.umd.edu/docno=000479319 Print Location: UMCP McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks Call Number: QH301 .S753
- Conservation Biology
http://catalog.umd.edu/docno=001417065 Print Location: UMCP McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks Call Number: QH75.A1 C665
- American Naturalist
http://catalog.umd.edu/docno=000461178 Print Location: UMCP McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks Call Number: QH1 .A62
- Journal of Biogeography (Online Available With One Year Delay)
http://catalog.umd.edu/docno=000585613 Print Location: UMCP McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks Call Number: QH84 .J6
- Journal of Applied Ecology
http://catalog.umd.edu/docno=000514744 Print Location: UMCP McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks Call Number: S3 .J86
- Journal of Ecology
http://catalog.umd.edu/docno=000510711 Print Location: UMCP McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks Call Number: QH540 .J6
- Wildlife Monographs
http://catalog.umd.edu/docno=000489686 Print Location: UMCP McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks Call Number: QL1 .W54
- Journal of Animal Ecology
http://catalog.umd.edu/docno=000516632 Print Location: UMCP McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks Call Number: QL750 .J65
- Ecography
http://catalog.umd.edu/docno=001961852 Print Location: UMCP McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks Call Number: QH540 .H61
- Functional Ecology
http://catalog.umd.edu/docno=001525359 Print Location: UMCP Off-Site Shelving Call Number: QH540 .F85
Evolutionary Sciences
- Trends in Ecology and Evolution
http://catalog.umd.edu/docno=001434812 Print Location: UMCP McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks Call Number: QH540 .T732
- Annual Review of Ecology, Evolution, and Systematics
http://catalog.umd.edu/docno=003089806 Print Location: UMCP McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks Call Number: QH541 .A5
- Systematic Biology
http://catalog.umd.edu/docno=001974265 Print Location: UMCP McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks Call Number: QL1 .S91
- Molecular Biology & Evolution
http://catalog.umd.edu/docno=001147044 Print Location: UMCP Chemistry Periodical Stacks Call Number: QH506 .M652
- Molecular Ecology
http://catalog.umd.edu/docno=001952798 Print Location: UMCP McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks Call Number: QH541.15.M63 M64
- Evolution
http://catalog.umd.edu/docno=000479319 Print Location: UMCP McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks Call Number: QH301 .S753
- American Naturalist
http://catalog.umd.edu/docno=000461178 Print Location: UMCP McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks Call Number: QH1 .A62
- BMC Evolutionary Biology
(Available Online Only)
- Molecular Phylogenetics & Evolution
http://catalog.umd.edu/docno=000479319 Print Location: UMCP McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks Call Number: QH367.5 .M56
- Evolution & Development
http://catalog.umd.edu/docno=002443794 Print Location: UMCP McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks Call Number: QH359 .E893
- Journal of Human Evolution
http://catalog.umd.edu/docno=000514976 Print Location: UMCP McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks Call Number: GN281 .J63
- Cladisitics
http://catalog.umd.edu/docno=001245785 Print Location: UMCP McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks Call Number: QH83 .C49
- Journal of Evolutionary Biology
http://catalog.umd.edu/docno=001625888 Print Location: UMCP McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks Call Number: QH359 .J68
- Journal of Experimental Zoology: Part B
http://catalog.umd.edu/docno=002939407 Print Location: UMCP McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks Call Number: QL1 .J87
- Biology Letters
http://catalog.umd.edu/docno=003234005 Print Location: UMCP Chemistry Periodical Stacks Call Number: QH301 .B447
- Paleobiology
http://catalog.umd.edu/docno=000585676 Print Location: UMCP McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks Call Number: QE701 .P17
- Journal of Molecular Evolution
http://catalog.umd.edu/docno=000514991 Print Location: UMCP Chemistry Periodical Stacks Call Number: QH366.A1 J68
- Taxon
http://catalog.umd.edu/docno=000514991 Print Location: UMCP Chemistry Periodical Stacks Call Number: QK1 .T3
- American Journal of Physical Anthropology
http://catalog.umd.edu/docno=000461121 Print Location: UMCP McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks Call Number: GN1 .A55
- Development Genes and Evolution
http://catalog.umd.edu/docno=002312176 Print Location: UMCP McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks Call Number: QL951 .W512
To find articles in research journals, search any of the following databases using keywords
that describe your topic. For example: white-crowned sparrow and song
- Animal Behavior Abstracts
Indexes journal articles, book chapters, conference papers on all aspects of animal behavior.
- BIOSIS Previews
BIOSIS Previews provides the most comprehensive coverage to the literature of
the life sciences. Coverage includes primary research articles in the basic
areas of biology: botany, zoology and microbiology, as well as related fields such
biomedicine, agriculture, pharmacology and ecology
- Ecology Abstracts
Indexes journal articles, book chapters, conference papers in ecology, behavior, and environmental science.
- Plant Science Abstracts
Indexes journal articles, book chapters, conference papers in plant sciences.
- Web of Science (Science Citation Index Expanded)
The Science Citation Index Expanded (SCI) is an important tool for locating research articles.
SCI coverage is multidisciplinary and allows you to see the cited references (bibliography)
of a particular article, number of times an article has been cited and related records.
- Biology Links: Evolution (Harvard)
http://mcb.harvard.edu/BioLinks/Evolution.html
This website contains links to a variety of web-based resources covering the topic of evolution, including; journals, software, organizations, collections, and more
- The Ecology WWW Page
http://www.people.fas.harvard.edu/~brach/Ecology-WWW.html
Contains 100's of links to internet ecology resources
- Links to Systematics and Evolutionary Biology Web Sites (Southern Illinois University)
http://www.plantbiology.siu.edu/faculty/nickrent/SystematicsLinks.html
This resource features many links to many systematics-related websites
- Resources for Ecology, Evolutionary Biology, Systematics, and Conservation Biology
http://darwin.eeb.uconn.edu/links/category.php?id=8
Links covering ecology, evolutionary biology, systematics, and more
- Yahoo Directory (Ecology)
http://dir.yahoo.com/Science/Ecology/
Features links to many Ecology resources available on the open web
- Yahoo Directory (Evolution)
http://dir.yahoo.com/Science/Biology/Evolution/
Features links to many Evolutionary Biology resources available on the open web
|