|
Last revised: August 2007
The Bible, Literature and Literary Criticism
Scope: This guide points to resources which treat the Bible as literature. Email the subject area specialist yluckert@umd.edu or call 301-405-9365 for more information.
Use the subject beginning with... search option to search for books about the Bible, and, in some cases, specific chapters and verses. Examples:
- Bible O T ecclesiastes
- Bible O T judges xix-xi
Types of books may be searched. Examples:
- Bible O T historical books
- Bible O T pentateuch
- Bible O T wisdom literature
- Bible N T gospels
- Bible N T epistles of paul
Also use the word/s anywhere search option for other topics. Examples:
- Bible hermeneutics
- Bible criticism interpretation
- Bible language
- New testament women
To locate additional published books not held in the University of Maryland Libraries search WorldCat.
Following are a number of approaches to the study of the Bible, with selected subject headings
and examples of books.
return to top
For the Bible and literature, KEYWORD searching does not allow distinguishing the subject
headings BIBLE AND LITERATURE, BIBLE AS LITERATURE, and other occurrences of the
words. For BIBLE AS LITERATURE browse call numbers BS535.
- Alter, Robert. The World of Biblical Literature. New York: Basic Books,
1992.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: BS535.A57 1992
Alter has also written The Art of Biblical Narrative (1981) and
The Art of Biblical Poetry (1985).
- A Complete Literary Guide to the Bible. Ed. by Leland Ryken and Tremper Longman III. Grand Rapids, MI: Zondervan, 1993.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: BS535.C56 1993
- Frye, Northrop. The Great Code: The Bible and Literature. San Diego: Harcourt Brace Jovanovich, 1982.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PN56.B5F7 1983
Frye's position has stimulated much discussion.
- Gabel, Jon B, and Charles B. Wheeler. The Bible as Literature: An Introduction.
2nd ed. New York: Oxford University Press, 1990.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: BS535.G25 1990
- Norton, David. A History of the Bible as Literature. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 1993. Vol. 1: From antiquity to 1700. Vol. 2: From 1700 to the present
day.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: BS585.N67 1993
- Fokkelman, J. P. Psalms in form : the Hebrew psalter in its poetic shape Leiden, The Netherlands : Deo Publishing, c2002.
LOCATION: MCK Folio
CALL NUMBER: BS1420 .F65 2002
- Wilder, Amos N. The Bible and the Literary Critic. Minneapolis: Fortress Press,
1991.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: BS535.W55 1991
Wilder's essays show a number of the issues and conflicts concerning the meaning and methods of using literary criticism in relation to the Bible.
return to top
- A Dictionary of Biblical Tradition in English Literature. Ed. by David Lyle Jeffrey.
Grand Rapids, MI: Eerdmans, 1992.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PR149.B5D53 1992
return to top
Search BIBLE FEMINIST CRITICISM for feminist criticism of the Bible. Search BIBLE
FEMINISM for feminism from the standpoint of the Bible.
- Feminist Interpretation of the Bible. Ed. by Letty M. Russell. Philadelphia: Westminster Press, 1985.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: BS680.W7F46
- Searching the Scriptures. By Elisabeth Schussler Fiorenza, with Shelly Matthews. 2 vols. New York: Crossroad, 1993-94.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: BS2379.S43
return to top
Do a KEYWORD Search on BIBLE HERMENEUTICS.
- Gadamer, Hans-Georg. Truth and Method. New York: Seabury Press, 1975.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: BD241.G313
"Perhaps the most influential book in hermeneutical theory in the last quarter century."
(Encyclopedia of Religion, vol. 6, p. 286)
- Efird, James M. How to Interpret the Bible. Atlanta: Knox, 1984.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: BS476.E35
- Tate, W. Randolph. Biblical Interpretation: An Integrated Approach.
Peabody, MA: Hendrickson Pub., 1991.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: BS476.T375
return to top
Search under words such as BIBLE, CRITICISM, INTERPRETATION, HISTORY.
- Grant, Robert M. A Short History of the Interpretation of the Bible. Rev. ed. Philadelphia: Fortress Press, 1984.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: BS500.G7 1984
- Rogerson, John W. Old Testament Criticism in the Nineteenth Century: England and Germany. Minneapolis: Fortress Press, 1995.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: BS1160.R6 1985
- Smalley, Beryl. The Study of the Bible in the Middle Ages. 3rd ed. Oxford: Blackwell, 1983.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: BS500.S5 1983
return to top
Search under terms such as HEBREW, POETRY, BIBLICAL HISTORY, CRITICISM,
NARRATIVE IN THE BIBLE.
- Literary Interpretations of Biblical Narratives. Ed. by Kenneth R.R. Gros Louis, with James S. Ackerman and Thayer S. Warshaw. Nashville: Abingdon Press, 1974.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: BS535.G76 v. 2
- Damrosch, David. The Narrative Covenant: Transformations of Genre in the Growth of Biblical Literature. San Francisco: Harper & Row, 1987.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: BS1171.D26 1987
- The Gospel of John as Literature: An Anthology of Twentieth-Century Perspectives. Selected and introduced by Mark W.G. Stibbe. New York: E.J. Brill, 1993.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: BS2615.2.G65 1993
return to top
Although the literary critic tends to focus on a text-centered approach, the scholar approaching the Bible often finds the need to examine the text in relation to the author, the world, and the
reader. The following sections are intended to open up resources in these directions.
The World of the Author: The Bible, Creativity, and Inspiration
The questions involving inspiration of the authors of the Bible are connected to questions of
poetic inspiration, and theories of poetic mania or madness, going back to Plato. Novalis: "The
poet is literally out of his senses - in exchange, all comes about within him. He is, to the letter, subject and object at the same time, soul and universe." Cited in Creative Intuition in Art and Poetry, by Jacques Maritain (New York: Meridian Books), p.61.
Search under BIBLE INSPIRATION, INSPIRATION IN LITERATURE, CREATIVITY
LITERARY ARTISTIC, or browse under call numbers: BS480, PR508.I.
- Williams, Meg Harris. Inspiration in Milton and Keats. Totowa, NJ: Barnes & Noble, 1982.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PR508.I48W5
The World in Itself: The Truth-Claims of the Bible and the Truth of Literature and the Classics
In addition to general works on criticism and hermeneutics, search under BIBLE EVIDENCES, AUTHORITY (browse call numbers: BS480), CANON (LITERATURE).
- Sternberg, Meir. Poetics of Biblical Narrative: Ideological Literature and the Drama of Reading. Bloomington: Indiana University Press, 1985.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: BS535.S725
See "Fiction and History" (pp. 23-35)
- Bloom, Harold. The Western Canon: The Books and School of the Ages. New
York: Harcourt Brace, 1994.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PN81.B545 1994
- Tracy, David. Plurality and Ambiguity: Hermeneutics, Religion, and Hope. San Francisco: Harper & Row, 1987.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: BR118.T68 1987
return to top
The Bible and the Reader
Search under BOOKS AND READING, READER-RESPONSE CRITICISM, BIBLE USE IN HYMNS, BIBLE ILLUSTRATIONS, PICTURE BIBLES, BIBLE HOMILETICAL USE.
- Alter, Robert. The Pleasures of Reading in an Ideological Age. New York: Simon
and Schuster, 1989.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: Z1003.A567 1989
- Nell, Victor. Lost in a Book: The Psychology of Reading for Pleasure. New Haven:
Yale University Press, 1988.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: Z1003.N426 1988
return to top
Note that texts of the Bible usually have uniform titles, which can be searched by title browse, in
this form: Bible. O.T. Zephaniah. English. Berlin. 1994. The uniform title gives Bible, part of the Bible, language of the text, name of the version, translator, or reviser, and the year of the edition.
- Chamberlin, William J. Catalogue of English Bible Translations: A Classified Bibliography of Versions and Editions Including Books, Parts, and Old and New Testament Apocrypha and Apocryphal Books. New York: Greenwood Press, 1991.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: BS455.C5 1991
Electronic Versions of the Bible
- The
Bible in English (LION)
20 English translations of the Bible (or of portions), from a tenth-century West Saxon translation of the Gospels to The New English Bible (1970). Most are from the 16th and early 17th centuries, including the Geneva Bible (1587), the Rheims Douai Bible (1582, 1610), and the King James Bible (1610).
-
King James Bible (LION)
Full text of the 'Authorized' edition of the Bible (from 1611) Includes all introductory matter, annotations, calendars, genealogies and tables.
- Bar Ilan?s Judaic Library in a class by itself-- : plus Responsa & Encyclopedia TalmuditMonsey, N.Y. : Torah Educational Software, c2003.
LOCATION: UMCP MCK Reference Desk Media Cabinet
CALL NUMBER: BM501 .R47 2003
Beginning with the Bible, the disk includes numerous Bible commentaries - the Mishna, Tosefta, Babylonian and Jerusalem Talmud, halachic and aggadic midrashim, the Rambam, Shulhan Aruch, Mishna Brura - and an incredible variety of responsa (halachic questions and answers) that go back to the great sages of Babylonia in the eighth century CE and continue through the 20th century
- Judaic bookshelf [computer file] : master library = ha-Madaf ha-Torani ha-shalem Monsey, NY : Torah Educational Software, [2002?]
LOCATION: UMCP MCK Reference Desk Media Cabinet
CALL NUMBER: BM495 .J835 2002
Tanach and 24 Bible Commentaries, Talmud Bavli and Commentaries as well as most key Halachic and Aggadic works including the Zohar
-
The Apostles' Bible
A MODERN ENGLISH TRANSLATION OF THE GREEK SEPTUAGINT. Translated by Sir Lancelot C.L. Brenton. REVISED AND EDITED BY PAUL W ESPOSITO
-
BibleGateway.com
"a free service for reading and researching Scripture online--all in the language or translation of your choice."
return to top
Parallel Bible
A parallel Bible provides easy comparison of translations.
- The Complete Parallel Bible: Containing the Old and New Testaments with the
Apocryphal/Deuterocanonical Books. New Revised Standard Version, Revised English
Bible, New American Bible, New Jerusalem Bible. New York: Oxford University Press,
1993.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: BS125.B5 1993
Bible Texts in Greek and Hebrew
- Bible. O.T. Greek. The Septuagint Version of the Old Testament with an English Translation. . . . London: S. Baster, 1900.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: BS742.B74 1900
- Bible. N. T. Greek.. 1966. The Greek New Testament. 3rd ed. New York: United Bible Societies, 1965.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: BS1965 1966a
- Sefer Yeshayahu. The Book of Isaiah. Ed. by Moshe H. Goshen-Gottstein.
Jerusalem: Magnes Press, The Hebrew University, 1995.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: BS1515.2.G63 1995
The first volume of the Hebrew University Bible project. Hebrew and English textual criticism.
- Bible. O.T. Hebrew. 1955. [Torah Nebiʾim Kethubim] The Holy Scriptures according to the Masoretic text Philadelphia, Jewish Publication Society of America, 1955.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: BS715 1955
Do a SERIES browse for Soncino books: SONCINO BOOKS OF THE BIBLE.
- Bible. O.T. Hebrew. Soncino. 1985. Samuel: Hebrew Text & English Translation with an Introduction and Commentary. By S. Goldman. New York: Soncino
Press, 1985.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: BS1151.S65 1985 vol. 3
For Hebrew Bibles, browse under call numbers BS715.
return to top
The canon of the Bible is defined differently over time and by different groups; the Catholic
Bible includes books not in the Protestant Bible, for example. Books outside the canon are called
Apocrypha (14 books of the Septuagint) and pseudepigrapha (spuriously attributed to biblical figures).
Search under APOCRYPHAL BOOKS.
- The Old Testament Pseudepigrapha. Ed. by James E. Charlesworth. 2 vols. Garden
City, N.Y.: Doubleday, 1983- .
LOCATIONS: McKeldin Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: BS1830.A3 1983
- The Apocryphal New Testament: A Collection of Apocryphal Christian Literature in an
English Translation. By J.K. Elliot. Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1993. [revision of M.R James
edition of 1924]
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: BS2832.A2 1993
- The Nag Hammadi Library in English. Translated and introduced by members of
the Coptic Gnostic Library Project of the Institute for Antiquity and Christianity, Claremont,
Calif.; James M. Robinson, general editor. 3rd ed. San Francisco: Harper & Row, 1988.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: BT1391.A3 1988b
- Pritchard, James B. Ancient Near Eastern Texts Relating to the Old Testament. 3rd.
ed. Princeton, NJ: Princeton University Press, 1969.
LOCATIONS: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks, McKeldin Library Folio
CALL NUMBER: BS1180.P83 1969
return to top
For atlases, search under BIBLE GEOGRAPHY MAPS or BIBLE ATLAS.
- The Harper Atlas of the Bible. Ed. by James B. Pritchard. New York: Harper &
Row, 1987.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Government Documents - Atlas
CALL NUMBER: G2230.H47 1987
- The Macmillan Bible Atlas. By Yohanan Aharoni and Michael Avi-Yonah. 3rd ed.
New York: Macmillan, 1993.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks, McKeldin Library Folio
CALL NUMBER: G2230.A2 1993
Search under BIBLE BIBLIOGRAPHY.
Coverage of General Reference Sources
- Danker, Frederick W. Multipurpose Tools for Bible Study. Rev. ed. Minneapolis: Fortress Press, 1993.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: BS511.2.D355 1993
For students; gives advice on the use of the tools.
- Gorman, G.E., and Lyn Gorman. Theological and Religious Reference Materials: General Resources and Biblical Studies. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1984.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks, McKeldin Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: BS511.2.G67 1984
- An Index to English Periodical Literature on the Old Testament and Ancient Near Eastern Studies. Compiled and edited by William G. Hupper. 3 vols. Metuchen, NJ: American Theological Library Association and Scarecrow Press, 1987.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: BS1171.2.H86
"This index includes all English Language articles from over 600 journals. . . indexed completely from the first year of issue (unless otherwise indicated) through 1969/70" (p. xv).
- Metzger, Bruce M., compiler. Index to Periodical Literature on Christ and the
Gospels. Leiden: E. J. Brill, 1966.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: Z7772.M1M4
Literary Approaches
- Gottcent, John H. The Bible as Literature: A Selective Bibliography. Boston: G.K
Hall, 1979.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: BS535.G6
- Minor, Mark. Literary-Critical Approaches to the Bible: An Annotated
Bibliography. West Cornwall, CT: Locust Hill Press, 1992.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: BS511.2.M56 1992
- Minor, Mark. Literary-Critical Approaches to the Bible: A Bibliographical
Supplement. West Cornwall, CT: Locust Hill Press, 1996.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: BS511.2.M56 1992 Suppl.
- Powell, Mark Allan. The Bible and Modern Literary Criticism: A Critical Assessment and Annotated Bibliography. New York: Greenwood Press, 1992.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: BS535.P6 1992
- Watson, Duane F., and Alan J. Hauser. Rhetorical Criticism of the Bible: A
Comprehensive Bibliography with Notes on History and Method. New York: E.J. Brill,
1994.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: BS511.2.W37 1993
The "Notes on history and method" gives a useful overview of the development of the rhetorical
approach.
return to top
There are one-volume and multi-volume commentaries, and commentaries on individual books.
- The New Jerome Biblical Commentary. Ed. by Raymond E. Brown, Joseph A.
Fitzmyer, Roland E. Murphy. Englewood Cliffs, NJ: Prentice-Hall, 1990.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: BS491.2.N485 1990
- The Interpreter's Bible. The Holy Scriptures in the King James and Revised Standard
Versions. . . . New York: Abingdon Press, 1951-1957.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks and McKeldin Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: BS491.2.N484
- The New Interpreter's Bible. A commentary in twelve volumes. Nashville:
Abingdon, 1994-
Gives full text of New International Version and New Revised Standard Version of the Bible.
New volumes being published about every six months.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: BS491.2.I55
- The JPS Torah Commentary. Genesis. The Traditional Hebrew Text with the New JPS Translation. Commentary by Nahum M. Sarna. Philadelphia: Jewish Publication Society,
1989.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: BS1235,3.S325 1989
- Bible. O.T. Hebrew. Aleppo Codex. 1992. Mi?ra?ot gedolot ha-Keter. Ramat-Gan : Universi?at Bar Ilan, [1992-<2000 >]
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Folio
CALL NUMBER: BS715.5 .A43 1992
- Rashi ʻal ha-Torah. Commentary by Rashi. Jerusalem : Ḳiryah neʾemanah, 722 [1961 or 1962]
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: BS1225 .S6 1961
- Perush Rashi le-sefer Tehilim / Rashi?s commentary on PsalmsLeiden ; Boston : Brill, 2004.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: BS1429 .R3713 2003
- The Schocken Bible. 1995- .
This new translation and commentary series began with the following work:
- The Five Books of Moses: Genesis, Exodus, Leviticus, Numbers, Deuteronomy. A
new translation with introductions, commentary, and notes, by Everett Fox. New York: Schocken
Books, 1995.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: BS1223.A3F68 1995
- Bible. English. 1964. Anchor Bible. Garden City, NY: Doubleday, 1964- .
LOCATIONS: McKeldin Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: BS192.2.A1 1964 (Some volumes are cataloged individually. To locate call
numbers of individual volumes do a keyword search using the name of the book and the words
"anchor" and "bible" EX: anchor bible matthew)
- Zohar / Sefer ha-Zohar ʻal ḥamishah ḥumshe Torah Cordovero, Moses ben Jacob, 1522-1570. Yerushalayim : Ḳalman Bain, [2004 or 2005-].
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Folio
CALL NUMBER: BM525 .A5 2004
return to top
A concordance will help locate specific words in context in the text of the Bible. Search under
BIBLE CONCORDANCES ENGLISH.
- Hatch, Edwin, 1835-1889. A concordance to the Septuagint and the other Greek versions of the Old Testament (including the Apocryphal books) Grand Rapids, Mich. : Baker Books, c1998.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: BS1122 .H3 1998
- Kohlenberger, John R., III. The NRSV Concordance Unabridged. Grand Rapids,
MI: Zondervan, 1991.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: BS425.K645 1991
English only; includes topical index.
- Strong, James. The Exhaustive Concordance of the Bible. New York: Abingdon
Press, 1890[1970].
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Folio
CALL NUMBER: BS425.S8 1970
- Modern Concordance to the New Testament. Ed. by Michael Darton. Garden City,
NY: Doubleday, 1976.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: BS2305.M6 1976b
Arrangement based on the Greek words.
- Taylor, Bernard A. The Analytical Lexicon to the Septuagint: A Complete Parsing
Guide. Grand Rapids, MI: Zondervan, 1994.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: BS744.T38 1994
A lexicon of the Greek words of the Septuagint, using the programs of the Computer Assisted
Tools for Septuagint Studies (CATSS), based on the Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG) project.
For works similar to concordances search under BIBLE INDEXES.
- Day, A. Colin. Roget's Thesaurus of the Bible. San Francisco:
HarperSanFrancisco, 1992.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: BS432.D38 1992
return to top
Search under BIBLE DICTIONARIES.
- The Anchor Bible Dictionary. 6 vols. New York: Doubleday, 1992.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: BS440.A54 1992
- Botterweck, G. Johannes, and Helmer Ringgren. Theological Dictionary of the Old Testament. Rev. ed. 4 vols. Grand Rapids, MI: Eerdmans. 1974.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: BS440.B5713
- Avneyon, Eitan. Milon ha-entsiḳlopedi shel ha-Miḳra [Tel Aviv] : Etav-bet hotsaʾah le-or, 2003, c1998.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: BS440 .M53 2003
- Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory Groden, Michael and Martin Kreisworth,
editors.
Essays defining literary terms and explaining literary theories, periods, movements. Biographical information about writers, literary theorists and cultural critics.
- Kittel, Gerhard. Theological Dictionary of the New Testament. Trans. and ed. by
G. W. Bromley. 9 vols. Grand Rapids, MI: Eerdmans, 1964.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PA881.K513
- Neusner, Jacob, ed. Dictionary of Judaism in the Biblical Period: 450 B.C.E. to 600
C.E. 2 vols. New York: Macmillan, 1996.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: BM50.D525 1996
- Van der Toorn, Karel, Bob Becking, and Pieter w. van der Horst, eds. Dictionary of Deities and Demons on the Bible (DDD). New York: E.J. Brill, 1995.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: BS680.G57D53 1995
return to top
- Encyclopedia Judaica. Jerusalem: Encyclopedia Judaica, 1972 (and supplements).
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks and McKeldin Library Reference Desk Media Cabinet (CD-ROM)
CALL NUMBER: DS102.8.E5
- The Encyclopedia of Religion. New York: Macmillan, 1987.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: BL31.E46 1987
Note articles on Biblical Exegesis, Biblical Literature, Hermeneutics, etc.
- Entsiklopediyah mikra?it : otsar ha-yedi?ut al mikra ve-tikufato. . Yerushalayim : Mosad Bialik, 1950-.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: BS440 .E5
Note articles on Biblical Exegesis, Biblical Literature, Hermeneutics, etc.
- Jewish Encylopedia . (http://www.jewishencyclopedia.com/index.jsp )
This website contains the complete contents of the 12-volume Jewish Encyclopedia, which was originally published between 1901-1906. The Jewish Encyclopedia, which recently became part of the public domain, contains over 15,000 articles and illustrations. This online version contains the unedited contents of the original encyclopedia.
- New Catholic Encyclopedia. New York: McGraw-Hill, 1967 (and supplements).
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: BX841.N4
return to top
Search under BIBLE HANDBOOKS, BIBLE INTRODUCTIONS, BIBLE CRITICISM, BIBLE
CHRONOLOGY, and other headings.
- The Books of the Bible. Ed. by Bernhard W. Anderson. 2 vols. New York:
Charles Scribner's Sons, 1989.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: BS540.B62 1989
- Metzger, Bruce M., and Michael David Coogan. The Oxford Companion to the
Bible. New York: Oxford University Press, 1993.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: BS440.M434 1993
- The Cambridge History of the Bible. Ed. by P.R. Ackroyd and others. 3 vols.
Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 1963-1970.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: BS445.C26
- Finegan, Jack. Handbook of Biblical Chronology. Princeton, NJ: Princeton
University Press, 1964.
LOCATIONS: McKeldin Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: BS637.2.F5
return to top
Bible Studies -- Comprehensive Serial Bibliographies
- Bibliographie Biblique . . . Quebec: Presses do l'Universite Laval, 1972- .
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: BS410.B5
Latest edition in McKeldin covers 1930 to 1983.
- Elenchus of Biblica. 1988- .
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: Z7770.E63
The most complete international coverage of the biblical literature.
Classical Studies -- Comprehensive Annual Bibliographies
- Database of Classical Bibliography.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Desk Media Cabinet
CALL NUMBER: PA1 .D32
"Contains citations of all known scholarly work published in any language anywhere in the world
concerning the areas of ancient Greek and Latin language and linguistics, Greek and Roman
history, literature, philosophy, numismatics, papyrology and epigraphy, and concerning the time
period from the second millennium B.C. to roughly 500-800 A.D. Based primarily upon:
L'Annee Philologique."
-
L'Année Philologique
Index to journal articles, books, articles in collections, and conference papers on multiple aspects of ancient Greek and Roman civilization.
Feminist Studies -- Indexes
-
GenderWatch.
Full text database primarily of the many ongoing periodicals that deal with gender issues, including academic and scholarly journals, regional publications, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, booklets and reports.
-
Womens Studies International.
Anthology of 10 files. Provides indexes and abstracts for over 2,000 periodical sources plus books, book chapters, nonprint materials, proceedings, reports, theses, websites, web documents and grey literature.
Modern Literatures and Literary Criticism -- Index
- MLA
International Bibliography of Books and Articles on the Modern Languages and Literature
Indexes journals, books, essay collections, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies published worldwide in the areas of literary criticism, language, linguistics, rhetoric, and folklore of all countries.
Note that it is possible to search for "scholarly approaches" by combining the word APPROACH with a designation such as COGNITIVE, COMPARATIVE, DECONSTRUCTIONIST, DIACHRONIC, FEMINIST, HISTORICAL, LINGUISTIC, MARXIST, PEDAGOGICAL, PHILOSOPHICAL, POSTSTRUCTURALIST, PSYCHOLINGUISTIC, SEMIOTIC, SOCIOLINGUISTIC, etc.
Philosophy -- Index
-
Philosophers Index.
Indexes and abstracts 480 plus journals, books, and anthologies published since 1940 in the subject area of philosophy.
Recent Periodical Literature -- Index
Religious and Biblical Studies -- Indexes
-
ATLA Religion Index
Provides abstracts and indexing for articles, essays, and book reviews in over 1550 journals and multi-author works dealing with religious and theological scholarship. International in scope and language coverage. Covers all types of religions.
In addition to keyword searching, there is available searching by Bible/biblical subject headings and scripture citations.
- RAMBI (Reshimat Ma'amarim
Be'mada'e Ha-yahadut) OR Index of Articles on Jewish Studies
1967- .
Print version: RAMBI (Reshimat Ma'amarim Be'mada'e Ha-yahadut) OR Index of Articles on Jewish Studies
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: Z6366.I4
"RAMBI is a selective bibliography of articles in the various fields of Jewish studies and in the
study of Eretz Israel. Material listed in Rambi is compiled from thousands of periodicals and from
collections of articles - in Hebrew, Yiddish, and European languages- mainly from the holdings of
the Jewish National and University Library, a world center for research on the Jewish people and
Eretz Israel."
- Catholic Periodical and Literature Index. quarterly. 1930- .
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: AI3.C321
International coverage, over 130 titles. Subject, author and editor, book title, and book review
indexes. (Titles covered are not also indexed in Religion Index One.)
- Index to Jewish Periodicals. semi-annual. 1963- .
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks (1964-1985)
CALL NUMBER: Z6367.I5
Index to English-language Jewish general periodicals and scholarly journals. Author and subject indexing, with book reviews listed separately.
- Old Testament Abstracts. triannual. 1978- .
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: BS410.042
Periodical articles and book notices listed separately, arranged by subject, with indexes of
authors, scripture, Semitic words. International in coverage.
- Religion Index One: Periodicals. semi-annual. 1949- .
1977-[1995].
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Stacks (Humanities Alcove)
CALL NUMBER: Z7553.A51
From American Theological Library Association. Subject index, with author/editor index and
scripture index. Indexes over 500 international periodicals.
- Religion Index Two: Multi-Author Works. annual. 1960-[1995].
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Stacks (Humanities Alcove)
CALL NUMBER: Z7753.A52
Indexes essays in western languages from collected works, festschriften, conference proceedings,
and reprints. Subject, author/editor, scripture indexes. See also ATLA Religion Database on
CD-ROM.
- Religious and Theological Abstracts. quarterly. 1958- .
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: BR1.R286
Indexes and abstracts articles from about 400 international periodicals. Abstracts are classified
into biblical, theological, historical, and practical. Subject, author, scripture indexes.
Indexes Not Available at UM
- Christian Periodical Index. 1956- .
- New Testament Abstracts. 1956- .
return to top
Web Sites for Resources on the Study of the Ancient World
|