|
Last revised: [October, 2006]
Biographical Information Sources
Scope: This bibliography of biographical sources
provides an annotated listing of important and representational titles of general and
comprehensive biographical sources available through the McKeldin Library at the
University of Maryland. It is not intended to be a complete list of biographical
reference sources. Email the subject area specialist at rgarber@umd.edu or call 301-405-9281 for
more information.
Before using this source to find
information determine: 1) possible name variations, 2) type of information you need,
i.e. short vital statistics, an article, or monograph, 3) if the person is living or dead, 4)
gender, 5) ethnic affiliation, 6) profession, subject or topic area. This information will
help determine which source is best to use.
Table of Contents
Search the UM Libraries online catalog for full length biographies and other materials. Do a
SUBJECT WORD/S search (first and last names) to find an
individual, OR to search for an occupation, a time period, a
geographical area, etc. Add the word "biography" to the search.
EXAMPLES:
- billie holiday
- russian literature biography
- physicists biography
- france 18th biography
return to top
- Pseudonyms and Nicknames Dictionary. 1986.
LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS
CALL NUMBER: CT108.P7
An alphabetical listing of over 55,000 pseudonyms and nicknames from all periods of
history and worldwide. Includes birth and death information, nationality, and
reference to original name.
return to top
Indexes provide pointers to other sources and are an excellent place to start searching
for biographical information.
- Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe.
(Click on Reference resources, then Biographical Information.)
LOCATION: NETWRK WWW
An index that provides full-text articles and entries from current newspapers, magazines and
biographical directories.
- Biography and
Genealogy Master Index. annual. 1980- . Cumulations at five-year
intervals.
LOCATIONS: Electronic version: NETWRK WWW; Print version: MCK PERIODICAL STACKS
CALL NUMBER: CT210.B5
Comprehensive index of current and retrospective entries for over six million biographical
sources. Indexed sources include biographical dictionaries, who's who's, and subject
encyclopedias.
- Contemporary Authors: Cumulative Index. annual.
LOCATIONS: Electronic version (entitled Literature
Resource Center):
NETWRK WWW; Print version: MCKREF STACKS
CALL NUMBER: Z1224.C63 index
Index to the entire Contemporary Authors Series, Dictionary of Literary
Biography series, Major 20th Century Writers, Something About the Author, Authors
in the News, and others. See introduction for complete list.
- The New York Times Obituaries Index, 1858-1968. New
York: New York Times, 1970.
LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS
CALL NUMBER: CT213.N47
Contains references to over 353,000 names of individuals.
- The New York Times Obituaries Index II, 1969-1978.
New York: New York Times, 1980.
LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS
CALL NUMBER: CT213.N47
References to over 36,000 names of individuals. Contains reprints of 50 notable
persons.
- In Black and White: a Guide to Magazine
Articles, Newspaper articles, and books concerning more than 15,000 Black
Individuals and Groups. edited by Mary Mace Spradling.
3d ed. Detroit, Mich.: Gale Research Co., 1980.
LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS
CALL NUMBER: E185.96.S76
Contains bibliographic references to over 15,000 individuals and groups, worldwide,
from newspapers, magazines, books, pamphlets, and historical collections. Includes
index to occupations.
return to top
- Biography
Index. quarterly. 1946- .
LOCATIONS: Electronic version: NETWRK WWW; Print version: MCKREF STACKS (1946-1988) MCK PERIODICAL STACKS (1988-1998)
CALL NUMBER: Z5301.B5
Indexes biographical information found in periodicals, current books of individuals,
collective biographies, obituaries, book reviews, and others. Includes index to
occupations and professions.
- Names in the News [microform]. Stamford,
CT: Newsbank, Inc.
monthly. 1982-1998.
LOCATION: MCKPER MFICHE
CALL NUMBER: CT210.N3
Reprints biographical information from over 450 U.S. newspapers.
Names in the News [index].1982-1997.
LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS
CALL NUMBER: CT210.N3
- New York Times Index. N. Y.: New York Times Co.
1851- .
LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS
CALL NUMBER: AI21.N44
- Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature. N.Y.:
H.W.Wilson, 1900- .
LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS
CALL NUMBER: AI3.R48
- Uncover/ingenta. 1989- .
- LOCATION: Electronic version: NETWRK WWW
Uncover is an
interdisciplinary index of articles in over 26,000 journals from 1989
to the present.
return to top
- Biographical Books, 1950-1980. New York: R R. Bowker,
1980.
LOCATION: MCK FOLIO and EPSL REFERENCE
CALL NUMBER: CT104.R2
Includes listing of biographies, autobiographies, collective biographies, letters, and
diaries. Indexes include name/subject, vocation, title/author.
return to top
These sources list other biographical reference sources and provide pointers to other
biographical sources more specific than included in this bibliography.
- ARBA Guide to Biographical Dictionaries. Edited by
Bohdan S. Wynar. Littleton, Colo.: Libraries Unlimited, 1986.
LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS
CALL NUMBER: CT103.A725 1986
Use to find biographical sources by subject area or
topic.
- Biographical Sources: a Guide to
Dictionaries and Reference Works. by Diane J. Graves et.al. Phoenix, AZ: Oryx Press, 1986.
LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS
CALL NUMBER: CT104.C44 1986
Use to find biographical sources by subject area or
topic.
- Guide to Reference Books. Edited by Robert Balay.
Chicago: American Library Association, 1996.
LOCATION: MCKREF QCKREF
CALL NUMBER: Z1035.1.G89 1996
Use to find biographical sources by location or
country.
return to top
These sources list basic facts about individuals. Many include address information.
Information included in these sources is often provided by the subject.
Electronic Sources
- Britannica Online.
LOCATION: at Library Homepage/Online Reference Shelf/Encyclopedias
Includes more than 23,000 full-text biographies from the current Encyclopedia Britannica.
Selected General Biographical Sources
- The International Who's Who. biennial. 1937-.
LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS (latest edition), MCK PERIODICAL STACKS
(1937, 1945, 1948, 1950, 1954-)
CALL NUMBER: CT120.I5
Entries include: name, occupation, vital statistics, parents, marriage, children,
education, professional certifications, career, writings and creative works, civic and
political activities, military, awards and fellowships, professional and association
memberships, political affiliation, religion, clubs, lodges, avocations, home and office
address.
- Who's Who. London: A. and C. Black, 1849-.
LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS (latest edition), MCK PERIODICAL STACKS
(1895, 1914, 1916, 1923-24, 1926-27, 1929-)
CALL NUMBER: DA28.W6
- Who Was Who in America. updated on a four-year cycle.
1897-.
LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS (v.2-1943/1950-).
CALL NUMBER: E663.W54
- Who's Who in America. biennial. 1899-.
LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS (latest edition), MCK PERIODICALS ROOM
(microfilm for 1899-1955), MCK PERIODICAL STACKS (1956-)
CALL NUMBER: E663.W5612
- Who's Who in American Education. biennial. 1994/1995.
LOCATION: MCK PERIODICAL STACKS
CALL NUMBER: LA2311.W44
- Who's Who in the World. biennial. 1971/1972-.
LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS (latest edition), MCK PERIODICAL STACKS
(1971-1985, 1987-)
CALL NUMBER: CT120.W5
- Who's Who Among African Americans.
New York: Detroit, MI: Gale Research Inc. 1996-.
LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS
CALL NUMBER: E185.96.W42 1996-1997
- Who's Who Among Asian Americans.
Detroit, MI: Gale Research Inc. 1994/1995
LOCATION: MCK PERIODICAL STACKS
CALL NUMBER: E184.O6W47
- Who's Who of American Women. biennial. 1970/71-.
LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS (latest edition), MCK PERIODICAL STACKS
(1970-)
CALL NUMBER: CT3260.W5
Other General Biographical Sources
These sources include directory information as well as article/essay descriptions of the
individual. Many include references to other sources of information. Information
contained in these sources is often written by an objective biographer. Sources that
are retrospective (only deceased individuals are included) are noted in the annotation.
- The Almanac of Famous People. updated on a five-year
cycle. 1989-.
LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS
CALL NUMBER: CT100.B551
Volume I provides short alphabetical listings of historical and contemporary people.
Includes name variations, occupation/career, one-line description, date and place of
birth and death, and biographical reference sources for additional information.
Volume 2 includes two chronological indexes arranged by month and day and by year.
- The Biography Book. By Daniel S. Burt.
Westport, CT:Oryx press, 2001.
LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS
CALL NUMBER:CT 104.B87
A reader's guide to nonfiction, fictional and film biographies of
more then 500 of the most fascinating individuals of all time.
- Current Biography. monthly/annual. 1940-.
LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS
CALL NUMBER: CT100.C8
Objective biographies of prominent individuals from national and international
affairs, the sciences, the arts, sports, business, and industry. Includes photographs and
index of individuals by profession and occupation.
- Dictionary of World Biography. Chicago:Fitzroy
Dearborn, 1998-1999.
LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS
CALL NUMBER: CT104.D54
A nine volume biographical dictionary of individuals from the
Ancient World through the 20th Century. These volumes are a revision and reordering of the Great Lives from History series.
- Encyclopedia of World Biography. Detroit: Gale, 1998.
LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS
CALL NUMBER: CT103.E56
- New York Times Biographical Service. monthly.
1979-2001.
LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS
CALL NUMBER: CT120.N45
Retrospective. Reproductions of major biographical articles (both obituary and news-oriented)
which have appeared in the New York Times. Use the index
in the latest edition to locate an individual.
- Webster's Biographical Dictionary. Springfield, MA: G and C. Merriam Co. 1976.
CALL NUMBER: MCK STACKS
LOCATIONS: CT103.W4 1976
Selected Professional or Occupational Biographical Dictionaries
- American Men & Women of Science. Detroit, Thomson Gale, 2005.
LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS
CALL NUMBER: Q141.A471
Provides basic biographical data on engineers and scientists. Includes birth dates and places, field of specialty, education, honorary degrees, current position, professional and current experience, awards, memberships, research information, addresses. Some
entries include e-mail address.
- Contemporary Authors. bimonthly. 1962-.
LOCATIONS: Electronic version (entitled Literature
Resource Center):
NETWRK WWW; Print version: MCKREF STACKS
CALL NUMBER: Z1224.C6
Information on over 100,000 writers of fiction, nonfiction, poetry, and drama
published by commercial and risk publishers and university presses. Includes non-English writers
if their works were published in the United States or translated into English. Also contains
prominent print and broadcast journalists and early twentieth century literary greats. Use the
Cumulative Index to determine which volume contains information.
- Contemporary Authors: Cumulative Index. annual.
- CALL NUMBER Z1224.C index
- Contemporary Authors: original volumes 1- 147.
- CALL NUMBER: Z1224.C6
- Contemporary Authors: New Revision Series.
bimonthly.
- CALL NUMBER: Z1224.C63
- Contemporary Authors Autobiography Series.
irregular.
- CALL NUMBER: PS129.C6
- Contemporary Authors: Permanent Series.
- CALL NUMBER: Z1224.C62
- Dictionary of Literary Biography. irregular. 1978-.
LOCATIONS: Electronic version (entitled Literature
Resource Center):
NETWRK WWW; Print version: MCKREF BIOG
CALL NUMBER: PS129.D53
Comprehensive biographical and bibliographical information on major authors,
historians, journalists, publishers, screen writers and others. Organized topically. Use
the latest volume's index or Contemporary Authors: Cumulative Index
to find entries.
- Dictionary of Literary Biography.
- CALL NUMBER: PS129.D53
- Dictionary of Literary Biography Yearbook.
- CALL NUMBER: PS129.D5
- Dictionary of Literary Biography Documentary Series.
- CALL NUMBER: PS129.D48
- Dictionary of Scientific Biography. New York, Scribner's, 1970-1989.
LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS
CALL NUMBER: Q141.D5
Retrospective. Short articles with excellent bibliographies (to both primary and secondary sources) on deceased scientists who made a difference to the profession or scientific community.
Includes people in mathematics, astronomy, physics, chemistry, biology, and the earth sciences.
Areas of technology, medicine, behavioral and social sciences are ONLY included when their
work relates to the hard sciences.
- Directory of American Scholars. Detroit, Gale, 1999
LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS
CALL NUMBER: LA2311.C32
A five volume set (Volume I: History, Volume II: English, Speech and Drama, Volume III: Foreign Languages, Linguistics and Philology, Volume IV: Philosophy, Religion and Law, Volume V: Index). Entries include: primary discipline, vital statistics, education,
honorary degrees, present professional experience, concurrent positions, memberships,
research interests, publications, and mailing address.
- National Faculty Directory. Detroit, MI: Gale
Research.
LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS
CALL NUMBER: LB1778.N31
Latest Edition Only.
- Notable Sports Figures. Edited by Dana Barnes. Detroit: Gale, 2004.
LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS
CALL NUMBER: GV697.A1N68
A four volume set that provides profiles of more than 600 individuals
who have made contributions to their sport and to society. It covers
people from many countries and from the 1800's up to date. There are
lists of further information.
Special Groups
- African American Lives. Edited by Henry Louis Gates Jr. and Evelyn Brooks Higginbotham. New York: Oxford U.P., 2004.
LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS
CALL NUMBER: E185.96.A446
A collection of 611 biographies of African Americans both living
and dead that cover more than four centuries. Articles include bibliographical references.
- African American Women: a Biographical Dictionary.
Edited by Dorothy C. Salem. New York: Garland, 1993.
LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS
CALL NUMBER: E185.96.A45 1993
Primarily retrospective, but also includes contemporary African American women who
have made a significant contribution to social reform, politics, arts, entertainment,
business, education, and professions from the Colonial era to the present.
Alphabetically arranged and cross-referenced and indexed by occupations,
organizations, and regions. Includes bibliographic reference for each entry and a
bibliography to other sources on African American women.
- The Continuum Dictionary of Women's Biography.
Compiled and edited by Jennifer S. Uglow. New York: Continuum, 1989.
LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS
CALL NUMBER: CT3202.C66 1989
Paragraph descriptions of notable women both historical and contemporary primarily
from North America and Europe. Concise entries include name, relevant dates,
nationality, reason for inclusion, and brief biography. Many entries include references
to other sources. Excellent bibliography to biographical material on women.
- Notable American Women, 1607-1950; a Biographical
Dictionary. Edited by Edward T. James. Cambridge, Mass.: Belknap Press of Harvard University Press, 1971.
LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS
CALL NUMBER: CT3260.N57
Retrospective. Based on the model of the Dictionary of Literary
Biography, this source includes scholarly articles on American women who
died prior to 1950; therefore, most active careers do not extend beyond 1920.
Includes bibliography to additional sources.
- Notable American Women: The Modern Period. Edited
by Barbara Sicherman, Carol Hurd Green with Ilene Kantrov, Harriette Walker.
Cambridge, Mass.: Belknap Press of Harvard University Press, 1980.
LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS
CALL NUMBER: CT3260.N573
Retrospective. A companion work to Notable American Women 1607-1950 (see
above) includes women who died prior to 1976 and bibliography to
additional sources.
- Notable American Women: Completing the Twentieth Century Edited by Susan Ware. Cambridge, MA., Belknap Press of Harvard University Press, 2004.
LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS
CALL NUMBER: CT3260.N5725
Retrospective. A companion work to Notable American Women
(see above) that includes women who died between 1976 and 1999.
Selected National or Regional Biographical Dictionaries
- Canadian Who's Who. Toronto, University of Toronto Press.
LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS (latest edition), MCK PERIODICAL STACKS (1912,
1949/51, 1970/72, 1973/75, 1979-)
CALL NUMBER: F1033.C23
- Dictionary of American Biography. New York, Scribner's, 1937.
LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS
CALL NUMBER: E176.D563
- Base Volumes I-X cover until 1936
- Supplements at five-year intervals
Retrospective. Scholarly signed articles about individuals who made major professional or artistic contributions while living in the United States. Includes basic biographical data, signed article descriptions of the individual's life and bibliography. Use the DAB Comprehensive Index to locate an individual. Indexes to:
names of contributors, birthplaces, schools and colleges, occupations, and topical areas
- Oxford Dictionary of National Biography. New York, Oxford University Press, 2004
LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS
CALL NUMBER: DA28.O95 2004
Retrospective. Primarily British subjects. Includes basic biographical data,
signed article descriptions of the individual's life and bibliography.
- Who's Who in Germany. Munich: Intercontinental Book and Pub. Co., 1996.
LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS
CALL NUMBER: DD85.W45
- Who's Who in Russia and the CIS Republics. Vladimir Morozov, ed. 1st ed. N.Y.: Henry Holt, 1995.
LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS
CALL NUMBER: CT1203.W46
return to top
|