|
Last revised: August 2008
Book Reviews
SCOPE: This guide suggests print and electronic sources for locating book reviews. Because most print book review indexes are arranged by date, the first step in finding a review is determining the book's date of publication. This can be done by looking at the back of the title page, or by checking one or more of the following online indexes:
Begin with indexes published around the time the book was published and work several years forward. After you have found citations to reviews in electronic or print indexes, locate the library's call numbers for cited journals in the Catalog.
When using book review indexes start with the general sources listed in this guide and then move to more specific indexes. Email the Librarian Subject Specialist or call (301)314-7224 for more information.
Multidisciplinary Sources Limited to Book Reviews
- Book Review Digest
LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS CALL NUMBER Z1219.C96 (1905- )
Indexes book reviews from approximately 100 English Language popular periodicals.
- Book Review Index. 1965/1984-2006.
LOCATION: MCK PERSTK CALL NUMBER: Z1035.A1B4 (1965- .)
Indexes reviews of books and electronic media appearing in popular and academic periodicals from 1965 to the 2006.
- Canadian Book Review Annual. 1975-
LOCATION: MCK PERSTK; Latest 5 years in MCKREF STACKS
CALL NUMBER: Z1035.A1C33
Covers original signed reviews of books published in Canada in a given year.
- Combined Retrospective Index to Book Reviews in Scholarly Journals. 1886-1974.
LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS
CALL NUMBER: Z1035.A1C6
Indexes book reviews appearing in 459 older scholarly journals in history, political science, and sociology.
- Current Book Review Citations. 1976-1982.
LOCATION: MCK PERSTK
CALL NUMBER: Z1035.A1C86
An author/title cumulation of all reviews indexed in other Wilson indexes as well as reviews appearing in publications that are not otherwise indexed by Wilson services. Over 1,000 periodicals are covered.
- Guia a las Resenas de Libros de y sobre Hispanoamerica. A Guide to Reviews of Books from and About Hispanic America. 1965, 1972, 1975-1990.
LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS
CALL NUMBER: Z1035.A1G84
Includes brief summaries of reviews in English and Spanish in over 570 periodicals.
- Internationale Bibliographie der Rezensionen Wissenschaftlicher
Literatur. (Title varies)
LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS
CALL NUMBER: Z5051.I64 vols. 1-13 (1960-1972)
CALL NUMBER: Z100.I521 vols. 14- (1984- )
An international bibliography of book reviews in scholarly literature. Continues Bibliographie der Rezensionen: MCK STOR AI9.B6 (1900-43).
return to top
Other General Sources
- Alternative Press Index. 1969-2000.
LOCATION: MCK FOLIO CALL NUMBER AI3.A27
Indexes approximately 380 alternative, radical and left publications.
- Canadian Periodical Index. 1964-1994.
LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS
CALL NUMBER: AI3.C242
Cites reviews of Canadian and non-Canadian books in English and French which appear in approximately 100 Canadian journals.
- Academic Search Premier
Indexes over 7,000 journals with full text for over 4,000 journals.
- Index to Black Periodicals. 1984-
LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS
CALL NUMBER: AI3.0411
Attempts to cover all regularly published African-American periodicals. Continues Index to Periodical Articles by and about Blacks (MCKREF
AI3.041) and Index to Periodical Articles by and about Negroes (MCKREF AI3.04).
- Lexis/Nexis
Full-text database that offers a wide range of news and reference information in full-text format including book reviews. Search title of book in quotes and word "review".
- MasterFILE Premier
Indexes over 2,600 general periodicals. Full text of articles for nearly 2,000 periodicals, and 5,000 full text Magill Book Reviews.
- Nineteenth Century Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature.
1890-1899.
LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS
CALL NUMBER: AI3.R496
Covers reviews in 51 general and scholarly British and U.S. periodicals for the period
1890-1899.
- Periodicals Contents
Index Full Text
Indexes the tables of contents of thousands of periodicals, both U.S. and international, in the humanities and social sciences, from their first issues (in some cases as early as 1770) to 1990/91. It provides excellent coverage of scholarly book reviews.
- Poole's Index to Periodical Literature. 1802-1906.
LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS
CALL NUMBER: AI3.P7
Covers more than 450 U.S. and British periodicals of the 19th century. See subject/key word for non-fiction books and author for fiction.
- Popular Periodical Index. 1973-1987.
LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS
CALL NUMBER: AI3.P76
Covers approximately 40 U.S. periodicals.
- Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature. 1900 - .
LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS
CALL NUMBER: AI3.R48
Covers around 175 popular periodicals.
return to top
General Humanities Sources
-
American Humanities Index. 1975-
LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS
CALL NUMBER: AI3.A4
An index to approximately 400 creative, critical and scholarly journals in the arts and humanities. Most of the journals included are indexed exclusively by this source.
- Annual Magazine Subject Index. 1908-1949.
LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS
CALL NUMBER: AI.M26
Covers about 175 British, Canadian, and U.S. periodicals. Especially strong on U.S. history.
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index. 1976-1998.
LOCATION: MCK PERSTK CALL NUMBER: NX1.A7
Indexes articles from over 1,100 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals.
- Humanities
Index. 1974/1975-1997/1998.
LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS CALL NUMBER: AI3.R493
Indexes approximately 400 publications that make up the core literature in the field of the
humanities, covering such topics as archaeology, area studies, art, classics, film, folklore,
humanities, linguistics, music, performing arts, philosophy, religion, history and literature.
- An Index to Book Reviews in the Humanities. 1960-1990.
LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS.
CALL NUMBER: Z1035.A1I63 vols. 1-31
A comprehensive source covering over 440 scholarly journals in the following areas:
literature, language, philosophy, the arts, travel, biography, dance and folklore.
return to top
Architecture
For book review sources in architecture, see the library guide Book Reviews for Architecture.
return to top
Art
- Art Abstracts. 1984-
- Art Index Retrospective. 1929-84
Print version: Art Index LOCATION: ART REF CALL NUMBER: Z 5937.A78 (1929-96)
Indexes over 300 international serials, mostly in the English language, and covers all styles and periods of art.
- ARTbibliographies Modern. 1974-99.
Covers 19th- and 20th-century art, although since 1989 has focused on contemporary art. Indexes over 330 serials and covers art literature from 1974 to date.
-
Bibliography of the History of Art. 1973-
An index to periodical articles on art from the 4th century to the present. BHA represents the most international coverage of all the indexes to art literature, with records from 1973 to the present.
- Dyabola.
Catalogue of the German Archaeological Institute in Rome which indexes the literature of art in the ancient world. Also available through the Electronic Information Connection in the Art and Architecture Libraries.
return to top
History
- America: History and Life.1964-
Print version: America: History and Life LOCATION: MCK PERSTK CALL NUMBER: Z1236.A48 (1955-98)
A primary abstracting tool for journals dealing with the history of the United States and
Canada.
- Index to Book Reviews in Historical Periodicals. 1972-74, 1976-77.
LOCATION: MCK STACKS
CALL NUMBER: D1.B7
Indexes approximately 100 scholarly journals and historical society publications, with an
emphasis on U.S. history.
return to top
Language and Literature
- Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature
Print version: Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature LOCATION: MCK PERSTK CALL NUMBER: Z2011.M69 (1923-94)
Covers over 700 journals and is international in scope.
- Bibliographie Linguistique. 1939-
LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS (1992- ); MCK PERSTK (1939-91)
CALL NUMBER: Z7001.P4
Covers journals in linguistics in all languages.
- L'Annee Philologique 1959 - .
Print Version: L'Annee Philologique LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS CALL NUMBER: Z7016.M35A (1924- )
Covers journals in all areas of Greek and Roman antiquities.
- Eichelberger, Clayton. A Guide to Critical Reviews of United States Fiction, 1870-1910.
LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS
CALL NUMBER: Z1225.E35
Cites contemporary reviews of major and minor U.S. novelists 1870-1910.
- Hall, Halbert, ed. Science Fiction and Fantasy Book Review Index, 1980-1984.
LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS
CALL NUMBER: PN3433.8.H255.
- Hall, Halbert, ed. Science Fiction Book Review Index, 1923-1973.
LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS
CALL NUMBER: Z5917.S36H35
-
LLBA: Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
Print version: LLBA: Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
LOCATION: MCKREF CALL NUMBER: P1.L2 and P1.L21
Book review section in print version is found in cumulative indexes.
return to top
Film
- Film Literature Index. (1976-2001)
The print version located in McKeldin Reference at Z5784.M9F45 is more current than the database.
return to top
Religion and Philosophy
- ATLA Religion
Database. 1949-
Corresponding print indexes are Religion Index One (MCKREF
Z7753.A51), Religious Index Two (MCKREF STACKS Z7753.A52), and Index to Book Reviews in Religion (MCKREF STACKS BL1.I5).
- Catholic Periodical and Literature Index. 1967-
LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS
CALL NUMBER: AI3.C321
Covers reviews in 140 Catholic journals.
- Guide to Catholic Literature. 1888-1955.
LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS
CALL NUMBER: Z7837.G9
Includes reviews to both general books by Catholic authors and religious books.
- Index to Jewish Periodicals. 1964-
LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS
CALL NUMBER: Z6367.I5
Covers 42 English language journals of both general and scholarly interest.
- International Philosophical Bibliography. 1991-
LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS
CALL NUMBER: Z7127.R421
Continues Repertoire Bibliographique de la Philosophie: MCKREF
Z7127.R42 (1948-1989).
- Philosopher's Index
Print version: Philosopher's Index LOCATION: MCK PERSTK CALL NUMBER: Z7127.P5
Covers major philosophy journals in English, French, German, Spanish, and Italian.
return to top
Music
- Music index (1976 - )
Print Version: Music Index Harmonie Park Press, 1949-1999 LOCATION: PA Lib REF CALL NUMBER: ML118.M84
An index of more than 775 international music periodicals, encompassing nearly all aspects of classical, popular, folk, and world music. Includes citations for articles, dissertations, obituaries, and reviews. Retrospective digitizing is ongoing but you must use the print edition to find items published in the 1950s, 60s, and early 70s.
- RILM / Répertoire internationale de la litterature musique (1976 - )
Print Version: RILM abstracts 1967 - 1998 LOCATION: PA LIB REF CALL NUMBER: ML1.I83
An international bibliography of 400,000+ scholarly writings on music and related disciplines in 140 languages (with abstracts in English). RILM indexes articles, books, conference proceedings, bibliographies, catalogues, dissertations, festchriften, iconographies, critical commentaries to complete works, ethnographic recordings and videos, reviews, and more.
- RIPM / Retrospective Index of Music Periodicals
Provides access to 425,000+ annotated citations from sixty-seven 19th and early 20th-century music periodicals published in thirteen European countries, Russia, and the United States. Indexes articles, commentary, illustrations, and reviews in their original language.
Print copies of some portions of RIPM are in the Reference section of the Michelle Smith Performing Arts Library, cataloged under the titles of individual periodicals, but all beginning with the call number PA LIB REF ML128.P24.
return to top
General Social Science Sources
- Book Review Index to Social Science Periodicals. 1964-1972.
LOCATION: MCK FOLIO
CALL NUMBER: H1.B6 1978
Superceded by Social Sciences Index and Current Book
Review Citations.
-
Social Sciences Index
LOCATION: MCKREF CALL NUMBER: AI3.R492 (1974- )
Includes English language journals in anthropology, economics, geography, law, political
science, and sociology.
-
Social Sciences Citation Index. 1956-
Print version: Social Sciences Citation Index LOCATION: MCKREF CALL NUMBER: Z7161.S65
Indexes over 1700 journals in the social sciences and relevant articles from leading
publications in science and technology.
return to top
Business and Economics
- Business Periodicals Index. 1958-98.
LOCATION: MCK PERSTK
CALL NUMBER: Z7164.C81B983
Prior to 1976 see the subject heading "Book Reviews - Single Books". After 1976 see a
separate section at the end of each volume.
-
Business Source Premier. 1965-
Indexes over 4000 periodicals in business and related fields and offers full text for more than 3000 publications. Includes information on book reviews.
-
Econlit. 1969-
Covers the field of economics and related areas. Includes information on book reviews.
- International Bibliography of Economics. 1952-1992.
LOCATION: MCK PERSTK
CALL NUMBER: Z7164.E2I58
Reviews, indicated by "CR", follow the entry for the book reviewed.
return to top
Education
- Education Abstracts. 1929-1998.
LOCATION: MCKREF & MCK PERSTK
CALL NUMBER: Z5813.E23
Indexes articles from 400 periodicals on varied aspects of education. "No reviews included in 1962-1969 volumes." Prior to 1976 see subject heading "Book
Reviews"; after 1976 see separate section at the end of each volume.
-
ERIC. 1966-
Covers Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE) (MCK REF
Z5813.C8) and non-journal material from Resources in Education (RIE) (MCK REF Z5813.R42), both of which are available in print versions.
return to top
Law
- Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals. 1960-1992.
LOCATION: MCK STACKS
CALL NUMBER: K33.I38
Covers over 300 journals dealing with international law, comparative law, and laws of all
nations except the United States and the British Commonwealth. Reviews occupy a separate section.
- Index to Legal Periodicals. 1926-1995.
LOCATION: MCK STACKS
CALL NUMBER: KF8.15
After 1939 reviews occupy a separate section.
return to top
Sociology
- International Bibliography of Sociology. 1955-1992.
LOCATION: MCK PERSTK
CALL NUMBER: Z7161.I594
return to top
Other Social Science Subject Areas
- ABC Pol Sci. 1969-96.
LOCATION: MCK PERSTK
A current contents service for about 300 domestic and foreign political science journals.
-
Family and Society Studies Worldwide. 1970-
Covers the fields of family science, human ecology and human development.
- PsycINFO
Print version: Psychological Abstracts LOCATION: MCK STACKS CALL NUMBER: BF1.P65 (1927- ).
Covers journals in psychology and related disciplines.
- Women Studies Abstracts. 1972-
LOCATION: MCK PERSTK
CALL NUMBER: Z7962.W65
See the book review section at the end of each issue. Also available online through
Women's Studies International.
- Women's Studies
International. 1972-
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Indexes more than 1,300 international political science journals. Includes book reviews.
return to top
-
Agricola
A primary indexing source for the field of agriculture.
- Applied Science and Technology Index. 1958-2002
LOCATION: MCKPER STK CALL NUMBER: Z7913.I7
After 1976 book reviews are listed at the end of the print volume.
-
Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL)
LOCATION: MCKPER STK CALL NUMBERS: Z6675.N7C8. Z6675.N7C82
Reviews found at the end of annual print volumes from 1964- .
- Natural History Book Reviews. 1977-
LOCATION: MCK STACKS
CALL NUMBER: QH1.N137
Contains signed reviews and annual author and title index.
- Nutrition Abstracts and Reviews. 1931/32-
LOCATION: MCK CMPCT3 (1931-76)
CALL NUMBER: RM214.N8
Reviews indexed under book author's name. From 1977- divided into Series A - Human and Experimental (MCK CMPCT3 RM214.N81) and Series B - Livestock Feeds and Feeding (MCK FOLIO RM214.N82).
- Medline
A service of the National Library of Medicine, PubMed provides access to over 11 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's and additional life science journals.
-
Science Citation Index
Expanded
Print version: Science Citation Index LOCATION: MCKPER STK (1961-95) and ENGIN REF (1964-97) CALL NUMBER: Z7401.S365.
- Van Balen, John, ed. Geography and Earth Science Publications. 1968-72, 1973-75.
LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS, ENGIN REF
CALL NUMBER: Z6001.V33
Covers 21 journals.
return to top
|