|
Last revised: August 2008
Cell Biology
Scope: The purpose of this guide is to provide quick access to print and electronic resources covering Cell Biology. Parts of this guide are derived from "Using the Biological Literature: A Practical Guide" by Diane Schmidt, Elisabeth B. Davis, and Pamela F. Jacobs (2002). Email the subject area specialist at tharrod@umd.edu or call 301-405-7253 for more information.
Please fill out the survey at the bottom of the page.
Click here to learn more about the Cell and Developmental Biology specialization within the Cell Biology and Molecular Genetics (CBMG) department.
To find books about cell biology in our catalog try searching for the following subject terms: Cell Biology, Biotechnology, Cytology, Stem Cells, Molecular Biology, Cancer Cells, etc.
- Bioinformatics: A Practical Guide to the Analysis of Genes and Proteins - Baxevanis, A.D., & Ouelette, B.F.F. (eds.)
Hoboken, N.J. : John Wiley, c2005. Print Location: UMCP McKeldin Library Folio Call Number: QH324.2 .B547 2005
- The Cytokine Handbook - Thomson, A.W. & Lotze, M.T. (eds.)
Amsterdam ; Boston : Academic Press, c2003. Print Location: UMCP Chemistry Stacks Call Number: QR185.8.C95 C9813 2003
- The Dictionary of Cell and Molecular Biology - Lackie, J.M. (ed.)
Boston : Academic, c2007. Print Location: UMCP Chemistry Reference Call Number: QH575 .D55 2007
- Encyclopedia of Cell Technology - Spier, R.E. (ed.)
New York : Wiley-Interscience, c2000. Print Location: UMCP Chemistry Reference Call Number: TP248.27.A53 E53 2000
- Encyclopedia of Life Sciences
http://www.els.net Online Resource
- Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology - Cammack, R., Attwood, T.K., et al (eds.)
Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2006. Print Location: UMCP Chemistry Stacks Call Number: QP512 .O94 2006
(These are ranked by impact factor, also please note that our coverage of these journals is not always to the present)
Cell Biology
- Nature Reviews: Molecular Cell Biology (Available Online Only)
http://catalog.umd.edu/docno=003037156
- Cell
http://catalog.umd.edu/docno=000515839 Print Location: UMCP Chemistry Periodical Stacks Call Number: QH573 .C38
- Nature Medicine
http://catalog.umd.edu/docno=002173158 Print Location: UMCP Chemistry Periodical Stacks Call Number: RB113 .N37
- Annual Review of Cell and Developmental Biology
http://catalog.umd.edu/docno=002199822 Print Location: UMCP Chemistry Periodical Stacks Call Number: QH573 .A54
- Nature Cell Biology
http://catalog.umd.edu/docno=002503373 Print Location: UMCP Chemistry Periodical Stacks Call Number: QH573 .N38
- Cell - Stem Cell (Available Online Only: Most Recent Year Not Available)
- Cell Metabolism (Available Online Only: Most Recent Year Not Available)
- Genes & Development
http://catalog.umd.edu/docno=001447181 Print Location: UMCP Chemistry Periodical Stacks Call Number: QH426 .G4
- Trends in Cell Biology
http://catalog.umd.edu/docno=001902398 Print Location: UMCP Chemistry Periodical Stacks Call Number: QH573 .T742
- Molecular Cell
http://catalog.umd.edu/docno=002401941 Print Location: UMCP Chemistry Periodical Stacks Call Number: QH506 .M6643
- Developmental Cell
http://catalog.umd.edu/docno=002616749 Print Location: UMCP Chemistry Periodical Stacks Call Number: QH573 .D48
- Current Opinion in Cell Biology
http://catalog.umd.edu/docno=001717365 Print Location: UMCP Chemistry Periodical Stacks Call Number: QH573 .C87
- Nature Structural and Molecular Biology
http://catalog.umd.edu/docno=003124898 Print Location: UMCP Chemistry Periodical Stacks Call Number: QH506 .N412
- Current Opinion in Genetics and Development
http://catalog.umd.edu/docno=001899613 Print Location: UMCP McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks Call Number: QH426 .C88
- Trends in Molecular Medicine
http://catalog.umd.edu/docno=001879744 Print Location: UMCP Chemistry Periodical Stacks Call Number: QH506 .C86
- Plant Cell
http://catalog.umd.edu/docno=001655670 Print Location: UMCP McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks Call Number: QK725 .P5518
- Journal of Cell Biology
http://catalog.umd.edu/docno=000442698 Print Location: UMCP Chemistry Periodical Stacks Call Number: QH301 .J677
- Current Opinion in Structural Biology
http://catalog.umd.edu/docno=001879744 Print Location: UMCP Chemistry Periodical Stacks Call Number: QH506 .C86
- EMBO Journal
http://catalog.umd.edu/docno=001076557 Print Location: UMCP Chemistry Periodical Stacks Call Number: QH506 .E46
- Aging Cell (Available Online Only)
This list represents only a portion of the Cell Biology and Molecular Genetics journals available from the University of Maryland, to search for more electronic journals accessible through our library, check the E-Journals list in Research Port - to search for print journals, check our Catalog.
return to top
- Academic Search Premier
Multi-disciplinary database indexing articles from over 8100 journals - with full-text access for 4500 of those journals.
- Biological and Medical Sciences
Covers a range of biological subjects including: biomedical sciences and biotechnology as well as other areas of biology - this database is comprised of records from 6000 journals, books, conference proceedings, and other scholarly sources.
- BIOSIS Previews
Database covering the biological sciences including interdisciplinary areas such as medicine and biochemistry - made up of 5500 journals, books, conference proceedings, and other scholarly sources.
- Faculty of 1000
Listing of critical papers in biology as selected by 1600 international scientists, subdivided into various disciplines within biology.
- Microbiology Abstracts
Database covering scholarly material divided into three areas of microbiology: bacteriology, industrial and applied microbiology, and algology/mycology/protozoology.
- Papers First
Listing of over 2 million papers that have been presented at conferences from around the world.
- PubMed (Medline)
Database indexing articles from over 4500 journals from around the world - covers medical literature in a variety of fields as well as biomedical research.
- Science Direct
Indexing articles from 1800 journals (800 of which have full-text access), this database covers a range of sciences including biology.
- Web of Science
This database indexes articles from over 17000 journals including 5700 from across the sciences - in addition this database makes it possible to track citations (i.e. who has cited whom and who was cited by whom).
These are just some of the databases that the University of Maryland College Park offers in Cell Biology and Molecular Genetics - to see more databases covering these areas of study, click on Biology and/or Cell Biology
return to top
return to top
return to top
|