| Last revised: July 2009 |
Search the content of this guide. Click on cached to see your keywords highlighted.
|
Chemical Engineering
Scope: This guide was created to help students
and faculty find information in the field of Chemical Engineering. No attempt
has been made to present an exhaustive list of reference materials on the subject.
For
further
assistance, please contact Nedelina
Tchangalova or
e-mail her at nedelina(@)umd.edu.
Looking for...
Finding Books
At UM Libraries
To locate books at the library you'll need to use the UM Catalog. Choosing the best search method depends on how much you know about the books you're searching for.
When looking for a known book search by:
When looking for books on a particular topic search by:
This search box will open the UM Catalog and launch your search in a new window.
To narrow your results, use the catalog's advanced search and limit your search by:
- publication year
- location
- adding additional keywords
A word/s anywhere search will locate terms and phrases that
appear in the title, subject headings, or notes of a catalog record. Examples
of some common terms and phrases used to locate books on chemical engineering
include:
| industrial |
    |
chemical plants |
    |
molding |
    |
heat exchangers |
| chemistry |
    |
chemical processes |
    |
molecular sieves |
    |
packed towers |
| metallurgy |
    |
gas |
    |
protective atmospheres |
    |
plate towers |
| acids |
    |
geothermal |
    |
recycle operations |
    |
separators |
| biochemical |
    |
leaching |
    |
zone melting |
    |
fuel |
| biotechnology |
    |
mixing |
    |
extraction apparatus |
    |
industrial electrochemistry |
Books dealing with similar subjects are likely to be grouped together on the shelves. Thus, another way to locate books on a particular topic is to browse by call number. You can browse:
- physically -- by going to the stacks and shelf-reading
- virtually -- by doing a call number search in the online catalog using the
first few digits of a call number
Most books on chemical engineering will be found in the TP 155-156 range.
Books within the topic of chemical technology are
shelved in TP 1-1185.
At Other Libraries
If you cannot find what you're looking for in the UM Catalog, you can search
for resources beyond those held in our libraries. The best tool for locating
books and journals beyond holdings of the University of Maryland and its consortium
libraries is WorldCat.
WorldCat contains records for materials found in research libraries worldwide.
You can use a link
when you find the material outside of the UM catalog.
You may use the Interlibrary Loan page to
place requests for items not owned by UM. Materials requested through interlibrary
loan are delivered approximately two weeks depending on the format, electronic
or print.
return to top
Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
- Ashford, Robert D. Ashford's
dictionary of industrial chemicals : properties, production, uses. London
: Wavelength, 1994.
Location: EPSL Reference
Call number: TP200 .A84 1994
- Comyns, Alan E. Encyclopedic dictionary of named processes in chemical technology. 2nd ed. Boca Raton: CRC Press, c. 1999.
Location: EPSL Reference
Call number: TP155.7.C664 1999
- Encyclopedia of chemical
processing and design. New York : M. Dekker, 2002.
Location: EPSL Reference
Call number: TP9. E66
- Hawley's condensed chemical dictionary. Revised by Richard J. Lewis, Sr. 14th ed. New York : Wiley, c2001.
Location: Chemistry Reference
Call number: QD5.C5 2001
- Kirk-Othmer concise encyclopedia
of chemical technology. Hoboken, N.J. : Wiley-Interscience, 2007.
Location: EPSL Reference
Call number: TP9. K54 2007
- McGraw-Hill encyclopedia
of science & technology. New York : McGraw-Hill, 2002.
Location: Chemistry Reference
Call number: Q121 .M3 2002
- Ullmann, Fritz. Ulmann's
Encyclopedia of industrial chemistry. Deerfield Beach, FL, 1993.
Location: Online Access for newest editions
EPSL Reference
Call number: TP9 .U57 1993
return to top
Handbooks & Manuals
- Ali, Mohammad Farhat. Handbook
of industrial chemistry : organic chemicals. New York : McGraw-Hill,
2005.
Location: UMCP Chemistry Reference
Call number: TP151 .A57 2005
- Branan, Carl R. Rules of thumb for chemical
engineers : a manual of quick, accurate solutions to everyday process engineering
problems. Amsterdam ; Boston : Elsevier, 2005.
Location: EPSL Reference
Call number: TP151 .R85 2005
- CHEMnetBASE
http://www.chemnetbase.com
This is a collection of handbooks and other reference materials from CRC and Chapman Hall. Searching the database is free, but viewing the full text of the resources requires a subscription.
- CRC handbook of chemistry and physics. Cleveland, Ohio : CRC Press, c1977-.
Location: EPSL Reference
Call number: QD65.H3 v.89 (2008/2009)
- Griskey, R. Chemical engineers' portable handbook. New York : McGraw-Hill, c2000.
Location: EPSL Reference
Call number: TP151.G757 2000
- Handbook of chemical engineering calculations. Edited by Nicholas P. Chopey. 3rd ed. New York : McGraw-Hill, c2004.
Location: EPSL Reference
Call number: TP149.H285 2004
- Perry’s chemical engineers’ handbook.
New York : McGraw-Hill, 2008.
Location: UMCP EPSL Reference
Call number: TP151 .P45 2008
- Riegel, E. Riegel's handbook of industrial chemistry. 10th ed. Edited by James A. Kent. New York : Kluwer Academic/Plenum Publishers, c2003.
Location: EPSL Reference
Call number: TP145.R53 2003
return to top
Property Data
- ChemFinder.com
http://chemfinder.cambridgesoft.com
Compound database providing chemical structures, physical properties, and hyperlinks to freely available websites with additional information.
-
Landolt Börnstein: Numerical Data and Functional Relationships in Science and Technology
http://www.springer.com/laboe?SGWID=0-10113-12-95859-0
- Landolt, Z. Zahlenwerte und Funktionen aus Physik, Chemie, Astronomie, Geophysik und Technik (1950-1981)
Location: Chemistry Reference, EPSL Reference
Call number: QC61.L33
Compilation of all critically evaluated physical property data in the fields of physics, chemistry, astronomy, geophysics, and technology.
- NIST Chemistry Workbook
http://webbook.nist.gov
Provides access to chemical and physical property data for chemical species (e.g., compounds, ions, radicals). The data include thermodynamic data, gas phase, IR spectrum, condense phase, mass spectrum, phase change, UV/Vis spectrum, reaction, vibrational and electronic energy, levels, ion energetics, constants of diatomic molecules, ion cluster, and Henry's Law.
- Parry, W.T. ASME international steam tables for industrial use... New York, N.Y. : American Society of Mechanical Engineers, c2000.
Location: EPSL Stacks
Call number: TJ270.A73 2000
- ThermoDex: An Index of Selected Thermodynamic and Physical Property Resources
http://www.lib.utexas.edu/thermodex
This is an index to printed and web-based compilations of thermochemical and thermophysical data and is the next choice after searching standards handbooks which are not indexed (e.g., CRC Handbook, Perry's Critical Tables). Proprietary databases such as SciFinder Scholar are also not indexed. Actual data values are not displayed. Thermodex records include the book's title, a brief abstract defining the scope and arrangement, properties and types of compounds included.
- Yaws, Carl. L. Matheson gas data book. 7th ed. Parsippany, NJ : Matheson Tri-Gas ; New York : McGraw-Hill, 2001.
Location: EPSL Reference
Call number: TP761.C65 B7 2001
The book contains individual sections with property data on industrial gaseous elements and compounds (from Acetylene to Xenon). Data include thermodynamic properties, IR spectra, vapor pressure-temperature curves, Henry's Law constants, explosion limits, and viscosity.
return to top
Research Port is an electronic resource that allows you to:
- Search for journal articles and books
- Access databases and e-journals from on and off campus
- Search an individual database OR search several simultaneously
- Search databases and the UM Libraries’ catalog simultaneously
- Find full-text articles
- E-mail or save article citations
Note: Off-campus access to databases is restricted to current UM students, faculty and staff. When seeking off-campus access through Research Port you will need the barcode from your new ID card and your last name. You can also establish a VPN (Virtual Private Network) on your home computer for complete access to Research Port and other UM library resources.
Core Databases
Biotechnology
Abstracts
This database provides bibliographic coverage of ground-breaking research, applications,
regulatory developments and new patents across all areas of biotechnology and
bioengineering, including medical, pharmaceutical, agricultural, environmental
and marine biology.
Chemical Abstracts --See SciFinder Scholar
Compendex
Compendex offers a wide range of information resources in the applied science and engineering fields.
Conference
Papers
Conference Papers provides citations to papers and poster sessions presented
at major scientific meetings around the world. Records include complete ordering
information to obtain preprints, abstracts, proceedings and other publications
derived from the conference, together with title and author.
Discovery
Gate
Discovery Gate allows access to CrossFire Beilstein, CrossFire Gmelin, MDL® Available
Chemicals
Directory, MDL® Drug Data Report, and MDL® Toxicity, authoritative reference
works, and links to over 20,000 journal titles.
INSPEC Archive
INSPEC Archive covers the subjects computing, electronics, and physics, with related coverage of materials science, oceanography, nuclear engineering, geophysics, and biomedical engineering from 1868-1968.
NTIS
http://www.ntis.gov/products/ntisdb.aspx
NTIS covers U.S. government-sponsored research and reports from federal agencies. Indexes and abstracts technical research reports, journal articles, data files, computer programs and audio-visual products.
Science
Citation Index --See Web of Science
Science Citation Index is a multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature
of the sciences. It indexes more than 5,700 major journals across 164 scientific
disciplines. Virtually the only index for finding what papers have cited other
papers.
SciFinder Scholar
SciFinder Scholar represents the combined databases Chemical Abstracts and MEDLINE (aka PubMed), providing access to journal articles, conference papers, patents, dissertations, and books in chemistry, chemical engineering, biochemistry, medicinal chemistry, biomedical engineering, biotechnology, biomaterials, and bioinformatics, as well as reactions, properties data, and spectra. Years of coverage are 1907 to the present. You must first create an account using your @umd.edu email address to use the web version.
Scitation
Scitation searches more than 100 journals from AIP, APS, ASCE, ASME, SPIE, and a host of other prestigious science and engineering journals.
Scitopia.org
Scitopia.org is a free federated search portal of 15 leading science and technology societies; includes abstracts of peer-reviewed journal content, patents, and technical conference papers. Participating societies:
http://www.scitopia.org/scitopia/about_who.htm.
US
Patent Database
The U.S. Patent Database provides full-text patents, images of patents, and published
patent applications from the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office web database.
Web of Science
Indexes over 17,000 journals by subject keyword, author name, journal title & author affiliation. Search author abstracts when available. Provides cited reference searching.
return to top
Multidisciplinary Databases
Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier provides abstracts and indexing for over 7,000 journals. Full text of articles for over 4,000 scholarly publications, including more than 3,100 peer-reviewed publications.
Ingenta
Ingenta gives access to more than 20,000 publications from the ingenta database. Some full text is available; faculty may be able to purchase some articles for fax or online delivery.
JSTOR
JSTOR is an electronic archive of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. It includes complete runs of journals with full-text of all articles published prior to the most current five years.
LexisNexis Academic
LexisNexis Academic offers full-text trade journals including Chemical Week, Chemical Market Reporter, Chemical Engineering, and Plant Engineering.
MasterFILE Premier
MasterFILE Premier provides abstracts and indexing for 2,650 general periodicals. Full text of articles for nearly 2,000 periodicals, and 5,000 full text Magill Book Reviews.
netLibrary
netLibrary is a collection of E-texts covering topics specifically chosen by Maryland Academic Libraries. It includes computer science, business, international relations, education, environmental science, psychology, and civil rights law and history collections.
ScienceDirect
ScienceDirect provides abstracts and indexing for more than 1800 science journals. Full text of more than 800 journals is available. Some articles are in languages other than English.
return to top
The level of scholarship is different in various publications. Information on
how to distinguish scholarly journals from trade publications and popular
magazines can be found at http://www.lib.umd.edu/UES/journals.html.
To locate journals in your field of interest conduct a Journal Search in
the UM catalog or browse the list of journals in chemical engineering available at UM Libraries. It is not complete, so if you do not find a title, search the UM Catalog.
return to top
Bibliographies and Guides to the Literature
Chemical Engineers' Resource Page
http://www.cheresources.com
Felder, Richard. "Resources in Science and Engineering Education."
http://www4.ncsu.edu/unity/lockers/users/f/felder/public
A comprehensive discussion of effective instructional techniques that have been validated for both individuals and groups.
InfoMine: Scholarly Internet Resource Collections
http://infomine.ucr.edu/ Chemical Engineering Resources on the Internet via InfoMine
University of Alberta. Library Resource Guide for Chemical Engineering
http://www.library.ualberta.ca/subject/chemicaleng/chemguide/index.cfm
Topics include: Finding Books, Finding Journal Articles, Guides to the Literature of Engineering, Handbooks and Manuals--General, Chemical Properties & Data, Dictionaries and Encyclopedias, Chemical Engineering Design, Planning and Estimation, Pressure Vessel and Boiler Resources, Chemical and Biotechnology Guides, Directories and Catalogues, Chemical Industry, Prices and Production, Associations and Organizations, Standards and Patents, Selected Web Sites and Databases.
University of Buffalo. Chemical & Biological Engineering. Selected Information Resources
http://libweb1.lib.buffalo.edu/infotree/resourcesbysubject.asp?subject=Chemical+%26+Biological+Engineering
This site provides an extensive listing of handbooks and encyclopedias, bibliographic and properties databases, electronic journals, patents, and internet sites.
University of Florida, Chemical Engineering
http://libguides.uflib.ufl.edu/che
This site provides subject listing of links to chemical and process engineering resources, organizations, and relevant information resources.
University of Maryland, Charles E. White Memorial Chemistry Library. Chemistry Internet Resources
http://www.lib.umd.edu/CHEM/chemweb.html
This site provides a listing of links to physical and chemical properties of chemical compounds, scientific writing resources, information sources from other organizations, and professional societies.
return to top
Other Relevant Resources
Cache: A Learning Community for Chemical Engineering
http://www.che.utexas.edu/cache/
ChemSpy
http://www.chemspy.com/
The Internet navigator for the chemical industry
History of Chemical Engineering & Chemical Technology
http://www.pafko.com/history/
ICIS: Global Chemical Suppliers Search
http://www.icis.com/Search/default.aspx
WebElements: The Periodic Table on the World Wide Web
http://www.webelements.com/
return to top
Professional and Scholarly Organizations
American Chemical Society (ACS)
http://www.acs.org/
American Institute of Chemical Engineering
(AIChE)
http://www.aiche.org/
Institute of Chemical Engineers
http://www.icheme.org/
Royal Society of Chemistry
http://www.rsc.org/
return to top
|