|
Last revised: July 2007
Chesapeake Bay
Scope: Research on the Chesapeake Bay encompasses politics, social effects, economics, resource management, recreation, and natural history. This guide covers the major life sciences resources related to the Chesapeake Bay. For information on related life sciences topics, readers should consult the guides on Fisheries and Aquatic Sciences, Endangered Species, and Wetlands and Water Quality. Email the subject area specialist at sgagnon (@umd.edu) or call (301)405-9098 for more information.
To locate books, search the UM Libraries' online Catalog. Key
searches will locate words and terms when they appear in the title, subject headings or notes of a record. Examples of words and terms you may wish to use to retrieve books on the subject of the Chesapeake Bay are:
Aquatic Organisms
Aquatic Resources
Blue Crab
Chesapeake Bay
Estuaries
Marine Fauna
Natural History
Nonpoint Source Pollution
|
Oceanography
Oyster Culture
Water Conservation
Water Dissolved Oxygen
Water Pollution
Watershed Management
Watershed Restoration
Wetlands
|
The search box below will open the Catalog and launch your search in a new window.
Or, test a Catalog search on the subject using this convenient automatic search, Chesapeake Bay. Remember, the Chesapeake Bay covers several Mid-Atlantic states including Maryland. As needed, search for other coverage terms -- Virginia, Pennsylvania, New York, West Virginia, Delaware and District of Columbia.
These terms can also be used to locate materials in other database files, such as BIOSIS Previews, which is a periodical index that can be searched in the same manner as the online catalog. Other useful databases are listed in the Indexes, Abstracts, and Databases section of this guide. For more specific instructions, please Ask Us!.
The following sources may help you begin your research, or direct you to other sources of information.
Breisch, Linda L. and V.S. Kennedy. A Selected Bibliography of Worldwide Oyster Literature. College Park, MD: Maryland Sea Grant Program and the Tidewater Administration of the Dept. of Natural Resources of the State of Maryland, 1980. UM-SG-TS-80-11.
LOCATION(S): McKeldin Folio, Archives-University Publications
CALL NUMBER: SH371.B74 1980, UPUB S3.034
Breisch, Linda L., D.A. Wright, and D.M. Powell. Chlorine and the Chesapeake Bay: A Review of Research Literature. College Park, MD: Maryland Sea Grant, 1984. UM-SG-TS-84-02.
LOCATIONS(S): Archives-University Publications
CALL NUMBER: UPUB S3.005
Bi-State Blue Crab Advisory Committee. Taking Action for the Blue Crab: Managing and Protecting the Stock and Its Fisheries. [Annapolis, MD]: Chesapeake Bay Commission, Policy for the Bay, [2001].
LOCATIONS(S): Maryland Room Folio
CALL NUMBER: SH380.45.C54 T35 2001
Chesapeake Bay Institute. List of Reports and Contributions of Chesapeake Bay Institute, The Johns Hopkins University. Baltimore, MD: s.n., 1976.
LOCATIONS(S): Maryland Room Folio
CALL NUMBER: GB705.C5 J63
Island Press Bibliography of Environmental Literature. Yale School of Forestry and Environmental Studies. Washington, DC: Island Press, 1993.
LOCATION(s): McKeldin Reference
CALL NUMBER: QH541.I84 1993
A comprehensive bibliography covering all areas related to environmental sciences, ecology, agriculture, environmental impact, and related economic, political, social, and geographic subjects.
Kennedy, Victor S. and L.L. Breisch. Maryland's Oysters: An Annotated Bibliography. College Park, MD: Maryland Sea Grant Program and the Tidewater Administration of the Dept. of Natural Resources of the State of Maryland, 1981. UM-SG-TS-81-05.
LOCATIONS(S): Archives-University Publications
CALL NUMBER: UPUB S3.019
Kennedy, Victor S, Roger Newell, and Albert Eble, eds. The Eastern Oyster: Crassostrea virginica. College Park, MD: Maryland Sea Grant, 1996. UM-SG-TS-96-01.
LOCATIONS(S): McKeldin Reference, Archives-University Publications
CALL NUMBER: QL430.7.O9E37 1996, UPUB S3.047
Blanchard, J. Richard and Lois Farrell. Guide to Sources for Agricultural and Biological Research. Los Angeles: University of California Press, 1981.
LOCATIONS(S): McKeldin Reference, McKeldin Folio, CLIS Wasserman Stacks
CALL NUMBER: S493.G85
Guide covers all areas of life sciences research including books, journals, dissertations, directories, textbooks, and computer databases.
Chesapeake Research Consortium. Chesapeake Basin Research Directory: Who's Who in Chesapeake Bay Research.
LOCATIONS(S): McKeldin Reference
CALL NUMBER: GB459.5.C5C512 1992
Directory of expertise and research related to the Chesapeake Bay. Divided into four sections. Section one lists experts by name and institution. Section two groups individuals by areas of expertise. Section three details current and on-going research initiatives, and section four lists research projects by subject.
Chesapeake Citizen Directory: A Guide to Agencies and Organizations. Baltimore, MD: Alliance for the Chesapeake Bay, 1988.
LOCATIONS(S): McKeldin Reference, Maryland Room Folio
CALL NUMBER: QH104.5.C45C457 1988
A guide to citizen groups, universities and research institutions, regional, state and federal government bodies concerned with the Chesapeake Bay region. Each entry includes a contact name and address, along with a description of services and activities.
Chesapeake Bay Environmental Data Directory. College Park, MD: Maryland Sea Grant College, 1987. UM-SG-TS-87-05.
LOCATIONS(S): McKeldin Reference, Archives-University Publications, EPSL Reference, Maryland Room Folio
CALL NUMBER: GC58.C43 1987, UPUB S3.004
Polk, Marie. Marine, Oceanographic, Coastal and Estuarine Laboratories, Institutes, Centers and Research Stations/Facilities in and near the United States. [New Hampshire]: University of New Hampshire, Sea Grant College Program ; National Association of State Universities and Land-Grant Colleges, 1989.
LOCATIONS(S): McKeldin Reference
CALL NUMBER: GC10 .P64 1989
These sources provide general or background information to the subject and serve as guides to more specific and technical information resources.
Alexrod, Alan and Charles Phillips. The Environmentalists: A Biographical Dictionary from the 17th Century to the Present. New York: Facts on File, Inc., 1993.
LOCATIONS(S): McKeldin Reference
CALL NUMBER: S926.A2A94 1993
Individuals and groups prominent in the "environment movement" are outlined in this biographical dictionary. Naturalists, scientists, environmentalists, authors, politicians, and major organizations are included, along with numerous photographs and suggestions for further reading.
Banister, Keith and Andrew Campbell. The Encyclopedia of Aquatic Life. New York: Facts on File, Inc., 1985.
LOCATIONS(S): McKeldin Reference
CALL NUMBER: QL120 .E53 1985
Encyclopedia of Environmental Information Sources. Detroit: Gale Research, 1993.
LOCATION(S): McKeldin Reference
CALL NUMBER: TD170.E54 1993
A subject guide to print and other sources of information on all aspects of the environment. "Includes: abstracting and indexing services, almanacs and yearbooks, bibliographies, directories, encyclopedias and dictionaries, general works, governmental organizations, handbooks and manuals, online databases, periodicals and newsletters, research centers and institutes, statistic sources, and trade associations and professional societies."
Herschy, Reginald W. and Rhodes W. Fairbridge, eds. Encyclopedia of Hydrology and Water Resources, 1st ed. Dordrecht ; Boston : Kluwer Academic, 1998.
LOCATIONS(S): EPSL Reference
CALL NUMBER: GB655 .E53 1998
The Official World Wildlife Fund Guide to Endangered Species of North America. Washington, DC: Beacham Publishers, 1990.
LOCATIONS(S): McKeldin Reference
CALL NUMBER: QL84.2.O35 1990 Vol. 1-4
Presents information on endangered plant and animal life in North America, including number of remaining specimens, legal status, preservation efforts, and basic information on the species, habitat, and future.
Van der Leeden, Frits, Fred L. Troise and David Keith Todd. The Water Encyclopedia, 2nd ed. Chelsea, Mich. : Lewis Publishers, 1991, c1990.
LOCATIONS(S): EPSL Reference
CALL NUMBER: TD351 .V36 1990
Indexes and abstracts are tools to help you locate books, articles, and other sources on your subject. Select an index or abstract and look for keywords or subject headings related to the subject you need information on. After identifying articles of interest, search the Catalog by the journal title to see if McKeldin or another UMCP library subscribes to that journal.
ASFA: Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts, UM only.
Covers 5000 serial publications, books, reports, conference proceedings, translations and limited distribution literature.
Bibliography of Agriculture (AGRICOLA). Monthly, 1942 - . UM only.
LOCATIONS(S): McKeldin Reference, Networked Resources
CALL NUMBER: Z5073.U572
Covers all aspects of agriculture. Use annual cumulations for years preceding 1986. Searchable as AGRICOLA (1970-Present) on the UM Libraries' Home Page under Electronic Resources/UM Databases/Agriculture/Life Sciences.
Biological Abstracts (BIOSIS Previews). Bi-Weekly, 1926 - . UM only.
LOCATIONS(S): McKeldin Reference (Latest year), McKeldin Stacks, Networked Resources
CALL NUMBER: QH301.B37
Coverage includes virtually all aspects of the biological sciences. Each issue contains author, biosystematic, generic, concept, and subject indexes which are cumulated semi-annually. Searchable as BIOSIS Previews (1989-Present) on the UM Libraries' Home Page under Electronic Resources/UM Databases/Agriculture/Life Sciences.
Chesapeake Science. Quarterly, 1960-1977.
LOCATIONS(S): McKeldin Stacks, Archives-University Publications
CALL NUMBER: QH104.5.C4C45, UPUB E19.003
While no longer in publication, Chesapeake Science focuses exclusively on research and management studies on the natural resources of the Greater Chesapeake region and related estuaries.
Current Contents: Agriculture, Biology and Environmental Sciences. Weekly, 1973 - .
LOCATIONS(S): McKeldin Reference (latest six months only)
CALL NUMBER: S1.C87
Reproduces tables of contents of more than 1,040 journals; also covers latest books in relevant fields.
Digital Dissertations. Monthly, 1861 - . UM only.
LOCATIONS(S): McKeldin Reference, Networked Resources
CALL NUMBER: Z5055.U5A53
Provides comprehensive coverage of both doctoral and master theses from American (and some non-American) colleges and universities.
Ecology Abstracts 1982 - .
UM only.
LOCATION: McKeldin Periodicals (1980-1996)
CALL NUMBER: QH540.A661
Continues Applied Ecology Abstracts, 1975-1979.
Coverage is the broad area of the interactions between living organisms and their
environment. Over 5,000 journals as well as other sources are indexed.
Environment Abstracts. Monthly, 1974 - .
Continues Environment Information Access, 1971-1973 (McKeldin Reference GF1.E552).
LOCATIONS(S): McKeldin Reference, EPSL Reference
CALL NUMBER: GF1.E553
Each issue contains a review section dividing the citations and their abstract into 21 broad subject classifications including water pollution, renewable resources, and solid waste. An excellent source of information on the politics and law related to the environment. Indexes in each issue include subject, author, conference, source, and industry code. The monthly issues and indexes are cumulated annually into two volumes: Environment Abstracts Annual and Environment Index.
Environmental Periodicals Bibliography. Bimonthly, 1972 - 1995.
LOCATIONS(S): McKeldin Folio
CALL NUMBER: Z7171.E6
This publication reproduces the table of contents of a number of environmental journals. Each issue is divided into 6 parts, with part 5 covering marine and freshwater resources and water pollution. Each of the issues contain author and subject indexes which are cumulated annually.
Marine Pollution Research Titles. Monthly, 1973 - .
LOCATIONS(S): McKeldin Reference (1986- )
CALL NUMBER: GC1085.M3
While not focused specifically on the Bay, this publication abstracts research findings related to marine and estuarine pollution in all regions. Articles and reports are divided by specific type of pollutant or pollution hazard.
Sea Grant Abstracts. Quarterly, 1986- .
LOCATION(S): McKeldin Reference, Networked Resources
CALL NUMBER: GC1.S424
Indexes National Sea Grant Program supported research literature. Searchable online from the National Sea Grant Library home page (nsgd.gso.uri.edu/searchguide.html). Online database contains over 33,000 records and is updated monthly. Many documents are available full-text online via the database. (Also see the Maryland Sea Grant website under the Internet Resources section below.)
Water Resources Abstracts. 1968 - . UM only.
LOCATION(S): EPSL Periodicals (1968-1991)
CALL NUMBER: GB661.S4
Indexes literature on water-related topics covering the characteristics, conservation, control, pollution, treatment, use and management of water resources. Abstracts journals, books, conference proceedings, and technical reports.
Wildlife Review. Bi-monthly, 1935 - 1995.
LOCATIONS(S): Government Documents (SuDoc)
CALL NUMBER: I49.17
A review of the literature of wildlife management, arranged by subject. Includes annual cumulative index beginning with 1981.
Zoological Record. 1978 - .
UM only.
LOCATION: McKeldin Folio (1870-1994)
CALL NUMBER: Z7991.Z87
(Continues Record of Zoological Literature, 1864-1869)
Comprehensive guide to the literature of zoology. Indexed by author, subject, geographic
region, paleontology, and systematics.
World Wide Web Sites and Documents
A sampling of sites and documents.
- Alliance
for the Chesapeake Bay (www.alliancechesbay.org/).
Nonprofit organization that builds and supports partnerships for the restoration of the Chesapeake Bay. Also publishes
the Bay Journal (available online at this site back to 1994), a newspaper concerning issues and events that affect the Bay.
- Chesapeake Bay Foundation
(www.cbf.org/).
The Chesapeake Bay Foundation is the largest conservation organization dedicated solely to saving the Chesapeake Bay watershed.
- Chesapeake Bay Program (CBP)
(www.chesapeakebay.net/).
A regional partnership formed in 1983 to direct the restoration of the Chesapeake Bay. Partners include the States of Maryland, Virginia, Pennsylvania, and the District of Columbia, the Chesapeake Bay Commission, and the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency representing the federal government and its participating advisory groups. This site contains a wealth of electronic publications and information on the Bay's health, restoration, animals and plants, and habitats. Also includes an interactive Bay Atlas which allows you to create customized maps and view detailed scientific and demographic data associated with a location, e.g. land cover, aquatic vegetation, habitat data, and water quality data.
- Chesapeake Research Consortium (www.chesapeake.org/).
Chartered by the State of Maryland in association with Johns Hopkins University, University of Maryland, Smithsonian Institution, College of William & Mary, The Academy of Natural Sciences, and Old Dominion University. Supports scientific and technical activities and research associated with the Chesapeake Bay, its drainage basin, and adjoining airshed. See in particular this sites list of publications. More recent publications are available online.
- EPA Region 3 (www.epa.gov/region03/).
The United States Environmental Protection Agency Region III office is responsible for implementation of federal environmental programs in Delaware, Maryland, Pennsylvania, Virginia, West Virginia, and the District of Columbia. Programs include air and water pollution control; toxic substances, pesticides, and drinking water regulation; wetlands protection; hazardous waste management; and some aspects of radioactive materials regulation. The EPA Chesapeake Bay Program Office (www.epa.gov/region3/chesapeake/), coordinates the goals of the Chesapeake Bay Program.
- Interstate Commission on the Potomac River Basin (ICPRB) (www.potomacriver.org/).
ICPRB is an interstate compact commission established by Congress in 1940 to help the Potomac basin states and the federal government to enhance, protect, and conserve the water and associated land resources of the Potomac River basin through regional and interstate cooperation (quoted from: www.potomacriver.org/about_ICPRB/about_us.htm).
- Maryland Department of the Environment
(www.mde.state.md.us/).
- Maryland's Bays and Streams (www.dnr.state.md.us/bays.html).
The site is maintained by the Maryland Department of Natural Resources and provides a variety of information on Maryland's streams, coastal bays, watersheds, and the Chesapeake Bay. Also maintained by Maryland DNR is Eyes on the Bay (mddnr.chesapeakebay.net/eyesonthebay/index.cfm), which tracks recent water and habitat conditions in Maryland's Chesapeake Bay and Coastal Bays.
- Maryland Geological Survey (www.mgs.md.gov/index.html).
Access to a wide range of information on Maryland's geology including: coastal and estuarine, environmental, mineral,
hydrogeology, and hydrology. Online maps, databases, data sets, and publications are available.
- Maryland Sea Grant (www.mdsg.umd.edu/index.html).
Part of the National Sea Grant Program established in 1966 by the U.S. Congress to support programs of research, education, extension, and outreach in protecting and developing marine resources. Focus is on the Bay's health and its resources. Search or browse the Maryland Sea Grant Catalog to find research reports, videos and newsletters on your topic. Many resources are available full-text online or can be ordered for free or at nominal cost. For example, Maryland Sea Grant publishes the Chesapeake Quarterly (www.mdsg.umd.edu/CQ/index.html).
- NOAA Chesapeake Bay Office (noaa.chesapeakebay.net/).
The National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration's website detailing its activities in the Chesapeake Bay region. NOAA maintains the Chesapeake Bay Local Analysis and Prediction System (chartmaker.ncd.noaa.gov/csdl/op/aboutCBLAPS.html) and the Chesapeake Bay Observing System (www.cbos.org/) and other resources.
- Scientific and Technical Advisory Committee (STAC)
(www.chesapeake.org/stac/).
STAC provides scientific and technical guidance to the Chesapeake Bay Program on measures to protect and restore the Bay. Members are from universities, research institutions, and federal agencies. Many STAC documents are available online; topics include growth, living resources, modeling/monitoring, nutrients, and toxic substances.
- Smithsonian Environmental Research Center (SERC)
(www.serc.si.edu/).
SERC scientists study a variety of interconnected ecosystems at its primary research site in Edgewater, Maryland and at
affiliated sites around the world. Major research themes include effects of global change, landscape ecology, coastal
ecosystems, and population/community ecology. Information on SERC's research programs and several extensive bibliographies are available at this website.
- U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service Cheasapeake Bay Field Office (www.fws.gov/chesapeakebay/).
Focus is on endangered and threatened species, migratory birds, freshwater and anadromous fish, and wildlife habitat in the District of Columbia, Delaware, Maryland, and Virginia.
- U.S. Geological Survey Chesapeake Bay Region (chesapeake.usgs.gov/).
This site provides access to Bay related information from USGS, including data, publications, and interpretive studies. Subject areas include: streamflow, water quality, ground water, wetlands, sediment, geology, mapping and spatial data, biology, and ecology. Links are also provided to individual USGS programs and projects working on issues relevant to Chesapeake Bay, including units of the USGS Ecosystem Program.
- University of Maryland Center for Environmental Science (UMCES)Chesapeake Biological Laboratory (www.cbl.umces.edu/).
|
The following books and reports provide a good overview of the scientific, political, and research issues related to the Chesapeake Bay. Start with one of these to determine your research paper topic or to help focus your ideas:
Ernst, Howard R. Chesapeake Bay Blues: Science, Politics, and the Struggle to Save the Bay (American Political Challenges series). Lanham, Md.: Rowman & Littlefield Publishers, 2003.
LOCATIONS(S): McKeldin Stacks
CALL NUMBER: QH104.5.C45 E76 2003
Herbst, Robin. The State of the Chesapeake Bay: A Report to the Citizens of the Bay Region. Annapolis, Md. (410 Severn Ave, Annapolis 21403): Chesapeake Bay Program, [2002].
LOCATIONS(S): Maryland Room Folio
CALL NUMBER: GE155.C48 H47 2002
Klingel, Gilbert C. Bay: A Naturalist Discovers a Universe of Life Above and Below the Chesapeake. Baltimore, Johns Hopkins University Press, 1984, c1951.
LOCATIONS(S): Maryland Room Stacks (1984 edition), McKeldin Stacks (1967 edition)
CALL NUMBER: QH104.5.C45K5
Lippson, Alice J. (Ed.) The Chesapeake Bay in Maryland, An Atlas of Natural Resources. Baltimore: The Johns Hopkins University Press, 1973.
LOCATIONS(S): McKeldin Reference, Maryland Room Folio, McKeldin Folio, EPSL Reference
CALL NUMBER: QH105.M3L56
Lippson, Alice J., and others. Environmental Atlas of the Potomac Estuary. Baltimore: Martin Marietta Corp. Environmental Center, 1979.
LOCATIONS(S): McKeldin Reference, McKeldin Folio, Maryland Room Folio, EPSL Stacks
CALL NUMBER: G1247.P6M37 1979
Lippson, A.J. and R.L. Lippson. Life in the Chesapeake Bay. 2nd edition. Baltimore: The Johns Hopkins University Press, 1997.
LOCATIONS(S): McKeldin Reference, Maryland Room Stacks, McKeldin Stacks
CALL NUMBER: QH104.5.C45L56 1997
Schubel, J. R. The Life and Death of the Chesapeake Bay. College Park, MD: University of Maryland Sea Grant, 1986. UM-SG-MP-86-01
LOCATIONS(S): Archives-University Publications, Maryland Room Stacks, EPSL Stacks
CALL NUMBER: GC511.S368 1986, UPUB S3.015
Sherwood, Arthur W. Understanding the Chesapeake: A Layman's Guide. Centreville, MD: Tidewater Publishers, 1973.
LOCATIONS(S): McKeldin Stacks, Maryland Room Stacks
CALL NUMBER: QH92.5.C47S47
The U.S. Geological Survey and the Chesapeake Bay: The Role of Science in Environmental Restoration. Reston, Va.: U.S. Dept. of the Interior, U.S. Geological Survey, 2001.
LOCATIONS(S): EPSL Periodicals
CALL NUMBER: QE75 .C5 no.1220
return to top
|