|
Last revised: June 2006
Children's Literature and Librarianship
Scope: This guide provides a selected list of electronic and print resources for school and children's librarians that deal with children's topics and materials. The list is divided into common subject areas; items within those subject areas are listed in descending order by publication year. Email the subject specialist at kpatter@umd.edu for more information.
TABLE OF CONTENTS
PROFESSIONAL ORGANIZATIONS
- American Library Association (ALA): http://www.ala.org
The American Library Association, "The Voice of America's Libraries," is the oldest and largest library association in the world, with more than 65,000 members. It provides library advocacy and support in key "action areas," including Diversity, Education and Continuous Learning, Equity of Access, Intellectual Freedom, and "21st Century Literacy." Its web page includes a number of useful resources: Visit the ALA Library for statistical fact sheets, bibliographies, and "how-to" guides for libraries; Find dates of upcoming Events and Conferences, or locate an accredited MLS program using the Directory. Several of their subdivisions are specifically geared toward School and Children's Librarians:
- Association for Educational Communications and Technology (AECT)
www.aect.org/
International Association of School Librarianship (IASL)
http://www.iasl-online.org/index.htm
National Storytelling Network
www.storynet.org
return to top
AWARD-WINNING BOOKS
Internet Resources:
For more information and lists of award winners, click on the links below, or visit the main Book and Media Awards page, on the American Library Association website .
-
Alex Awards
Ten outstanding adult fiction and non-fiction books that will appeal to a broad cross-section of teen readers
-
Mildred L. Batchelder Award
"This award, established in 1966, is given to an American publisher for a children's book considered to be the most outstanding of those books originally published in a foreign language in a foreign country, and subsequently translated into English and published in the United States. ALSC gives the award to encourage American publishers to seek out superior children's books abroad and to promote communication among the peoples of the world."
-
Pura Belpre Award
"This award, established in 1996, is presented to a Latino/Latina writer and illustrator whose work best portrays, affirms, and celebrates the Latino cultural experience in an outstanding work of literature for children and youth."
-
Best Books for Young Adults
Recommended reading, fiction and nonfiction, for young adults ages 12 to 18
- Caldecott Medal
"The Caldecott Medal was named in honor of nineteenth-century English illustrator Randolph Caldecott. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children."
-
Andrew Carnegie Medal
"The Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Children's Video, supported by the Carnegie Corporation of New York, was awarded for the first time in 1991 to honor outstanding video productions for children released during the previous year."
- Children's Notables Lists
The year's "best of the best" in children's books, recordings, videos, and computer software.
-
Margaret A. Edwards Award
"Established in 1988, this annual award honors an author's lifetime achievement for writing books that have been popular over a period of time. It recognizes an author's work in helping adolescents become aware of themselves and addressing questions about their role and importance in relationships, society, and in the world."
-
Coretta Scott King Award
"Given to African American authors and illustrator for outstanding inspirational and educational contributions, the Coretta Scott King Book Award titles promote understanding and appreciation of the culture of all peoples and their contribution to the realization of the American dream."
-
Newbery Medal
"The Newbery Medal was named for eighteenth-century British bookseller John Newbery. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children."
-
Outstanding Books for the College Bound and Lifelong Learners
"Links to information on the Outstanding Books for the College Bound list. [The list] is organized into five academic disciplines: history, humanities, literature and language arts, science and technology, and social sciences and includes fiction, nonfiction, poetry, biography and drama. [Works are selected] using a variety of criteria: readability, cultural and ethnic diversity, balance of view points, and variety of genres and title availability."
-
Popular Paperbacks for Young Adults
"Links to the Popular Paperbacks for Young Adults lists from 1997 to the present along with information on the list policies and procedures and nomination form."
-
Michael L. Printz Award
"The Michael L. Printz Award is an award for a book that exemplifies literary excellence in young adult literature. It is named for a Topeka, Kansas school librarian who was a long-time active member of the Young Adult Library Services Association."
-
Quick Picks for Reluctant Young Adult Readers
"The Quick Picks committee seeks books that teens, ages 12-18, will pick up on their own and read for pleasure. The list is geared to the teenager who, for whatever reason, does not like to read. The visual appearance of a book and the standard considerations in the quality of content are equally important when selecting books for reluctant young readers."
-
Robert F. Sibert Informational Book Medal (Non-fiction)
"The Robert F. Sibert Informational Book Award, established by the Association for Library Service to Children in 2001, is awarded annually to the author of the most distinguished informational book published during the preceding year."
- Laura Ingalls Wilder Medal
This award "honors an author or illustrator whose books, published in the United States, have made, over a period of years, a substantial and lasting contribution to literature for children. The award was first given to its namesake in 1954."
Print Resources
- Horn Book Magazine: These collections by the editors of Horn Book Magazine list all of the Newbery and Caldecott Medal winners, including notes on each book, biographical information for each author, and the text of the winners’ acceptance papers.
- The Newbery and Caldecott Medal Books, 1986-2000
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: Z1037.A2N492 2001
- Newbery and Caldecott Medal Books, 1976-1985
LOCATION: McKeldin Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PN1009.A1N49 1986
- Newbery and Caldecott Medal Books, 1966-1975
LOCATION: McKeldin Stacks
CALL NUMBER: Z1037.A2N48
- Newbery and Caldecott Medal Books, 1956-1965
LOCATION: McKeldin Stacks
CALL NUMBER: Z1037.A2K5
- Caldecott Medal Books, 1938-1957
LOCATION: McKeldin Stacks
CALL NUMBER: Z1035.A2M49
- Newbery Medal Books, 1922-1955
LOCATION: McKeldin Stacks
CALL NUMBER: Z1035.A2M49
- Other Guides
- Gillespie, John T. & Corinne J. Naden. The Newbery Companion: Booktalk and Related Materials for Newbery Medal and Honor Books, 2nd ed. Englewood, CO: Libraries Unlimited, 2001.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PS490.G55 2001
- Smith, Henrietta M., ed. The Coretta Scott King Awards Book, 1970-2004. 3rd ed. Chicago: American Library Association, 2004.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: Z1037.A2C67 2004
- The Children's Book Council. Children’s Books: Awards and Prizes. New York: CBC. (1971-1973, 1977-1981,1982,1992,1996)
LOCATION: McKeldin Periodical Stacks
CALL NUMBER: Z1037.A2C52
- Smith, Laura J. Children's Book Awards International: A Directory of Awards and Winners, From Inception through 1990. Jefferson, NC: McFarland & Co., 1992.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PN1009.A1 S6 1992.
- Brown, Muriel W. & Rita Schoch Foudray. Newbery and Caldecott Medalist and Honor Book Winners: Bibliographies and Resource Material through 1991, 2nd ed. New York: Neal-Schuman, 1992.
LOCATION: McKeldin Stacks
CALL NUMBER: Z1037.A2B76
return to top
SEARCHING THE ONLINE CATALOG
- University of Maryland
Try these subject headings when searching the UM Libraries Catalog:
- Children's literature
- Children's literature, American
- Children's literature, English
- Children's literature, Spanish
- Children's literature -- Bibliography
- Children's literature -- Book Reviews
- Children's literature -- History and Criticism
- Children's literature -- Illustrators
- Children's literature -- Study and Teaching
- Children's periodicals
- Children's plays
- Children's poetry
- Juvenile fiction (preceded by a subject word, e.g., "magic," etc.)
- Young adult fiction
- Young adult literature
- Caldecott Medal
- Newbery Medal
- School librarians
- School libraries
- School libraries -- Administration
- School libraries -- Periodicals
- School libraries -- United States
Selecting "Advanced Search" and changing the format to "Children's/Juvenile" then searching "All Fields" using your subject keywords will help to identify titles from the juvenile collection. For a broader search, select the entire USMAI Catalog (go to "Choose Campus" and select "USMAI (all campuses),") then limit the Format to "Children's/Juvenile" and enter your subject keywords.
- Other Library Catalogs
Use these other library catalogs to supplement the University of Maryland catalog, to locate holdings or verify bibliographic information.
- Public Libraries
Local public libraries are your best bet for locating children's books. The web sites below allow you to search each library or library system's online catalog; in addition, many of these web sites also include subject research guides, online exhibits, and much more. To find public libraries not listed below, visit PublicLibraries.com.
- WorldCat
The OCLC Online Union Catalog consists of over 52,000,000 records from more than 42,000 member libraries and includes books, websites and Internet resources, computer programs, films and slides, journals and magazines, manuscripts, maps, newspapers, sound recordings, videotapes and more.
- Library of Congress
"More than a Library"--In addition to their massive catalog, the Library of Congress web site hosts a variety of resources. Use Thomas to find legislative information, or use the online Library of Congress Authorities to look up authority headings for Subject, Name, Title and Name/Title combinations. American Memory, part of the National Digital Library Program is a digital collection of American historical records, including photographs, manuscripts, rare books, maps, recorded sound, and moving pictures. The Library is also the home of the U.S. Copyright Office.
return to top
INTERNET RESOURCES
- Print Guides to the Web
- Newman, Marilyn Dover. Cyberlit: Online Connections to Children's Literature for the Primary Grades. Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press, 2004.
LOCATION: Mckeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: Z1037.N47 2004
Web sites for Children's Librarians
- The Children's Literature Web Guide
Internet resources related to books for children and young adults.
- Carol Hurst's Children's Literature Site
This Web site includes a collection of reviews of great books for kids, ideas on how to use them in the classroom, and collections of books and activities about particular subjects, curriculum areas, themes and professional topics.
- Children's Literature
This site features interviews with children's book illustrators and authors, themed reviews, and related Web sites including kid, parent, librarian, and teacher resources. Also includes information about subscribing to the Children's Literature Comprehensive Database (CLCD).
- Children's Booklists on the Web: A Guide to Theme-Related Bibliographies
"For help in locating materials and inspiring readers, some librarians, educators and publishers maintain bibliographies of recommended books." This site, created by the Monroe County (Indiana) Public Library, lists "some of the notable booklist sites on the World Wide Web."
Web Sites for School Librarians
Web Sites for Children and Teens
- Yahooligans!
A search engine/directory/web directory geared toward kids.
- Internet Public Library: KidSpace and TeenSpace
A public service organization at the University of Michigan School of Information whose goal is to provide library services to Internet users. These two pages are specifically for kids and teens.
- KidsClick! Web Search for Kids by Librarians
"Created by a group of librarians at the Ramapo Catskill Library System (NY), as a logical step in addressing concerns about the role of public libraries in guiding their young users to valuable and age appropriate web sites."
- Kids.Net.AU
An Australian search engine for kids.
- International Children's Digital Library
Web site that allows viewers to look at children's books from all over the world.
return to top
INDEXES AND ABSTRACTS
Use these resources to locate reviews of children's books, criticism of children's authors and their work, or to find scholarly articles on education, children's literature, and more.
- Electronic Databases
Note: When accessing these databases from off-campus, you will need to log in to Research Port using your 14-digit barcode (on the back of your student ID) and your last name.
- Books in Print
Includes approximately 2.5 million bindings for books that are in print, forthcoming, or declared out-of-print or out-of-stock indefinitely since 1979, as well as more than 500,000 full text reviews. Also includes Books Out of Print. An excellent source for verifying bibliographic information and locating reviews.
- Book Review Index Plus
Indexes reviews of books and electronic media appearing in popular and academic periodicals from 1965 to the present.
Time span: 1965 to the present.
- Eric (EBSCO)
"ERIC, the Educational Resource Information Center, is a national information system supported by the U.S. Department of Education, the National Library of Education, and the Office of Educational Research and Improvement. ERIC provides full text of more than 2,200 digests along with references for additional information, citations and abstracts from over 1000 educational and education-related journals. For the most effective search, the online thesaurus is highly recommended to help you identify the best subject terms.
- Education Abstracts (Ebsco)
Provides citations to over 400 English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and selected series related to all aspects and levels of education from October 1983 to present. It also cites book reviews.
- Library Literature
Indexes more than 220 library and information science periodicals and selected state library journals, books, conference proceedings, library school theses, and pamphlets from 1980 to the present. Includes over 180,000 citations, but no full-text, although full-text is available for many titles by clicking on "Find It" links.
- Print Resources
- Book Review Digest. New York: H.W. Wilson Company, 1905-2004
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: Z1219.C96
- Book Review Index. Detroit, MI: Gale Group, 1965/1984-2004.
LOCATION: McKeldin Periodical Stacks
CALL NUMBER: Z1035.A1B4
- Children's Literature Review. Detroit, MI: Gale Group, 1976-- . [vol. 1-- ]
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: Z1035.A1C4
return to top
DIRECTORIES
- Association for Library Service to Children. Special Collections in Children's Literature: An International Directory. Chicago: ALA, 1995.
LOCATION: McKeldin Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PN1009.A1 S6 1992
- Dunhouse, Mary Beth. International Directory of Children's Literature. New York: Facts on File Publications, 1986.
LOCATION: McKeldin Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PN1008.4 .D86 1986
return to top
BIOGRAPHICAL SOURCES
- Electronic Resources
See the University of Maryland Libraries' list of biographical sources on their electronic Reference Shelf
- Print Resources
- Something About the Author Detroit, MI: Gale Group, 1971-- .
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: Z1224.S3 [vol. 1-- ]
- Kutzer, M. Daphne, ed. Writers of Multicultural Fiction for Young Adults: A Bio-Critical Sourcebook Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1996.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PS374.Y57W75 1996
- Berger, Laura Standley, ed. Twentieth-Century Children's Writers, 4th ed. Detroit, MI: St. James Press, 1995.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PN1009.A1T9 1995
- Silvey, Anita, ed. Children's Books and Their Creators. Boston, MA: Houghton Mifflin Company, 1995.
LOCATION: McKeldin Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PN1009.A1C454 1995
- Dictionary of Literary Biography. Detroit, MI: Gale Group. Volumes of interest:
- American Writers for Children Since 1960: Poets, Illustrators and Nonfiction Authors. 1987.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PS490.A45 1987 [Vol. 61]
- American Writers for Children Since 1960: Fiction. 1986.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PS374.C454A4 1986 [Vol. 52]
- American Writers for Children before 1900. 1985.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PS490.A44 1985 [Vol. 42]
- American Writers for Children, 1900-1960. 1983.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PS490.A43 1983 [Vol. 22]
return to top
BIBLIOGRAPHIES AND GUIDES
- Cullinan, Bernice et. al. (eds.) The Continuum Encyclopedia of Young Adult Literature. New York: Continuum, 2005.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PN1008.5.C67 2005
- Gillespie, John Thomas & Barr, Catherine. Best Books for High school Readers, Grades 9-12. Westport, Conn.: Libraries Unlimited, 2004.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: Z1037.G4816
- Gayle-Evans, Guda. An Annotated Bibliography of Multi-cultural Literature and Related Activities for Children Three to Ten Years. Lewiston, NY: Edwin Mellen, 2004.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: E184.A1 G39 2004
- Becker, Beverley C. Hit List for Children 2: Frequently Challenged Books. Chicago: ALA, 2002.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: Z1019.B38 2002
- Gillespie, John Thomas. Best Books for Children: Preschool Through Grade 6. Westport, CT: Bowker-Greenwood, 2002
LOCATION: McKeldin Stacks
CALL NUMBER:Z1037.G48 2002
- Stan, Susan. The World Through Children's Books. Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press, 2002.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PN1009.A1 W67 2002.
- Deeds, Sharon. The New Books Kids Like. Chicago: ALA, 2001.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: Z1037.N39 2001
- Kuharets, Olga R. Venture into Cultures: A Resource Book of Multicultural Materials and Programs. Chicago: ALA, 2001.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: Z688.M84 V46 2001
Lima, Carolyn W. & John A. Lima. A to Zoo: Subject Access to Children's Picture Books, 6th ed. Westport, CT: Bowker-Greenwood, 2001.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: Z1037.L715 2001
Carter, Betty. Best Books for Young Adults. 2nd. ed. Chicago: American Library Association, 2000.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PN1009.A1C34 2000
Gillespie, John Thomas. Best Books for Young Teen Readers, Grades 7 through 10. New Providence, NJ: Bowker, 2000.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: Z1037.B55 2000
Herald, Diana Tixier. Genreflecting: A Guide to Reading Interests in Genre Fiction. Englewood, CO: Libraries Unlimited, 2000.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PS374.P63 H47 2000
Schon, Isabel. Recommended Books in Spanish for Children and Young Adults, 1996 Through 1999. Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press, 2000.
LOCATION: McKeldin Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PN1009.A1 S365 2000.
Volz, Bridget Dealy. Junior Genreflecting: A Guide to Good Reads and Series Fiction for Children. Englewood, CO: Libraries Unlimited, 2000.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PN1009.A1 V65 2000
Denman-West, Margaret W. Children's Literature: A Guide to Information Sources.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PN1009.A1 D47 1998
Safford, Barbara Ripp. Guide to Reference Materials for School Library Media Centers. Englewood, CO: Libraries Unlimited, 1998.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: Z1037.1 .S34 1998
Spencer, Pam & Janis Ansell, eds. What Do Children Read Next? A Reader's Guide to Fiction for Children, Volume 2. Detroit: Gale, 1997.
LOCATION: McKeldin Periodical Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PS374.C454 S632 V.2 1997
Spencer, Pam, ed. What Do Young Adults Read Next? A Reader's Guide to Fiction for Young Adults, Volume 2. Detroit: Gale, 1997.
LOCATION: McKeldin Periodical Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PS374.C454 S63 1997
Ammon, Bette D. & Sherman, Gale W. Worth a Thousand Words: An Annotated Guide to Picture Books for Older Readers. Englewood, Colorado: Libraries Unlimited, 1996.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: Z1023.A55
Thomas, Rebecca L. Connecting Cultures: A Guide to Multicultural Literature for Children. New Providence, NJ: Bowker, 1996.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PS509.M5 C67 1996
Baskin, Barbara Holland. More Notes from a Different Drummer: A Guide to Juvenile Fiction Portraying the Disabled. New York: Bowker, 1984.
LOCATION: McKeldin Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PN1009.Z6 H253 1984
return to top
HANDBOOKS
- Lukens, Rebecca J. A Critical Handbook of Children's Literature. New York: Longman, 1999.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PN1009.A1 L84 1999
- Bauer, Caroline Feller. Caroline Feller Bauer's New Handbook for Storytellers: With Stories, Poems, Magic and More. Chicago: ALA, 1993.
LOCATION: McKeldin Stacks
CALL NUMBER: LB1042.B39 1993
- Connor, Jane Gardner. Children's Library Services Handbook. Phoenix, Arizona: Oryx Press, 1990.
LOCATION: McKeldin Stacks
CALL NUMBER: Z718.1 .C66 1990
- Tilke, Anthony. Managing Your School Library and Information Service: A Practical Handbook. London: Facet Publishing, 2002.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: Z675.S3 T484 2002
- Where do I Start?: A School Library Handbook. Worthington, OH: Linworth Publishing, 2001.
LOCATION: McKeldin Stacks
CALL NUMBER: Z675.S3 W6 2001
- Yesner, Bernice Y. Operating and Evaluating School Library Media Programs: A Handbook for Administrators and Librarians. New York: Neal-Schuman Publishers, 1998.
LOCATION: McKeldin Stacks
CALL NUMBER: Z675.S3 Y465 1998
- Barnett, Diana. Everything You Need to Know About the School Library Media Center: A Handbook for LMC Aides. Fort Atkinson, Wisconsin: Alleyside Press, 1995.
LOCATION: McKeldin Stacks
CALL NUMBER: Z675.S3 B25 1995
- California Media and Library Educators Association. From Library Skills to Information Literacy: A Handbook for the 21st Century. Castle Rock, CO: Hi Willow Research and Pub., 1994.
LOCATION: McKeldin Stacks
CALL NUMBER: Z711.2 .C66 1994
return to top
TECHNICAL SERVICES
- Acquisitions and Collection Development
- Lukenbill, W. Bernard. Collection Development for a New Century in the School Library Media Center. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2002.
LOCATION: McKeldin Stacks
CALL NUMBER: Z675.S3 L8953 2002
- Van Orden, Phyllis J. and Kay Bishop. The Collection Program in Schools: Concepts, Practices, and Information Sources. Englewood, CO: Libraries Unlimited, 2001.
LOCATION: McKeldin Stacks
CALL NUMBER: Z675.S3 V334 2001
- Kachel, Debra E. Collection Assessment and Management for School Libraries: Preparing for Cooperative Collection Development. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1997.
LOCATION: McKeldin Stacks
CALL NUMBER: Z675.S3 K23 1997
- Peterson, Susan. Children's Services Training Manual. Willows, CA: North State Cooperative Library System, 1997.
Development. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1997.
LOCATION: McKeldin Stacks
CALL NUMBER: Z718.1 .C44 1997
- Administration
- Stein, Barbara L. Running a School Library Media Center: A How-to-do-it Manual for Librarians. New York: Neal-Schuman, 2002.
LOCATION: McKeldin Stacks
CALL NUMBER: Z675.S3 S757 2002
- Tilke, Anthony. Managing Your School Library and Information Service: A Practical Handbook. London: Facet Publishing, 2002.
LOCATION: McKeldin Stacks
CALL NUMBER: Z675.S3 T484 2002
- Job, Amy G. Now What Do I Do? Things They Never Taught in Library School: A Book of Case Studies. Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press, 2001.
LOCATION: McKeldin Stacks
CALL NUMBER: Z675.S3 J59 2001
- Santa Clara County Office of Education, Library Services. Where Do I Start? A School Library Handbook. Worthington, OH: Linworth Publishing, 2001.
LOCATION: McKeldin Stacks
CALL NUMBER: Z675.S3 W6 2001
- Woolls, Blanche. The School Library Media Manager. Englewood, CO: Libraries Unlimited, 1999.
LOCATION: McKeldin Stacks
CALL NUMBER: Z675.S3 W8735 1999
- Editors of The Book Report, Library Talk, and Technology Connection. School Library Management. Worthington, OH: Linworth Publishing, 1998.
LOCATION: McKeldin Stacks
CALL NUMBER: Z675.S3 S354 1998
- Fasick, Adele M. Managing Children's Services in the Public Library. Englewood, CO: Libraries Unlimited, 1998.
LOCATION: McKeldin Stacks
CALL NUMBER: Z718.2.U6 F37 1998
- Yesner, Bernice L. and Hilda L. Jay. Operating and Evaluating School Library Media Programs: A Handbook for Administrators and Librarians. New York: Neal-Schuman Publishers, 1998.
LOCATION: McKeldin Stacks
CALL NUMBER: Z675.S3 Y465 1998
- Job, Amy G. The School Library Media Specialist as Manager: A Book of Case Studies. Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press, 1997.
LOCATION: McKeldin Stacks
CALL NUMBER: Z675.S3 J62 1997
- Association for Library Service to Children. Youth Services Librarians as Managers: A How-to Guide From Budgeting to Personnel. Chicago: ALA, 1995.
LOCATION: McKeldin Stacks
CALL NUMBER: Z718.2.U6 Y68 1995
Walter, Virginia A. Output Measures for Public Library Service to Children: A Manual of Standardized Procedures. Chicago: ALA, 1992.
LOCATION: McKeldin Stacks
CALL NUMBER: Z718.1 .W35 1992
Benne, Mae. Principles of Children's Services in Public Libraries. Chicago: ALA, 1991.
LOCATION: McKeldin Stacks
CALL NUMBER: Z718.1 .B46 1991
Connor, Jane Gardner. Children's Library Services Handbook. Phoenix, AZ: Oryx Press, 1990.
LOCATION: McKeldin Stacks
CALL NUMBER: Z718.1 .C66 1990
return to top
RELATED GUIDES
For more information, consult these related information resource guides.
return to top
|