Navigation Bar
Guides to Information Resources

Last revised: November 2009

Citing Sources Using the Chicago Style Manual:
Author-Date (Parenthetical) System

Scope: This guide is designed to help researchers learn how to cite sources using the Chicago Style author-date system. This method of citation uses an in-text parenthetical system and is most common in the physical, natural, and social sciences. For more information, refer to The Chicago Manual of Style or Kate Turabian's Manual for Writers of Term Papers, Theses, and Dissertations.

Quick Links to Sample Citations:


Overview of the Chicago/Turabian Documentation System

The Chicago system (also known as the Turabian system) allows for two different systems of documentation. The notes system is suggested for use in the humanities, art, and history, and uses footnotes (notes at the bottom of the page) to document sources. The in-text parenthetical system (known as the author-date system) is suggested for use in the physical, natural, and social sciences and uses endnotes (notes at the end of the paper on a separate sheet) to document sources.

This guide outlines the author-date system. For more information on using the notes system, see Citing Sources Using the Chicago Style Manual: Notes System.

What distinguishes the author-date system from the notes system is that the author-date system inserts minimal source information directly into the text itself, surrounded by parentheses, and follows up with the rest of the source information in a list of references at the end of the paper. Imagine that you're writing a paper on the ideal politician and are quoting a particular author's ideas about desirable qualities in a politician. An exerpt from a sentence in the text of a paper written using the author-date would look like this:

While some assert that the essential qualities a politician must possess 
are, "passion, a feeling of responsibility, and a sense of proportion" (Weber 
1946, 33), others think that ... 

The entry in the list of references would look like this:

Weber, Max. 1946. Politics as a Vocation. In  Essays in Sociology, ed. 
     H.H. Garth and C. W. Mills, 26-45. New York: Macmillian.

 return to top


Common Reference List Examples

This guide shows the most common sources appearing in research bibliographies. For more specific needs, see the The Chicago Manual of Style.

Books

   Book by a single author

In the note, the author's name will appear in the usual order; in the bibliography it will be given with the last name first.

Bagby, John W. Cyberlaw Handbook for E-Commerce. New York: Harcourt 
     Brace, 2003.

 return to top


   Book with multiple authors

If the book has two or three authors, include all authors in the note and the bibliography. If the book has more than three authors, include all authors in the bibliography but only the first author followed by "and others" or "et al." in the note.

Smith, John, Janice Brown, Chris W. Enkunde, and Lois Denmark. The History 
     of the World Wide Web. 2nd ed. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 
     2004.

 return to top


   Book with editors

Baumer, David L., Julius Poindexter, and Janice Brown, eds. Cyberlaw 
     and E-Commerce. Boston: McGraw Hill, 2002.

 return to top


   Chapter in an edited book

Heller, Chris, and Andrea Gottlieb. "Gender Roles in Ethiopian Culture." In 
      Gender in Cross-Cultural Perspective, edited by Sherry Collier, 45-56. 
     Louisville, KY: Pilgrim Press, 2001.

 return to top


Periodicals

   Journal article

Include the volume and issue number (if available). Give the range of page numbers on which the article appears in the bibliography and the specific page reference in the note (unless you are referring to the article as a whole).

James, Earl W.T., and Lucy Danker. "Obesity in American School Children: An 
     Epidemic." Journal of Nursing 389, no. 12 (2000): 399-405.

 return to top


   Journal article retrieved online

Include a URL for articles retrieved online or through an academic database such as EBSCOhost. Include page numbers for the print version if they are given.

Stem, Caroline J., James P. Lassoie, David R. Lee, and David J. Dessler. 
     "How 'Eco' is Ecotourism? A Comparative Case Study of Ecotourism in 
     Costa Rica." Journal of Sustainable Tourism 11, no. 4 (2003): 
     322-348. http://www.epnet.com/.  

You do not need to include the access date unless your instructor requires it or the information is very time-sensitive. If you do to include the date, put it in parentheses at the end of the citation:

Stem, Caroline J., James P. Lassoie, David R. Lee, and David J. Dessler. 
     "How 'Eco' is Ecotourism? A Comparative Case Study of Ecotourism in 
     Costa Rica." Journal of Sustainable Tourism 11, no. 4 
     (2003): 322-348. http://www.epnet.com/ (accessed March 6, 2005).  

 return to top


   Magazine article

Monthly magazines are usually cited by date only, even if volume and issue information is available.

Elliott, Michael. "Gypsy Foklore Revisited."  Smithsonian, March 
     2004, 23-29.

For a magazine article accessed online, include the URL for the article or database from which it was retrieved. Again, volume and issue information is typically not included. Include the date the material was accessed only if your instructor requires it or the information is very time-sensitive.

Roman, Monica. "Son of Nafta?"  Business Week, December 12, 2003.
     http://www.epnet.com/.

 return to top


   Newspaper article

Chicago style recommends not including page numbers, as they may change between editions, though it may be helpful to include a section number or name and the particular edition consulted.

Edward Epstein, "It's That Time Again: Lawmakers Revisit Daylight Saving," 
     San Francisco Chronicle, April 9, 2005, final edition.

If you access the article online through the newspaper's website, include the URL. If the URL for the specific article stops working, use the newspaper's homepage instead (e.g., http://www.nytimes.com/):

Lewin, Tamar, "College Enrollment Set Record in 2008," New York Times, 
    October 29, 2009. http://www.nytimes.com/2009/10/30/education/
    30college.html. 

If you access the article through an academic database, include the home URL for that database service:

Daniel Howden, "Polio at Mecca Sparks Fear for Muslim Thousands," 
    Independent (London), February 12, 2005, first edition. 
    http://www.lexisnexis.com/.

 return to top


Other Sources

   Unpublished dissertation

Fitzpatrick, Kerry J. "Effects of Mowing on the Selection of Raptor Foraging 
     Habitat." PhD diss., University of Maryland, 2003.

 return to top


   Government document

This format may be used for reports, bulletins, circulars, and miscellaneous material issued by executive departments, bureaus, and agencies.

U.S. Department of Agriculture. Irrigation: A National Research Plan. 
     Washington, DC: GPO, 2001.

If the government document is accessed online, include the URL and date it was accessed:

U.S. Department of Justice. Bureau of Justice Statistics. Analysis of 
     Crime Patterns 1990-2000 by Shirley Marimer. Washington, DC: GPO, 2002.
     http://www.usdoj.gov/346576/cr2002.pdf (accessed April 14, 2005).

 return to top


   Personal communication

Personal communication such as e-mails, telephone calls, or unpublished interviews are usually cited in the text or a note, but rarely appear in the bibliography. For example:

"In an e-mail message received by the author on December, 12, 2203, Sheila 
McCarthy stated that ..." 

 return to top


   Website

Include as much of the following information as you can: author, title of the specific article, title of the site, sponsor of the site, and URL. Chicago style only recommends including the access date if the material is especially time-sensitive (or if your instructor requires it). If no author's name is given, use the sponsor of the site in the author's position.

Sullivan, Danny. "Boolean Searching."  Search Engine Watch. 
http://www.searchenginewatch.com/facts/article/2155991.html.

 return to top


   Video

Videos are treated much like books, with the addition of the medium consulted (e.g., VHS, DVD).

Power! 1967-1968. VHS. Directed by Louis Massiah and Terry Kay 
     Rockefeller. Boston, MA: Public Broadcasting System Video, 1999.

 return to top


For More Information

This guide is not a comprehensive list of all sources you may encounter. For more information and examples, refer to the Chicago Manual of Style:

Gibaldi, Joseph. The Chicago Manual of Style. 15th ed.
     Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2003.

The Manual of Style is available at the McKeldin Reference Desk (Z253 .U69 2003) as well as several other campus libraries (check the catalog for availability), and may be purchased through the University Book Store or commercial vendors.

Turabian style, developed by Kate Turabian, is essentially similar to the Chicago style with slight modifications for the needs of student writers:

Turabian, Kate L. A Manual for Writers of Term Papers, Theses, and 
     Dissertations. 7th ed. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2007.

It is also available through the University of Maryland Libraries (LB2369.T8 2007). Check the catalog for availability.

 return to top


How to Construct an In-Text Parenthetical Reference

The author-date citation in the text must correspond exactly to its full citation in the reference list.

  • Basic form. Include the author's last name and year of publication.
  • (Cox 1997)
  • Two authors with the same last name. Add a first initial to distinguish between the two.
  • (M. Cox 1997)
  • Citation of a specific page or section. Insert a comma after the date and then give page number. Always include page number for direct quotations.
  • (Cox 1997, 21)
  • Two publications by the same author in the same year. Use "a" and "b" to differentiate between the two.
  • (Cox 1997a) and (Cox 1997b)
  • Two or three authors. Include all names in the citation.
  • (Cox, Cunningham, and Hatleberg 1997)
  • More than three authors. Include the first name, followed by "et al." (meaning "and others").
  • (Cox et al. 1997)
  • Multiple references in the same citation. Separate the citations with semicolons.
  • (Cox 1997; Cunningham 1996; Hatleberg 1996)

 return to top


Why Cite?

In researched writing, proper citation increases your credibility and allows readers to locate your sources; conversely, a failure to document your sources is plagiarism, a violation of the University of Maryland's Code of Academic Integrity with serious consequences.

Avoid plagiarism by gathering the information you need to create a citation when you first find each of your sources; don't wait until you begin writing the paper.

 return to top


 
 

© 2006 University Libraries. University of Maryland. College Park, MD 20742-7011, (301) 405-0800
Last modified: October 24, 2009

Send us your comments | Privacy Policy
University of Maryland Libraries Home Catalog Research Port Ask us! How do I...? Site index Search