|
Last revised: July 2009
Civil Engineering
Scope: This guide was created to help students and faculty find information resources in the field of Civil Engineering. For further assistance, e-mail the subject specialist Bob Kackley at rkackley(@umd.edu).
At UM Libraries
To locate books at the library you'll need use the UM Catalog. You can search the catalog in a number of different ways including author, title, keyword, and subject. To narrow your results, use the catalog's advanced search and limit your search by publication year, location, or by adding additional keywords. Choosing the best search method depends on how much you know about the books you're searching for. When looking for a known book, conduct an author or title search. When looking for books on a particular topic, search by keyword or subject.
A word/s anywhere search will locate terms and phrases that appear in the title, subject headings, or notes of a catalog record. Examples of some common terms and phrases used to locate books on civil engineering include:
| building |
    |
forensic engineering |
| bridges |
    |
geotechnical engineering |
| canals |
    |
hydrology |
| civil engineering |
    |
land development |
| coastal engineering |
    |
roads |
| construction |
    |
seismic engineering |
| construction materials |
    |
structural engineering |
| dams |
    |
surveying |
| earthquake engineering |
    |
transportation engineering |
| environmental engineering |
    |
tunnels |
Books dealing with similar subjects are likely to be grouped together on the shelves. Thus, another way to locate books on a particular topic is to browse by call number. You can do this: a) physically -- by going to the stacks and shelf-reading, or b) or virtually -- by doing a call number search in the online catalog using the first few digits of a call number (i.e., TA800 for books on tunnels). The following are some call number ranges where you can find books on civil engineering topics:
| TA 1-165 |     | Engineering (General). Civil engineering |
| TA 401-492 |     | Materials of engineering and construction |
| TA 501-625 |     | Surveying |
| TA 630-695 |     | Structural engineering |
| TA705-710.5 |     | Engineering geology, rock mechanics, and soil mechanics |
| TA 715-787 |     | Earthwork and foundations |
| TA 800-820 |     | Tunneling and tunnels |
| TA 1001-1280 |     | Transportation engineering |
| TC 1-978 |     | Hydraulic engineering. Ocean engineering |
| TD 1-158 |     | Environmental technology. Sanitary engineering |
| TE 1-450 |     | Highway engineering. Roads and pavements |
| TF 1-1620 |     | Railroad engineering and operation |
| TG 1-470 |     | Bridge engineering |
| TH 1-9745 |     | Building construction |
return to top
At Other Libraries
Occasionally, you may find it necessary to search for resources beyond those held by our libraries. The best tool for locating books and journals beyond holdings of the University of Maryland and its consortium libraries is WorldCat. WorldCat contains records for materials found in research libraries worldwide.
However, in order to obtain materials found outside the university system you will need to request an interlibrary loan. Materials requested through interlibrary loan take approximately two weeks to arrive.
return to top
Codes & Standards
American Concrete Institute. ACI Manual of Concrete Practice. Detroit: American Concrete Institute.
LOCATION: Latest edition in EPSL Reference
CALL NUMBER: TA439.A358
American Society for Testing and Materials. Annual Book of ASTM Standards. Philadelphia: ASTM, 2006-.
LOCATION: EPSL Reference
CALL NUMBER: TA401.A653
ASTM Fire Standards. West Conshohocken, PA: ASTM International, 2007.
LOCATION: EPSL Reference
CALL NUMBER: TH9446.3 .A84 2007
Building Officials and Code Administrators International. BOCA National Building Code. Country Club Hills, Ill.: Building Officials & Code Administrators International, 1999.
LOCATION: Architecture Reference
CALL NUMBER: KF5701.A73 B83
International Code Council. International Building Code. Falls Church, Va.: International Code Council, 2009.
LOCATION: Architecture Reference
CALL NUMBER: K3538.A15I5
Hutchings, Jonathan F. National Building Codes Handbook. New York: McGraw-Hill, 1998.
LOCATION: EPSL Reference
CALL NUMBER: KF5701.H87 1998
Brockenbrough, R. L. Structural Steel Designer’s Handbook: AISC, AASHTO, AISI, ASTM, and ASCE-07 Design Standards.
LOCATION: EPSL Reference
CALL NUMBER: TA684.S79 2006
return to top
Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
Kemp, Emory Leland. American Bridge Patents: The First Century (1790-1890). Morgantown: West Virginia University Press, 2005.
LOCATION: EPSL Reference
CALL NUMBER: TG153.K46 2005
Moavenzadeh, Fred. Concise Encyclopedia of Building & Construction Materials . New York: Pergamon Press, 1990.
LOCATION: Architecture Reference
CALL NUMBER: TA402.C657 1990
Webster, Len. Contractors’ Dictionary of Equipment, Tools, and Techniques: for Civil Engineering, Construction, Forestry, Open-pit Mining, and Public Works. New York: Wiley, 1995.
LOCATION: EPSL Reference
CALL NUMBER: TA9.W43 1995
Harris, Cyril M. Dictionary of Architecture & Construction. New York: McGraw-Hill, 2006.
LOCATION: Architecture Reference
CALL NUMBER: NA31.H32 2006
Webster, Len. Dictionary of Environmental & Civil Engineering. New York: Parthenon, 2000.
LOCATION: EPSL Reference
CALL NUMBER: TA9.W43 2000
Glass, Jacqueline. Encyclopaedia of Architectural Technology. Chichester: Wiley-Academy, 2002.
LOCATION: Architecture Reference
CALL NUMBER: NA31.G53 2002
Johnson, Stephen. Encyclopedia of Bridges and Tunnels. New York: Facts On File, 2002.
LOCATION: EPSL Reference
CALL NUMBER: TG9.J64 2002
Herschy, Reginald W. Encyclopedia of Hydrology and Water Resources. Boston: Kluwer Academic, 1998.
LOCATION: EPSL Reference
CALL NUMBER: GB655.E53 1998
Burden, Ernest. Illustrated Dictionary of Building Design + Construction. New York: McGraw-Hill, 2005.
LOCATION: EPSL Stacks
CALL NUMBER: TH9.B87 2005
Marchetti, John. Means Illustrated Construction Dictionary. Kingston, MA: R.S. Means Co., 2000.
LOCATION: EPSL Reference
CALL NUMBER: TH9.M4 2000
McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology. New York: McGraw-Hill, 1997.
LOCATION: EPSL Reference
CALL NUMBER: Q121.M3 1997
Scott, John S. VNR Dictionary of Civil Engineering. New York: Van Nostrand Reinhold, 1993.
LOCATION: EPSL Reference
CALL NUMBER: TA9.S35 1993
return to top
Handbooks & Manuals
Chen, Wai-Fah. Civil Engineering Handbook. Boca Raton: CRC Press, 2003.
LOCATION: EPSL Reference
CALL NUMBER: TA151.C57 2003
Parmley, Robert O. Civil Engineer’s Illustrated Sourcebook. New York: McGraw-Hill, 2003.
LOCATION: EPSL Reference
CALL NUMBER: TA151.P33 2003
Chen, Wai-Fah. Earthquake Engineering Handbook. Boca Raton: CRC Press, 2003.
LOCATION: EPSL Reference
CALL NUMBER: TA654.6 .E374 2003
Parmley, Robert O. Field Engineer’s Manual. New York: McGraw-Hill, 2002.
LOCATION: EPSL Reference
CALL NUMBER: TA151.F5 2002
Smoltczyk, Ulrich. Geotechnical Engineering Handbook. Berlin: Ernst & Sohn, 2002.
LOCATION: EPSL Reference
CALL NUMBER: TA775.G6913 2002
Hydrology Handbook. New York: American Society of Civil Engineers, 1996.
LOCATION: EPSL Reference
CALL NUMBER: Stacks GB661.2.H93 1996
Ryall, M.J. Manual of Bridge Engineering. London: Thomas Telford, 2000.
LOCATION: EPSL Reference
CALL NUMBER: TG145.M36 2000
Vanoni, Vito A. Sedimentation Engineering. Reston, Va.: American Society of Civil Engineers, 2006.
LOCATION: EPSL Reference
CALL NUMBER: Stacks TC175.2.S385 2006
Ricketts, Jonathan T. Standard Handbook for Civil Engineers. New York: McGraw-Hill, 2004.
LOCATION: EPSL Reference
CALL NUMBER: TA151.S8 2004
Goulias, Konstadinos. Transportation Systems Planning: Methods and Applications. Boca Raton: CRC Press, 2003.
LOCATION: EPSL Reference
CALL NUMBER: HE193.T733 2003
return to top
Directories
ARCAT: A Directory of Over 8,000 Building Product Manufacturers and 1,500 Associations. Fairfield, CT: Architect’s Catalog, Inc., 2000.
LOCATION: Architecture Reference
CALL NUMBER: HD9715.8.U62 A73 2000
Pankratz, Tom M. Environmental Engineering Dictionary and Directory. Boca Raton: Lewis Publishers, 2001.
LOCATION: EPSL Reference
CALL NUMBER: TD9.P36 2001
Gottlieb, Daniel W. Environmental Technology Resources Handbook. Boca Raton: Lewis Publishers, 2003.
LOCATION: EPSL Reference
CALL NUMBER: TD169.5.G68 2003
Wilson, Alex. GreenSpec Directory: Product Directory with Guideline Specifications. Brattleboro, VT: BuildingGreen, 2003.
LOCATION: Architecture Reference
CALL NUMBER: TA403.6.G744 2003
International Directory of Engineering Societies and Related Organizations. Washington, DC: American Association of Engineering Societies, 1995.
LOCATION: Off-site shelving
CALL NUMBER: TA1.D48 1995
Plunkett’s Engineering and Research Industry Almanac. Houston: Plunkett Research, 2000.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference
CALL NUMBER: TA160.P58
ThomasRegister of American Manufacturers. New York: Thomas Pub. Co., 2005.
LOCATION: EPSL Reference
CALL NUMBER: T12.T6
ELECTRONIC: http://www.thomasnet.com/
return to top
Core Databases
ASCE Database (American Society of Civil Engineers)
Abstracts of ASCE journal articles, conference papers, books, and standards. (Coverage: 1970-present)
Compendex
Large, interdisciplinary engineering database containing abstracts and full text from journals, conference proceedings, and trade publications. (Coverage: 1969-present)
GeoRef
Abstracts of literature in geology and earth sciences. (Coverage: 1785-present)
Inspec Archive
Inspec backfile for pre-1969 scientific literature. (Coverage: 1868-1968)
Safety Science and Risk Abstracts
Abstracts of literature on public health, safety, industrial hygiene, environmental and occupational risks and hazards.
TRIS (Transportation Research Information Services)
Abstracts of books, articles, papers, and technical reports in the field of transportation. (Coverage: 1960-present)
Water Resources Abstracts
Abstracts of literature on use and management of water resources. (Coverage: 1967-present)
return to top
Multidisciplinary Databases
Academic Search Premier
Large multidisciplinary database providing abstracts and full-texts to journals in a wide variety of subject areas. (Coverage: 1965-present)
Conference Papers
Citations to papers and poster sessions presented at major scientific meetings around the world. (Coverage: 1982-present)
Digital Dissertations
Abstracts and full-text of dissertations and theses from over 1,000 graduate schools and universities. (Coverage: 1861-present; Full-text from 1997)
NTIS
http://www.ntis.gov/search/index.aspx
Abstracts of government-sponsored research and reports from federal agencies. (Coverage: 1964-present)
Science Citation Index
A multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the sciences. (Coverage: 1945-present)
Scitopia.org
Scitopia.org is a free federated search portal of 15 leading science and technology societies; it includes abstracts of peer-reviewed journal content, patents and technical conference papers.
WorldCat
Union catalog of books, journals, media, and archival materials held by research libraries worldwide.
return to top
To locate journals in your field of interest conduct a Journal Search in the UM catalog or browse the E-Journal collections in Research Port. Click here for a select list of journals in civil engineering.
return to top
Civil Engineering -- General
BUBL: Civil Engineering
http://bubl.ac.uk/link/c/civilengineering.htm
Catalog of Internet resources in civil engineering.
Intute: Science, Engineering, & Technology
http://www.intute.ac.uk/sciences/cgi-bin/browse.pl?id=25646
Gateway to online resources in engineering, science, mathematics and computing. Click on "Civil Engineering" and then search by keyword or browse by subtopic.
iCivilEngineer
http://www.icivilengineer.com/
Directory of civil engineering resources on the web. Also includes industry news and job postings.
Galaxy: Civil and Construction Engineering
http://www.galaxy.com/directory/29558/
Directory of websites related to civil engineering and construction.
Greatest Engineering Achievements of the 20th Century
http://www.greatachievements.org/
Provides historical summaries, timelines, and personal essays related to 20 major engineering projects of the 20th century.
Martindale's Calculators On-line Center -- Engineering Calculators
http://www.martindalecenter.com/Calculators4.html
Online calculators and applets used to solve common engineering problems.
Ultimate Civil Engineering Directory
http://www.tenlinks.com/engineering/civil/
Directory of civil engineering resources on the web including reference sources, calculators, image databases, and online publications.
return to top
Construction and Building Engineering
Advanced Buildings: Technologies and Practices
http://www.advancedbuildings.org/
A building professional's guide to more than 90 environmentally-appropriate technologies and practices.
Blue Book of Building and Construction
http://www.thebluebook.com/
Online directory of commercial construction firms and professionals.
Construction WebLinks (Thelen Reid & Priest LLP)
http://www.constructionweblinks.com/
Extensive collection of construction resources on the web including industry news, professional organizations, codes and standards, technical specifications, and statistics.
McGraw-Hill Construction
http://www.construction.com/
Provides industry intelligence for the design and construction industry, offering news, project information, product information, plans and specifications.
RSMeans Building Glossary
http://www.rsmeans.com/dictionary/
Provides definitions for more than 15,000 construction-related words and phrases. Note: service is free, but registration required.
return to top
Environmental Engineering
Envirolink
http://www.envirolink.org/
Clearinghouse for up-to-date environmental information and news.
National Library for the Environment
http://ncseonline.org/NLE/
Gateway to online information on a wide range of environmental issues including air quality, energy, pollution, waste management, water resources, and other areas.
NEPIS: National Environmental Publications Information System
http://nepis.epa.gov/
Full-text of over 7,000 EPA reports and publications.
WWEVL: Waste Water Engineering Virtual Library
http://www.cleanh2o.com/
Searchable directory of waste water resources on the web.
return to top
Geotechnical Engineering
Geoengineer
http://www.geoengineer.org/
Information portal for the geoengineering profession. Includes links to online resources, and the latest news and research in the field.
Geotechnical, Rock, and Water Resources Digital Library
http://www.grow.arizona.edu/
Digital collection of peer-reviewed informational and educational resources in geotechnical engineering.
NEHRP Recommended Provisions For Seismic Regulations For New Buildings And Other Structures
http://www.bssconline.org/pubs/downloads.html
Standards for seismic safety recommended by the National Earthquake Hazards Reduction Program.
Quakeline
http://mceer.buffalo.edu/utilities/quakeline.asp
Free bibliographic database created by the Multidisciplinary Center for Earthquake Engineering Research (MCEER) at the University of Buffalo. Contains over 41,500 citations to literature on earthquakes, earthquake engineering, natural hazard mitigation, and related topics.
U.S. Geological Survey
http://www.usgs.gov/
Excellent source of information, publications, and data pertaining to geography, geology, and water resources.
return to top
Hydraulic Engineering
Hydrologic Engineering Center (HEC)
http://www.hec.usace.army.mil/
The Hydrologic Engineering Center is a division of the US Army Corps of Engineers. Their site offers publications and software in hydrologic engineering and water resources management.
Water Online
http://www.wateronline.com/
Online sourcing service and bi-weekly e-newsletter focused on wastewater treatment, drinking water purification, stormwater management, valve, pipe and flow control markets.
USGS Water Resources of the United States
http://water.usgs.gov/
Data, maps, and publications on water resources from the U.S. Geological Survey.
return to top
Structural Engineering
Bridge Engineering Home Page
http://www.scsolutions.com/bridge.html
Collection of links to bridge engineering resources on the web.
Godden Structural Engineering Slide Library
http://nisee.berkeley.edu/godden/
Images and descriptions of various structural systems including beams, arches, cable-stayed structures, trusses, domes, and columns.
Structurae
http://en.structurae.de/index.cfm
Offers information on works of structural engineering, architecture or construction through time, history and from around the world.
return to top
Transportation Engineering
Bureau of Transportation Statistics
http://www.transtats.bts.gov/
Provides one-stop shopping for transportation data. Browse by subject or search by keyword.
National Transportation Library
http://ntl.bts.gov/
Virtual library for the transportation community.
National Transportation Safety Board Publications
http://www.ntsb.gov/Publictn/publictn.htm
NTSB reports covering safety of highways, waterways, aviation, and railroads.
return to top
American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials (AASHTO)
http://www.transportation.org/
American Concrete Institute (ACI)
http://www.concrete.org/
American Institute of Steel Construction (AISC)
http://www.aisc.org/
American Iron and Steel Institute (AISI)
http://www.steel.org/
American Public Works Association (APWA)
http://www.apwa.net/
American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE)
http://www.asce.org/
American Water Works Association (AWWA)
http://www.awwa.org/
ASM International
http://asmcommunity.asminternational.org/portal/site/www/
Chartered Institution of Building Services Engineers (CIBSE)
http://www.cibse.org/
Earthquake Engineering Research Institute (EERI)
http://www.eeri.org/
Environmental and Engineering Geophysical Society (EEGS)
http://www.eegs.org/
Geo-Institute
http://www.geoinstitute.org/
Institute of Transportation Engineers (ITE)
http://www.ite.org/
International Association of Civil Engineering Students (IACES)
http://www.iaces.org/
International Society for Rock Mechanics (ISRM)
http://www.isrm.net/
International Society for Soil Mechanics and Geotechnical Engineering (ISSMGE)
http://www.issmge.org/
International Water Association (IWA)
http://www.iwahq.org/
National Institute of Building Sciences (NIBS)
http://www.nibs.org/
Structural Engineering Institute (SEI)
http://www.seinstitute.org/
Transportation Research Board (TRB)
http://gulliver.trb.org/
U.S. Army Corps of Engineers (USACE)
http://www.usace.army.mil/
U.S. Green Building Council (USGBC)
http://www.usgbc.org/
return to top
Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering (CEE)
http://www.cee.umd.edu/
CEE Research Centers
http://www.cee.umd.edu/research/research-centers.html
Engineering Student Organizations
http://www.eng.umd.edu/ESC/societies.html
Engineering Co-op & Career Services
http://www.coop.engr.umd.edu/
A. James Clark School of Engineering
http://www.eng.umd.edu/
return to top
|