|
Last revised: July 2007
Computer Science
Scope: This guide was created to help
students and faculty find information resources in the field of
Computer Science. For further assistance, e-mail the subject specialist
Nevenka Zdravkovska at nevenka@umd.edu.
REFERENCE WORKS
The following resources may be helpful for looking up quick facts,
definitions, and explanations
for computing principles, theories, and applications.
In Print
- Facts on File
Dictionary of Computer Science (2006)
EPSL Reference: QA76.15 .F345 2006
Entries explain fundamental concepts such as hardware, software, and
applications. It also defines terms associated with the latest
technology and advancements, such as artificial intelligence and
palmtop computers.
- Webster's New
World Computer Science
Dictionary (2003)
EPSL Reference : QA76.15.P395 2003
Offers concise definitions for over 4,750 computer terms.
- Oxford Dictionary
of Computing
(2004)
EPSL Reference : QA76.15.D526 2004
Dictionary of computing terminology containing over 6,300 entries.
- Concise
Encyclopedia of Computer Science
(2004)
EPSL Reference : QA76.15.C654 2004
Encyclopedia of computer technology and its applications. Articles
arranged into nine main
themes: hardware, computer systems, information and data, software,
mathematics and computing,
theory of computation, methodologies, applications, and computing
milieux.
- Encyclopedia of
Computer Science and
Technology (2003)
EPSL Reference : QA76.15.H43 2003
Encyclopedia featuring more than 400 cross-referenced entries on topics
such as artificial
intelligence, programming languages, networking, database
administration, and hacking.
- Computer Science
Handbook (2004)
EPSL Reference : QA76.C54755 2004
A comprehensive reference for computer scientists and software
engineers providing coverage on a
range of topics such as algorithms, architecture, graphics, information
management systems, and
human-computer interaction.
- Handbook of Data
Structures and Applications
(2005)
EPSL Reference : QA76.9.S88 H363 2005
Discusses basic concepts of data structures (structures, trees, and
graphs) and their
applications (Internet routing, VLSI, computer graphics, datamining,
etc.).
Online - Restricted to UMCP users
- Safari
Tech Books Online
Electronic reference library for Information Technology and Computer
Science. Includes hundreds
of books (published by O'Reilly) designed to address the needs for
reference content in the
areas of information
technology, desktop applications and business.
- Access
Science
Searchable, electronic version of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of
Science and Technology which
includes a science dictionary, news articles, research updates,
biographies, and more.
- Encyclopaedia
Britannica
Online
Contains the full-text of the 32-volume Encyclopaedia Britannica,
Webster's Third New
International Dictionary Unabridged, and the Britannica Book of the
Year.
Online - Free
- Free On-Line
Dictionary of Computing
(FOLDOC)
FOLDOC is a searchable dictionary of acronyms, jargon, programming
languages, and theories
related to computing. It
contains over 13,000 entries which are cross-referenced to each other
and to related resources
elsewhere on the web.
- ComputerUser
High-Tech Dictionary
Free, online dictionary available from ComputerUser.com.
- Webopedia: Online Computer
Dictionary
A free, online dictionary for computer and Internet technology
definitions.
- Dictionary of Algorithms and
Data Structures
Dictionary of algorithms, algorithmic techniques, data structures,
archetypical problems, and
definitions related to
computer science.
- BABEL: A
Glossary of Computer Oriented
Abbreviations and
Acronyms
A glossary of computer-related acronyms and abbreviations.
- TechWeb
Encyclopedia
A free, online encyclopedia of over 20,000 IT terms.
- Symantec's Virus
Encyclopedia
Provides a synopsis of the latest virus-related threats discovered by
Symantec Security Response,
including information on: the name of threat, the level of risk, the
date of discovery, technical
details about how it functions, and instructions for removal.
- W3 Schools Online Web
Tutorials
An excellent resource for quick reference and introductory information
related to web design and development. Contains primers and tutorials
for HTML, XML, browser scripting, server scripting, and multimedia.
- The Guide to Network Resource
Tools (GNRT) GNRT provides
a basic introduction to the Internet with sections on using basic tools
and services available on
the network. A comprehensive guide on a whole spectrum of Internet
services: from basic network
tools and simple email and Web tools to multimedia collaboration tools.
- UMBC AgentWeb
A collection of materials that offer an introduction or overview of
software agent-related
concepts and technologies.
- Chip
Directory
Searchable chip directory providing numerically and functionally
ordered chip lists, chip
pinouts, and lists of manufacturers.
- Science & Engineering
Encyclopedia
Science and engineering descriptions, equations, conversions,
calculators and material data. Organized by A to Z, subject and
interlinked.
return to top
LOCATING BOOKS
Locating Books at EPSL
To locate books at the library you'll need use the UM
Catalog. Often, the best way to find books on a particular topic is
to browse by subject. To
browse catalog subject headings select "Subject beginning with..." as
your search type and enter
your search term(s). Thus, for example, a subject search for "software
engineering" would
return something like the following:

Click on the subject heading to view the list of books classified by
that heading.
Click here for further instructions on
searching the UM Catalog.
Another way of locating books on a particular topic may to be browse
the collections directly.
Books on similar topics are likely to be grouped together on the
shelves. Browsing the shelves
requires some familiarity with the Library of Congress Classification
system. In general, books
on computer science are classified under call numbers beginning with
QA76:
| QA75.5-76.95 | Electronic Computers. Computer
Science |
| |
| QA76 | ........General computer science works |
| QA76.5-76.74 | ....Digital computers |
| QA76.6-76.66 | ....Programming |
| QA76.73 | ........Programming languages |
| QA76.75-76.765 | ....Computer software |
| QA76.8.A-Z | ....Special computers, computer systems &
microprocessors by name
A-Z |
| QA76.9.A-Z | ....Other topics by name A-Z |
Click here for an overview of the
EPSL floor plan and a
tutorial on reading call numbers.
Locating Books at Other Libraries
Occasionally, you may find it necessary to search for resources beyond
those held by EPSL. The
best tool for locating books and journals beyond holdings of the
University of Maryland and its
consortium libraries is WorldCat. WorldCat contains records for materials found in
research libraries worldwide.
However, in order to obtain materials found outside the university
system you will need to
request an interlibrary loan.
return to top
LOCATING ARTICLES
To locate journals in your field of interest you can conduct a Journal Search
in the UM catalog or
browse the E-Journal collections
in Research
Port. To find precise articles on a topic, however, you will want to
search some of the following
electronic databases accessible through Research Port.
Core Computer Science Databases
The following databases are the primary electronic resources available
for locating journal
articles in computer science.
- ACM
Digital Library
Full-text repository of publications from ACM and other publishers.
Publications include
journals, magazines, transactions, special interest group newsletters,
proceedings, and
publications by affiliated organizations.
- Computer &
Info Systems
Journal articles, technical reports, conference papers, and more on
theoretical research and
practical applications in the computer and information sciences.
- IEEE
Xplore
Provides full-text access to IEEE transactions, journals, magazines and
conference proceedings
published since 1988 and all current IEEE Standards.
- Inspec
Indexes and abstracts 4,000 scientific/technical journals and
conference proceedings in physics,
electrical engineering, computing, and information technology.
- Lecture
Notes in Computer
Science
Established as a medium for the publication of new developments in
computer science and
information technology research and teaching. Selected volumes
available from 1983 to current.
- Safari
Tech Books Online
Electronic reference library for Information Technology and Computer
Science. Includes hundreds
of books designed to address the needs for reference content in the
areas of information
technology, desktop applications and business.
- Web of
Science (Science
Citation Index)
A multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the
sciences. It indexes more than
5,700 major journals across 164 scientific disciplines. Virtually the
only index for finding what
papers have cited other papers.
return to top
Multidisciplinary Databases
While not explicitly devoted to computer science topics, the following
related, general, and/or
multidisciplinary databases may prove useful in your research:
- Academic
Search Premier
Provides abstracts and indexing for over 7,000 journals. Full text of
articles for over 4,000
scholarly publications, including more than 3,100 peer-reviewed
publications.
- Digital
Dissertations
This database is the authoritative source for information about and
full text of doctoral
dissertations and master's theses. The database represents the work of
authors from over 1,000
graduate schools and universities.
- MathSciNet
Covering mathematical literature since 1940 this international database
provides bibliographic data and reviews of mathematical research
literature from 1700 current journals, books and other
original documents.
- netLibrary
A collection of E-texts covering topics specifically chosen by Maryland
Academic Libraries.
- NTIS
Database covering U.S. government-sponsored research and reports from
federal agencies.
- Web of
Science (Science
Citation Index)
A multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the
sciences. It indexes more than
5,700 major journals across 164 scientific disciplines. Virtually the
only index for finding what
papers have cited other papers.
- Science
Direct
Provides abstracts and indexing for more than 1800 journals. Full text
of more than 800 journals
is available to USMAI institutions.
- WorldCat
Union catalog of books, journals, media, and archival materials in
libraries worldwide.
return to top
WEB RESOURCES
The following are some computer science related resources available for
free on the web:
Gateways
- WWW Virtual Library: Computing
and Computer
Science
Gateway to online computer science resources. Click on a topic such as
artificial intelligence,
computer-aided design, or digital rights management to view selected
resources on that topic.
- EEVL Guide to
Computer Science
A gateway to information resources on the web related to computing.
Includes a searchable catalog
of expert-indexed websites.
- Inter
net Links for Computer Science
A large collection of links to computer science resources on the web
published by Dartmouth College Library. [Note some links lead to
resources only available to Dartmouth students].
- Internet
Resources for Computer Science
A guide to internet resources in computer science created by SUNY's
University at Albany Libraries.
- Software Engineering
Resources
Site containing over 1000 software engineering resources to help you
gather information on a
variety of software engineering topics such as system engineering,
architectural design, software
testing methods, and software project management.
return to top
Digital Libraries
- Citeseer
A digital library of scientific literature related to computer and
information science. Includes
abstracts, full-text, and citation indexing.
- Networked Computer Science
Technical Reference Library
(NCSTRL)
NCSTRL (pronounced "ancestral") is an international collection of
computer science research
papers and technical reports made available from a number of
participating institutions and
archives. Full-text available as compressed postscript files.
- Computing Research Repository
(CoRR)
A free, digital repository or research papers and technical reports in
areas such as artificial intelligence, cryptography, graphics, human
computer interaction, information retrieval, robotics, software
engineering, and symbolic computation.
- The Web Developer's Virtual
Library
A digital library of web design resources, demos and tutorials
including topics such as HTML,
XML, JavaScript, graphics, databases, and E-commerce.
return to top
Bibliographies
- The
Collection of Computer
Science Bibliographies
A searchable database of over 2 million bibliographic references to
computer science literature
including journal articles, conference papers and technical reports.
Many references contain
cross-references to citing or cited publications, URLs to an online
version of a paper, or links
to other sites carrying bibliographic information.
- DataBase Systems & Logic
Programming (DBLP): Computer
Science
Bibliography
The DBLP server provides bibliographic information on major computer
science journals and
proceedings. The server indexes more than 600,000 articles and contains
several thousand links to
home pages of computer scientists.
- BibFinder: A Computer
Science Bibliography Mediator
BibFinder is a computer science bibliography search engine that
simultaneously searches the Collection of Computer Science
Bibliographies (CSB), the DBLP Computer Science Bibliography, the ACM
Digital Library, ScienceDirect, CiteSeer, and Google.
return to top
E-Journals
return to top
Professional Associations
return to top
DEPARTMENTAL PAGES
The following links provide information for staying abreast with events
in your department.
return to top
|