|
Last revised: August 2009
Developmental Biology
Scope: The purpose of this guide is to provide quick access to print and electronic resources covering Developmental Biology. Parts of this guide are derived from "Using the Biological Literature: A Practical Guide" by Diane Schmidt, Elisabeth B. Davis, and Pamela F. Jacobs (2002). Email the subject area specialist at tharrod@umd.edu or call 301-405-7253 for more information.
Please fill out the survey at the bottom of the page.
Click here to learn more about studying Developmental Biology at the University of Maryland at College Park. Developmental Biology is one of the areas of specializations within the Department of Biology
To find books about cell and developmental biology in our catalog try searching for the following subject terms: Developmental Genetics, Developmental Biology, Reproduction, Stem Cells, Molecular Biology, Embryology, etc.
- Bellairs, R. & Osmond, M. Atlas of Chick Development
Amsterdam ; Boston ; London : Elsevier, c2005. Print Location: UMCP McKeldin Library Folio Call Number: QL959 .B38 2005
- Schoenwolf, G.C. Atlas of Descriptive Embryology
San Francisco ; London : Pearson Benjamin Cummings, c2008. Print Location: UMCP McKeldin Library Stacks Call Number: QL956 .M38 2008
- Hartenstein, V. Atlas of Drosophila Development
Plainview, N.Y. : Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory Press, 1993. Print Location: UMCP McKeldin Library Stacks Call Number: QL537.D76 H38 1993
- Conn, D.B. Atlas of Invertebrate Reproduction and Development
New York : Wiley, 2000. Print Location: UMCP McKeldin Library Folio Call Number: QL364.15 .C67 2000
- Bernardini, G. et al. Atlas of Xenopus Development
Milan ; New York : Springer, c1999. Print Location: UMCP McKeldin Library Folio Call Number: QL558.E265 A85 1999
- The Dictionary of Cell and Molecular Biology - Lackie, J.M. (ed.)
Boston : Academic, c2007. Print Location: UMCP Chemistry Reference Call Number: QH575 .D55 2007
- Encyclopedia of Life Sciences
http://www.els.net Online Resource
- Encyclopedia of Reproduction - Knobil, E. & Neill, J.D. (eds.)
San Diego : Academic Press, c1998. Print Location: UMCP McKeldin Library Reference Stacks Call Number: QP251 .E48125 1998
- Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology - Cammack, R., Attwood, T.K., et al (eds.)
Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2006. Print Location: UMCP Chemistry Stacks Call Number: QP512 .O94 2006
(These are ranked by impact factor, also please note that our coverage of these journals is not always to the present)
Developmental Biology
This list represents only a portion of the Cell Biology and Molecular Genetics journals available from the University of Maryland, to search for more electronic journals accessible through our library, check the E-Journals list in Research Port - to search for print journals, check our Catalog.
return to top
- Academic Search Premier
Multi-disciplinary database indexing articles from over 8100 journals - with full-text access for 4500 of those journals.
- Biological and Medical Sciences
Covers a range of biological subjects including: biomedical sciences and biotechnology as well as other areas of biology - this database is comprised of records from 6000 journals, books, conference proceedings, and other scholarly sources.
- BIOSIS Previews
Database covering the biological sciences including interdisciplinary areas such as medicine and biochemistry - made up of 5500 journals, books, conference proceedings, and other scholarly sources.
- Faculty of 1000
Listing of critical papers in biology as selected by 1600 international scientists, subdivided into various disciplines within biology.
- Papers First
Listing of over 2 million papers that have been presented at conferences from around the world.
- PubMed (Medline)
Database indexing articles from over 4500 journals from around the world - covers medical literature in a variety of fields as well as biomedical research.
- Science Direct
Indexing articles from 1800 journals (800 of which have full-text access), this database covers a range of sciences including biology.
- Web of Science
This database indexes articles from over 17000 journals including 5700 from across the sciences - in addition this database makes it possible to track citations (i.e. who has cited whom and who was cited by whom).
These are just some of the databases that the University of Maryland College Park offers in Cell Biology and Molecular Genetics - to see more databases covering these areas of study, click on Biology and/or Cell Biology
return to top
return to top
return to top
|