|
Last revised: August 2008
Special EducationScope:This page provides information on electronic and print resources useful for research in special education. For a complete list of electronic resources available to University of Maryland faculty, staff, and students, as well as information about the full range of library materials and services, consult the
UM Libraries' home page.
Because of licensing agreements, access to bibliographic databases and electronic
journals is restricted to UM faculty, staff, and students. These may be accessed
from off campus via Research Port. For more detailed information consult
Remote access.
If you have any questions, please email the subject specialist at kpatter@umd.edu. Please complete the guide survey so that the subject specialist can keep the guide relevant.
- The Achievement Test Desk Reference (ATDR): A Guide to Learning Disability Identification. Hoboken, N.J.:John Wiley & Sons, 2006.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: LB3060.3.A28 2006
- Brief References of Student Disabilities with Strategies for the Classroom. Thousand Oaks, Calif: Corwin Press, 2002.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: LC4031.N53 2002
For each disability included in this book there is a definition, background information, characteristics, strategies for educators, a list of books about the disability and a list of relevant organizations/agencies.
- The Complete Learning Disabilities Directory. Lakeville, Ct: Grey House Pub, 1994.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: LC4704.6.C66 2001
Covers schools, learning centers, vocational training programs, government agencies, associations and organizations involved in learning disabilities. Also includes sections on teaching materials, periodicals and workshops related to learning disabilities.
- Dictionary of Special Education and Rehabilitation. (4th ed.) Denver: Love Pub, 1997.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: LC 3957.V47
- EDM: the Educator's Diagnostic Manual of Disabilities and Disorders.San Francisco, CA: Jossey Bass, 2007
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: LC4019.O524 2007
- The Encyclopedia of Learning Disabilities. 2nd. ed. New York: Facts on File, 2006.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: LC4704.5.E53 2006
Contains topics in three areas: learning disabilities and their treatment; information about laws relating to learning disabilities; and entries relating to the education of the learning disabled. Information about relevant associations and organizations are also included.
Encyclopedia of Special Education. (3rd. ed.) Hoboken, N.J.: Wiley, 2007.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: LC4007.E53 2007.
A good place to begin researching a topic. The entries in this encyclopedia provide definitions, relate the history of the subject, explain the research and treatment of the subject and include bibliographies for further research.
- Learning Disabilities Sourcebook. (2nd. ed.) Detroit: Omnigraphics, 2003.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: LC4705.L434 2003
This is an excellent overview of the subject of learning disabilities. It includes information on: understanding learning disabilities; language, speech, and processing disabilities; academic skills disorders; other conditions that impede learning; educational issues; accommodations and assistive devices; and coping strategies.
- The Praeger Handbook of Special Education. Westport, Conn.: Praeger Publishers, 2007.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: LC3957.P73 2007
Contents include chapters on: history of special education; special education and society, law and special education, specific disabilities, teaching methods and interventions, policies and practices, families and disability and research in special education.
- Special Education: a Reference Handbook.
Santa Barbara, Calif: ABC-CLIO, 2001.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: LC3981.S33 2001
Among the information provided in this source are a general overview, a chronology of important events, discussions of curricular and legal aspects of special education, a list of organizations, associations and government agencies, and suggested print and nonprint resources.
- Special Education Almanac. Hoboken, N.J.: John Wiley & Sons, 2006.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: LC3981.S577 2006
- Special Education Desk Reference.San Diego, Calif: ABC-CLIO, 2001.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: LC3981.E45 1997
According to its preface, this source "identifies, illustrates, and references major methods, techniques, and strategies designed to benefit exceptional individuals." Information provided for each method or program includes its title, author, source and a description.
- The Special Education Handbook (3rd ed).
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: LC3986.G7F37 2003
This book contains definitions of terms related to special education and limited references for further reading. Its British slant makes some of the directory-type information it provides less useful to those interested in special education in the U.S.
- What Every Special Educator Must Know: the Standards for the Preparation and Licensure of Special Educators. Reston, Va: Council for Exceptional Children, 2000.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: LC3969.45.C69 2000
- What Every Teacher Should Know about IDEA 2004 Laws and Regulations. Boston: Pearson, 2007.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: LC4704.M36 2007
return to top
UM Libraries' Catalog
Use the Catalog to search for
books, journal titles, government documents, nonprint media, and other
materials owned by the UM Libraries. Check the box for "USMAI (All
Campuses)" in order to search the entire UM System at once. For best
results, use the Library of Congress Subject Headings (viewable within
individual records or by using the "Subject Beginning with..." search)
or consult a reference librarian.
The search box below will open the Catalog and launch your search in a
new window.
return to
top
The Libraries' catalog provides information on the holdings of all libraries in the University System of Maryland and affiliated institutions. Books owned by other libraries in the system can be ordered at the computer for delivery to College Park (or elsewhere); click on "Request."
If you cannot find what you're looking for in the UM Libraries Catalog, try searching these other library catalogs.
- World Cat: OCLC catalog of books, serial
publications, media, visual materials, musical scores, and archival
materials in libraries worldwide. Includes over 62 million records in
more than 400 languages.
- Center for Research Libraries Catalog: CRL is a
consortium of North American academic and independent research
libraries. The consortium acquires and preserves newspapers, journals,
documents, archives, and other traditional and digital resources for
research and teaching and makes them available to member institutions
through Interlibrary Loan.
You may request material not owned in the University of Maryland system through
Interlibrary Loan
return to top
Online Databases/Print Indexes
- LexisNexis Academic
Choose the "News" category to access full-text newspaper articles.
- Digital Dissertations
Information on U.S. and some non-U.S. dissertations.
Since 1997 the full text of dissertations and 24-page previews of dissertations from other institutions are included.
- ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center via EBSCOHost)
Information about journal articles and non-journal materials on all aspects of education. ERIC Documents are available in the ERIC microform collection in the McKeldin Periodicals-Microforms Room and, from 1993 to the present, online.
- Education Index.
Use this print source to search for older information. Sources covered include English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and some monographs.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks (v. 1-34, 1929/30-1983/84)
McKeldin Periodical Stacks (v. 35-48, 1984/85-1997/8)
CALL NUMBER: Z5813.E23).
-
Education Research Complete
-
This is a bibliographic and full text database covering scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.
The database also covers areas of curriculum instruction as well as administration, policy, funding, and related social issues.
- Mental Measurements Yearbook
This is the most well-known and authoritative index to published tests and measurements. The electronic version provides information on tests that are described in volumes 9-14 (1985-current)of this series.
- PsycINFO
This is the primary indexing and abstracting service
in the field of psychology. It indexes journal articles, books and book chapters, and dissertations.
- Tests in Print
Produced by the Buros Institute of Mental Measurements at the University of Nebraska, Tests in Print (TIP) serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language. TIP provides vital information to users including test purpose, test publisher, in-print status, price, test acronym, intended test population, administration times, publication date(s), and test author(s). Tests in Print also guides readers to critical, candid test reviews published in the Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY) series.
return to top
Internet Resources
Council for Exceptional Children. Division for Learning Disabilities
IDEAdata.org
International Dyslexia Society
LDOnLine
Learning Disabilities Association of America
National Center for Learning Disabilities
National Center on Educational Outcomes
National Dissemination Center for Children with Disabilities
National Institute of Mental Health. Learning Disabilities page
SERI (Special Education Resources on the Internet)
U.S. Dept. of Education, Office of Special Education and Rehabilitative Services
Yahoo. Learning Disabilities page
return to top
Library Guides
return to top
return to top
|