| Last revised: August, 2007
U.S. Elections and Voting
Scope: This guide lists non-partisan and partisan sources of information on U.S. elections, voting, and political parties, including sources of voting records, campaign finance and polling data. If you are a University of Maryland College Park student, faculty, or staff member, you may email the subject area specialists Gerri Foudy or Annie Young for more information.
Because of licensing agreements, some of these resources can only be used by current faculty, staff, and students of the University of Maryland, College Park. These are marked UM only.
Current Elections News Sources
When accessing UM Only subscription databases from off-campus, you will be prompted to enter your last name and the 14-digit number on the back of your UM id card.
- Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe UM Only
Mostly full-text access to US and international newspapers, journals, wire services, and news transcripts including the Washington Post and the New York Times. To search for local newspapers, go into Guided News Search and under Step One choose U.S. News and under Step Two choose a specific state you wish to search.
- National Journal's Policy Central UM Only
Searchable database with full-text of the National Journal, Hotline, CongressDaily, "Campaign 2004 Tip Sheets," and "Ad Spotlight" - online guide to political and issue ads from across the country.
- CNN.com: Politics (Free Resource)
Includes latest delegate counts, election news, video clips, cartoons, and election calendars.
http://www.cnn.com/POLITICS
- C-SPAN: Road to the White House (Free Resource)
Includes campaign ads and video clips.
- Ethnic Newswatch UM only
Bilingual (English/Spanish) database of over 200 publications of the ethnic, minority and native press.
- MasterFile Premier UM only
Index & abstracts for over 3000 general, humanities, social science and science magazines and journals, with full-text available for over 1,000 of these sources, including major weeklies such as Time, Newsweek, and U.S. News & World Report.
- NPR Station Spotlight (Free Resource)
Online campaign coverage from NPR Stations
http://www.npr.org/programs/specials/spotlight/election2004.html
When accessing UM Only subscription databases from off-campus, you will be prompted to enter your last name and the 14-digit number on the back of your UM id card.
Biographical Information
- CQ Politics in America UM Only
Profiles of all the current members of the U.S. Congress. Information includes biographical data, committee assignments, election results, CQ Key Votes, interest group ratings, CQ Vote Studies, and contact information; campaign finance, partisan caucuses, standing committees; detailed descriptions of each member's congressional district as drawn after the 2000 census, including updated maps and voting trends.
- National Journal's Policy Central UM Only
Go into the Almanac of American Politics for background information on current elected officials and into the Hotline for information on current candidates and races.
- Congress.org: Elected Officials (Free Resource)
Searchable by zip code or state. Links to web sites and contact information for federal, state, and local officials.
http://congress.org/congressorg/dbq/officials/
- Lexis-Nexis Congressional UM Only
"Members" section contains biographical and financial information and voting records for current members of Congress.
- CQ Voting & Elections Collection UM Only
Full-text database of statistics, analyses, definitions, and historical material on the American voter, major and minor political parties, campaigns and elections, and historical and modern races for Congress, the presidency, and governorships. Users can customize data on candidate and office history, seat status and competition, party control, split districts, third parties, party switches and special elections. Also includes an encyclopedia, calendar, and chronology.
- Project Vote Smart: Biographical Information (Free Resource)
Links to information on current officials and candidates.
http://www.vote-smart.org/official_five_categories.php?dist=bio.php
- Who Are Your Elected Officials in Maryland? (Free Resource)
Searchable by street address or zip code. Links to official biographies and websites.
http://mdelect.net/
Campaign Finance/Contributions
- CQ Politics in America UM Only
Profiles of all the current members of the U.S. Congress. Information includes biographical data, committee assignments, election results, CQ Key Votes, interest group ratings, CQ Vote Studies, and contact information; campaign finance, partisan caucuses, standing committees; detailed descriptions of each member's congressional district as drawn after the 2000 census, including updated maps and voting trends.
- Campaign Finance Information Center (Free Resource)
Search for campaign finance data and news stories by state.
http://www.campaignfinance.org/
- Center for Public Integrity (Free Resource)
Information on the 2004 Congressional and presidential races, state watch reports, and more.
http://www.publicintegrity.org/
- Color of Money (Free Resource)
Ranks contributions by area with focus on race, ethnicity, and neighborhood.
http://www.colorofmoney.org
- Common Cause (Free Resource)
Organization which promotes campaign finance and ethics reform; has a soft money database and campaign finance studies.
http://www.commoncause.org/
- CQ Congress Collection UM Only
"Members of Congress" includes biographical, political, and electoral data about every member of Congress since the 97th Congress. An advanced member search allows the user to search for members by various demographic fields.
- Follow the Money (Free Resource)
National Institute on Money in State Politics site with a searchable database and state rankings.
http://www.followthemoney.org/
- IRS: Political Organization Filing and Disclosure
Searchable database for all electronic submissions of Form 8871 and Form 8872 and paper submissions of Form 8871, Form 8872 and Form 990.
http://www.irs.gov/charities/political/article/0,,id=109644,00.html
- Lexis-Nexis Congressional UM Only
Go into "Campaign Finance" section to retrieve reports all candidates file with the Federal Election Commission; "Financial Disclosures" section to retrieve information about a member's finances; and "Campaign Contributions" to find out which people, companies and organizations have contributed to a campaign.
- OpenSecrets.org (Free Resource)
Data on campaign contributions gathered from public records.
http://www.opensecrets.org/home/index.asp
Voting Records/Interest Group Ratings
When accessing UM Only subscription databases from off-campus, you will be prompted to enter your last name and the 14-digit number on the back of your UM id card.
- Congressional Roll Call. Washington, DC: Congressional Quarterly, Inc. 1982 - .
Annual publication. "Provides an objective, authoritative member-by-member survey and analysis of every roll call vote taken in the House and Senate."
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: JK1.C6635
- CQ Congress Collection UM Only
"CQ Key Votes," organized by Congress and topics, gives a description of the vote along with the vote outcome by political party and includes links to the roll call vote, the full text of the legislation, and a state delegation vote map. It also provides the ability to conduct advanced vote analysis by various demographic fields.
- CQ Weekly UM Only
Go into "Search Floor Votes." Archived back to 1991.
- CQ Politics in America UM Only
Profiles of all the current members of the U.S. Congress. Information includes biographical data, committee assignments, election results, CQ Key Votes, interest group ratings, CQ Vote Studies, and contact information; campaign finance, partisan caucuses, standing committees; detailed descriptions of each member's congressional district as drawn after the 2000 census, including updated maps and voting trends.
- GPO Access: Congressional Record (Free Resource)
"The official record of the proceedings and debates of the United States Congress. It is published daily when Congress is in session." Searchable. 1994 (Volume 140) through 2004 (Volume 150). Earlier volumes available in McKeldin Government Documents SU DOC: X1.1:
http://www.gpoaccess.gov/crecord/index.html
- Lexis-Nexis Congressional UM Only
Go into "CIS Index" for legislative histories back to 1970 or go into "Members" section to search for floor votes.
- Project Vote Smart: Interest Group Ratings (Free Resource)
Ratings given by issue categories (abortion, taxes, social security, foreign policy, environment, etc.) for current officials and candidates.
http://www.vote-smart.org/official_five_categories.php?dist=issue_rating_category.php
- Project Vote Smart Voting Records (Free Resource)
Records on key votes back to 2001 for current officials and candidates.
http://www.vote-smart.org/official_five_categories.php?dist=voting_category.php
- Sharp, Michael J. Directory of Congressional Voting Scores and Interest Group Ratings. 4th ed. Washington, DC: CQ Press, 2006.
Scores for "Party Unity," "Voting Participation," "Conservative Coalition," and "Presidential Support."
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: JK1051.S555 2006 v. 1 - 2
- Thomas Roll Call Votes (Free Resource)
Library of Congress site with roll call votes from 101st (1989-90 - second session) to present session.
http://thomas.loc.gov/home/rollcallvotes.html
Political Parties
- Directory of U.S. Political Parties (Free Resource)
Descriptions of many political parties in the U.S. with links to their Web sites.
http://www.politics1.com/parties.htm
- Sabato, Larry. Encyclopedia of American Political Parties and Elections. New York: Facts on File, 2006.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: JK2261.S218 2006
Public Opinion Polls & Surveys
When accessing UM Only subscription databases from off-campus, you will be prompted to enter your last name and the 14-digit number on the back of your UM id card.
- Roper iPoll UM Only
This databank is a comprehensive, up-to-date source for questions asked on U.S. nationwide public opinion surveys since 1935. It provides question wordings, response percentages, and full survey-level citations. In order to start using iPOLL, click "iPOLL Login" and complete the "iPOLL New User Registration" page on the website.
- Gallup Brain UM Only
Searchable database of Gallup Poll questions and responses back to 1935, plus current Gallup Poll News Service articles and replicas of news stories and press releases linked to the survey.
- Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe UM Only
Go into "Reference" and click on "Polls & Surveys" for information from the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research. Includes sources in opinion polling such as Gallup, Harris, Roper; ABC, CBS, CNN and NBC; Los Angeles Times, New York Times, USA Today and the Wall Street Journal.
- American Public Opinion Index. Louisville, KY: Opinion Research Service, 1981 -.
Index to opinion data contained in companion microfiche American Public Opinion Data.
LOCATION: (Index) McKeldin Reference STACKS, (Microfiche) McKeldin Periodicals Microfiche
CALL NUMBER: (Index) HM261.A463, (Microfiche) HM261.A4632
- CNN Poll Tracker (Free Resource)
Links to recent CNN/USA Today/Gallup polls and CNN/Time polls.
http://www.cnn.com/ELECTION/2004/special/polls/index.html
- Gallup Poll. New York: Random House, 1972 -.
Gallup opinion poll summaries, 1935/1971, 1972/1977, and annual volumes from 1978 on.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference STACKS
CALL NUMBER: HN90.P8G35
- Harris Poll. Los Angeles: Creator's Syndicate, Inc., 1988 - .
Issued weekly; polls on a wide range of subjects.
LOCATION: McKeldin Folio (Latest issues in McKeldin Periodicals Current Periodicals)
CALL NUMBER: HM261.A211
- National Election Studies Guide to Public Opinion and Electoral Data (Free Resource)
"High quality data on voting, public opinion, and political participation that serve the research needs of social scientists, teachers, students, and policy makers concerned with understanding the theoretical and empirical foundations of mass politics in a democratic society."
http://www.electionstudies.org/
- VanishingVoter.org (Free Resource)
Weekly voter involvement surveys.
http://www.vanishingvoter.org/
Voter Registration/Boards of Election
- Congress.org: Register to Vote (Free Resource)
Site with online printable voter registration forms for all 50 states and the District of Columbia.
https://ssl.capwiz.com/congressorg/e4/nvra/?action=form&state=
- District of Columbia: Board of Elections & Ethics (Free Resource)
Online forms, polling place locator, maps, candidate information, results and statistics.
http://www.dcboee.org/
- FEC: National Voter Registration Form (Free Resource)
"Document that allows you to register to vote from anywhere in the United States."
http://www.fec.gov/votregis/vr.shtml
- Maryland State Board of Elections (Free Resource)
Voter registration and absentee ballot, General Assembly and congressional representative searching, maps, statistics, and links to county boards of elections.
http://www.elections.state.md.us/
- Prince George's County Board of Elections (Free Resource)
Voter registration and absentee ballot information, polling places, municipal elections information, and election results.
- Virginia State Board of Elections (Free Resource)
Voter registration, polling place and election information, and statistics.
http://www.sbe.state.va.us/
Statistics/Historical Election Information
When accessing UM Only subscription databases from off-campus, you will be prompted to enter your last name and the 14-digit number on the back of your UM id card.
- America Votes. Washington, DC: Congressional Quarterly, Inc., 1956 - .
Election data by state and county on Presidential, Gubernatorial, and Congressional races.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: JK1967.A8
- ANES: American National Election Studies (Free Resource)
"Produces high quality data on voting, public opinion, and political participation to serve the research needs of social scientists, teachers, students, policy makers and journalists who want to better understand the theoretical and empirical foundations of national election outcomes."
http://www.electionstudies.org/
- CQ Voting & Elections Collection UM Only
Full-text database of statistics, analyses, definitions, and historical material on the American voter, major and minor political parties, campaigns and elections, and historical and modern races for Congress, the presidency, and governorships. Users can customize data on candidate and office history, seat status and competition, party control, split districts, third parties, party switches and special elections. Also includes an encyclopedia, calendar, and chronology.
- Cox, Edward Franklin. State and National Voting in Federal Elections, 1910-1970. Hamden, CT: Archon Books, 1972.
Presidential and congressional election statistics by state.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: JK1965.C59
- Guide to U.S. Elections 5th ed. Washington, D.C.: CQ, 2005.
Includes in-depth historical coverage of federal and gubernatorial elections and political parties in the United States. LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: JK1967 .C662 2005 v. 1-2
- Nohlen, Dieter. Elections in the Americas: A Data Handbook. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2005.
Information and statistics on all national elections and referendums in 35 countries of the Americas, including the U.S.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: JJ1018.E443 2005
- Hernnson, Paul S., ed. Guide to Political Campaigns in America . Washington, D.C. : CQ Press, 2005.
Includes information on the history, issues, processes and people, and types of campaigns.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: JK2265 .G84 2005
- Archer, J. Clark. Historical Atlas of U.S. Presidential Elections, 1788-2004. Washington, D.C.: CQ Press, 2006.
Two pages of maps for each election from 1788 to present include: one national map showing the winning candidate for each county; one national map per major candidate, including important third-party candidates; and snapshot data and statistical charts on popular and electoral voting, candidate names and parties, and voter turnout.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: G1201.F9 H5 2006
- Burnham, W. Dean. Presidential Ballots, 1836-1892. Baltimore: Johns Hopkins Press, 1955.
County and state data.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: JK524.B8
Cook, Rhodes. United States Presidential Primary Elections, 1968-1996 : A Handbook of Election Statistics. Washington, D.C. : CQ Press, 2000.
Complete county-by-county primary election returns.
LOCATION: McKeldin Government Documents Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: JK522 .C66 2000
- Cook, Rhodes. United States Presidential Primary Elections, 2000-2004 : A Handbook of Election Statistics . Washington, DC : CQ Press, 2007.
Election statistics by county.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: JK522 .C662 2007
- FEC: Election Results (Free Resource)
Presidential election results data, 1996-2004..
http://www.fec.gov/pubrec/electionresults.shtml
- McGillivray, Alice V. Presidential Primaries and Caucuses, 1992: A Handbook of Election Statistics. Washington, DC: CQ Press, 1992
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: JK522 .M34 1992
- Presidential Elections 1789-2000. Washington, DC: CQ Press, 2002.
Popular and electoral college vote data.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: JK524.P6783 2002
- Roberts, Robert North. Encyclopedia of Presidential Campaigns, Slogans, Issues, and Platforms. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2004.
Important figures, slogans, events, and ideas of U.S. Presidential campaigns.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: E176.1 R6 2004
- Robinson, Edgar Eugene. The Presidential Vote, 1896-1932. Stanford, CA: Stanford University Press, 1934.
Compilation of election results by county.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: JK524.R6
- Scammon, Richard M. America at the Polls: A Handbook of Presidential Election Statistics, 1920-1964. Pittsburgh: University of Pittsburgh Press, 1965.
Detailed vote figures, percentages, and pluralities for every state and county.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: JK524.G6
- Scammon, Richard M. and Alice V. McGillivray. America at the Polls 2: A Handbook of Presidential Election Statistics, 1968-1984. Washington, DC: Congressional Quarterly, 1988.
Detailed vote figures, percentages, and pluralities for every state and county.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: JK524 .G62
- Scammon, Richard M. and Alice V. McGillivray. America at the Polls, 1920-1956 (Harding to Eisenhower) and 1960-1992 (Kennedy to Clinton): A Handbook of Presidential Election Statistics. Washington, DC: Congressional Quarterly, 1994.
Includes some third-party candidate data.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: JK524.A73 1994 vol. 1-2
- McGillivray, Alice, Richard Scammon, and Rhodes Cook. America at the Polls 1960-2004: Kennedy to Bush—A Handbook of American Presidential Election Statistics .
State-by-state popular vote, the Electoral College vote, and minority candidates for each election.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: JK524 .A73 2005 vol. 1-2
- Thomas, G. Scott. The Pursuit of the White House: A Handbook of Presidential Election Statistics and History. New York: Greenwood Press, 1987.
Data on elections and participants, 1789 to 1984.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Desk
CALL NUMBER: JK524.T44 1987
- US Presidential Election Maps: 1860 - 1996 (Free Resource)
University of Virginia site with percent of the popular vote and electoral vote distribution and totals.
http://fisher.lib.virginia.edu/elections/maps/
- Almanac of American Politics. New York: E.P. Dutton, 1972 - .
Federal election statistics, congressional biographies, congressional district profiles, and summaries of campaigns and major issues. Current issue available online through the National Journal's Policy Central database.
LOCATION: McKeldin Stacks (Latest edition in McKeldin Reference Stacks)
CALL NUMBER: JK271.B343
- CQ Politics in America UM Only
Profiles of all the current members of the U.S. Congress. Information includes biographical data, committee assignments, election results, CQ Key Votes, interest group ratings, CQ Vote Studies, and contact information; campaign finance, partisan caucuses, standing committees; detailed descriptions of each member's congressional district as drawn after the 2000 census, including updated maps and voting trends.
- Congressional Districts in the 2000s: A Portrait of America. Washington, DC: CQ Press, 2003.
Descriptive and statistical profiles of congressional districts.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: JK1341.C65 2003
- Congressional Elections, 1946-1996. Washington, DC: Congressional Quarterly, Inc., 1998.
Includes data on primaries, appointments and special elections, and reapportionment and redistricting.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: JK1967.C64 1998
- Dubin, Michael J. United States Congressional Elections, 1788 to 1997: The Official Results of the Elections of the 1st through 105th Congresses. Jefferson, NC: McFarland, 1998.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: JK1967.D77 1998
- U.S. Senate Historical Statistics and Lists (Free Resource)
Includes information on party division, elections, votes, appointed Senators, and commitee leadership.
http://www.senate.gov/pagelayout/reference/two_column_table/stats_and_lists.htm
- Glashan, Roy R., compiler. American Governors and Gubernatorial Elections, 1775-1978. Westport, CT: Meckler Books, 1979.
Statistics and biographical information.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: JK2447.G53
- Governors Database (Free Resource)
National Governors Association site with searchable biographical database.
http://www.nga.org/portal/site/nga/menuitem.216dbea7c618ef3f8a278110501010a0/
- Gubernatorial Elections, 1787 to 1997. Washington, DC: Congressional Quarterly, Inc., 1998.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: JK2447.G76 1998
- Maryland State Board of Elections (Free Resource)
Gubernatorial elections results 1986- .
http://www.elections.state.md.us/past_elections/index.html
- Congressional Districts in the 2000s: A Portrait of America. Washington, DC: CQ Press, 2003.
Descriptive and statistical profiles of congressional districts.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: JK1341.C65 2003
- CQ Politics in America UM Only
Profiles of all the current members of the U.S. Congress. Information includes biographical data, committee assignments, election results, CQ Key Votes, interest group ratings, CQ Vote Studies, and contact information; campaign finance, partisan caucuses, standing committees; detailed descriptions of each member's congressional district as drawn after the 2000 census, including updated maps and voting trends.
- Historical Voting Tables: Congressional Elections (Free Resource)
Voter turnout and registration statistics, November 1966 to 1994.
http://www.census.gov/population/www/socdemo/voting/vote-htabtcon.html
- Martis, Kenneth C. Historical Atlas of United States Congressional Districts, 1789-1983. New York: Free Press, 1982.
Includes bibliographical references and index.
LOCATION: Government Documents Atlas
CALL NUMBER: G1201.F9 M3 1982
- Rusk, Jerrold G. A Statistical History of the American Electorate. Washington, DC: CQ Press, 2001.
Includes a bibliography and index.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: JK1967.R87 2001
- Voting and Registration (Free Resource)
US Census Bureau site with "information on reported voting and registration by various demographic and socioeconomic characteristics is collected for the nation in November of congressional and presidential election years in the Current Population Survey (CPS)."
http://www.census.gov/population/www/socdemo/voting.html
Election Law and Court Cases
When accessing UM Only subscription databases from off-campus, you will be prompted to enter your last name and the 14-digit number on the back of your UM id card.
- Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe UM Only
Go into "Legal Research" section for primary sources such as federal and state case law, federal and state codes, federal regulations, and secondary sources such as law reviews and legal news periodicals.
- Lexis-Nexis Congressional UM Only
CIS indexing and abstracting of congressional publications and the CIS Legislative Histories (1970-present); Congressional Indexes, 1789-1980, and Indexes to Unpublished Hearings Through 1980; plus the full text of public laws, the Federal Register, and the Code of Federal Regulations.
- Election Reform Legislation (Free Resource)
National Conference of State Legislatures site. Searchable by state, status, year, and subtopic. 2001 - .
http://www.ncsl.org/programs/legismgt/elect/elections.cfm
- Campaign Finance: Constitutional and Legal Issues of Soft Money (Free Resource)
Congressional Research Service Issue Brief for Congress. Author: L. Paige Whitaker.
http://fpc.state.gov/documents/organization/29688.pdf
- Campaign Finance Reform: A Legal Analysis of Issue and Express Advocacy (Free Resource)
Congressional Research Service Report for Congress. Author: L. Paige Whitaker.
http://fpc.state.gov/documents/organization/22690.pdf
- Campaign Finance Regulation Under the First Amendment: Buckley v. Valeo and Its Supreme Court Progeny (Free Resource)
Congressional Research Service Report for Congress. Author: L. Paige Whitaker.
http://www.firstamendmentcenter.org/pdf/CRS.campfi2.pdf
- Campaign Financing (Free Resource)
Congressional Research Service Issue Brief for Congress. Author: L. Paige Whitaker.
http://fpc.state.gov/documents/organization/34816.pdf
- CSPAN: Election 2000 Court Cases (Free Resource)
U.S. Supreme Court cases and links to Florida court documents.
http://www.c-span.org/campaign2000/Florida/ussupcourt.asp
- Dover, E.D. The Disputed Presidential Election of 2000: A History and Reference Guide. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2003.
"Covers the electoral college, legal issues and court cases, political issues, and long term significance of the 2000 election."
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: JK526 2003
- The Electoral College: Reform Proposals in the 108th Congress (Free Resource)
Congressional Research Service Report for Congress. Author: Thomas H. Neale.
http://www.thememoryhole.org/crs/more-reports/RS21496.pdf
- FEC: Campaign Finance Law Resources (Free Resource)
Links to full text of acts, opinions, and recommendations.
http://www.fec.gov
- FEC: Selected Court Case Abstracts (Free Resource)
1976-March 2002. "Includes court cases pertinent to the Federal Elections Commission Act of 1971, as amended."
http://www.fec.gov/pdf/cca.pdf
- Henderson, Harry. Campaign and Election Reform. New York: Facts on File, Inc., 2004.
Part of the "Library in a Book" series. Includes topical overviews, a chronology, biographical listing, and glossary, plus a research guide, annotated bibliography, a list of organizations and agencies, and some statistics and primary documents.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: JK1976.H46 2004
- Lexis-Nexis Government Periodicals Index UM Only
Government Periodicals Index provides detailed subject and author indexing of approximately 170 magazines and newsletters published by U.S. government agencies, including the Federal Election Commission Record.
- Voter Registration Drives Legislation (Free Resource)
Arranged by state, this list includes legislation concerning regulations involving third-party voter registration drives.
http://www.electionline.org/ResourceLibrary/ElectionAdministrationHotTopics/2007RegistrationDrivesLegislation/tabid/1132/Default.aspx
- The Uniformed and Overseas Citizens Absentee Voting Act: Background and Issues (Free Resource)
Congressional Research Service Report for Congress. Author: Kevin J. Coleman.
http://www.thememoryhole.org/crs/more-reports/RS20764.pdf
- Zelden, Charles L. Voting Rights on Trial: A Handbook with Cases, Laws, and Documents. Santa Barbara: ABC-CLIO, 2002.
"Explores and documents the causes and effects of the long history of vote denial on American politics, culture, law, and society."
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: KF4891.Z45 2002
Sources for Scholarly Research on Elections and Voting
When accessing UM Only subscription databases from off-campus, you will be prompted to enter your last name and the 14-digit number on the back of your UM id card.
- America: History & Life UM only
Abstracts of information available in journal articles, books, and dissertations on US and Canadian history.
- Center for American Politics and Citizenship (Free Resource)
University of Maryland site which "provides citizens and policy-makers with research on critical issues related to the nation's political institutions, processes, and policies."
http://www.capc.umd.edu/
- The Forum: A Journal of Applied Research in Contemporary Politics UM only
Online journal from Berkeley Electronic Press with many articles on U.S. elections.
http://www.bepress.com/forum/
- Goehlert, Robert U. and Fenton S. Martin. CQ's Resource Guide to Modern Elections: An Annotated Bibliography, 1960-1996. Washington, DC: CQ Press, 2000.
"Comprehensive listing of works about elections, drawn from the disciplines of political science, public administration, and the general social sciences and humanities.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: JK1976.M37 2000
- PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) International UM Only
Index to articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, book chapters, and statistical directories about public affairs topics from 1972 to the present.
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts UM Only
1975 to the present. Abstracts of journal articles and dissertations from over 1,000 sources. Combined database of the former "Political Science Abstracts" and "ABC PolSci."
return to top
|