|
Last revised: July 2009
Electrical and Computer Engineering
Scope: This guide was created to help students and faculty find information resources in the field of Electrical and Computer Engineering. For further assistance, e-mail the subject specialist Bob Kackley at rkackley(@umd.edu).
REFERENCE WORKS
The following resources may be helpful for looking up standards, tables, and formulae for
electrical engineering principles and applications.
In Print
- McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Electrical and
Computer Engineering (2004)
EPSL Reference : TK7885.A2M37 2004
Dictionary of important and commonly used terms uses in electrical and computer engineering.
- The Illustrated Dictionary of Electronics
(2001)
EPSL Reference : TK7804.G497 2001
Illustrated dictionary of terms, abbreviations, and acronyms used in the field of electronics.
- Standard Handbook of Electronic Engineering
(2005)
EPSL Reference : TK7825.E34 2005
Covers not only fundamental principles and technologies, but also the latest in hardware, circuits
and functions, and applications.
- The Electrical Engineering Handbook
(2005)
EPSL Reference : TK145.E355 2005
A comprehensive reference covering the broad spectrum of electrical engineering including topics
such as circuits and networks, electromagnetics, signal processing, and digital communications.
- The Computer Engineering Handbook
(2002)
EPSL Reference : TK7885.C645 2002
Definitive resource for computer design and engineering. Forms a comprehensive state of the art
review of the field's most recent achievements, outstanding issues, and future directions.
- The Indispensable PC Hardware Book
EPSL Reference : TK7887.5.M4613 2002
Detailed reference for understanding PC components including CPUs, chipsets, Plug&Play devices,
and memory systems.
- Illustrated guide to the National Electrical
Code (2005)
EPSL Reference : TK260.M52 2005
Offers a concise, easy-to-understand exploration of the 2005 National Electrical Code.
return to top
Online
- eFunda (Engineering Fundamentals)
eFunda provides an array of resources useful for engineers such as unit conversion, equations, online calculators, and material data.
- BOWest Electrical Engineering Library
A quick reference to electrical engineering theorems and formulae including electrical circuit theorems, electrical circuit formulae, electrical system formulae, and electrical machine applications.
- Martindale's Calculators On-Line
Center
Offers a range of electrical and computer engineering calculators by subject.
- Dictionary of Units
Provides an account of the principal units of measurement and the conversion factors needed to
change them into 'standard' units of the SI system.
- Webopedia: Online Computer Dictionary
Free, online dictionary for computer and Internet technology definitions.
- Circuits Archive (University of Washington)
Provides diagrams of radio, computer and other miscellaneous circuits.
- ThomasNet
A useful resource for industrial information including product specs, company information, CAD
drawings and more.
- Global Electronic Components Datasheet Locator
A free electronic engineering tool that enables you to locate product datasheets from hundreds of electronic component manufacturers worldwide.
- How Stuff Works
Although increasingly commercialized, How Stuff Works remains a useful free online encyclopedia
offering simple explanations for the inner workings of complex scientific and technological
phenomena. Of specific interest are the sections on "Computer Stuff" and "Electronics Stuff."
- Science & Engineering Encyclopedia
Science and engineering descriptions, equations, conversions,
calculators and material data. Organized by A to Z, subject and interlinked.
- Encyclopaedia Britannica
Online
Contains the full-text of the 32-volume Encyclopaedia Britannica, Webster's Third New
International Dictionary Unabridged, and the Britannica Book of the Year.
return to top
LOCATING BOOKS
Locating Books at EPSL
To locate books at the library you'll need use the UM
Catalog. Often, the best way to find books on a particular topic is to browse by subject. To
browse catalog subject headings select "Subject beginning with..." as your search type and enter
your search term(s). Thus, for example, a subject search for "signal processing" would
return something like the following:

Click on the subject heading to view the list of books classified by that heading.
Click here for further instructions on searching the UM Catalog.
Another way of locating books on a particular topic may to be browse the collections directly.
Books on similar topics are likely to be grouped together on the shelves. Browsing the shelves
requires some familiarity with the Library of Congress Classification system. Books on
electrical engineering are classified under call numbers beginning with TK:
| TK1-9971 | Electrical engineering. Electronics. Nuclear engineering |
| |
| TK301-399 | ....Electric meters |
| TK452-454.4 | ....Electric apparatus and materials. Electric circuits. Electric
networks |
| TK1001-1841 | ....Production of electric energy or power. Power plants. Central
stations |
| TK2000-2891 | ....Dynamoelectric machinery and auxiliaries (Including generators,
motors, transformers) |
| TK2896-2985 | ....Production of electricity by direct energy conversion |
| TK3001-3521 | ....Distribution or transmission of electric power |
| TK4001-4102 | ....Applications of electric power |
| TK4125-4399 | ....Electric lighting |
| TK4601-4661 | ....Electric heating |
| TK5101-6720 | ....Telecommunication (Including telegraphy, telephone, radio,
radar, television) |
| TK7800-8360 | ....Electronics |
| TK7885-7895 | ........Computer engineering. Computer hardware |
| TK8300-8360 | ........Photoelectronic devices (General) |
| TK9001-9401 | ....Nuclear engineering. Atomic power |
| TK9900-9971 | ....Electricity for amateurs. Amateur constructors' manuals |
Click here for an overview of the EPSL floor plan and a
tutorial on reading call numbers.
return to top
Locating Books at Other Libraries
Occasionally, you may find it necessary to search for resources beyond those held by EPSL. The
best tool for locating books and journals beyond holdings of the University of Maryland and its
consortium libraries is WorldCat. WorldCat contains records for materials found in research libraries worldwide.
However, in order to obtain materials found outside the university system you will need to
request an interlibrary loan.
return to top
LOCATING ARTICLES
To locate journals in your field of interest you can conduct a Journal Search in the UM catalog or
browse the E-Journal collections in Research
Port. To find precise articles on a topic, however, you will want to search some of the following
electronic databases accessible through Research Port.
Core Electrical Engineering Databases
The following databases are the primary electronic resources available for locating journal
articles in electrical and computer engineering.
- ACM Digital Library
Full-text repository of papers from publications that have been published by ACM (Association for
Computing Machinery) and other publishers. Publications include journals, magazines,
transactions, special interest group (SIG) newsletters, proceedings, and publications by
affiliated organizations.
- Compendex
A comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database with engineering journals, conference
materials, Physics Abstracts, Electrical & Electronics Abstracts and Computer & Control
Abstracts.
- IEEE Xplore
Provides full-text access to IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers)
transactions, journals, magazines and conference proceedings published since 1988 and all current
IEEE Standards. See more information about IEEE Xplore here.
- INSPEC Archive
Inspec backfile providing coverage from 1898 to 1968.
- Safari Tech Books Online
Electronic reference library for Information Technology and Computer Science. Includes hundreds
of books designed to address the needs for reference content in the areas of information
technology, desktop applications and business.
- Solid State Abstracts
Abstracts of current research (since 1981) on theory, production, and practical applications of
solid state materials and devices, including high- and low-temperature superconductivity
technology.
return to top
Multidisciplinary Databases
While not explicitly devoted to electrical and computer engineering, the following are a list of
general, multidisciplinary databases that may be helpful for your research:
- Academic Search Premier
Provides abstracts and indexing for over 7,000 journals. Full text of articles for over 4,000
scholarly publications, including more than 3,100 peer-reviewed publications.
- Conference Papers
Provides citations to papers and poster sessions presented at major scientific meetings around
the world. Coverage includes life sciences, environmental sciences and the aquatic sciences,
while older (1982-1995) material also covers physics, engineering and materials science.
- Digital Dissertations
The authoritative source for information about doctoral dissertations and
master's theses. The database represents the work of authors from over 1,000 graduate schools and
universities.
- Energy Citations Database
Contains bibliographic records for energy and energy-related scientific and technical information from the Department of Energy (DOE). Coverage is from 1948 to present and spans a variety of disciplines including chemistry, physics, materials, environmental science, geology, engineering, mathematics, climatology, oceanography, and computer science. It includes citations to technical reports, conference papers, journal articles, books, dissertations, and patents.
- Ingenta
Search or browse more than 20,000 publications from the Ingenta database. Some full text is
available. Coverage spans the humanities, sciences, and social sciences.
- NTIS
http://www.ntis.gov/search/index.aspx
Covers U.S. government-sponsored research and reports from federal agencies.
- Science Citation Index
A multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the sciences. It indexes more than
5,700 major journals across 164 scientific disciplines. Virtually the only index for finding what
papers have cited other papers.
- Science Direct
Provides abstracts and indexing for more than 1800 journals. Extensive coverage of the physical
and biological sciences, significant numbers of journals in the social sciences, and some
journals in the humanities.
-
Scitopia.org
Scitopia.org is a free federated search portal of 15 leading science and technology societies; it includes abstracts of peer-reviewed journal content, patents and technical conference papers.
- USPTO Database
Bibliographic and full-text content of U.S. patents from U.S. Patent and Trademark Office web database.
return to top
USING IEEE XPLORE
IEEE Xplore is one of the most
important library resources available for conducting research in electrical and computer engineering. Familiarizing
yourself with the database can significantly enhance your ability to locate the most relevant
information for your research topic and greatly minimize the time and effort necessary to do so.
There are a number of ways you can search IEEE Xplore, such as by subject terms, by publication type, or
by document title. In cases where you are looking for work by a particular author, IEEE Xplore's
Author index can be a useful search tool. To use the index, click on "Author Search." The index
will allow you to browse author names alphabetically or search for a particular last name. Once
you locate the author, click on the name to view all works available by that author. Keep in mind
that the author search is left-anchored (it reads your query from left to right). Thus, when you
are unsure of the spelling of a name, simply type in the first few letters to jump to the
appropriate point in the index from which to begin browsing. For example, a search for the
author name "Zworykin" could be done by inputting just the first few letters:
return to top
WEB RESOURCES
The following are some ECE-related resources available for free on the web:
Online Journals
return to top
Gateways & Directories
return to top
Search Engines
return to top
Professional Associations
return to top
DEPARTMENTAL PAGES
The following links provide information for staying abreast of events in your department.
return to top
|