navigation bar
Guides to Information Resources

Last revised: August 13, 2009


Family Science Resources

Table of Contents


General Family Science Resources

  • Adams, Bert N., and Jan Trost, eds. Handbook of world familes Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications, 2005.
    LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS
    CALL NUMBER: HQ515.H3356 2005
    Cross-cultural encyclopedia that offers parallel examinations of families in 25 countries.

  • Balter, Lawrence, ed. Parenthood in America: an encyclopedia. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 2000.
    LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS
    CALL NUMBER: HQ755.8.P3783 2000
    Part of the "American Family Series," this two-volume encyclopedia that provides basic information in 234 entries from 183 scholars in the field of parenting and families.

  • Bankston, Carl L., ed., and R. Kent Rasmussen, project ed. Encyclopedia of family life. Hackensack, NJ: Salem Press, 1999.
    LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS
    CALL NUMBER: HQ534.E53 1999 v. 1-5
    A five-volume multidisciplinary work comprised of more than 400 essays that cover a wide range of aspects of the changing institution of the family. Each entry concludes with helpful bibliographies. Also contains graphs and statistical charts.

  • Demo, David H., Katherine R. Allen, and Mark A. Fine, ed. The handbook of family diversity. New York, NY: Oxford University Press, 2000.
    LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS
    CALL NUMBER:HQ518.H1538 2000
    Handbook of essays that identify and discuss different types of diversity within families, including diversity in family structure (e.g. single-parent families vs. two-parent families), gender dynamics, and racial, ethnic, and cultural diversity.

  • Fass, Paula S., editor in chief. Encyclopedia of children and childhood: in history and society. New York: Macmillan Reference USA, 2004.
    LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS
    CALL NUMBER: HQ767.84.E53 2004 v.1-3
    This is an interdisciplinary reference work that looks at the social history of children from ancient Greece to current day, in societies and cultures from around the world. This is an unusually rich encyclopedia comprised of 445 articles written by experts from all over the world, full of relevant illustrations from throughout the centuries, and helpful bibliographies for further research on the respective topics. Volume III includes primary sources such as personal letters, autobiographies, government reports, etc. that help show the role of children in society.

  • Fisher, Celia. B., and Richard M. Learner. Encylopedia of applied developmental science. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications, c2005
    LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
    CALL NUMBER: HQ767.84.E52 2005
    Authoritative encyclopedia in the relatively new interdisciplinary field of applied developmental science, that combines numerous disciplines (psychology, sociology, human development, social work medicine, criminology, economics, etc.) with the goal of enhancing the development of individuals, families and communities. Though not resource specifically for the field of family science, these reference volumes contain useful information about child development, families, and parenting.

  • Hawes, Joseph M. The family in America: an encyclopedia. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 2001.
    LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS
    CALL NUMBER: HQ536/J365 2001 v.1-2
    Part of the "American Family Series," this two-volume family studies encyclopedia provides information in such general areas as public policies, organizations and programs, health and social issues, the family constellation, researchers and theorists, etc.

  • National directory of children, youth & families services. Longmont, CO: Marion L. Peterson, c. 1991-.
    LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS (latest edition only)
    CALL NUMBER: HV741.N317
    A directory listing and contact information of more than 32,000 professionals, agencies and service providers that work with at-risk youth or their families. Organized by state and county, this directorycovers fields of social and human services, health and behavioral health services, juvenile justice, and education.

  • Ponzetti, James J., Jr., ed. International encyclopedia of marriage and family. New York : Macmillan Reference USA, c2003.
    LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS
    CALL NUMBER: HQ9 .E52 2003 v.1-4
    This expansivie (4 volume) encylopedia takes an international (i.e. 50 countries) and interdisciplinary look at patterns of family life. Contains many helpful charts and diagrams.

  • Shweder, Richard A., ed. The child : an encyclopedic companion. Chicago : University of Chicago Press, 2009.
    LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks CALL NUMBER: HQ767.84 .C55 2009
    One-volume encyclopedia comprised of more than 500 essays that present accessible but comprehensive information derived from contemporary research in all aspects of child studies.

  • Stolley, Kathy Shepherd, and Vern L. Bullough, eds. The Praeger handbook of adoption. Westport, Conn. : Praeger Publishers, 2006.
    LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS
    CALL NUMBER: HV875 .P694 2006 v.1-2
    Two volume handbook that provides a comprehensive overview of all aspects of adoption.

  • Sussman, Marvin B., and Suzanne K. Steinmetz, and Gary W. Peterson, eds. Handbook of marriage and the family. New York, NY: Plenum Press, 1999.
    LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS
    CALL NUMBER: HQ518.H154 1999
    Written by social workers, psychologists and sociologists who are expert researchers and theoreticians in the field of marriage processes and family systems. Each chapter provides a comprehensive overview of a specific topic, followed by a comprehensive bibliography.

  • Touliatos, John, Barry F. Permutter, and Murray A. Straus, eds. Handbook of family measurement techniques. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage, 2001.
    LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS
    CALL NUMBER: HQ728.H267 2001 v.1-3
    Comprehensive update of the key reference for assessment instruments used in family research.

  • Turner, Jeffrey Scott. Families in America: a reference handbook. Santa Barbara, Calif. : ABC-CLIO, c2002.
    LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS
    CALL NUMBER:HQ536.T798 2002
    A small handbook that covers a large variety of information about American families. Includes essays and bibliographies pertaining to current issues and specific populations, biographies of important persons in the field, chronologies of events and legislation, a directory of organizations, lists of important print and nonprint resources, and tables with selected statistical information.

Resources to Specific Populations

Ethnicity

Often family research will focus on families within a specific ethnic population (e.g. African Americans, Italian Americans, etc.). The following tools should assist in this type of research:
  • Heaton, Tim B., Bruce A. Chadwick, and Cardell K. Jacobson. Statistical handbook on racial groups in the United States. Phoenix, AZ: Oryx Press: 2000.
    LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS
    CALL NUMBER: E184.A1H417 2000
    Using charts, tables, and graphs, this handbook provides comprehensive demographic data on each of the major racial groups in the U.S.

  • Levinson, David, and Melvin Ember, eds. American immigrant cultures : builders of a nation. New York : Simon & Schuster Macmillan, c1997.
    LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS
    CALL NUMBER: E184.A1A63448 1997 v. 1-2
    Descriptive profiles of 161 individual ethnic groups in the U.S. Includes facts and history, cultural features, extent of assimilation, etc.

  • Racial and ethnic diversity: Asians, Blacks, Hispanics, Native Americans, and Whites. Ithaca, N.Y.: New Strategist Publications, c2000.
    LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS
    CALL NUMBER: E184.A1R78 2000
    Contains tables of data which describe individual racial groups in the U.S. under general topics such as education, health, households, housing, income, labor force, population, spending, and wealth. Also contains data which examines each respective group's attitudes on a variety topics.

  • Vecoli, Rudolph J., contributing ed. and Judy Galens, Anna Sheets, and Robyn V. Young, eds. Gale encyclopedia of multicultural America. Detroit, MI : Gale Research, c1995.
    LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS
    CALL NUMBER: E184.A1G14 1995 v. 1-2
    Similar to Levinson & Ember book, this tool provides a wide variety of information in individual essays on respective U.S. ethnic groups.

In addition to the general ethnic studies books listed above, McKeldin Library has many reference tools that focus on one specific ethnic group. You may find these reference sources by browsing the E184 and E185 call numbers in the McKeldin Reference stacks. Examples of these works include:

  • Gall, Susan, managing ed., and Irene Natividad, exec. ed. The Asian American almanac: a reference work on Asians in the United States. Detroit, Mich. : Gale Research, c1995.
    LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS
    CALL NUMBER: E184.O6A824 1995.

  • Mabunda, L. Mpho, ed. The African American almanac. Detroit, Mich. : Gale Research, c1997.
    LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS
    CALL NUMBER: E185.A37 1997

You may also wish to look a the research guides for specific ethnic populations. Two such studies guides that UM Librarians have created include the African American Studies and Latin American Studies guides.

Age Group

When conducting family studies, some researchers may focus their attention on specific age groups. For example, some may study the influence of family dynamics on infants or children; others may look at the role of elderly members within the family unit; etc. You may find reference sources that deal with given age groups by browsing the HQ700 - HQ1064 call numbers in the McKeldin Reference stacks. Examples of these works include:
  • Clement, Priscilla Ferguson, and Jacqueline S. Reinier, eds. Boyhood in America: an encyclopedia. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 2001.
    LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS
    CALL NUMBER:HQ775.B635 2001 v.1-2
    Forman-Brunell, Miriam, ed. Girlhood in America: an encyclopedia. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 2001.
    LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS
    CALL NUMBER:HQ777.G5745 2001 v.1-2
    Honig, Alice Sterling, Hiram E. Fitzgerald, and Holly Brophy-Herb, eds. Infancy in America: an encyclopedia. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 2001.
    LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS
    CALL NUMBER:HQ774.I528 2001
    Lerner, Jacqueline V., and Richard M. Lerner, eds. Adolescence in America: an encyclopedia. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 2001.
    LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS
    CALL NUMBER:HQ796.A33247 2001 v. 1-2
    These additional "American Family Series" of encyclopedias are comprised of numerous entries that pertain to the respective age populations named in the titles, and cover a wide range of subject areas, from history, economic, and social and social welfare issues, to biological, health and psychological topics, and even sports, arts, and literature. Entries include bibliographies.

  • Kagan, Jerome, exec. ed., and Susan B. Gall, managing. ed. The Gale encyclopedia of childhood & adolescence. Detroit, Mich. : Gale Research, c1998.
    LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS
    CALL NUMBER: HQ772.G27 1998
    Almost 700 essays cover a wide range of topics (including those relating to families and parenting) concerning child development.

  • Maddox, George L. ed. The encyclopedia of aging. New York, NY: Springer, 2001.
    LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS
    CALL NUMBER: HQ1061.E53 2001 v.1-2
    Comprehensive encyclopedia on aging and aging populations compiled of authoritative entries by approximately 400 experts in the field.

  • Markides, Kyriakos S., ed. Encyclopedia of health and aging. Los Angeles : Sage Publications, c2007.
    LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS
    CALL NUMBER: RA777.6 .E534 2007
    Encyclopedia of health issues of aging populations, including the impacts on families and family relationships. Examples of relevant topics include bereavement, economic dependency, managed care, quality of life, spousal care-giving, and widowhood.

Sexual Orientation

In recent years, books have dealt with a wide variety of family patterns, including families parented by same-sex couples or single gay parents.

  • Gates, Gary J. and Jason Ost. The gay and lesbian atlas. Washington, DC: Urban Institute Press, 2004.
    LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
    CALL NUMBER: HQ76.3 .U5G355 2004
    Atlas that analyzes census data to create maps, lists, tables and statistics that detail the demographics of "same-sex unmarried partner couples" in U.S. cities, counties and states. This is a unique and useful resource.

  • Haggerty, George E., ed. Gay histories and cultures: an encyclopedia. New York, NY: Garland Pub., 2000.
    LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS
    CALL NUMBER: HQ75.13.G37 2000
    Focusing on gay men, this encyclopedia has chapters on "Gay Families" and "Parenting."

  • Murphy, Timothy, ed. Reader's guide to lesbian and gay studies. Chicago, IL: Fitzroy Dearborn, c2000.
    LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS
    CALL NUMBER:HQ75.15.R42 2000
    Annotated l/g studies bibliography. Has sections on "Family Relationships" and "Parenting."

  • Nordquist, Joan. Gay and lesbian families. Santa Cruz, CA: Research and Research Services, 2000.
    LOCATION: MCK STACKS
    CALL NUMBER: HQ75.27.N67 2000
    Bibliography designed both for academic research and personal interest in gay and lesbian family issues.

  • Schlager, Neil, ed. James Press gay & lesbian almanac. Detroit, MI : St. James Press, 1998. LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS
    CALL NUMBER: HQ76.3.U5S75 1998
    This reference tool has a large chapter entitled "Family" followed by an extensive bibliography.

  • Zimmerman, Bonnie, ed. Lesbian histories and cultures: an encyclopedia. New York, NY: Garland Pub., 2000.
    LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS
    CALL NUMBER: HQ75.5.L4395 2000
    This specialized encyclopedia has chapters entitled: "Family," "Adoption," "Children," and "Mothers, Lesbian."

You may also wish to use the Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, And Transgender Studies Research Guide and Tutorial to get further information about l/g/b/t family issues.

Resources on Specific Topics

  • Clark, Robin E. The encyclopedia of child abuse. New York, NY: Facts on File, 2001.
    LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS
    CALL NUMBER: HV6626.5.C57 2001.
    Encyclopedia comprised of entries that detail the causes of child abuse, types of child abuse, its impact on the child, treatments for the abused and abuser, and other social and legal issues.

Statistical Resources

The materials in the Government Documents and Maps Department, located on the fourth floor, west wing of McKeldin Library, are a good source of U.S. statistical information. The Department’s University of Maryland Libraries Government Documents and Maps web page also offers much helpful information.

Other statistical resources include the following:
  • Administration for Children and Families (ACF)
    LOCATION: (Access the following URL address: http://www.acf.dhhs.gov/
    Statistics on child care, child support, child welfare, head start, refugees, and welfare.

  • Administration on Aging. Statistics on the Aging Population.
    LOCATION: (Access the following URL address: http://www.aoa.gov/AoARoot/Aging_Statistics/index.aspx
    Data on persons 65 and older.

  • Chadwick, Bruce A., and Tim B. Heaton. Statistical handbook on the American family. Phoenix, AZ: Oryx Press: 1999.
    LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS
    CALL NUMBER: HQ536.S727 1999
    Approximately 400 tables and charts of statistical data from government agencies, polls, professional journals, and research books. Cover wide range of family topics, including children in families.

  • Child Trends DataBank
    LOCATION: (Access the following URL address: http://www.childtrendsdatabank.org
    Current data and research on over 70 indicators of child and youth well-being. Sources of data are federal reports and Web sites. Other sources include analyses of national data sets by staff of Child Trends, a non-partisan, non-profit research firm.

  • Explore government documents (University of Michigan).
    LOCATION: (Access the following URL address: http://www.lib.umich.edu/govdocs/stats.html) l
    This University of Michigan megasite serves as a gateway to a wide range of statistical data available on the World Wide Web.

  • Federal Interagency Forum on Aging-Related Statistics. AgingStats.Gov
    LOCATION: (Access the following URL address: http://www.aoa.gov/agingstatsdotnet/Main_Site/Default.aspx
    This website provides links to 12 federal agencies that produce or use statistics on aging.

  • FEDSTATS
    LOCATION: (Access the following URL address: http://www.fedstats.gov
    Links to federal agencies that produce statistical information. Contains search engine that will search all government agencies).

  • Guide to state statistical abstracts (U.S. Census Bureau).
    LOCATION: (Access the following URL address: http://www.census.gov/compendia/statab/st_abstracts.html )l

  • Heaton, Tim B., Bruce A. Chadwick, and Cardell K. Jacobson. Statistical handbook on racial groups in the United States. (See above under "Resources on Specific Populations.)

  • Kaul, Chandrika.Statistical handbook on the world’s children.. Westport, CT: Oryx Press, 2002.
    LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS
    CALL NUMBER.: HQ767.9.K4 2002
    Comprehensive, unique, yet easy-to-use handbook provides a wealth of statistics that detail the state of the worlds children. Covering 216 countries, this resource is comprised eight chapters: “Demographics and Vital Statistics”; “Education”; “Health and Nutrition”; “Disease, Hunger, and Malnutrition”; “Acquired Immunodeficiency Syndrome (AIDS)”; “Economics”; “Family, Social Environment and Behavior”; and “Crime, Violence and War.”

  • Kids Count Data Center (The Annie E. Casey Foundation)
    LOCATION: (Access the following URL address: http://datacenter.kidscount.org/)
    State-by-state and national indicators of child well-being are available through an interactive online database comprised of state profiles, graphs, maps, and rankings, and downloadable raw data.

  • National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS)
    LOCATION: (Access the following URL address: http://www.cdc.gov/nchs/)
    Online data includes "Highlights of Trends in Pregnancies and Pregnancy Rates," "United States Life Tables," and statistics on births, marriages, divorces, and deaths.

  • Racial and ethnic diversity: Asians, Blacks, Hispanics, Native Americans, and Whites. (See above under "Resources on Specific Populations.)

  • Statistical abstract of the United States(Requires Adobe Acrobat for complete access.)
    LOCATION: (Access the following URL address: http://www.census.gov/prod/www/statistical-abstract-us.html)
    Print version of most recent edition is available at McKeldin Library's Quick Reference Shelves (located across from Service Plus Desk). Call Number: HA202.U5.

  • US Census Bureau.
    LOCATION: (Access the following URL address: http://www.census.gov)
    A terrific source of demographic data. Searchable, with an alphabetical index.

  • The Urban Institute (NSAF)
    LOCATION: (Access the following URL address: http://www.urban.org/)
    This organization describes its mission as follows: “The Urban Institute gathers data, conducts research, evaluates programs, offers technical assistance overseas, and educates Americans on social and economic issues — to foster sound public policy and effective government.” The Institute conducted the 1997 and 1999 National Survey of America's Families that provided quantitative measures of the quality of life in America, paying particular attention to low-income families (note: you can find this data by using the site’s SEARCH option). Also check “Families and Parenting” under the “Search by Topics” menu on the left side of their homepage to get more current data.

  • Vogt, W. Paul. Dictionary of statistics and methodology: A nontechnical guide for the social sciences. Thousand Oaks, Calif. : Sage Publications, c1999.
    LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS
    CALL NUMBER:HA17.V64 1999
    Valuable tool providing concise, clear definitions of statistical and methodological terms.

Indexes

The following list is comprised of indexes in either print and on-line database formats. Persons wishing to use the on-line databases can get access to them through the Libraries’ Research Port gateway.


  • Academic Search Premier
    Information about articles from 3000 general, humanities, social science, and science periodicals from over 1700 peer-reviewed journals. Many of the articles are available full-text.

  • Aldous, Joan, and Reuben Hill. International bibliography of research in marriage and the family, 1900-1964. St. Paul, MN: University of Minnesota Press, 1967.
    LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS and MCK FOLIO
    CALL NUMBER.: Z7164.M2A48
    This bibliography/index serves as a source of historical research of marriage and the family. Indexing journal articles published between 1900-1964, it was continued by Inventory of Marriage and Family Literature, which in turn, was continued online in Family & Society Studies Worldwide.

  • The child development abstracts and bibliography. Chicago, IL: University of Chicago Press, 1928- .
    LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS
    CALL NUMBER.: HQ750.A1C47 v.2- (1928- )
    Key source for references to the literature relating to child growth and development.

  • Contemporary Womens Issues
    An index to full-text articles on global women's issues. Indexes books, journals, newsletters, research reports from non-profit groups, government international agencies, and fact sheets.

  • CQ Congress Collection
    This database provides the history and analysis of Congressional legislation.

    One can search policy analyses by topic. The topic that focuses most on family issues is "Social Services and Disabilities." Categories within this topic include "Children, Youth, and Families," "Disabilities," "Elderly," "General Policy," "Homelessness," and "Welfare and Welfare Reform," all of which deal to some extent with family issues. Within each category one can then choose to review "Floor Votes" (that tallies how Congress voted on specific issues) and "Legislative Information" (that gives legislative chronologies of various issues--e.g. adoption, child abuse, child nutrition, domestic violence, family planning, infant health, etc.). (Helpful note: When looking at "Floor Votes" or "Legislative Information," be sure to use the arrows next to the "Dates" heading in order to see the most recent issues.)

    One should note that"Social Services and Disabilities" is not the only topic that deals with families; for example, the "Civil Rights" topic touches upon family issues of minority groups (e.g. African Americans, gays and lesbians, senior citizens, and women).

  • CQ Researcher
    Covers news topics in a wide range of subject fields, from social issues to environment, health, education and science and technology. This full-text database is unique in that each issue of this publication selects a specific timely topic (e.g. foster care reform, child poverty, children and divorce, fatherhood movement, parental rights, caring for the elderly, etc.) and presents comprehensive information on all aspects of this topic. This information includes history and background information, a detailed report of the current situation, relevant pro & con arguments, bibliographies, and contact information.

  • Ethnic Newswatch
    An index to full-text articles in newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.

  • Family & Society Studies Worldwide. A primary family studies and gender studies resource, Family & Society Studies Worldwide is the electronic version of Inventory of Marriage and Family Literature and of the Australian Family Database. FSSW provides more than 500,000 citations and abstracts to professional journals, books, book chapters, conference papers, theses & dissertations, websites & internet documents, selected popular literature, government reports, statistical documents, working papers, and unpublished material.

  • GenderWatch
    A full-text database comprised primarily of articles from the many ongoing periodicals that deal with gender issues, including academic and scholarly journals, regional publications, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, booklets and reports.

  • GLBT Life
    The most inclusive on-line index to literature that pertains to gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender issues. It covers more than 80 GLBT-specific core periodicals, over 70 priority periodicals, and over 5,000 selected monograph, newsletter, case study, and dissertation titles.

  • International Index to Black Periodicals
    IIBP Full Text includes current and retrospective bibliographic citations and abstracts from over 150 scholarly and popular journals, newspapers and newsletters from the United States, Africa and the Caribbean--and full-text coverage of 40 core Black Studies periodicals (1998 forward).

  • Inventory of marriage and family literature. St. Paul, MN: University of Minnesota Press, 1967.
    LOCATION: MCK STACKS
    CALL NUMBER.: Z7164.M2I5
    Preceded by International Bibliography of Research in Marriage and the Family, 1900-1964, this index serves as a primary index to family studies journal articles published between 1973 through 1994. This index has now been continued online as part of the Family & Society Studies Worldwide database.

  • Lexis-Nexis Academic (previously called Academic Universe)
    This database offers a wide range of news, political, legal, business, and reference information in full-text format. Primary source of newspaper articles, including those from the Washington Post and the New York Times. Chief database for conducting legal research.

  • Lexis Nexis Congressional (previously called Congressional Universe.)
    Comprehensive access to US legislative information. Useful tool for tracking histories of legislation which pertains to families.

  • PAIS International
    Index to articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, book chapters, and statistical directories about public affairs from 1972 to the present.

  • PsycInfo
    PsycInfo is the primary database for psychology and related desciplines (including family therapy). This very comprehensive database indexes and abstracts more than one million articles in 1,300 journals from nearly 50 countries. PsycInfo provides citations and abstracts to journal articles, book chapters and books, technical reports, and dissertations.

  • Sage family studies abstracts. Thousand Oak, CA: Sage Publications, 1979-.
    LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS
    CALL NUMBER: HQ1.S2 v.1-14 (1979-1992)(Note: subsequent issues are available on-line through SocINDEX.)
    Index to top (as selected by experts in the field) books and articles on family studies.

  • Social Science Citation index (Note: After selecting the Index, then select "ISI Web of Science" from the pull-down menu at the top of the page.)
    Indexes more than 17,000 journals in the social sciences. Serves as a unique tool because it provides cited reference searching, allowing the user to identify researchers who have referenced a given article since its publication.

  • Social Work Abstracts
    Produced by the National Association of Social Workers, Inc., this database contains more than 35,000 records, from 1977 to the present. It covers social work and other related journals on topics such as homelessness, AIDS, child and family welfare, aging, substance abuse, legislation, community organization, and more.

  • SocIndex . This EBSCO-based index features more than 1,300,000 records with subject headings from a 15,600 term sociology-specific thesaurus designed by expert lexicographers. This database is a useful supplemental resource because it indexes Sage family studies abstracts and provides full-text articles of numerous family studies journals.

  • Statistical Abstract
    Provides statistics on social and economic conditions in the United States. Comprised of data from the Census Bureau, other Federal agencies, and private organizations.

  • Women's Studies International
    Compiled from ten women's studies databases, this is primarily an index of the feminist press from 1972 to the present.

Family Therapy Resources

(Also see "Clinical/Community Psychology, and Counseling" section of the Psychology--Specific Disciplines: Applied Disciplines guide.)
  • Lubin, Bernard, Alice W. Lubin, Marion G. Whitefore, and Rodne V. Whitlock, comps. Family therapy: a bibliography, 1937-1986. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1988.
    LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS
    CALL NUMBER: RC488.5.F255 1988
    Bibliography to books, articles and dissertations in family, marital, and couples therapy.

  • Miermont, Jacques. A dictionary of family therapy. Oxford, OX, UK ; Cambridge, Mass., USA : Blackwell Reference, 1995.
    LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS
    CALL NUMBER: RC488.5.M5313 1995
    Dictionary comprised of articles in the field of family therapy and related therapies. Each article has full bibliographies

  • Piercy, Fred P., Douglas H. Sprenke, Joseph L. Wetchler, and associates. Family therapy sourcebook. New York, NY: The Guilford Press, 1998.
    LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS
    CALL NUMBER:RC488.5.P54 1996
    Chapters to this guide focus on a specific aspect of, approach to, or special topic in family therapy. Each chapter is comprised of essays that describe the history, approaches to therapy, key concepts pertaining to a respective topic; each essay concludes with a bibliography.

  • Sauber, Richard S., et. al. A dictionary of family psychology and family therapy. Newbury Park, CA: Sage Publications, 1993.
    LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS
    CALL NUMBER: RC488.5.D525 1993
    This dictionary covers approximately 1,700 terms pertaining to family psychology and family therapy.

Miscellaneous Resources

  • The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
    This is a style manual for manuscript preparation that is used by scholars both in and outside of the field of psychology. For students working on papers and reports, it is particularly important when listing citations in a bibliography. At McKeldin Library, this APA manual(call number: BF76.7.P83 1994)is available at the Service Plus Information and Reference Center and on the Quick Reference shelves, located across from the Service Plus desk.

    Many of the Research Port databases offer a new feature: They will create a bibliographic citation in APA format (and other formats) for the individual article that you select. Here is an example of the EBSCO site that has an icon marked by an arrow in the following example)…


    …that will take you to a page that lists citations for your selected article, e.g.:

    Though the manuals are not directly available electronically, one can get much helpful information about them from the following links:

    • "Citing Sources Using the APA Style". The Libraries' created this page for your assistance.

    • Another useful site is "Assembling a List of Works Cited in Your Paper". Created by Duke University, this site provides quick and easy directions for creating citations for articles and books. This tool shows each citation using each of the popular style guides, including the APA Publication Manual.. Also it gives advice about how to avoid plagiarism.

    • Another site that may be helpful is the "APA Style Resources" page on Psych Web; it provides links to a number of guides and Web pages that provide writing tips and suggestions for its application.

    • "Organizing/Citing Tools" page (accessible from the "Reference Shelf" option on the Libraries' home page.

  • Tests and Measurements (located at http://www.lib.umd.edu/MCK/GUIDES/tests.html) is a study guide that provides descriptions and access information about specific published psychological/educational tests and measurements, including questionnaires. The guide also lists books that deal generally with the field of psychometrics.

return to top

 

© 2006 University Libraries. University of Maryland. College Park, MD 20742-7011, (301) 405-0800
Last modified: August 13, 2009

Send us your comments | Privacy Policy
University of Maryland Libraries Home Catalog Research Port Ask us! How do I...? Site index Search