|
Last revised: July 2009
Film Reviews and Film Studies
Scope: This guide lists resources for locating reviews of historical and contemporary films and resources for locating material in film studies. Sources listed are available in print and/or electronic format. Some of the sources provide full text of the sources, while others may provide bibliographic citations. For additional reviews appearing in newspapers, please see the library guides:
News: Indexing,
Abstracting and Full-Text Sources, and News Sources on
the Web. Consult with a reference librarian for further information. Email the subject area specialist at herron@umd.edu
or call (301)405-9280 for more information.
- Fisher, Kim. On the Screen: A Film, Television, and Video Research
Guide. Littleton, CO: Libraries Unlimited, 1986.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PN1994.F57 1986
- Samples, Gordon. How to Locate Reviews of Plays and Films.
Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow Press, 1976.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: Z5781.S19
return to top
Use the following sources to locate the production date of a film.
- All Movie Guide (AMG) (http://www.allmovie.com/)
Includes plot summaries, biographies, cast and production credits, release dates, and more. International coverage.
- International Dictionary of Films and Filmmakers. Detroit: St. James
Press, 2000.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PN1997.8.I58 2000
- IMDB: Internet Movie
Database. (http://www.imdb.com/)
Includes release dates, cast and crew information, plot summaries, reviews and additional information on thousands of films.
- Turner Classic Movies. (http://www.tcm.com/index.jsp)
Includes release dates, cast and crew information, plot summaries, reviews and additional information on thousands of films. It includes a database of films which can be searched by title, person, and keyword.
return to top
The following collected works provide synopsis/analysis/essay-reviews of films, often with additional references to reviews.
- All Movie Guide (AMG) (http://www.allmovie.com/)
Includes plot summaries, biographies, cast and production credits, release dates, and more. International coverage.
- American Film Institute catalog of motion pictures produced in the United States: 1893-1970. Berkeley : University of California Press, 1971-1988
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PN1998.A57
Includes summaries, release dates, and cast and crew information for both domestic and foreign feature films released between 1893 and 1970. An excellent subject index provides access to the content of the films.
- International Dictionary of Films and Filmmakers. Detroit: St. James Press, 2000.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PN1997.8.I58 2000
This is a 5 volume set, with volume 1 covering films. It provides a synopsis of North American, British and Western European Films. Extensive bibliographies for each film with references to reviews, criticism and journal articles and books are also included.
- IMDB: Internet Movie
Database. (http://www.imdb.com/)
Includes plot summaries, reviews, release dates, cast and crew information and much additional information on thousands of films.
- Magill's Cinema Annual. Annual. 1982- .
LOCATION: Latest edition in McKeldin Reference Stacks; previous editions in McKeldin Periodical Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PN1993.3.M34
Started in 1982, the first volume provides essay-reviews of films from 1981. References to additional reviews are included, as well as various essays about the cinema, reviews of older films and extensive indexes.
- Magill's Survey of Cinema -- English Language Films, First Series.
Englewood Cliffs, NJ: Salem Press, 1980.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PN1995.M3
This source provides essays analyzing films from 1927-1980.
- Magill's Survey of Cinema -- English Language Films, Second Series.
Englewood Cliffs, NJ: Salem Press, 1981.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PN1993.45.M32
Covers 751 additional films from 1928-1981 not covered in the first series.
- Magill's Survey of Cinema -- Foreign Language Films. Englewood
Cliffs, NJ: Salem Press, 1985.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PN1993.45.M34 1985
Covers 700 foreign language films from around the world.
- Magill's Survey of Cinema -- Silent Films. Englewood Cliffs, NJ: Salem
Press, 1982.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PN1995.75.M33 1982
Covers silent films from 1902-1936.
- Schirmer Encyclopedia of Film.
Detroit: Thomson Gale, 2007.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PN 1993.45.S35 2007
This four volume encyclopedia "features entries on all important genres, studios, and national cinemas, as well as entries on relevant technological and industrial topics, cultural issues and critical approaches to film."
- Turner Classic Movies. (http://www.tcm.com/index.jsp)
Includes release dates, cast and crew information, plot summaries, reviews and additional information on thousands of films. It includes a database of films which can be searched by title, person, and keyword.
return to top
Use the following sources to locate film reviews and scholarly articles on films and film studies published from 1980 to the present.
- Academic Search Premier (1975 - )
These are multidisciplinary indexes providing references and some full-text to film reviews and scholarly articles on film.
- Arts and
Humanities Citation Index (Part of Web of Science). (1996 - )
Print version entitled Arts & Humanities
Citation Index : (1976-1996) LOCATION and CALL NUMBER: McKeldin Periodical Stacks NX1.A7
Indexes articles from over 1,100 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, plus
relevant articles from an additional 5,000 social science and science journals.
- Ethnic Newswatch. (1990 - )
This is a bilingual database which includes over 46,000 full-text newspaper and magazine
articles from more than 70 publishers of the American ethnic and minority press. Retrieve
articles in English and Spanish.
- Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text.
Provides indexing and abstracts for hundreds of publications, as well as full text for more than 100 journals and nearly 100 books. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation and restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
- Film Literature Index. (1976 - 2001)
Print version: LOCATION and CALL NUMBER: McKeldin Reference Stacks Z5784.M9F45 (1973-2004)
Indexes approximately 300 film journals. IMPORTANT NOTE: The print version of this index is more current than the online version.
- Film Review Annual. Annual. 1982- .
LOCATION: Latest edition in McKeldin Reference Stacks; previous editions in McKeldin Periodical Stacks)
CALL NUMBER: PN1995.F463
This source provides the entire text of selected reviews of full length films released during the
year. References to other film reviews are included.
- Hanson, Patricia, ed. Film Review Index. Phoenix, AZ: Oryx Press,
1986.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Desk
CALL NUMBER: PN1995.F54
This two-volume set provides references to film reviews from 1882 - 1985. Trade publications,
journals, newspapers and books are indexed.
- International Index to Film Periodicals. Annual. 1972- .
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: Z5784.M9I55
Indexes approximately 85 periodicals from around the world.
- IMDB: Internet Movie
Database. (http://www.imdb.com/)
Includes reviews, plot summaries, release dates, cast and crew information and much additional information on thousands of films.
- Lexis-Nexis Academic.
This is a full-text online service offering access to magazines, newspapers, and transcripts.
Dates of coverage depend on the individual publication, with most going back to the late 1970's or early 1980's.
- MLA International
Bibliography (1920's - )
An international bibliography of primarily literary, linguistic, and folklore scholarship, but also includes some material about films. Indexes articles, essays, books and book chapters, conference papers, and dissertations.
- MRQE: Movie Review Query
Engine. (http://www.mrqe.com/)
Links to full text reviews on thousands of films.
- New York Times Film Reviews. Annual. 1913-2000.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PN1995.N4
Reprints reviews appearing in the New York Times. Chronologically
arranged starting with 1913.
- Periodicals Index Online.
Indexes almost 2,000 periodicals in the humanities and social sciences from their first issues to
1993.
- Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature
1900-.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: AI3.R48
This source provides references to reviews appearing in general interest and popular magazines.
- Variety Film Reviews. Annual. 1907-1996.
LOCATION: McKeldin Periodical Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PN1995.V34 1983
Reproduces the original review as it appeared in Variety starting with
1907.
return to top
Use the following sources to locate film reviews and scholarly articles on films and film studies published prior to 1980.
- Academic Search Premier
(1975-)
This is a multidisciplinary database providing references and some full-text to film reviews and scholarly articles on film.
- Batty, Linda. Retrospective Index to Film Periodicals, 1930-1971. NY:
R.R. Bowker, 1975.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: Z5784.M9B39
The entire contents of 14 film journals are indexed from their beginnings through December
1971. Film reviews and articles from the Village Voice are also
included.
- Bowles, Stephen, ed. Index to Critical Film Reviews in British and American Film
Periodicals. NY: Burt Franklin & Co., Inc., 1975.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: Z5784.M9B64 v.1-3
Indexes reviews in 31 scholarly film periodicals through 1971.
- The Film Index: A Bibliography. NY: Museum of Modern Art Film
Library, Inc., 1941-1985.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: Z5784.M9W75 v. 1-3
This 3 volume set was compiled by the Workers of the Writers Program of the Work Projects
Administration in New York. Volume 1: The Film as Art, volume 2: The Film as Industry, and
volume 3: Film in Society. All 3 volumes are annotated and provide references to
film reviews as well as references to all aspects of film.
- Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text.
Provides indexing and abstracts for hundreds of publications, as well as full text for more than 100 journals and nearly 100 books. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation and restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
- Film Literature Index. (1976-2001)
Print version: LOCATION and CALL NUMBER: McKeldin Reference Stacks, Z5784.M9F45 (1973-2004)
Indexes approximately 300 film journals. IMPORTANT NOTE: The print version is more current than the online version.
- Gerlach, John. The Critical Index, A Bibliography of Articles on Film in English,
1946-1973.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: Z5784.M9G47
Articles about specific films, directors, producers, actors, critics, screenwriters,
cinematographers, and other film subjects are covered in this bibliography. Twenty two major
film periodicals and sixty general periodicals are indexed.
- Hanson, Patricia, ed. Film Review Index. Phoenix, AZ: Oryx Press,
1986.
LOCATION: McKeldin Quick Reference
CALL NUMBER: PN1995.F54
This two-volume set provides references to film reviews from 1882 - 1985. Trade publications,
journals, newspapers and books are indexed.
- International Index to Film Periodicals. Annual. 1972- .
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: Z5784.M9I55
Indexes approximately 85 periodicals from around the world.
- International Index to Periodicals. 1907-65.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: AI3.R49
This index provides access to periodicals not generally indexed in the Readers'
Guide to Periodical Literature. Access under the term moving picture plays.
- IMDB: Internet Movie
Database. (http://www.imdb.com/)
Includes reviews, plot summaries, release dates, cast and crew information and much additional information on thousands of films.
- MacCann, Richard. The New Film Index, A Bibliography of Magazine Articles in
English, 1930-1970. NY: E.P. Dutton and Company, 1975.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: Z5784.M9M29 1975
Indexes approximately 12,000 items with brief annotations. Covers all aspects of film and
"articles appearing outside the regular review columns, which closely analyse or compare single
films."
- MLA International
Bibliography (1920's-)
An international bibliography of primarily literary, linguistic, and folklore scholarship, but also includes some material about films. Indexes articles, essays, books and book chapters, conference papers, and dissertations.
- MRQE: Movie Review Query
Engine. (http://www.mrqe.com/)
Links to full text reviews on thousands of films.
- New York Times Film Reviews. Annual. 1913-2000.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PN1995.N4
Reprints reviews appearing in the New York Times. Chronologically
arranged starting with 1913.
- Periodicals Index Online.
Indexes almost 2,000 periodicals in the humanities and social sciences from their first issues to
1993.
- Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature
(1900- )
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: AI3.R48
This source provides references to reviews appearing in general interest and popular magazines.
- Salem, James. A Guide to Critical Reviews, Pt. IV, The Screenplay: From the Jazz
Singer to Dr. Strangelove. NY: Scarecrow Press, 1972.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PN2266.S254 1973
These two volumes provide a bibliography of critical reviews of American and foreign feature
films released from 1927-1980.
- Salem, James. A Guide to Critical Reviews, Pt. IV, The Screenplay: Supplement
One: 1963-1980. NY: Scarecrow Press, 1982.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PN2226.S254 1982
This supplement provides additional reviews for films released from 1927-1980.
- Slide, Anthony. Selected Film Criticism. Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow
Press, 1982-1985.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PN1995.S426
Reprints reviews from selected periodicals covering films (including foreign) from 1896 to
1960.
- Subject Index to Periodicals. 1919-1961.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: AI3.A72
Indexes 530 English and American periodicals. Reviews can be found under the term
moving pictures. This title is continued by British Humanities Index,
see entry above.
- The Times Index (London). Monthly. 1906- .
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: AI21.T46 / AI21.T462
From 1906 to 1962, access is under the term cinematograph. From 1963, access is under
the term films. The London Times may also be searched through the
Lexis/Nexis database.
section.
- Variety Film Reviews. Annual. 1907-1996.
LOCATION: McKeldin Periodical Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PN1995.V34 1983
Reproduces the original review as it appeared in Variety starting with
1907.
return to top
|