navigation bar
Guides to Information Resources

Last revised: May 2009

Finding Sources: Manuscripts and First Editions

This guide describes the general process for finding primary sources. It may also be used in conjunction with the list of Music Microfilm Series. Email librarian Steve Henry (shenry@umd.edu) or call 301-405-9256 for more information.

Catalogue Resources

When looking for manuscripts and first editions, a good place to start is to look at one of a variety of catalogue resources. Depending upon the composer and what information you already have, there are several possible options:

  • RISM

  • LOCATION: PA LIB REF
    CALL NUMBER: ML113 .I58
    ONLINE: A/II

    RISM is a monumental undertaking to document the existence and location of printed and manuscript music before the year 1800. RISM publishes printed catalogs and computerized indexes. The project is divided into three subseries: A = Inventories of musical sources from 1600-1800, in manuscript and printed editions, organized by composer. B = Bibliographies of materials organized by particular topic. C= Directories of music libraries around the world. For this type of search, you will most likely use RISM A/I (for printed editions by individual composers) or A/II (when searching for manuscripts by individual composers).

  • Thematic Catalogs (ML134)

  • Thematic catalogs are helpful to identify a composition (�name that tune�), will sometimes give the location in the composer�s complete works edition, or give the location of manuscripts or early editions. Each thematic catalog varies as to its contents and the way in which it is put together. It is advisable to read the instructions before attempting to use the catalog.

  • Collected Works (M3)

  • Collected works editions are given the call number M3 and arranged alphabetically by composer�s last name. Many are published over a span of years, not necessarily in order, or have been revised so there are now two editions of one composer�s collected works. It is usually advisable to use the newer edition if possible. Be sure to consult the critical notes or critical commentary, as they may give information that will help you in your search. Also, see the article �Editions, Historical� in Grove for a further explanation and comprehensive list of collected works.

  • Bio-bibliographies and Guides to Research (ML 134)

  • Bio-bibliographies and Guides to Research both include brief biographical sketches of the composer as well as annotated bibliographies of writings by and about the musician. Some may also include discographies. Bio-bibliographies also include a catalog of a composer�s works.

There may additional resources worth consulting, particularly when looking at the British Library/British Museum.

  • Hughes-Hughes, Augustus. Catalogue of Manuscript Music in the British Museum. London: Printed by order of the Trustees, 1906.
    Vol. I: Sacred vocal music
    Vol. II: Secular vocal music
    Vol. III: Instrumental music, treatises, etc.
    LOCATION: PA LIB REF
    CALL NUMBER: ML136.L8 B72

  • British Museum, William Barclay Squire, William Charles Smith, and Hilda Andrews. Catalogue of the King's Music Library, by William Barclay Squire. London: Sold at the British museum and by B. Quaritch [etc.], 1927.
    Vol.I: The Handel manuscripts
    Vol II: The miscellaneous manuscripts
    Vol III: Printed music and music literature
    LOCATION: PA LIB REF
    CALL NUMBER: ML136.L8 B733

  • British Museum, and Paul Hirsch. Music in the Hirsch Library. London: Trustees of the British Museum, 1951.
    LOCATION: PA LIB REF
    CALL NUMBER: ML136.L8 B731

 return to top

Locating the Item

Now that you have found the composition you are looking for in one of the resources mentioned above, it should have supplied with you with a special code, known as a library sigla. This code explains what library owns the item, as well as a number that indicates where to find the item. Usually there is a list in the introduction of the source that will decipher each sigla. You may also find a comprehensive list of library sigla in the �Tools & Resources� article of Grove. If you have not yet located the original holding library, you may need to refer to one of the resources above.

With this information, you can do one of three things:

  1. Go to the holding library (Often not a realistic option; but in some cases you can purchase a copy)
  2. Search Worldcat for the work itself-look for a facsimile in either print or microfilm format.
  3. Search for a microfilm collection.

 return to top

Microfilm Collections

Browse the list of primary source microfilm collections that may be found in our library to see if there is an online guide. Only some guides may be found online, but all guides exist in a print version. Each guide gives a detailed list of the specific compositions that may be found in the collection, along with what reel it may be found on. Online guides can be searched by a keyword using the search option in the upper right corner of the page. Be sure to choose the specific collection name you would like to search in by choosing from the list. The print guides, on the other hand, need to be browsed through manually page by page.

Alternatively, search our catalog for the library�s name along with the keywords music microfilm collection. For example, choose the Word/s anywhere search option and search the British Library: (british library music microfilm collection). If using the advanced search, you could limit to microform which will also retrieve microfiche.

The box below will open the Catalog and launch your search in a new window.

Browse the search results to determine which collections you should look at further. Many records give more detailed annotations as to what may be found within the collection. Check the record�s holdings to discover the call number for the collection�s microfilm and guide.

Once you have found the location of the primary source, proceed to the circulation desk and give a staff member the call number along with the reel number you are interested in viewing and they will retrieve it for you. There are guides posted next to the microfilm machines, but please do not hesitate to ask for assistance if you are unsure of how to use the microfilm readers. The microfilm readers have various options for printing or scanning and e-mailing the microfilm document. Ask library staff for assistance with these features.

 return to top

Please take a minute to fill out this survey so we can continue to provide you with excellent service.

What is your current status?
Undergraduate Graduate or PhD Faculty Other

How did you find this research guide?

What did you use this guide for?   

Did you find this guide useful?
Very Useful Somewhat Useful A Little Useful Not Useful

How could this guide be improved?
  

 return to top

 

© 2007 University Libraries. University of Maryland. College Park, MD 20742-7011, (301) 405-0800
Last modified:

Send us your comments | Privacy Policy
University of Maryland Libraries Home Catalog Research Port Ask us! How do I...? Site index Search