| Last revised: July 2008 |
Search the content of this guide. Click on cached to see your keywords highlighted.
|
Fire Protection Engineering
Scope: This guide was created to help students and faculty find information in the field of Fire Protection Engineering. No attempt has been made to present an exhaustive list of reference materials on the subject. For further assistance, e-mail the subject specialist Nedelina Tchangalova at nedelina(@umd.edu).
Looking for...
Table of Contents
To locate books on a specific topic, search the online catalog. To start with, try a subject beginning with ... search using phrases such as fire protection, fire prevention, or fire extinction. This search will return books classified under those subject headings.
To narrow your results down to a particular focus, use the catalog's advanced search and limit your search by publication year, location, or by adding additional keywords.
A word/s anywhere search will locate terms and phrases that appear in the title, subject headings, or notes of a catalog record. Examples of some common terms and phrases used to locate books on fire protection engineering include:
| "combustion engineering" |
    |
"fire protection" |
| "fabrics flammability" |
    |
"fire prevention" |
| fire |
    |
"fire safety" |
| "fire behavior" |
    |
flame |
| "fire departments" |
    |
"heat engineering" |
| "fire extinction" |
    |
"heat transfer" |
| "fire fighter" |
    |
smoke |
| "fire modeling" |
    |
"turbulent combustion" |
Books dealing with similar subjects are likely to be grouped together on the shelves. Thus, another way to locate books on a particular topic is to shelf-browse. The following are some call number ranges where you can find books about or related to fire protection engineering:
| GN416-GN417 |     | Fire-making (Ethnology) |
| HD8039.F5 F57 |     | Fire fighters |
| QD516 |     | Combustion theory |
| QH101-QH198 |     | Fire ecology (Local) |
| QH545.F5 |     | Fire ecology (General) |
| TH1065 |     | Fire resistant materials |
| TH1091-TH1098 |     | Fire testing |
| TH9111-TH9599 |     | Fire prevention |
| TJ254.5 |     | Combustion engineering |
| TP265 |     | Fire (Chemistry) |
| TP266 |     | Fire extinguishing agents |
| TP267 |     | Fireproofing (Fabrics) |
return to top
Codes & Standards
- ASTM fire standards and related technical material. West Conshohocken, PA : ASTM International, 2007.
Location: EPSL Reference
Call number: TH9446.3 .A84
- ASTM fire standards/ sponsored by Committee E5 on fire standards. West Conshohocken, PA : ASTM International, 2004.
Location: EPSL Stacks
Call number: TH9446.3.A84
- Miller, Charles R. Illustrated guide to the National Electrical Code. Clifton Park, NY : Thomson Delmar Learning, 2005.
Location: EPSL Reference
Call number: TK260.M52 2005
- International Building code. Falls Church, Va. : The Council, 2000-
Location: Architecture Folio
Call number: K3538.A15 I5 2006
- McPartland, Brian J. and Joseph F. McPartland. McGraw-Hill's National electrical code handbook. New York : McGraw-Hill, 2005.
Location: EPSL Reference
Call number: TK260.N431 2005
- National fire codes. Boston : National Fire Protection Association, 1938-
Location: EPSL Reference; Architecture Reference
Call number: TH9115.N3 2008
- United States Code. Washington, D.C. : U.S. G.P.O., Supt. of Docs.
Location: Available online
return to top
Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
- Burden, Ernest E. Illustrated dictionary of building design + construction. New York : McGraw-Hill, 2005.
Location: EPSL Stacks
Call number: TH9.B87 2005
- Harris, Cyril M. Dictionary of architecture & construction. New York : McGraw-Hill, 2006.
Location: Architecture Reference
Call number: NA31.H32 2006
- Newton, David E. Encyclopedia of fire. Westport, Conn. : Oryx Press, 2002.
Location: EPSL Reference
Call number: TP265.N48 2002
- Nolan, Dennis P. Encyclopedia of fire protection. Albany, N.Y. : Delmar, 2006.
Location: EPSL Reference
Call number: TH9116.N65 2006
- Webster, John G. Wiley encyclopedia of electrical and electronics engineering. New York : John Wiley, 1999.
Location: EPSL Stacks
Call number: TK9.E53 1999
return to top
Handbooks & Manuals
- Barr, Robert C. The fire chief's handbook. Tulsa, Okla. : PennWell Corp., 2003.
Location: EPSL Reference
Call Number: TH9151.F457 2003
- Buchanan, Andrew Hamilton. Structural design for fire safety. New York : Wiley, 2001.
Location: EPSL Stacks
Call Number: TH1065.B89 2001
- Buckman, John M. Chief Fire officer’s desk reference. Sudbury, Mass. : Jones and Bartlett Publishers, 2006
Location: EPSL Reference
Call number: TH9158.C45 2006
- Cote, Arthur E. Fire protection handbook. Quincy, Mass. : National Fire Protection Association, 2003
Location: EPSL Reference
Call number: TH9145.F5 2003
- Ferguson, Lon H. Fundamentals of fire protection for the safety professional. Lanham, Md. : Government Institutes, 2005.
Location: EPSL Stacks
Call number: TH9146.F47 2005
- Firefighter's handbook: basic essentials of firefighting. Clifton Park, NY : Thomson Delmar Learning, 2004.
Location: EPSL Reference
Call number: TH9151.F49 2004
- Handbook of building materials for fire protection. New York : McGraw-Hill, 2004.
Location: EPSL Reference
Call number: TH1065.H35 2004
- Hickey, Harry E. Fire suppression rating schedule handbook Louisville, Ky. : Chicago Spectrum Press, 2002.
Location: EPSL Reference
Call number: TH9151.H53 2002
- NJATC. Field reference handbook. Clifton Park, NY : Thomson/Delmar Learning, 2005.
Location: EPSL Reference
Call number: TK151.F54 2005
- Rasbash, D. Evaluation of fire safety Hoboken, N.J. : J. Wiley & Sons, 2004.
Location: EPSL Stacks
Call number: TH9145.E94 2004
- SFPE engineering guide to performance-based fire protection: analysis and design of buildings. Quincy, Mass. : National Fire Protection Association; Bethesda, MD. : Society of Fire Protection Engineers, 2000.
Location: EPSL Stacks
Call number: TH9145.S45 2000
- SFPE handbook of fire protection engineering. Quincy, Mass. : National Fire Protection Association; Bethesda, MD. : Society of Fire Protection Engineers, 2002.
Location: EPSL Reference
Call number: TH9145.S46 2002
- Zalosh, Robert G. Industrial fire protection engineering. Hoboken, NJ : Wiley, 2003.
Location: EPSL Stacks
Call number: TH9445.M4 Z35 2003
return to top
Directories
return to top
Fire Prevention Study and Teaching
- Bizjak, Gloria. Fire and emergency services instructor. Stillwater, OK : Fire Protection Publications, Oklahoma State University, 1999.
Location: EPSL Stacks
Call number: TH9120.F58 1999
- Coleman, Ronny J. Opportunities, Fire Protection Services Careers Chicago McGraw-Hill Professional, 2003.
Location: Available Online
- Kiurski, Tom. Creating a fire-safe community: a guide for fire safety educators. Saddle Brook, NJ : Fire Engineering, 1999.
Location: EPSL Stacks
Call number: TH9120.K57 1999
return to top
Core Databases
Building and Fire Research Laboratory (BFRL)
http://fire.nist.gov/bfrlpubs/
Contains abstracts and full text of publications produced by BFRL staff since 1993 and a selected number of documents published since 1973.
Compendex
Compendex offers a wide range of information resources in the applied science and engineering fields.
FIREDOC
http://fris2.nist.gov/starweb/FireDoc/servlet.starweb?path=FireDoc/firedoc.web
Web database of publications in the Fire Research Information Service at the Building and Fire Research Laboratory (BFRL).
NTIS
NTIS covers U.S. government-sponsored research and reports from federal agencies. Indexes and abstracts technical research reports, journal articles, data files, computer programs and audio-visual products.
Safety Science and Risk
Covers public health, safety, industrial hygiene, environmental and occupational risks and hazards.
return to top
Multidisciplinary Databases
Academic Search Premier
Provides abstracts and indexing for over 7,000 journals. Full text of articles for over 4,000 scholarly publications, including more than 3,100 peer-reviewed publications.
LexisNexis Academic
Full-text database that offers a wide range of news, political, legal, business, and reference information in full-text format. Primary source of newspaper articles, including those from the Washington Post and the New York Times. Federal code, regulations, and case law, plus state codes and case law are also included.
MasterFILE Premier
Provides abstracts and indexing for 2,650 general periodicals. Full text of articles for nearly 2,000 periodicals, and 5,000 full text Magill Book Reviews.
Science Citation Index
A multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the sciences. It indexes more than 5,700 major journals across 164 scientific disciplines.Virtually the only index for finding what papers have cited other papers.
ScienceDirect
Provides abstracts and indexing for more than 1800 science journals. Full text of more than 800 journals is available. Some articles are in languages other than English.
US Patent Database
Full-text patents, images of patents, and published patent applications from the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office web database.
return to top
The level of scholarship is different in various publications. Information on how to distinguish scholarly journals from trade publications and popular magazines can be found at http://www.lib.umd.edu/UES/journals.html.
Complete list of journals click here.
General
Emergency Preparedness and Response - Fire Safety
http://www.bt.cdc.gov/firesafety/
Information from the Department of Health & Human Services, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) on fire safety and wildfire prevention.
Fire Fighting Occupations
http://www.bls.gov/oco/ocos158.htm
Information on job opportunities and forecasts in the filed of fire.
Fire Litigation Home Page
http://www.firelitigation.com/
Information concerning fire science and its use in litigation, as well contact information for fire experts.
FireNet International
http://www.fire.org.uk/home.htm
Electronic pages for the British Fire Service.
FireNet Virtual Library
http://www.csu.edu.au/firenet/library/
Directory of web resources in fire science arranged by topic.
Fire on the Web
http://fire.nist.gov/
Resources to fire related software, experimental fire data and mpeg/quick time movies of fire tests from the National Institute of Standards and Technology.
Fire Research Information Service
http://www.bfrl.nist.gov/fris/
Clearinghouse of information on fire research.
FireSafety.gov
http://www.firesafety.gov/
A federal government information resource for eliminating residential fire deaths.
International Fire Information Network
http://www.csu.edu.au/firenet/
An international information retrieval and exchange network for those interested in rural and landscape fire management.
Occupational Safety & Health Administration: Construction - Fire Safety (Hazards and Possible Solutions)
http://www.osha.gov/SLTC/firesafety/recognition.html
OSHA page on construction and fire safety.
return to top
Professional Development and Training
National Fire Academy
http://www.usfa.fema.gov/training/nfa/
Professional development and training resources in fire science.
USFA Learning Resource Center
http://www.usfa.fema.gov/lrc/
The library for the National Fire Academy and the Emergency Management Institute
return to top
Professional Organizations
Association for Fire Ecology
http://www.fireecology.net/
Fire Department Safety Officers Association (FDSOA)
http://www.fdsoa.org/
Fire Suppression Systems Association (FSSA)
http://www.fssa.net/
International Association for Fire Safety Science (IAFSS)
http://www.iafss.org/
International Association of Arson Investigators (IAAI)
http://www.firearson.com/
International Society of Fire Service Instructors (ISFSI)
http://www.isfsi.org/
National Association of Fire Equipment Distributors (NAFED)
http://www.nafed.org/
National Fire Protection Association (NFPA)
http://www.nfpa.org/
National Fire Sprinkler Association (NFSA)
http://www.nfsa.org/
National Smokejumper Association (NSA)
http://www.smokejumpers.com/
Society of Fire Protection Engineers (SFPE)
http://www.sfpe.org/
return to top
Statistics
National Fire Data Center
http://www.usfa.fema.gov/about/orgchart/nfdc.shtm
Statistical portrait of the fire problem in the United States over the period 1986 - 1995. State-by-state analysis and presentation of state-based residential fire statistics. Chapters on the national fire problem and firefighter casualties.
U.S. Fire Administration
http://www.usfa.fema.gov/statistics/
Statistics on urban fires and fire deaths.
Wildland Fire Statistics
at the National Intergagency Fire Center
http://www.nifc.gov/fire_info/fire_stats.htm
Statistics on wildland fires in the U.S.
World Fire Statistics Centre
http://www.genevaassociation.org/Affiliated_Organizations/WFSC.aspx
Information Bulletin of the World Fire Statistics Centre at the International Association for the Study of Insurance Economics or by its short name "The Geneva Association".
return to top
|