navigation bar
Guides to Information Resources

Last revised: July 2007

Geology

This guide was created to help students and faculty find information in the field of geology. Email the subject area specialist Bob Kackley at rkackley(@umd.edu) or call 301-405-9155 for more information.

Finding Books

At UM Libraries

To locate books on a specific topic, search the online catalog. To start with, try a subject beginning with ... search using phrases such as Geological mapping, Geologists, or Sediments. These searches will return books classified under those subject headings. Also, under the subject heading Geology, look for the geology of specific areas like Geology--Arizona--Santa Rita Mountains. A search for this subject would return the following:

To narrow your results down to a particular focus, use the catalog's advanced search and limit your search by publication year, location, or by adding additional keywords.

A word/s anywhere search will locate terms and phrases that appear in the title, subject headings, or notes of a catalog record. Examples of some common terms and phrases used to locate books on geology include:

"Engineering geology"
"Environmental geology"
Fossils
"Geological modeling"
"Geological surveys"
"Geological time"
Geology
    paleontology
petrology
"rock deformation"
rocks
"sedimentary basins"
"sedimentation analysis"
stratigraphy

Books dealing with similar subjects are likely to be grouped together on the shelves. Thus, another way to locate books on a particular topic is to shelf-browse. The following are some call number ranges where you can find books about or related to geology:

QE 1 - 996.5
QE 1 - 350.62

QE 351 - 399.2
QE 420 - 499
QE 500 - 639.5
QE 521 - 545
QE 601 - 613.5
QE 640 - 699
QE 701 - 760
QE 760.8 - 899.2
QE 901 - 996.5
    Geology
  General
    Including geographical divisions
  Mineralogy
  Petrology
  Dynamic and structural geology
    Volcanoes and earthquakes
    Structural geology
  Stratigraphy
  Paleontology
  Paleozoology
  Paleobotany

At Other Libraries

The best tool for locating books and journals beyond holdings of the University of Maryland and its consortium libraries is WorldCat. WorldCat contains records for materials found in research libraries worldwide. However, in order to obtain materials found outside the university system you will need to request an interlibrary loan.

 return to top

Reference Works

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

return to top

Handbooks & Manuals

return to top

Directories

return to top

Finding Articles

Core Databases

Earthscape
An interdisciplinary resource that connects the earth and environmental sciences with their social, political, and economic dimensions. Selects, gathers, edits, and links a wide range of Earth resources available online. Designed for teachers, students, scientists, and decision-makers. Includes a daily news selection.

Environmental Sci. & Pollution
Provides comprehensive coverage of the environmental sciences. Abstracts and citations are drawn from over 4000 scientific journals and thousands of other sources including conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications.

ETDE World Energy Base
Information on the environmental impact of energy production and use, including climate change; energy R&D; energy policy; nuclear, coal, hydrocarbon and renewable energy technologies and more. Includes over 953,500 bibliographic records from early 1995 forward. A product of the Energy Technology Data Exchange (ETDE), a program of the International Energy Agency.

GEOBASE
Covers worldwide literature on geography, geology, ecology, and related disciplines.

GeoRef
Guide to materials in geology and earth sciences. Worldwide coverage. Abstracts journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports, and theses.Over 25,145 sources. Over 2.1 million records. Over 60,000 records added annually.

IEEE Xplore
Provides full-text access to IEEE transactions, journals, magazines and conference proceedings published since 1988 and all current IEEE Standards.

INSPEC
Indexes and abstracts 4,000 scientific/technical journals and conference proceedings in physics, electrical engineering, computing, and information technology.

NTIS (CSA)
Covers U.S. government-sponsored research and reports from federal agencies. NTIS is the central source for the sale of unclassified and publicly available information from federal sources. Indexes and abstracts technical research reports, journal articles, data files, computer programs and audio-visual products.Information is also available from some foreign governments. Additionally, NTIS includes some technical reports from international agencies such as NATO and AGARD.

Oceanic Abstracts
Worldwide technical literature related to marine & brackish-water environments. Focuses on maine biology and physical oceanography, fisheries, aquaculture, non-living resources, meterololgy and geology plus environmental, technological, and legislative topics. Includes: bibliography, monographs, computer files, conferences, dissertations, film, journals, law, maps, numerical data, patent, reports, reviews, training manuals.

Pollution Abstracts
Pollution Abstracts combines information on scientific research and government policies in a single resource. Abstracts and indexes journals, conference proceedings, and technical reports.

Science Citation Index (Web of Science)
A multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the sciences. It indexes more than 5,700 major journals across 164 scientific disciplines. The best database for finding what papers have cited other papers. Cited references can be traced forward in time.

TOXLINE
Covers all areas of toxicology Including chemicals and pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmetal pollutants, mutagens & teratogens. Covers: bibliographic citations, journals, books, tech. Reports, theses, letters, meetings, proceedings. Produced by U.S. Nat'l Lib. of Medicine.

Water Resources Abstracts
Water Resources Abstracts provides summaries of the world's technical and scientific literature on water-related topics covering the characteristics, conservation, control, pollution, treatment, use and management of water resources. Abstracts are drawn from journals, books, conference proceedings, and technical reports in the physical and life sciences, as well as from engineering, legal and government publications.

 return to top

Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Premier

Provides abstracts and indexing for over 7,000 journals. Full text of articles for over 4,000 scholarly publications, including more than 3,100 peer-reviewed publications.

Conference Papers

Conference Papers provides citations to papers and poster sessions presented at major scientific meetings around the world. Records include complete ordering information to obtain preprints, abstracts, proceedings and other publications derived from the conference, together with title and author information needed to track the specific papers.

Digital Dissertations

This database is the authoritative source for information about and full text of doctoral dissertations and master's theses. The database represents the work of authors from over 1,000 graduate schools and universities.

netLibrary

A collection of E-texts covering topics specifically chosen by Maryland Academic Libraries.

WorldCat

Catalog of books, serial publications, media, visual materials, musical scores, and archival materials in libraries worldwide.

 return to top

Periodicals

To find journals conduct a Journal Search in the UM catalog or browse E-Journals in Research Port. The following is a select list of geology e-journals, several of which are publications of the American Geophysical Union:

Atlantic geology

Chemical Geology

Earth Interactions

Environmental Geology

Geochemistry, Geophysics, Geosystems

Geological Journal

Geological Magazine

Geological Society of America Bulletin

Geophysical Research Letters

Global Biogeochemical Cycles

      International Geology Review

The Journal of Geology

Journal of Geophysical Research

Modern geology

Nonlinear Processes in Geophysics

Paleoceanography

Radio Science

Reviews of Geophysics

Tectonics

Water Resources Research

 return to top

Web Resources

General

GEOindex
http://www.geoindex.com/geoindex/index.html
"GeoIndex is a powerful Search Engine developed, owned and maintained by Datasurge Company to specifically fill a need for the Geo-Environmental professional." This search engine covers the areas of Hydrogeology, Environmental Science, Mining, Petroleum, and more.

Geological Time Machine
http://www.ucmp.berkeley.edu/help/timeform.html
Provides information on the Geology of specific eras, from 4500 million years ago to the present.

Geology.com
http://geology.com/ A thorough guide to Geology information, this site includes News, a Geology Dictionary, Satellite Images, Career Information, and more.

Geology Link
http://www.geologylink.com
Presented by Houghton Mifflin, GeologyLink is "a public forum for all matters geological. This area is open to students, university instructors, professional geologists, and anyone else who seeks insight into the world’s daily geological rumblings." This site includes News, Virtual Field Trips, a Glossary, and more.

Geophysics on the Internet
http://www.uh.edu/~jbutler/geophysics/seg.html
This site includes a Self-Guided Internet Tour as well as other resources for finding Geophysical information on the internet.

National Park Service Geology Resources Division
http://www2.nature.nps.gov/geology/
A searchable site covering all aspects of Geology, including Coastal Geology, Paleontology, Soil Resources, Teaching Resources, and much more.

US Geological Survey (USGS)
http://www.usgs.gov
The mission of the USGS: "The USGS serves the Nation by providing reliable scientific information to describe and understand the Earth; minimize loss of life and property from natural disasters; manage water, biological, energy, and mineral resources; and enhance and protect our quality of life." The Geology Department offers further resources, including the GEO-DATA Explorer. For information specifically about Maryland, try the Maryland Geological Survey.

 return to top

Online Journals

 return to top

Professional Associations

return to top

Please take a minute to fill out this survey so we can continue to provide you with excellent service.

What is your current status?
Undergraduate Graduate or PhD Faculty Other

How did you find this research guide?

What did you use this guide for?   

Did you find this guide useful?
Very Useful Somewhat Useful A Little Useful Not Useful

How could this guide be improved?
  

 return to top

 

© 2007 University Libraries. University of Maryland. College Park, MD 20742-7011, (301) 405-0800
Last modified: July 11, 2007

Send us your comments | Privacy Policy
University of Maryland Libraries Home Catalog Research Port Ask us! How do I...? Site index Search