- Academic Search Premier
Provides abstracts and indexing for over 7,000 journals. Full text of articles for over 4,000 scholarly publications, including more than 3,100 peer-reviewed publications.
Coverage: Multidisciplinary subjects including: social sciences, humanities, education, language & linquistics, arts & literature, medicine, ethnic studies. Use the link to "Choose Databases" and choose MLA Bibliography to search both databases combined.
- MLA Bibliography
The most important database for research in literature, it indexes journals, books, essay collections, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies published worldwide in the areas of literary criticism, language, linguistics, rhetoric, and folklore of all countries.
Database also includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals.
Time span: Indexing back to 1920s.
- BDSL Online - Bibliographie der deutschen Sprach- und Literaturwissenschaft
BDSL Online wird von der Universitätsbibliothek Frankfurt am Main als Schwerpunktbibliothek für Germanistik erstellt. Sie ist die wichtigste bibliographische Informationsquelle für Germanisten mit dem Schwerpunkt Literaturwissenschaft.
- JSTOR
Electronic archive of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Includes complete runs of journals with full-text of all articles published prior to the most current five years.
- Literature Resource Center
Full-text database of author biographies and bibliographies; criticism and reviews of authors' works. Included is material from many of the publisher's print reference publications including, among others, Contemporary Authors and Dictionary of Literary Biography.
Coverage: Literary criticism and biographies of figures from all time periods writing in such genres as fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, and journalism.
- Periodicals Index Online
Access to 4,500 arts/humanities & social science journals published since the 19th-century in 40 languages, on 37 key subjects, e.g., architecture, archaeology, area studies, business, law, & linguistics, containing a full-text archive to over 300 periodical titles and direct linking to JSTOR. Coverage: Humanities and social sciences
- ITER: Gateway to the Middle Ages & Renaissance (University of Toronto)
Citations to journal articles, books, bibliographies, and book reviews about the period 400 - 1700. A growing database. To date, full runs of 632 scholarly journals have been indexed from as far back as 1842. Coverage: Useful for research on the Middle Ages and Renaissance, including literature and history.
Time span: Covers the period 400-1700.
- International Medieval Bibliography
Indexes articles, conference proceedings, and Festschriften on all aspects of medieval studies in the period of 450 to 1500 for Europe, the Middle East, and North Africa.
- Feminae: Medieval Women & Gender Index
This Index covers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages. Books written by a single author are not indexed in Feminae. The project began in 1996, however some coverage goes back to 1992.
- Early Modern Women Database
Web resources useful for the study of women in early modern Europe and the Americas. Materials range from bibliographic databases to full-text resources, images, and sound recordings. Most of the resources linked are free, but some require a license for access.
Time span: Medieval period - 19th century.
- WESSWEB - German Studies Web: Majpr Digital Projects
An overview of major digitization projects of interest to scholars and students in German Studies. It focuses on retrospective digitization of older materials. For digital versions of modern reference books etc. consult, for example, the Reference Shelf.