GIS Data in the U.S. Government Information, Maps & GIS Services Collection
Scope: This guide will give a brief description of some of the items in the GIS Data Collection in McKeldin Library. If you have any questions or would like further assistance, please contact the U.S. Government Information, Maps & GIS Services Staff at
govdocs@umd.edu or 301.405.9165 or call the GIS/Data Librarian at 301.314.1355.
Overview
GIS datasets owned by McKeldin Library are either acquired through the Federal Depository Library Program or purchased selectively. Most of them are for use with ESRI software (ArcView, ArcMap, or ArcInfo). The following is a partial list of GIS datasets available. Other data may be located by searching the
Catalog or by contacting the GIS/Data librarian.
return to top
Boundary Files
-
ArcUSA 1:2M Coterminous U.S. (Edition 1, June, 1992)
LOCATION: UMCP McKeldin Library, U.S. Government Information Media, Ask at the 1st Floor Information Desk
CALL NUMBER: G1200.A9A71 USA 1:2M
-
The ArcUSA 1:2M database is a comprehensive vector basemap of the coterminous United States at a scale of 1:2 million. Features include state and county boundaries, hydrography, roads, railroads, place names, and federal lands. Index layers include latitude/longitude grids, a Landsat satellite scene index, and USGS quadrangle indexes for 1:24,000-, 1:100,000-, and 1:250,000-scale maps. Attributes for states and counties include 1990 census data; socioeconomic, demographic, and health statistics (from the mid-1980s); agricultural product and market value statistics; local government finance statistics; and general land use and soils information. Also includes 1:25 million-scale map data. For more information go to ArcUSA 1:2M User's Guide & Data Reference (http://www.esri.com/industries/k-12/download/docs/ArcUSA.pdf).
-
ArcWorld 1.3M Continental Coverage (Edition 1, August 1992)
LOCATION: UMCP McKeldin Library, U.S. Government Information Media, Ask at the 1st Floor Information Desk
CALL NUMBER: G3200 1992.A73960
-
The ArcWorld 1:3M contains features for the land areas of the world, including maps of 1992 country boundaries, roads, railroads, rivers, lakes, and major cities; and index maps such as latitude-longitude grids, a Landsat satellite image scene index, and others. ArcWorld 1:3M also has more than 500 attributes for countries, covering demographics, education, economic indicators, food production and nutrition, health, the labor force, and natural resources. The most recent data for any of the statistics in ArcWorld is 1990. However, countries are identified with codes used by the US Government, the World Bank, and the United Nations, so it is possible to link more recent attributes to the ArcWorld country maps. The User's Guide is adjacent to the GIS computers or you can access it at ArcWorld 1:3M User's Guide & Data Reference (http://www.esri.com/industries/k-12/download/docs/ArcWorld.pdf).
-
ArcWorld 1.3M Supplement(1996)
LOCATION: UMCP McKeldin Library, U.S. Government Information Media, Ask at the 1st Floor Information Desk
CALL NUMBER: G3200 1996.E5
-
ArcWorld Supplement updates the following ArcWorld 1:3M maps:Countries (1995 boundaries), world organization memberships (1995), cities, and latitude-longitude grids. The following maps are new: First-level administrative areas for 150 countries (e.g., states, provinces), ports, UTM zone index, Bailey Equal Area Grid, population and population density grids.
-
Datamocracy GIS Bundles For MD, VA, DC, DE, WV, and KY
LOCATION: UMCP McKeldin Library, U.S. Government Information Media, Ask at the 1st Floor Information Desk
CALL NUMBER: HA218.D38
-
This datapack provides tools and bundled geographical information in ArcView compatible formats that include:
- 1990 Census Blocks, Block Groups, and Tracts
- Political and Administrative Boundaries (American Indian Reservations, Congressional Districts, Voting Districts, Elementary School Districts, Middle School Districts, Secondary School Districts, Unified School Districts), Highways (Traffic Analysis Zones and Transportation Planning Package) and Geocodable Streets
- Landmark Points (GNIS)
- Water (Detailed Lakes and Coastlines)
- Places (Incorporated and Unincorporated with Utility Lines, Fences, and Ridge Lines)
- Streams and Rivers
- Landmark Areas (Airports, Shopping Centers, Parks) and Railroads
-
Digital Chart of the World
LOCATION: UMCP McKeldin Library, U.S. Government Information
CALL NUMBER: D 5.358: VMAP O SOAMAFR/2000
LOCATION: UMCP McKeldin Library, U.S. Government Information Media, Ask at the 1st Floor Information Desk
CALL NUMBER: D 5.358:992/PACK
In ArcView compatible format --
LOCATION: UMCP McKeldin Library, U.S. Government Information, Media, Ask at the 1st Floor Information Desk
CALL NUMBER: G70.2.D57 1993
-
The Digital Chart of the World is a worldwide basemap of coastlines, international boundaries, cities, airports, elevations, roads, railroads, water features, cultural landmarks, and much more. We have both the Digital Chart of the World (now called Vector Map (VMap) Level 0) produced by the National Imagery and Mapping Agency (NIMA) and a commercial version produced by ESRI that is in ArcView compatible format.
-
Digital Line Graph (DLG) Data
LOCATION: UMCP McKeldin Library, U.S. Government Information Media, Ask at the 1st Floor Information Desk
CALL NUMBER: I 19.120:D 56
-
USGS published 1:100,000 and 1:2,000,000 DLG data covers the conterminous United States plus Hawaii and includes: boundaries, hydrography, man made features, public land surveys, and transportation.
-
ESRI Maps and Data(1998, 1999, 2002 and 2005)
LOCATION: UMCP McKeldin Library, U.S. Government Information Media, Ask at the 1st Floor Information Desk
CALL NUMBER: G70.212.E87
-
Vector data that covers:
- The World
Country boundaries (1992, 1994, 1998), major cities, administrative sub-districts, lakes, rivers and gazetteer place names.
- Europe
Country boundaries, statistical unit boundaries (states, provinces, townships, etc.), major cities, highways, lakes, rivers. Additional detailed data is available for each country.
- USA
State boundaries (simplified and detailed), county boundaries (simplified and detailed), census tracts, census block groups, congressional districts, 5-digit ZIP code areas, interstate highways, major roads, railroads, airports, transportation terminals, cities, parks, institutions (schools, hospitals, churches, etc.), major rivers and lakes and a topographic relief image of North America. Some census data at various levels is also included.
- State Level Data
State boundary (simplified and detailed), county boundaries (simplified and detailed), census tracts, census block groups, census blocks, congressional districts, ZIP code areas, interstate highways, major roads, railroads, airports, transportation terminals, cities, parks, schools, hospitals, churches, military bases, major rivers and lakes. Some census data at various levels is also included.
- Mexico and Canada
States or provinces, cities, major highways and lakes.
For more information on the 1999 ESRI Data & Maps go to ESRI Data & Maps 2002
(http://www.esri.com/library/whitepapers/pdfs/datamaps2002.pdf).
-
Wessex Boundaries, Release 4. 1997 Wessex, Inc.(Wessex is now a part of GDT).
LOCATION: UMCP McKeldin Library, U.S. Government Information Media, Ask at the 1st Floor Information Desk
CALL NUMBER: G1201.F1U87
-
This data is in ArcView shapefile format, but must be unzipped before it can be used. Included in this data set are census boundary line files for airports, railroads, key geographic locations, rivers and other water features, landmarks, interstate and state highways, cities, townships, 1990 Census Tracts, 1990 Block Groups, School Districts (Primary, Middle, Secondary & Unified), 104th Congressional Districts and MSA's.
-
Zip+4CD
LOCATION: UMCP McKeldin Library, U.S. Government Information MapsMedia, Ask at the 1st Floor Information Desk
CALL NUMBER: HE6368.Z57 2000
-
Zip+4CD contains a unique list of the zip+4, block-code, and zip+4 centroids from the Census Bureau’s TIGER 98 file. The centroids allow zip+4’s to be displayed on a map. The block code allows demographic information to be appended to zip+4’s.
return to top
U.S. Census Data
-
CensusCD + Maps
LOCATION: UMCP McKeldin Library, U.S. Government Information, HA201 1990y
CALL NUMBER: HA201 1990y
-
This Mapping Software allows you to easily create maps using 1990 census data and boundaries. The user guide is located adjacent to the GIS computers.
-
CensusCD 1970 and CensusCD 1980
LOCATION: UMCP McKeldin Library, U.S. Government Information Media, Ask at the 1st Floor Information Desk
CALL NUMBERS: HA201 1970, HA201 1980z 1999
-
These CDs have the long form data from 1970 and 1980 U.S. Censuses. The data can be exported in dBASE, shapefile, or other formats. CD user guides are located adjacent to the GIS computers.
-
CensusCD Blocks
LOCATION: UMCP McKeldin Library, U.S. Government Information Media, Ask at the 1st Floor Information Desk
CALL NUMBER: HA201 1990x
-
This CD contains complete demographic and housing data and map boundaries from the US Census Bureau for all 1990 census blocks. Data may be may be exported in 6 different formats including ASCII, dBASE and shapefiles. The user guide is located adjacent to the GIS computers.
-
Wessex Pro/filer
LOCATION: UMCP McKeldin Library, U.S. Government Information Media, Ask at the 1st Floor Information Desk
CALL NUMBER: HA201 1990.P76
-
On 6 CDs Wessex Pro/Filer contains all the data published in 1990 US Census Bureau's Summary Tape Files 1A, 3A, and 3B. It can be used separately or in conjunction with Wessex Boundaries and Wessex Streets.
return to top
Street Files
-
ArcView StreetMap USA Data (2000 and 2002)
LOCATION: UMCP McKeldin Library, U.S. Government Information Media, Ask at the 1st Floor Information Desk
CALL NUMBER: G3700 1999.E5 and G70.212.E87 disc. 8
-
StreetMap USA allows for nationwide street display and geocoding from a single CD. Much of this data can also be used without the StreetMap extension. (The StreetMap extension for ArcView 3.2 is installed on the two GIS workstations.) With the extension the advanced geocoding and street display abilities are enabled. The 2002 data (disk 8 of the 2002 ESRI Maps and Data) also contains a group layer, map document, map template, and all the associated data for these files for use with ArcGIS 8.x.
-
Wessex Streets
LOCATION: UMCP McKeldin Library, U.S. Government Information Media, Ask at the 1st Floor Information Desk
CALL NUMBER: G1201.P2U87 1997
-
Wessex Streets 4.0 (1997) provides all the streets and highways for the entire United States (taken from TIGER 95 data) including address ranges for over 85 million matchable addresses. Files are in easy-to-use ArcView formats to provide information for geocoding and mapping applications.
return to top
Environmental and Natural Resources Data
-
Global GIS Database Digital Atlases of Central and South America, Africa, South Asia, and South Pacific
LOCATION: UMCP McKeldin Library, U.S. Government Information Media, Ask at the 1st Floor Information Desk
CALL NUMBER: I 19.121:62
-
These CD-ROMs contain digital atlases and are part of a global database compiled from data at a nominal scale of 1:1 million. The disks contain free viewing software and the data may be used in ArcView software. The atlases contain the following datasets: country political boundaries, digital shaded relief maps, elevation, slope, hydrology, location of cities and towns, airfields, roads, railroads, utility lines, population density, geology, ecological regions, historical seismicity, volcanoes, ore deposits, oil and gas fields, climate data, landcover, vegetation index, and lights at night.
-
HAZUS99
LOCATION: UMCP McKeldin Library, U.S. Government Information, Ask at the 1st Floor Information Desk
-
HAZUS is the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) tool for estimating earthquake losses. We have the HAZUS99 ArcView Versions for the Eastern Region and Western Region, as well as supplemental data for CA, DC, GA, MD, and VA. We also have the Technical and User Manuals available on CD-ROM. For more information on HAZUS, visit FEMA's HAZUS site (http://www.fema.gov/plan/prevent/hazus/hz_hazusmhmr2.shtm).
-
Merlin: Maryland's Environmental Resources & Land Information Network
LOCATION: UMCP McKeldin Library, U.S. Government Information Media, Ask at the 1st Floor Information Desk
CALL NUMBER: GB126.M32M47 2000
-
This 3 CD-ROM set (produced in 2000) has the Maryland Department of Natural Resources (DNR) data which includes Maryland data on Digital Orthophoto Quarter Quads (DOQQs), sensitive species project review areas, National Wetlands Inventory, DNR wetlands inventory, wetlands of special state concern, watershed boundaries, green infrastructure, greenways, protected lands, changes in shoreline, critical area boundaries, floodplains, and submerged aquatic vegetation. For more information see the Maryland DNR's GeoSpatial Data Center (http://dnrweb.dnr.state.md.us/gis/data/) from which free data may also be downloaded.
-
National Inventory of Dams
LOCATION: UMCP McKeldin Library, U.S. Government Information Media, Ask at the 1st Floor Information Desk
CALL NUMBER: D 103.135:W 29/CD/
-
Computer database of the country’s water control infrastructure. Specifically, the NID contains information on dams throughout the United States and its territories for use with GIS programs and in the development of water resource management, land use management, floodplain management, risk management, and emergency action planning.
-
National Wetland Inventory Maps
LOCATION: UMCP McKeldin Library, U.S. Government Information Media, Ask at the 1st Floor Information Desk
CALL NUMBER: G3701.G4S24.u5
-
This CD-ROM set contains data from all available 7.5-minute Wetland Inventory quadrangles for the entire U.S. The files are in ArcInfo export format (*.e00) bundled and zipped with tar gz and are arranged on the CD-ROMs in directories organized by the 1:250,000 series quadrangle names.
-
USGS Gap Analyses of Various States
LOCATION: UMCP McKeldin Library, U.S. Government Information Media, Ask at the 1st Floor Information Desk
CALL NUMBER: I 19.212/
-
These disks contain the final Gap Analysis report for individual states along with the GIS data in grid format. Data includes landcover; land stewardship; and directories for mammals, herptiles, and birds. States currently available include CA, CO, ID, LA, MT, OR, PA, VA, WA, and WV. GAP analysis data are also available for download from the USGS's Gap Analysis Program: GAP Searchable database (http://www.gap.uidaho.edu/Projects/FTP.htm).
return to top
Digital Raster Graphics
-
DRG’s (Digital Raster Graphics)
LOCATION: UMCP McKeldin Library, U.S. Government Information Media, Ask at the 1st Floor Information Desk
CALL NUMBER: I 19.128:
-
A partial collection of scanned 1:24,000, 1:100,000, and 1:250,000 USGS topographic maps in TIFF format with registration files are available. Also available are 1:24,000 USGS topographic maps of all capital cities. The partial collection includes areas in NY, CO, WV, MD, DE, KS, VA, UT, KT, NV, OK, TN, CA, GA, AZ, NM, MS, TX, AL, FL, LA, MO, ND, MN, WI, SD, PA, MA, NY, CT, NJ, WA.
-
Scanned Images of USGS 7.5’ Topographic Quadrangles (Prince Georges & Montgomery Counties, MD)
LOCATION: UMCP McKeldin Library, U.S. Government Information Media, Ask at the 1st Floor Information Desk
CALL NUMBER: G3843.M6 1998.M37 disks 1-4
-
These four CD-ROMS have georeferenced USGS 7.5' topographic maps in TIFF format for Prince Georges and Montgomery Counties, Maryland.
-
US Digital Topography for GIS
LOCATION: UMCP McKeldin Library, U.S. Government Information Media, Ask at the 1st Floor Information Desk
CALL NUMBER: G3700.1996.c45
-
Shaded georeferenced map images of the U.S. including all states except Alaska in TIFF format for base information.
return to top
Image Files
-
ArcScene USA Tour
LOCATION: UMCP McKeldin Library, U.S. Government Information Media, Ask at the 1st Floor Information Desk
CALL NUMBER: G3701.A4 1992.A6
-
ArcScene USA Tour is a collection of sixteen Landsat satellite images from various regions in the United States. The images may be used with ArcInfo or ArcView. The ArcScene User's Guide and Data Reference includes a description of the unique features in each scene, helpful in interpreting the images. It also provides an introduction to remote sensing concepts. Also included in ArcScene USA Tour is an elevation image for the U.S., state boundaries, and a Landsat Scene index.
-
US Digital Orthophoto Quadrangle Data
LOCATION: UMCP McKeldin Library, U.S. Government Information Media, Ask at the 1st Floor Information Desk
CALL NUMBER: I 19.124/23
-
A Digital Orthophoto Quadrangle (DOQ) is a computer-generated image of an aerial photograph in which the image displacement caused by terrain relief and camera tilt has been removed. The DOQ combines the image characteristics of the original photograph with the georeferenced qualities of a map. We have a partial collection of DOQs for the U.S. in Tagged Image File Format (TIFF). For more information on DOQs visit the USGS's Digital Orthophoto Quadrangles (DOQs) page (http://edc.usgs.gov/products/aerial/doq.html).
return to top
Miscellaneous
-
CrimeReportsCD
LOCATION: UMCP McKeldin Library, U.S. Government Information Media, Ask at the 1st Floor Information Desk
CALL NUMBER: HV6787.C747
-
CrimeReportsCD contains information from the FBI’s Uniform Crime Reporting Database from 1975-1997. The data contain 669 crime variables from 19464 agencies and may be exported in 6 different formats including ASCII, dBASE and shapefiles. The user guide is located adjacent to the GIS computers.
-
DevInfo Version 1
LOCATION: UMCP McKeldin Library, U.S. Government Information Media, Ask at the 1st Floor Information Desk
CALL NUMBER: HC435.D48 2000
-
DevInfo is a comprehensive regional database on the situation of children and women in India. The database and accompanying software can be used to organize and document statistical data on the situation of women and children in the region and to present and analyze this information through a variety of tools including: tables, graphs and maps. Data may be exported as dBASE files or ArcView project files, among other formats. The user guide is located adjacent to the GIS computers.
-
DHCD Technology Toolbox Data: Historic Sites Layer
LOCATION: UMCP McKeldin Library, U.S. Government Information Media, Ask at the 1st Floor Information Desk
CALL NUMBER: F182.M33 2000
-
This CD-ROM (1999 version) has the Maryland Department of Housing and Community Development data which includes the Maryland Inventory of Historic Properties, the National Register of Historic Places for Maryland, Historic Preservation Easement Areas, and known archeological site grids. For more information see the MSGIC Technology Toolbox site (http://www.msgic.state.md.us/techtool/samples/index.htm).
return to top
Data on the Internet
Aside from the data held onsite, data can be downloaded from the Internet. Good places to look include:
return to top
|