Navigation Bar
Guides to Information Resources

 

Graduate Teaching Assistant Orientation

This page has been designed for graduate students who will be working as teaching assistants for the University, with the intent of providing quick access to information about library services and resources. While much of the information on this page may be found on the UM Libraries home page, it is consolidated here to provide easier access to the information most pertinent to you.

The Libraries at the University of Maryland

Accessing Library Materials

  • Borrowing Materials
    • From UM and USMAI Campus Libraries
    • From Libraries Beyond USMAI
      Includes information on interlibrary loan, reciprocal borrowing from regional libraries, and borrowing or purchasing dissertations.

    • Student ID Card
      After you register, take your registration form to the Information counter/desk in the Mitchell building for a Student ID card. You will need your Student Identification number or Social Security number. You need this Student ID card to obtain your email account and to use campus facilities such as shuttle bus, library and campus recreation services.

    return to top


  • Library Catalogs (Finding books, and more)
  • Note: When accessing subscription databases from off-campus, you will be asked to log in to Research Port using your 14-digit campus identification number (on the back of your campus ID card) and your last name. You may access the UM Libraries' catalog from anywhere without logging in.

    return to top


  • Research Port: Finding Databases and Electronic Journals
  • The University of Maryland Libraries subscribe to a variety of article indexes and databases as well as many electronic journals - these are available through Research Port.

    • The most complete listing of e-journals is available through the e-journals link in Research Port.

    • For information on our article indexes and databases go to the Databases link in Research Port.

    return to top


  • Finding Articles That Are *Not* Full Text
    • Did you search a database and find only the citation to an article?

      Click find it button for options on how to access the article.

    • Electronic Access and Availability Through UM Libraries
    • Interlibrary Loan
    • return to top


  • Dissertations and Theses
    • Disserations and Theses at the University of Maryland
      Guide to finding dissertations and theses published by University of Maryland students.

    • DRUM: Digital Depository at the University of Maryland - UM Theses and Dissertations
      Beginning in 2004, UM theses and disserations are published electronically in this online collection.
    • Digital Dissertations
      Covers a complete range of dissertations and theses in all disciplines, from participating institutions. Dates covered: 1861- (Indexing); 1980- (Abstracting Dissertations); 1988- (Abstracting Theses). Full text of UM dissertations and theses are available from 1997-. In addition, 24 page previews of dissertations and theses from other institutions are available from 1997-.
    • Foreign Doctoral Dissertations Database
      CRL has more than 750,000 uncataloged foreign doctoral dissertations, of which approximately 20,000 are included in this database. Not finding a match does not mean CRL does not hold the dissertation, so if you do not find the title you seek here, it is recommended that the CRL catalog also be searched. If the title does not appear in the database or catalog, contact CRL directly to inquire if it is held. To obtain a copy of a dissertation, fill out a request with the UM Interlibrary Loan Office.

  • Accessing Library Online Resources from Home
    • Due to licensing agreements, off campus access to most materials are restricted to current University of Maryland students, faculty, and staff. Therefore, when off-campus, access databases and electronic journals through ResearchPort. Log in by entering your last name and the number on the back of your student i.d. card. For immediate access, have your student i.d. card entered into the library system at a library circulation desk.

    return to top


Resources to Help You With Your Classes

  • Directory of Librarian Subject Specialists
    • Check here for the librarian whose field of expertise corresponds with you subject of interest - the University of Maryland Library's subject specialists can help you with your instruction in a variety of ways, some of which are listed below.

  • In Class Library Instruction
    • Want a library instruction session for your class? A librarian can come to your class and provide general library use instruction or more focused instruction on a particular resource or topic - to find out more, contact the appropriate subject specialist.
    • There are numerous benefits to involving library subject specialists in your courses.


  • Course Related Web Pages
    • Subject librarians can create guides to highlight resources and materials for your classes - just contact the appropriate subject specialist to find out more about working with the library to create these tailored class resources.

  • Research Guides by Subject Discipline
    • Subject librarians at the University of Maryland have created research guides which highlight important resources in a wide variety of subject areas
    • Also, consider incorporating these guides which the library has created to help students with their research into your courses - these include guides covering academic dishonesty and citation styles.

  • Course Reserves
    • Click to find out how to place materials on reserve at the various libraries on campus

  • Citation Management Tools
    • Here is a guide which explains what bibliographic management software is and how it works
    • RefWorks is a web-based bibliographic management tool to which the University of Maryland provides access - check out this guide to find out how to open a RefWorks account as well as how to get started using this resource

  • Creating Effective Research Assignments
    • Here is a guide that the library has created to help you in the creation of effective library research assignments for your students.
    • Also check out the assignment calculator - this tool can help your students to make better use of their time when researching and writing a paper

    return to top

 

University Libraries, University of Maryland, College Park, MD 20742-7011 (301)405-0800
Please send comments and suggestions to the Libraries' Webmaster.
Content questions should be directed to Tom Harrod
© 2003 University of Maryland Libraries
Last Revised: August 2007
University Libraries How do I...? Site index Search the site Home Catalog Databases E-journals Reference Shelf