|
|
|
User Education Services > Guide Author Information > Style Guidelines
Style Guidelines
Follow these guidelines for style, with exceptions made as needed or appropriate for the topic, subject, or discipline.
1. Template
A template for subject guides is provided at
http://www.lib.umd.edu/itd/web/templates/template_guides.txt. Mount a Web guide as a single file. If a guide is too long to be edited as a single file in WebSpinner, it can be created in Notepad and uploaded into WebSpinner.
2. Title
Make the title simple and clear, without unnecessary subtitles such as "a guide to resources" or "a subject guide." (Ex. Use "Asian Architecture, Landscape and Planning" instead of "Guide to Sources on Asian Architecture, Landscape and Planning.")
3. Table of Contents
Except for very brief guides, begin with a table of contents listing the categories of resources described.
4. Last Revised Date
The last revised date should be recorded at the top of the page under the navigation bar. See example: http://www.lib.umd.edu/itd/web/templates/template_guides.txt.
5. Categories of Resources
Comprehensive guides to the literature of a subject or discipline may include the following categories:
- Searching the online catalog
- Bibliographies and guides
- Biographical sources
- Dictionaries and encyclopedias
- Directories
- Indexes and abstracts
- Internet resources (if Internet resources are included in other categories, this section may be labeled "Other Internet Resources")
- Related Guides
Different categories or different arrangement of categories may be used as appropriate.
6. Searching the Online Catalog
Include relevant Library of Congress subject headings in this section.
6. Entries
a. Monograph. Give the full bibliographic entry (author, title, imprint, date) appropriate to the subject or discipline, without line breaks. List the location information as it appears in the catalog.
Example:
Clarke, Michael. The concise Oxford dictionary of art terms. Oxford ; New York: Oxford University Press, 2001.
LOCATION: UMCP Art Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: N33.C575 2001
b. Serial. Give a brief entry, including dates of publication and frequency. If UM holdings differ from the dates of publication, specify UM holdings.
Example:
American Libraries. 11 times a year. 1970-
LOCATION: UMCP McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks
Call Number: Z673.A5 B82
Electronic version available. Check online catalog.
c. Electronic resource. The title of the electronic resource should always be a link to that resource. For subscription databases, use the direct URL from Research Port. (See instructions.) A URL should be included if it is an open link (meaning non-subscription). Coverage dates are optional.
Example:
Subscription: Academic Search Premier
These are multidisciplinary indexes providing references and some full-text to film reviews and scholarly articles on film.
Open Link: IMDB: Internet Movie Database(http://www.imdb.com/)
Includes release dates, cast and crew information, plot summaries, reviews and much additional information on thousands of films.
d. Electronic and Print Resource. The title of the electronic resource should be the link to that resource. Also include the title of the print version. The location, call number, and annotation should be provided as follows. Coverage dates are optional.
Example:
Film Literature Index Print version: Film Literature Index Location: UMCP McKeldin Reference Stacks Call Number:Z5784.M9F45 (1973-present) Indexes approximately 300 film journals.
return to top
|