|
Last revised: April, 2009
International Resources
Scope: The purpose of this guide is to assist you in finding government information about international relations located in the U.S. Government Information, Maps & GIS Services collection on the 4th floor of McKeldin Library. If you have any questions or would like further assistance, please contact the U.S. Government Information, Maps & GIS Services staff at
govdocs@umd.edu or 301.405.9165.
Foreign Aid
-
- Center for Global Development
- An independent, not-for-profit think tank that works to reduce global poverty and inequality by encouraging policy change in the U.S. and other rich countries through rigorous research and active engagement with the policy community.
- Country Reports on Human Rights Practices
- Reports on internationally recognized individual, civil, political, and worker rights issues by country.
- LOCATION: U.S. Government Information SuDocs
- CALL NUMBER: Y 4.IN 8/16-15 (1979-1990, 1992-2004)
- CALL NUMBER: Y 4.F 76/1-15: (2007)
- LOCATION: U.S. Government Information Reference
- CALL NUMBER: Y 4.IN 8/16-15 (2005)
- CALL NUMBER: Y 4.F 76/2:S.PRT. (2006)
- LOCATION: U.S. Government Information Microfiche
- CALL NUMBER: Y 4.IN 8/16-15 (1995, 1998, 2000-2005)
- LOCATION: U.S. Government Information Media, Ask at Information Desk
- CALL NUMBER: S 1.142:C 63/CD (2001-2002)
- Foreign Agricultural Service
- Administers the USDA's international food aid programs, and helps increase income and food availability in developing nations by mobilizing expertise for agriculturally led economic growth.
- U.S. Agency for International Development (USAID)
- What you can find at the USAID (Webjunction Guide)
return to top
Documents of International Origin
-
- Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS)
- Includes full-text summaries and translations from around the world of newspaper articles, conference proceedings, radio and television broadcasts, non-classified technical reports, and local media sources.
- LOCATION: U.S. Government Information SuDoc, (1964-Present)
- LOCATION: U.S. Government Information Microfiche, (1964-Present)
- CALL NUMBER: PrEx 7.10:
- Guide to International Documents Collections in the College Park Area
- International Government Information Online: Resources from Other Countries
- UM Libraries' web page linking to international information on Government websites.
- Joint Publications Research Service (JPRS)
- Translations of unclassified foreign documents, scholarly works, research reports and other selective source material which is not available in English.
- LOCATION: U.S. Government Information Microfilm, (1957-1974)
- CALL NUMBER: AS36.U597 - AS 36.U59
- LOCATION: U.S. Government Information Microfiche, (1975-1996)
- CALL NUMBER: PrEx 7.13: - PrEx 7.22:
- LOCATION: U.S. Government Information SuDocs, (1975-1996)
- CALL NUMBER: PREX 7.13:x
- Guide to JPRS Collections at UM Libraries
- World News Connection UM Only
- Electronic replacement for the news transcription and translation series issued previously as Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports. Includes full-text summaries and translations from around the world of newspaper articles, conference proceedings, radio and television broadcasts, non-classified technical reports, and local media sources from 1995 to the present.
return to top
Foreign Relations/Diplomacy
-
- Congressional Resources
- Senate Committee on Foreign Relations
-
- House Committee on Foreign Affairs
- UM Libraries' Guide to Finding Congressional Hearings
- Country Studies
- Description and analysis of countries throughout the world from the Library of Congress from 1988-1998.
- Area Handbook Series volumes at UM Libraries, LOCATION: U.S. Government Information Su Docs, 1970-2008, CALL NUMBER: D 101.22:550
- Department of State Bulletin
- The official monthly record of United States foreign policy.
- LOCATION: US Government Information SU Docs, (1939-1989)
- CALL NUMBER: S 1.3:
- LOCATION: US Government Information Microfilm, (1977 & 1979)
- CALL NUMBER: JX232 .A33
- Also available in HeinOnline Treaties. (UM Only)
- Department of State Dispatch
- Department of State weekly magazine that provides the major speeches and congressional testimony from the State Department.
- Also available in HeinOnline Treaties. (UM Only)
- Digital National Security Archive UM Only
- Primary resources central to U.S. foreign and military policy since 1945. More than 43,000 declassified documents included in the database.
- Foreign Relations of the United States
- Department of State series that includes documents and communications relating to U.S. foreign policy, including items from the President, Departments of State and Defense, National Security Council, CIA, Agency for International Development, and other foreign affairs agencies. Volumes from 1861-1960 are available from University of Wisconsin-Madison Libraries.
- LOCATION: U.S. Government Information Reference
- CALL NUMBER: S 1.1
- HeinOnline Treaties UM Only
- Full text of all published treaties and agreements to which the US has been a party. Includes: US Treaties & Other International Agreements (UST); Treaties & Other International Acts Series (TIAS); Treaties in Force (TIF) and Guide to Treaties in Force; International Legal Materials (ILM); KAV Agreements; Bevans; Malloy; and Miller.
- International Government Information Online: Foreign Relations
- UM Libraries' web page linking to international information on Government websites.
- World Factbook
- Information on countries around the world from the Central Intelligence Agency. Includes reference maps.
- LOCATION: U.S. Government Information SuDocs, (1981-2006)
- LOCATION: U.S. Government Information Microfiche, (1996)
- LOCATION: U.S. Government Information Reference, (2007)
- CALL NUMBER: PREX 3.15
return to top
Statistics
-
- See:
- International Government Information Online: Data and Statistics
- UM Libraries' Guide to International Statistics
return to top
|