|
Internet Resources for Art History and Archaeology
Scope: Included in this guide is a very selective group of Internet sites useful in the study of art history
and archaeology. For a guide to related print materials and online databases and reference works, refer to Resources for the Study of Art, Art History and Archaeology. Email the subject area specialist at
lwg@umd.edu or call 301-405-9064 for more information.
Table of Contents
General
Each of the following sites is a major gateway to art information on the Internet.
- Art History Resources on the Web
- (http://witcombe.sbc.edu/ARTHLinks.html)
Christopher Witcombe's comprehensive directory to art information on the Web organized by
period and style, with links to information, images, research resources, museums and galleries.
-
Art Links on the World Wide Web
- (http://www.bc.edu/bc_org/avp/cas/fnart/Artweb_frames.html)
A comprehensive collection of 1200+ links of online resources for art history.
- Art Source
- (http://www.ilpi.com/artsource/welcome.html)
Links to general art and architecture sites, libraries, museums, organizations, and programs.
-
Digital Librarian: Art
- (http://www.digital-librarian.com/art.html)
Links to a wide variety of art-related information and resources.
-
Getty Research Institute
- (http://www.getty.edu/research/index.html)
Links to research databases and program information within the J. Paul Getty Trust. The
Getty Standards Program has
resources on sharing digitized images electronically and information on online cultural
heritage projects. The Getty
Vocabulary Databases include the following research resources: Art & Architecture Thesaurus, the Union List of Artists' Names and the Getty Thesaurus of Geographic Names.
-
History of Art Virtual Library
- (http://www.chart.ac.uk/vlib/)
Comprehensive general art history site. Includes conference information, and links to university
art history departments, online teaching resources, research tools, and libraries.
-
Mother of All Art History Link Pages
- (http://www.art-design.umich.edu/mother/)
Includes links to art history departments, research resources, image collections, museums, and
textual, linguistic and religious resources.
-
Voice of the Shuttle Web Page for Art & Art History
- (http://vos.ucsb.edu/browse.asp?id=2707)
Links to information on art and art history.
Theory and Criticism
Additional Research Tools
-
AATA Online
- (http://aata.getty.edu/NPS/)
Formerly the print publication Art & Archaeology Technical Abstracts.
-
Conservation Online
- (http://palimpsest.stanford.edu/)
Includes bibliographies, dictionaries, glossaries, and links to related organizations, with
information on digital imaging and copyright issues.
-
Index of Resources for Historians
- (http://www.ukans.edu/history/VL/)
Information on archaeology, architecture, archives, grants, and instructional materials listed by subject and by country.
-
Multilingual Glossary of Art Terms (IFLA)
- (http://www.ifla.org/VII/s30/pub/mg1.htm)
In English, with indexes in Dutch, French, German, Italian, Spanish, and Swedish. Second edition, revised and enlarged.
return to top
African/African American Art
American Art
-
American Art Research Guide
- (http://www.bu.edu/library/research-guides/americanart.html)
An annotated bibliography of print and electronic resources, with links to museums and
specialized Web sites.
-
Smithsonian American Art Museum
- (http://americanart.si.edu)
Provides information on the collection, as well as links to the Smithsonian libraries,
research catalogs and archives.
-
Smithsonian Institution Research Information System (SIRIS)
- (http://www.siris.si.edu)
Search the SIRIS online catalogs: Smithsonian Libraries, Art Inventories, Archives and
Manuscripts, Research and Bibliographies, and Smithsonian Chronologies.
Archaeology
-
WWWorld of Archaeology
- (http://www.he.net/~archaeol/wwwarky/wwwarky.html)
Covers general archaeology, as well as Egypt, Near East, Classical, British Isles, and the
Americas. Includes links to other archaeology sites, and online access to current and back
issues of Archaeology.
Architecture
Asian Art
-
Art of Asia
- (http://www.lib.umd.edu/ART/guides/asia.html)
Selected sources of information on the art of Asia, focusing on the arts of China, India, Japan, and Korea.
-
Asian Art
- (http://www.asianart.com/index.html)
Articles, exhibits and links to related sites.
-
Chinese and Japanese Art History WWW Virtual Library
- (http://www.nyu.edu/gsas/dept/fineart/html/chinese/index.html)
Information on symposia, conferences and other events related to Chinese and Japanese art.
Islamic Art
return to top
For many more links to art information by time period, see Art History Resources on the Web by
Christopher Witcombe (listed under "Major Research Sites -- General" at the beginning of this
guide).
Classics
-
Diotima: Women and Gender
- (http://www.stoa.org/diotima/)
Resources for the study of women in the ancient world.
-
Perseus Project
- (http://www.perseus.tufts.edu/)
Images, maps, information and other resources on ancient Greece.
-
TOCS-IN
- (http://www.chass.utoronto.ca/amphoras/tocs.html)
Tables of contents to journals in the classics.
Byzantine and Medieval Art
return to top
Many other art libraries can be located through the major sites listed at the beginning of this
guide.
Library Directories
-
IFLA International Directory of Art Libraries
- (http://iberia.vassar.edu/ifla-idal/)
This directory lists more 3,000 archaeology, architecture and art libraries worldwide --
including addresses, phone/fax numbers, hours, and staff information. Links are provided where
available.
-
The Library Index
- (http://www.libdex.com/)
A worldwide directory of library homepages and web-based catalogs.
Library Sites
return to top
Many museums can be accessed through the major sites listed at the beginning of this guide.
Museum Directories
Museum Sites
return to top
return to top
Because copyright restrictions prohibit many images from being placed on the Web, the number
of digitized images available at these sites may be quite limited. For more information, see also the online subject guide
Visual Images (http://www.lib.umd.edu/ART/guides/images.html)
- Art Imagebase (Fine Art Museums of San Francisco)
- (http://www.thinker.org/fam/about/imagebase/index.asp)
- SPIRO, Architecture Slide Library (University of California, Berkeley)
- (http://www.mip.berkeley.edu/query_forms/browse_spiro_form.html)
return to top
|