|
Last revised: August, 2009
International Statistics
Scope: Many governments and international
organizations are putting their statistical data on the Internet. The
majority of the sources listed here are free-of-charge and accessible
to anyone with access to the World Wide Web. If you are a student, faculty
member, or staff person at the University of Maryland at College Park,
you may email the librarian subject area specialist Judy Markowitz
for more information.
- WDI: World Development Indicators Online (UM Only)
Provides direct access to more than 550 development indicators, with time series for 200 countries and 18 country groups from 1960, where data are available. Data export options in Excel or ASCII.
- UNData
Keyword searchable database over over 50 million records from the United Nations and its agencies. Includes demographic, economic, education, health, environmental, agricultural, and technology indicators.
- CIA World
Factbook
Annual publication of country profiles and statistics.
- EIU Viewswire (UM Only)
EIU ViewsWire is a full-text country news daily that provides analysis and forecast information on worldwide politics, economics, business strategies & conditions and market trends in almost 200 countries.
- FEDSTATS Agencies Page
Links to US federal agencies represented on the Interagency Council
on Statistical Policy. http://www.fedstats.gov/agencies
- Infonation
United Nations site with statistical data on UN member states' geographies,
economies, populations, and social indicators.
http://www.un.org/Pubs/CyberSchoolBus/infonation/e_infonation.htm
- Inter-University Consortium
for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)
"Access to the world's largest archive of computerized social science
data."
To arrange access at UM contact BSOS.
- NationMaster.com
This free site compiles data from prominent international statistics sources like the CIA, UN and others and presents them graphically to allow easy comparisons of countries.
- OFFSTATS: Official Statistics on the Web
Browse by country, region, or topic.
- Organisation for Economic
Co-operation and Development (OECD)
Agricultural, development, economic, educational, energy, environmental,
financial, health, public sector, science and technology, and social
policy statistics.
- SourceOECD (UM Only)
The online library of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. Comprises 20 book collections by theme, containing all OECD monographs and reports, most OECD periodicals, and the OECD statistical databases.
- Statistical
Resources on the Web
University of Michigan Document Center. Links to sites on Foreign Governments,
Military, Political, Economic, Demographic, and Foreign Trade and Economics
statistics, etc.
- United Nations
Scholars' Workstation
Yale University site "is a collection of texts, finding aids, data sets,
maps, and pointers to print and electronic information. Subject coverage
includes disarmament, economic and social development, environment,
human rights, international relations, international trade, peacekeeping,
and population and demography."
- United Nations
Statistics Division
Free access to selected portions of UN Statistical Publications such
as the Demographics Yearbook and Statistics and Indicators on the World's
Women.
- US Census Bureau
The Census Bureau site has links to international population data, foreign
trade statistics, and a commodity groupings database.
- US
State Department Background Information on Countries of the World
Economic, demographic, political, and historical profiles of countries
including Country Commercial Guides.
Commodities & Products
- International Grains Council
Grain markets report.
- UN Comtrade Database
Searchable commodity trade statistics database.
- UNCTAD Commodity Price Statistics (United Nations Conference on Trade Development)
"Monthly free-market prices and price indices starting in January 1960 for selected commodities that concern commodity-dependent countries. Price indices are provided for commodity groups (including food, tropical beverages, vegetable oilseeds and oils, agricultural raw materials, minerals, ores and metals), and for all groups in current dollars and SDRs."
- UN Industrial Development
Organization (UNIDO)
Economic indicators by country including statistics on manufacturing.
- USDA Foreign Agricultural Service: Commodities and Products
Links to US and international data.
- USGS Minerals Information: Commodity Statistics and Information
"Statistics and information on the worldwide supply of, demand for, and flow of minerals and materials essential to the U.S. economy, the national security, and protection of the environment."
Development
- WDI: World Development Indicators Online (UM Only)
Provides direct access to more than 550 development indicators, with time series for 200 countries and 18 country groups from 1960, where data are available. Data export options in Excel or ASCII.
- Center for International
Development (CID) at Harvard University
Data depository which includes the Highly Indebted Poor Countries (HIPC)
Database, Trade Openness Indicators, Sources of Slow Growth in African
Economies, Natural Resource Abundance and Economic Growth, plus geography,
education, agricultural and disease datasets (most in Excel format.)
- Global Distribution of Poverty
Subnational, spatially explicit, poverty data sets. These are available for selected proxy measures of poverty, at global and national scales.
http://sedac.ciesin.columbia.edu/povmap/
- Millennium Development Goals Indicators
This site presents the official data, definitions, methodologies and sources for more than 60 indicators to measure progress towards the United Nations Millennium Development Goals. Keyword searchable.
- OECD Aid Statistics
Statistics and reports on aid and other resource flows to developing countries and countries in transition and related matters.
http://www.oecd.org/statisticsdata/0,2643,en_2649_34447_1_119656_1_1_1,00.html
- United Nations
Development Programme (UNDP)
Human Development Report, Human Development Index, Gender-Related Development
Index, Gender Empowerment Measure, Trends in Economic Performance, Financial
Inflows and Outflows, Human Profile and Index, North-South Gaps, etc.
- World Bank Development Data
Includes World Development Reports, quick reference tables, Gas and
Diesel Price Databank, Global Development Finance, and selected tables
from World Development Indicators.
Finance/Investment
- Bank for International
Settlements (BIS)
Publications which can be downloaded include the Annual Report, "Quarterly
Review: International Banking and Financial Market Developments," "BIS
Consolidated International Banking Statistics," and "Joint BIS-IMF-OECD-World
Bank Statistics on External Debt."
- Bureau of Economic Analysis
International Accounts Data
Statistics on balances and payments, imports and exports, investment
position, foreign direct investment in the US, and US direct investment
abroad.
- Ease of Doing Business
World Bank site that ranks economies based on having a regulatory environment that is conducive to the operation of business.
- Federal Reserve
Board
Current and historical data on foreign exchange rates.
- International Monetary Fund
The most recent "World Economic Outlook," Staff Country Reports, Annual
Report, IMF Working Papers, Summary of Disbursements and Repayments,
and IMF Surveys.
- Penn World Table
National accounts economic time series for many countries from the Center
for International Comparisons at the University of Pennsylvania.
- UNCTAD Foreign Direct Investment Database
"The FDI database presents aggregate inflows, outflows, inward stocks and outward stocks of foreign direct investment (FDI) for 196 reporting economies in an interactive format."
- UNCTAD World Investment Directory
"Detailed statistics on foreign direct investment (FDI) and operations of transnational corporations (TNCs) in selected countries."
- WDI: World Development Indicators Online (UM Only)
Provides direct access to more than 550 development indicators, with time series for 200 countries and 18 country groups from 1960, where data are available. Data export options in Excel or ASCII.
Trade
- Bureau of Labor Statistics
Import/Export Price Indexes
"The International Price Program produces Import Price Indexes (MPI)
and Export Price Indexes (XPI) containing data on changes in the prices
of nonmilitary goods and services traded between the U.S. and the rest
of the world."
- Export.gov
Access to the U.S. Commercial Service Market Research Library: Country Commercial Guides, Market Updates, Industry Overviews, Multilateral Development Bank Reports, Best Markets, Industry/Regional Reports, and agricultural goods market research reports.
- Foreign
Trade Statistics
US Census Bureau. Country-commodity trade data, trade balances with
partner countries, and monthly lists of top trading partners.
- International Trade Administration
Office of Trade and Economic Analysis site has links to information
to the US Industry and Trade Outlook, US Foreign Trade Highlights, and
Global Data Links. Free registration required.
- Trade Logistics Performance Index (LPI)
World Bank site. "The LPI is an interactive benchmarking tool created to help countries identify the challenges and opportunities they face in their performance on trade logistics and what they can do to improve their performance – the LPI allow for comparisons across 150 countries."
- TRAINS on the Internet
Online access to the database on trade control measures (tariff, para-tariff
and non-tariff measures) and on import flows (at Harmonized System 6-digit
level.) (Last update = 2004)
- UNCTAD Handbook of Statistics Online
Data on international merchandise trade and international trade in services.
- USA Trade Center
Department of Commerce site links to Business Information Services for
the Newly Independent States (BISNIS), Central and East European Business
Information Center (CEEBIC), and Multilateral Development Bank Operations
(MDBO).
- US International
Trade Commission Interactive Tariff and Trade DataWeb
Data sets from multilateral, country and regional sources going back
to 1989. Can be searched by HTS items, SIC, NAICS, and SITC codes. Access
is free, but users must create an account.
- World
Trade Organization
Trade statistics site with up-to-date aggregate developments in world
trade.
- (UN) Demographic Yearbook
The United Nations Demographic Yearbook collects, compiles and disseminates official statistics on population size and composition, births, deaths, marriage and divorce on an annual basis. Demographic Yearbook special topics issues cover a wide range of additional topics including economic activity, educational attainment, household characteristics, housing, ethnicity and language, among others. Available online from 2000; latest two years has tables and notes only.
- International Data Base (IDB) and World Population Information
US Census Bureau's computerized data bank containing statistical tables of demographic
and socioeconomic data for all countries of the world, including population pyramids.
- International Organization for Migration
Online reports on migration and human trafficking issues.
- Migration Policy Institute Data Hub
Includes stock data, migration, asylum, and citizenship information.
- Population Index on the Web
"A searchable and browsable database containing 41,103 abstracts of demographic literature
published in Population Index in the period 1986 - 1998."
- Population Reference Bureau
Selected full-text excerpts from their publications catalog.
- United Nations Population Fund (UNFPA)
Full-text of the State of the World Population Reports.
- United Nations Population Information Network (POPIN)
World Population Trends including data on Fertility and Family Planning, Mortality and Migration,
Population Ageing, and World Population Estimates and Projections.
- United
Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR)
Statistical reports on refugees including data on asylum seeking and
the demographics of refugee populations.
- UN Statistics
Division: Demographic, Social and Housing Statistics
Information on population, migration, women, disabilities, etc.
http://unstats.un.org/unsd/demographic/default.htm
- Worldwide
Refugee Information
"The World Refugee Survey reports on conditions for refugees and internally
displaced persons in 120 countries."
Cultural and Social
- Ethnologue: Languages of
the World
"Catalogue of more than 6,700 languages spoken in 228 countries."
- OECD Family Database
Cross-national indicators on the situation of families and children for OECD countries.
- OECD Social Expenditure Database
"It includes reliable and internationally comparable statistics on public and (mandatory and voluntary) private social expenditure at programme level."
- Pew Global Attitudes Project
"The Pew Global Attitudes Project is a series of worldwide public opinion surveys that encompasses a broad array of subjects ranging from people's assessments of their own lives to their views about the current state of the world and important issues of the day. More than 150,000 interviews in 54 countries have been conducted as part of the project's work."
- SourceOECD (UM Only)
The online library of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. Comprises 20 book collections by theme, containing all OECD monographs and reports, most OECD periodicals, and the OECD statistical databases.
- UNESCO Reports: Culture and Communication
Data on books, broadcasting, films, and libraries.
- World Values Survey
"The World Values Survey (WVS) is a global network of social scientists who have surveyed the basic values and beliefs of the publics of more than 80 societies, on all six inhabited continents."
Health
- WHOSIS: World Health Organization
Statistical Information System
Available data include health statistics, mortality statistics, and
the "Weekly Epidemiological Record."
- DOLPHN: Data Online for Population,
Health, and Nutrition
"An online statistical data resource containing selected current and
historical country-level demographic and health indicator data developed
and is maintained by the Population, Health and Nutrition Information
(PHNI) Project, of the U.S. Agency for International Development (USAID)."
http://dolphn.aimglobalhealth.org/
- HIV/AIDS Surveillance
Database
US Census Bureau site with information on the AIDS pandemic and on the
HIV seroprevalence (infection) in population groups in developing countries.
- Pan-American Health Organization
Country Health Profiles, and Core Health Data.
- UNAIDS
HIV/AIDS information and data.
- United Nations Children's Fund (UNICEF)
Statistics on mortality, immunization, child malnutrition, adult literacy,
water supply, sanitation, iodized salt use, and net primary enrollments
and enrollments by gender, plus the full-text version of The State of
the World's Children, and The Progress of Nations.
- International
Statistical Agencies
US Census Bureau site with links to official foreign statistical agencies,
with notes on languages available at each site.
- National
Statistical Agencies and Offices
Penn State web site with an alphabetical country listing and a clickable
map.
- Yahoo! Government:
Countries
Alphabetical list of links to government web sites around the world.
- Andean
Community
Monthly trade indicators 1996 - ,Economic and Social Indicators 1993-,
and Intra and Extra-Andean Community Trade in Goods, 1990-. In Spanish.
- Asia-Pacific
Economic Cooperation (APEC)
Links to individual economy reports and economic indicators for its
twenty-one member nations.
- Association of Southeast
Asian Nations (ASEAN) Statistics
Intra-ASEAN and extra-ASEAN statistics, communication and transportation
statistics, and macroeconomic indicators.
- Caribbean
Community (CARICOM)
Trade statistics tables.
- Common Market for Eastern and Southern
Africa (COMESA)
COMSTAT Statistical Database has links to economic, trade, and population
statistics. Free registration required.
- European Central Bank (ECB)
Data on the Euro, international reserves, retail interest rates, payment/cross
border collateral statistics, historical time series, statistical press
releases, and the ECB Monthly Bulletin.
- EUROSTAT
Statistical Office of the European Communities.
- ECLAC:
Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean
Short-term indicators, foreign direct investment data, macroeconomic
indicators, and other economic and social statistics (Note: Spanish language site.)
- Free Trade
Area of the Americas Hemispheric Database
Trade and tariff statistics available for downloading.
- United Nations Economic
and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific (UNESCAP) Statistics
Division
Online publications include "Asia and Pacific in Figures."
- United Nations Economic and Social Commission for Western Asia (ECSWA) Statistics
Includes "Statistical Abstract of the ESCWA Region," "Bulletin on Vital
Statistics in the ESCWA Region," "National Accounts Studies of the ESCWA
Region," "External Trade Bulletin of the ESCWA Region," "Selected Social
Indicators on Quality of Life in the ESCWA Region", "Bulletin of Industrial
Statistics for the Arab Countries" and gender statistics.
- United Nations Economic
Commission for Africa
Online publications include "Economic and Social Conditions in Southern
Africa" and "Economic Report on Africa."
- United Nations Economic
Commission for Europe (ECE) Statistics Online
"Trends in Europe and North America" yearbook, "Robotics
Index," plus "Gender Statistics," "Human Settlement," and "Gas
Centre" databases.
return to top
|