|
Integrated Pest Management
Scope: Integrated Pest Management (IPM) is
a systematic approach to reducing pest damage to tolerable levels through
a variety of techniques, including natural predators and parasites,
genetically resistant hosts, environmental modifications and, when
necessary and appropriate, chemical pesticides. Under IPM, biological
approaches to pest control are attempted before chemical. Email the
subject area specialist at daustin (@umd.edu) or call (301)314-0014 for
more information.
Table of Contents
To locate monographs held by the UM Libraries, use the Catalog.
The following are some possible keywords to enter:
Agricultural ecology Agricultural pests --
Ecology Agricultural pests -- Integrated control
Allelopathy Biological control Botanical
insecticides Insect baits and repellents Insect-plant
relationships Insecticidal plants |
Integrated pest management Pest control Plant
pathogens Plants -- Disease and pest resistance Plants --
Diseases Plants -- Protection Trees -- Diseases and
Pests Weed control |
return to top
Blanchard, J. R., and L. Farrell, Guide to Sources for Agricultural
and Biological Research. Berkeley: University of California Press,
1981. LOCATION(S): McKeldin Folio, McKeldin Reference Stacks CALL
NUMBER: S493 .G85
CAB International. Biological Control of Weeds: A World Catalogue of
Agents and Their Target Weeds. Oxon:; New York:International,
c1998. LOCATION(S): McKeldin Reference Stacks CALL NUMBER:
SB611.5.B55 1998 Extensive bibliography of weeds, toxicological
effects, international organizations, and research generated by these
organizations.
return to top
Maredia, Karim M. Integrated pest management in the global
arena. Oxon, UK ; Cambridge, MA : CABI Pub., c2003. LOCATION:
McKeldin Stacks CALL NUMBER:SB950 .I4575 2003
Bellows, Thomas S. and T.W. Fisher, ed. Handbook of Biological
Control. San Diego, CA: Academic Press, 1999. LOCATION: McKeldin
Folio CALL NUMBER: SB975.H36 1999b
Bohmont, Bert L. The Standard Pesticide User's Guide. Englewood
Cliffs, N.J.: Prentice Hall, 1997. 4th edition. LOCATION(S): McKeldin
Stacks CALL NUMBER: SB950.H25 1991 Detailed overview on pesticide
use, pesticide safety, chemical information, and development of an
integrated pest management program.
Flint, Mary Louise. Pests of the Garden and Small Farm: A Grower's
Guide to Using Less Pesticide. Oakland, Calif. : University of
California, Statewide Integrated Pest Management Project, UC Division of
Agriculture and Natural Resources ; Berkeley : University of California
Press, c1998. LOCATION(S): McKeldin Folio CALL NUMBER: SB950.F57
1998
Jacobson, Martin. Glossary of Plant-Derived Insect Deterrents.
Boca Raton, FL: CRC Press, 1990. LOCATION(S): McKeldin Stacks CALL
NUMBER: SB951.54.J33 1990
Leslie, Anne R. Handbook of Integrated Pest Management for Turf and
Ornamentals. Boca Raton, Fla.: Lewis Publishers, 1994. LOCATION(S):
McKeldin Stacks CALL NUMBER: SB608.T87H35 1994 Covers urban
landscaping and turf management for professionals and scientists.
return to top
To locate journal articles on integrated pest management, consult the
sources below.
UMCP faculty, staff and students can access online databases and
E-Journals through the campus network or Research Port. Read more about remote access.
Agrindex. Monthly. (1975-1985,1988-1995) LOCATION(S):
McKeldin Periodical Stacks CALL NUMBER: S18.A5
Animal
Behavior Abstracts. Quarterly, with annual index issue. 1973
- 1995. Library has volume 7 (1979) to the current volume and year.
LOCATIONS: MCK PERSTK 1992-1995. NETWRK WWW 1982- CALL NUMBER:
QL750.B541 This abstracting service covers animal behavior, including
insect behavior. Each issue includes approximately 1,200 abstracts
selected from some 5,000 journals. There are author and subject indexes in
each issue and in the cumulative annual index volumes.
Apicultural Abstracts. Quarterly, with an annual index
issue. 1950 - . LOCATIONS: MCK PERSTK, latest 5 years in MCKREF
STACKS CALL NUMBER: QL568.A6A6 See also Bee World, as June
1950-1961 issues of Bee World included Apicultural abstracts,
v.[1]-12, which with v.13, 1962 became a separate publication. This
title indexes and abstracts the world literature on bees, beekeeping, and
related subjects. Each quarterly issue is arranged by a subject
classification scheme. The annual index contains author and subject
indexes. Early issues of this series are most effectively searched by
using the Index to Apicultural Abstracts, 1950-1972 (MCK FOLIO
SF521.A762).
Agricola,
Bibliography of Agriculture. Monthly. 1942 - . LOCATIONS: Online and
in Government
Documents. CALL NUMBER: A 17.18 Produced from data provided by
the National Library of Agriculture, this title covers entomology insofar
as insects impact agriculture. Each monthly issue is arranged in
subject-classified order, including sections on insect pests and on
pesticides. Monthly and annual issues include corporate and personal
author indexes and a subject index. Most effectively searched on the
Libraries' Home Page, where it is called Agricola.
Biocontrol News and Information. Monthly. Print: 1981-1998,
Online: 1973- . LOCATION(S): Online and McKeldin Periodical
Stacks CALL NUMBER: SB975.B47
Biological Abstracts /BIOSIS
Previews. Biweekly. 1926 - . LOCATION(S): Online and McKeldin
Periodical Stacks CALL NUMBER: QH301.B37 For Biological Abstracts,
entomology is a small area within its coverage. However, it is such a
large service that even minor areas cover much material. Each issue is
arranged by subject classification, including a section on economic
entomology. Each monthly and semiannual cumulative issue includes author,
biosystematic, generic and subject indexes. Parts can be searched from the
Libraries' Home Page.
CAB
Abstracts (1973-present)
Information about articles from international agriculture journals and
related fields from the Center for Agriculture and Biosciences
International (CABI). Coverage of agricultual subdisciplines includes
animal and poultry science, crop science, agricultural engineering, human
and animal nutrition, forestry and veterinary medicine. Now available from
a new vendor. See July 2003 Database
News
Entomology
Abstracts. Monthly. Print: 1970-1996. Online: 1981-
. LOCATIONS: Online and McKeldin Periodical Stacks CALL NUMBER:
QL461.E51 Selectively covers 5,000 relevant journals, and gleans some
800 abstracts from them each month. Each issue is arranged using a subject
classification scheme, with author and subject indexes at the back. The
December issue is an annual author and subject index. From 1982 Entomology
Abstracts is searchable on the Libraries' Home Page.
Review of Agricultural Entomology. Monthly. 1990 -
1998 . Review of Applied Entomology,Series A: 1913-1989 LOCATIONS:
McKeldin Periodical Stacks CALL NUMBER: SB599.R381 Formerly called
the Review of Applied Entomology, Series A (Agricultural). An
indexing and abstracting service which indexes the literature on insects
and other arthropods which affect agriculture. Useful for materials on
economic entomology excluded from Zoological Record. The final
issue each year is a cumulative annual author and subject index.
Review of Medical and Veterinary Entomology. Monthly.
1913 - 1995 . LOCATIONS: McKeldin Periodical Stacks CALL NUMBER:
SF601.R41 Formerly, the Review of Applied Entomology - Series B
(Medical and Veterinary). An indexing and abstracting service which
indexes the literature on disease spreading and otherwise injurious
arthropods, including insects. Useful for finding materials on economic
entomology that are excluded from the Zoological Record. Monthly
issues are arranged in subject-classified order and contain author and
subject indexes. The final issue each year is a cumulative annual author
and subject index.
Zoological
Record. 1978 - . UM only LOCATION:
Online [UM Only] and McKedlin Periodical Stacks CALL NUMBER:
Z7991.Z87 (Continues Record of Zoological Literature,
1864-1869) Comprehensive guide to the literature of zoology. Indexed by
author, subject, geographic region, paleontology, and systematics.
return to top
- EXTOXNET - The EXtension
TOXicology NETwork
[http://ace.orst.edu/info/extoxnet]
The Extension Toxicology Information Network contains objective, science-based
information about pesticides written for the non-expert. Includes: Pesticide Information
Profiles and Toxicology Information
Briefs
- Integrated Crop Management
Newsletter,
[http://www.ipm.iastate.edu/ipm/icm]
From Iowa State University.koi
- International Phytosanitary
Portal [IPP]
[http://www.ippc.int/IPP/En/default.htm]
This site is "for official phytosanitary information and is designed
to facilitate the exchange of phytosanitary information between countries,
regional plant protection organizations (RPPOs), and the Secretariat
to the International Plant Protection Convention (IPPC). "
- Maryland Cooperative
Extension Publications on Pest Control [http://www.agnr.umd.edu/MCE/Publications/index.cfm]
- National IPM Network
[http://www.ipmcenters.org]
An evolving and cooperating group of Universities, Government Agencies,
and Other Organizations coming together to provide up-to-date, accurate
information for pest management."
- Radcliffe's IPM World Textbook
[http://ipmworld.umn.edu/]
From the University of Minnesota. The site "provide(s) an electronic
alternative or complement to printed textbooks for communicating information
on integrated pest management".
Note: For further information and help in research on integrated
pest management, consult the Alternative Farming Systems Information
Center [http://www.nal.usda.gov/afsic] at the National Agricultural
Library, 10301 Baltimore Blvd., Beltsville, Md. 20705 (301) 504-6559)
return to top
|