|
Last revised: August 2008
Landscape Architecture
Scope: This is a guide to selected landscape
architecture resources in the University of Maryland Libraries. Use the main UM Libraries portal to locate the catalog and other useful resources, such as Research Port. For additional subject sources, consult the Agriculture, Horticulture and Urban Forestry guides. Email the subject area specialist at sgagnon (@umd.edu) or call (301)405-9098 for more information.
BIBLIOGRAPHIES
Listings of books, articles or other information sources relating to a
subject or an author. Do a word search in the Catalog using both your
subject, e.g., landscape architecture, and bibliography. Try a librarian-created dynamic search on landscape architecture bibliographies.
- Birnbaum, Charles A. and Robin Karson, eds.
Pioneers of American Landscape Design.
New York: McGraw-Hill, 2000.
LOCATION: Architecture Library Reference
CALL NUMBER: SB469.9.P56 2000
- Doumato, Lamia. Architecture
and Women: a Bibliography Documenting Women
Architects, Landscape Architects, Designers, Architectural Critics and
Writers, and Women in Related Fields Working in the United States. New York: Garland Publishing, 1988.
LOCATION: Architecture Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: NA 2543 .W65 D68 1988.
-
Hoyles, Martin.
Gardeners Delight: Gardening Books from 1560 to 1960.
Boulder, CO: Pluto Press, 1994.
LOCATION: McKeldin Stacks
CALL NUMBER: SB318.3.H69 1994
-
Powell, Antoinette Paris. Bibliography of Landscape Architecture, Environmental Design, and Planning.
LOCATION: Architecture Library Reference Folio
CALL NUMBER: SB 472 .P67 1987
-
Vogelsong, Diana.
Landscape Architecture Sourcebook: A Guide to Resources on the History and Practice of
Landscape Architecture in the United States.
Detroit: Omnigraphics, 1997.
LOCATION: Architecture Library Reference
CALL NUMBER: SB 470.53 .L36 1997
return to top
DICTIONARIES AND ENCYCLOPEDIAS
These sources include definitions or brief essays on terms, styles, important gardens or projects, and landscape architects.
- Brickell, Christopher, editor-in-chief.
The American Horticultural Society Encyclopedia of Gardening.
New York: Dorling Kindersley, 1993.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: SB450.95.A45 1993
-
Dictionary of Horticulture. The National Gardening Association. New York: Viking, 1994.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: SB317.58.D53 1994
-
Evert, Klaus Jurgen.
Dictionary of Landscape and Urban Planning : Multilingual Dictionary of
Environmental Planning, Design and Conservation. Berlin: Springer Verlag, 2001.
LOCATION: Architecture Library Reference Folio
CALL NUMBER: SB469.25.L49 2001
-
Fleming, John.
The Penguin Dictionary of Architecture and Landscape Architecture.
New York: Penguin Books, 1998.
LOCATION: Architecture Library Reference
CALL NUMBER: NA31.F55 1998
-
Flint, Harrison L.
Landscape Plants For Eastern And North America: Exclusive of Florida
And The Immediate Gulf Coast. New York: John Wiley & Sons, 1997
LOCATION: McKeldin Stacks
CALL NUMBER: SB 435.5.F56 1997
-
Graf, Alfred Byrd.
Hortica: a Color Cyclopedia of Garden Flora in all Climates and Indoor Plants
LOCATION: Architecture Library Reference, McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: SB407.G72 1992
-
Griffiths, Mark.
Index of Garden Plants. Portland, OR: Timber Press, 1994.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: SB407.G77 1994
-
Henderson, Marjorie and Libby Wilkinson, editors.
Decorating Eden: a Comprehensive Sourcebook of Classic Garden Details.
San Francisco: Chronicle Books, 1992.
LOCATION: National Trust Library Folio
CALL NUMBER: SB469.25.H67 1992
-
Huxley, Anthony, editor-in-chief.
Dictionary of Gardening (in 4 volumes). New York : Stockton Press, 1992.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: SB450.95.D53 1992
return to top
DATABASES
-
Academic Search Premier
Provides abstracts and indexing for over 7,000 journals. Full text of articles for over 4,000 scholarly publications, including more than 3,100 peer-reviewed publications. Incidentally includes landscape architecture material.
-
America: History and Life
Historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
-
Art Abstracts (1984-present) and Art Index Retrospective (1929-1984)
Provides comprehensive indexing and abstracts for 400+ international art publications, and, retrospectively, for selected English and foreign-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins.
-
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
The predominant source for citations relating to architecture and landscape architecture.
-
Bibliography of the History of Art
Covers European art from late antiquity (4th c. A.d.) to present,
American art from European discoveries to present, architecture and
design, aspects of material culture of interest to art historians, and
art reflecting western tradition in Asia, Africa, and Australia.
-
Design and Applied Arts Index
Includes international design and craft journal citations and data on
over 50,000 designers, craftspeople, studios, workshops, and firms.
-
Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management
Abstracts and citations are drawn from over 4000 scientific journals and thousands of other sources including conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications.
-
Historical Abstracts
Covers more than 2000 journals in 50 languages with information on
articles, books, and dissertations about non-U.S. and non-Canadian
history from 1450 to the present.
-
JSTOR
Includes complete runs of core journals with full-text of all articles
published prior to the most current five years. Coverage spans the
humanities, sciences, and social sciences.
-
Periodicals Contents Index
An index to periodicals in the humanities and social science.
return to top
INDEXES
Provide subject and author access to periodicals, books, and conference proceedings.
-
Architectural Index, 1951-2000
LOCATION: Off-Site Shelving
CALL NUMBER: Z5941 .A66
Search under headings such as Landscape Architecture, Landscape
Design Techniques, Garden, Fountain, Highway, Recreation or Plaza.
-
Architectural Periodicals Index
LOCATION: Architecture Library Reference Folio
CALL NUMBER: Z5941.R623
Periodicals indexed and books catalogued by the British Architectural Library. Published
quarterly, with the 4th issue being annual cumulation.
- Ferguson, Bruce K. Landscape Architecture Magazine, Cumulative Index, 1910-1987
LOCATION: Architecture Library Folio
CALL NUMBER: SB469.L3 index 1910-1987
return to top
BIOGRAPHICAL SOURCES
Lives and works of landscape architects.
For more detailed information, check under the architect's name in the bibliographies, especially
Architecture and Women, Pioneers of American Landscape Design, and in the
Vance bibliographies series. See Vance Bibliographies on gardening and landscape architecture.
- Asensio
Cerver, Francisco.
The World of Landscape Architects. Barcelona: Arco Editorial Board, 1995.
LOCATION: Architecture Library Folio
CALL NUMBER: SB469.9.A84 1995
- Mann, William A.
Landscape Architecture: an Illustrated History in Timelines, Site Plans,
And Biography. New York: John Wiley, 1993.
LOCATION: Architecture Library Reference
CALL NUMBER: SB470.5.M37 1993
- Plumptre, George.
The Garden Makers: The Great Tradition of Garden Design From 1600
to The Present Day. New York: Random House, 1993.
LOCATION: Architecture Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: SB61.P58 1993
- Tishler, William H., editor.
American Landscape Architecture: Designers And Places.
Washington, D.C.: Preservation Press, 1989.
LOCATION: Architecture Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: SB470.53.A44 1989
return to top
HISTORIES, SURVEYS, AND PICTORIAL WORKS
Discuss both general trends in landscape architecture, and specific
sites. There are many more works of this kind than are listed here. Use appropriate search terms in the catalog or browse in the SB400's section of the Architecture Library (including the reference and folio areas).
GENERAL:
- Adams, William Howard.
Grounds for Change: Major Gardens of the Twentieth
Century. Boston: Little, Brown, 1993.
LOCATION: Architecture Library Folio
CALL NUMBER: SB465.A33 1993
- Asensio Cerver, Francisco.
Landscape Architecture: Urban Space Details.
New York: Whitney Library of Design, 1998.
LOCATION: Architecture Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: SB472.7.A74 1998
- Hobhouse, Penelope.
Penelope Hobhouse's Gardening Through the Ages: an Illustrated
History of Plants and
Their Influence on Garden Styles--from Ancient Egypt to the Present Day.
New York: Simon & Schuster, 1992.
LOCATION: Architecture Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: SB404.5.H63 1992
- Jellicoe, Geoffrey Alan.
The Landscape of Man: Shaping the Environment from Prehistory to the
Present Day. 3rd ed. New York: Thames and Hudson, 1995.
LOCATION: Architecture Library Folio
CALL NUMBER: SB470.5.J43 1995
- Makhzoumi, Jala and Gloria Pungetti.
Ecological Landscape Design and Planning: the Mediterranean
context. New York: E & FN Spon, 1999.
LOCATION: Architecture Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: SB472.45.M35 1999
- Mosser, Monique and Georges Teyssot, editors.
The Architecture of Western Gardens: a Design History from the
Renaissance to the Present
Day. Cambridge, MA: MIT Press, 1991.
LOCATION: Architecture Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: SB466.E9A7313 1991
- Mosser, Monique and Georges Teyssot, editors.
The History of Garden Design: the Western Tradition from the
Renaissance to the Present
Day. London: Thames and Hudson, 1991.
LOCATION: Architecture Library Folio
CALL NUMBER: SB465.H673 1991
- Murphy, Michael T.
Landscape Architecture Theory: An Evolving Body of Thought. Long Grove, Ill.: Waveland Press Inc., 2005.
LOCATION: McKeldin Stacks
CALL NUMBER: SB472 .M87 2005
- Newton, Norman T.
Design on the Land: the Development of Landscape
Architecture. Cambridge, MA: Harvard University Press, 1971.
LOCATION: Architecture Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: SB470.5.N47
- Ogrin, David.
The World Heritage of Gardens. London: Thames and Hudson, 1993.
LOCATION: Architecture Library Folio
CALL NUMBER: SB465.O3513 1993
- Pigeat, Jean-Paul.
Gardens of the World: Two Thousand Years of Garden Design.
Paris, France: Flammarion, 2003.
LOCATION: McKeldin Folio
CALL NUMBER: SB465 .P544 2003
- Pizzoni, Filippo.
The Garden: A History in Landscape and Art.
New York: Rizzoli International, 1999.
LOCATION: Architecture Library Folio
CALL NUMBER: SB466.E9P59 1999
- Pregill, Philip.
Landscapes in History: Design and Planning in the Western
Tradition. New York: Van Nostrand Reinhold, 1993.
LOCATION: Architecture Library Folio
CALL NUMBER: SB470.5.P74 1993
- Wengel, Tassilo.
The Art of Gardening Through the Ages. Leipzig: Edition Leipzig, 1987.
LOCATION: Architecture Library Folio
CALL NUMBER: SB451.W44 1987
return to top
AMERICAN:
- Griswold, Mac K.
The Golden Age of American Gardens: Proud Owners, Private Estates,
1890-1940. New York: Abrams/Garden Club of America, 1991.
LOCATION: Architecture Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: SB466.U6G75 1991
- O'Malley, Therese and Marc Treib,
editors.
Regional Garden Design in the United States.
LOCATION: Architecture Library Folio
CALL NUMBER: SB457.53.R44 1995
- Sies, Corbin Mary and Christopher Silver, editors.
Planning the Twentieth-century American City.
Baltimore: Johns Hopkins University Press, 1996.
LOCATION: McKeldin Stacks
CALL NUMBER: HT167.P557 1996
- Ward, Alan.
American Designed Landscapes: a Photographic
Interpretation. Washington, DC:Spacemaker Press, 1998.
LOCATION: Architecture Library Folio
CALL NUMBER: TR660.5.W27 1998 v.1
return to top
EUROPEAN:
- Bowe, Patrick.
Gardens in Central Europe. New York: M.T. Train/Scala Books, 1991.
LOCATION: Architecture Library Folio
CALL NUMBER: SB466.E9B69 1991b
- Enge, Torsten Olaf.
Garden Architecture in Europe, 1450-1800: from the Villa Garden of
the Italian Renaissance to the English Landscape Garden. Köln: Benedikt Taschen, 1990.
LOCATION: Architecture Library Folio
CALL NUMBER: SB466.E9E5413 1990
- Lancaster, Michael.
The New European Landscape.
Oxford, Boston: Butterworth Architecture, 1994.
LOCATION: Architecture Library Folio
CALL NUMBER: SB470.55.E85L36 1994
- Reh, Wouter.
Architecture and Landscape: the Design Experiment of the Great
European Gardens and Landscapes. Munich, New York: Prestel, 1996.
LOCATION: Architecture Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: SB470.55.E85R44 1996
- Schröder, Thies.
Changes in Scenery: Contemporary Landscape Architecture in Europe.
Basel, Boston: Birkhäuser, 2001.
LOCATION: Architecture Library Folio
CALL NUMBER: SB470.55.E85S3613 2001
return to top
FRENCH:
- Cox, Madison.
Private Gardens of Paris. New York: Harmony Books, 1989.
LOCATION: Architecture Library Folio
CALL NUMBER: SB466.F8C69 1989
- Hunt, John Dixon and Michel Conan.
Tradition and Innovation in French Garden Art: Chapters of a New History.
Philadelphia: University of Pennsylvania Press, 2002.
LOCATION: Architecture Library Folio
CALL NUMBER: SB457.65.T725 2002
- Le Dantec, Denise.
Reading the French Garden: Story and History.
Cambridge, MA: MIT Press, 1990.
LOCATION: Architecture Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: SB451.36.F8L413 1990
- Pincas, Stephane.
Versailles: the History of the Gardens and Their Sculpture.
New York: Thames and Hudson, 1996.
LOCATION: Architecture Library Folio
CALL NUMBER: SB466.F83P374 1996
return to top
BRITISH:
-
An English Arcadia, 1600-1990: Designs for Gardens and Garden
Buildings in the Care of the National Trust. Washington, D.C.: AIA Press, 1991.
LOCATION: Architecture Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: SB466.G7E54 1991
- Mader, Günter.
The English Formal Garden: Five Centuries of Design.
New York: Rizzoli, 1997.
LOCATION: Architecture Library Folio
CALL NUMBER: SB457.6.M323 1997
- Olin, Laurie.
Across the Open Field: Essays Drawn from English Landscapes.
Philadelphia, PA: University of Pennsylvania Press, 2000.
LOCATION: Architecture Library Folio
CALL NUMBER: SB470.55.G7O44 2000
- Jekyll, Gertrude.
Classic English Gardens.
London: Studio Editions, 1995.
LOCATION: Architecture Library Folio
CALL NUMBER: SB466.G7J5 1995
return to top
ITALIAN:
- Benes, Mirka.
Villas and Gardens in Early Modern Italy and France.
Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2001.
LOCATION: Architecture Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: SB451.36.I8B46 2001
- Chatfield, Judith.
The Classic Italian Garden. New York: Rizzoli, 1991.
LOCATION: Architecture Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: SB457.85.C46 1991
- Hunt, John Dixon, editor.
The Italian Garden: Art, Design and Culture.
Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 1996.
LOCATION: McKeldin Stacks
CALL NUMBER: SB457.85.I835 1996
- Lazzaro, Claudia.
The Italian Renaissance Garden: from the Conventions of Planting,
Design, and Ornament to the Grand Gardens of Sixteenth-century Central Italy.
New Haven: Yale University Press, 1990.
LOCATION: Architecture Library Folio
CALL NUMBER: SB457.85.L39 1990
- MacDougall, Elisabeth B.
Fountains, Statues, and Flowers: Studies in Italian Gardens of the
Sixteenth and Seventeenth Centuries.
Washington, D.C.: Dumbarton Oaks Research Library and Collection, 1994.
LOCATION: Architecture Library Folio
CALL NUMBER: SB457.85.M33 1994
return to top
ISLAMIC:
- Brookes, John.
Gardens of Paradise: the History and Design of the Great Islamic Gardens.
New York: New Amsterdam, 1987.
LOCATION: Architecture Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: SB457.8.B76 1987
- Clark, Emma.
Underneath which Rivers Flow: the Symbolism of the Islamic Garden.
London: Prince of Wales's Institute of Architecture, 1996.
LOCATION: Architecture Library Folio
CALL NUMBER: SB457.8.C53 1996
- Petruccioli, Attilio, editor.
Gardens in the Time of the Great Muslim Empires: Theory and Design.
Leiden, New York: E.J. Brill, 1997.
LOCATION: Architecture Library Folio
CALL NUMBER: SB457.8.G37 1997
return to top
ASIAN:
- Cave, Philip.
Creating Japanese Gardens.
London: Aurum, 1993.
LOCATION: Architecture Library Folio
CALL NUMBER: SB458.C38 1993
- Inaji, Toshiro.
The Garden as Architecture: Form and Spirit in the Gardens of Japan,
China, and Korea. Tokyo, New York: Kodansha International, 1998.
LOCATION: Architecture Library Folio
CALL NUMBER: NA1537.I5313 1998
- Inn, Henry.
Chinese Houses and Gardens.
3rd ed. London: Kegan Paul, 2001.
LOCATION: Architecture Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: NA7448.I5 2001
- Ito, Teiji.
The Gardens of Japan.
Tokyo: Kodansha International, 1986.
LOCATION: Architecture Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: SB458.O36 1986
- Morris, Edwin T.
The Gardens of China: History, Art, and Meanings.
New York: Scribner, 1983.
LOCATION: McKeldin Folio
CALL NUMBER: SB457.55.M66 1983
- Slawson, David A.
Secret Teachings in the Art of Japanese Gardens: Design Principles, Aesthetic Values.
Tokyo, New York: Kodansha International, 1987.
LOCATION: Architecture Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: SB458.S66 1987
- Tsu, Frances Ya-sing.
Landscape Design in Chinese Gardens.
New York: McGraw-Hill Book Co., 1988.
LOCATION: Architecture Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: SB457.55.T78 1988
- Wang, Joseph C.
The Chinese Garden.
Oxford, New York: Oxford University Press, 1998.
LOCATION: Architecture Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: SB457.55.W37 1998
- Yang, Hung-hsün.
The Classical Gardens of China: History and Design Techniques.
New York: Van Nostrand Reinhold Co., 1982.
LOCATION: Architecture Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: SB457.55.Y3613 1982
return to top
HANDBOOKS, MANUALS, AND TECHNICAL INFORMATION
- Angley, Steven.
Landscape Estimating and Contract Administration.
Albany, NY: Delmar, 2002.
LOCATION: McKeldin Folio
CALL NUMBER: SB472.55.A54 2002
-
Austin, Richard L.
Graphic Standards for Landscape Architecture.
New York: Van Nostrand Reinhold, 1986.
LOCATION: Architecture Library Reference Folio
CALL NUMBER: SB472.G73 1986
- Blake, James.
An Introduction to Landscape Design and Construction.
Brookfield, VT: Gower, 1999.
LOCATION: Architecture Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: SB472.45.B58 1999
- Booth, Norman K. and James E. Hiss.
Residential Landscape Architecture: Design Process for the Private Residence. 4th ed. Upper Saddle River, NJ: Pearson Prentice Hall, 2005.
LOCATION: McKeldin Folio
CALL NUMBER: SB473.B57 2005
- Dines, Nicholas and Kyle Brown.
Landscape Architect's Portable Handbook.
New York: McGraw-Hill, 2001.
LOCATION: Architecture Library Reference
CALL NUMBER: SB472.D46 2001
- Ervin, Stephen M.
Landscape Modeling: Digital Techniques for Landscape Visualization.
New York, London: McGraw-Hill, 2001.
Includes CD-ROM.
LOCATION: Architecture Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: SB475.9.D37E78 2001
- Fee, Sylvia Hollman.
Landscape Estimating Methods.
Kingston, MA: R.S. Means Co., 1999.
LOCATION: Architecture Library Reference Folio
CALL NUMBER: SB472.565.F44 1999
- Hannebaum, Leroy G.
Landscape Design: a Practical Approach.
Upper Saddle River, NJ: Prentice Hall, 1998.
LOCATION: Architecture Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: SB472.45.H36 1998
- Harris, Charles W. and Nicholas T. Dines, editors.
Time-saver Standards for Landscape Architecture: Design and Construction Data.
2nd ed. New York: McGraw-Hill, 1998.
LOCATION: Architecture Library Reference Folio
CALL NUMBER: SB475.9.S72T55 1998
- Hitchmough, James.
Urban Landscape Management.
Sydney: Inkata Press, 1994.
LOCATION: Architecture Library Reference
CALL NUMBER: SB472.7.H52 1994
- Kirkwood, Niall G.
The Art of Landscape Detail: Fundamentals, Practices, and Case Studies.
New York: Wiley, 1999.
LOCATION: Architecture Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: SB472.5.K57 1999
- Landphair, Harlow C.
Landscape Architecture Construction.
3rd ed. Upper Saddle River, NJ: Prentice Hall PTR, 1999.
LOCATION: Architecture Library Reference Folio
CALL NUMBER: TH153.L29 1999
- Robinson, Nick.
Planting Design Handbook.
Brookfield, VT: Gower Pub. Co., 1992.
LOCATION: Architecture Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: SB472.3.R63 1992
- Simonds, John Ormsbee.
Landscape Architecture: a Manual of Site Planning and
Design. 3rd ed. New York: McGraw-Hill, 1998.
LOCATION: Architecture Library Reference Folio
CALL NUMBER: SB472.S58 1998
-
Spon's Landscape Handbook.
4th ed. London: Spon, 1997.
LOCATION: Architecture Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: SB472.32.G7S66 1997
- Stitt, Fred A., editor.
Ecological Design Handbook: Sustainable Strategies for Architecture,
Landscape Architecture, Interior Design, and Planning.
LOCATION: Architecture Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: SB472.7.E36 1999
- Strom, Steven.
Site Engineering for Landscape Architects.
3rd ed. New York: John Wiley, 1998.
LOCATION: Architecture Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: TH375.S77 1998
return to top
EDUCATIONAL AND PROFESSIONAL INFORMATION
- Clamp, Hugh.
Landscape Professional Practice: a Guide to Legislation, Conduct,
Appointments, Practice and Contract Procedures.
Aldershot, England; Brookfield, VT: Gower, 1999.
LOCATION: Architecture Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: KD2990.L37C55 1999
- Meier, Lauren G., editor.
Historic Landscape Directory: a Source Book of Agencies, Organizations, and
Institutions Providing Information on Historic Landscape Preservation.
Washington, D.C.: The Division, 1991.
LOCATION: Architecture Library Reference
CALL NUMBER: SB451.3.H57
- Rogers, Walter.
The Professional Practice of Landscape Architecture: a Complete
Guide to Starting and Running Your Own Firm.
New York: Van Nostrand Reinhold, 1997.
LOCATION: Architecture Library Folio
CALL NUMBER: SB469.37.R64 1996
- Sharky, Bruce G.
Ready, Set, Practice: Elements of Landscape Architecture Professional
Practice. New York: Wiley, 1994.
LOCATION: Architecture Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: SB469.37.S48 1994
return to top
ONLINE RESOURCES
University of Maryland
Educational Institution Guides and Resources (from other universities)
Botanical Sites
Professional Associations and Organizations
General resources
State and Federal Government sites
return to top
|