|
Last revised: July 2009
Latin American Studies
Scope: This is a guide to important print and
electronic
reference sources in the interdisciplinary field of Latin American Studies, available in Mckeldin
Library and on the Internet. E-mail the subject area specialist herron@umd.edu or call 301-405-9280 for more information
return to top
The Washington, D.C. area is home to many rich scholarly resources in Latin American
Studies.
The following are some of the major libraries and organizations in the D.C. area that have large
collections of materials in Latin American Studies.
- The Library of
Congress houses the largest
collection of Latin American research materials in the United States. The Hispanic Reading Room serves as the Latin Americanist's primary
starting point for
research in the Library and the Manuscript Reading Room
an important division within the Library of
Congress for
researching primary source materials. The Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress edits the
Handbook of Latin American
Studies.
- The Organization of American States
houses the Columbus Memorial
Library,
which includes a
collection of over 300,000 Latin American related volumes, over 4,500 serial titles (both current
and retrospective) and approximately 150,000 government (primarily OAS) documents. All
subject areas are well represented.
- The Inter-American Development
Bank which was established in
1959, was created to
assist in the economic and social development in Latin America and the Caribbean. The IDB's
Felipe Herrera
Library houses one
of the Washington
area's three strongest Latin American collections. Its strengths lie in the social sciences,
economics, and culture. It includes over 1,200 periodicals and receives numerous Latin
American newspapers.
- The Library
Network serves the International
Bank for Reconstruction and Development, also known as the World Bank, and the International Monetary Fund. The collection is strong in the following
areas: economics, trade,
public policy, international and governmental finance, government statistics, and development
issues. For an early print catalog of the library's Latin American and Caribbean collection,
through 1975, see volume 1 of The Developing Areas: A Classed Bibliography of the
Joint Bank-Fund Library (McKeldin Reference Stacks HC59.7.W316). For access to early
periodicals in the collection see: Economics and Finance: Index to Periodical
Articles, 1947-1971 (McKeldin Folio Z7164.E2W34). The Library's online catalog
JOLIS
is searchable
through the Library's
web site. The library is for the staff of the IMF and World Bank. Outside researchers must make
an appointment to use the library.
- The National Agricultural Library
houses a large research collection
in 19th and 20th
century Latin America. In addition to the agricultural sciences it includes collections strong in
Latin American agricultural economics, rural production (farm, ranch, and forest), rural economic
development, land usage, land colonization, rural education, agricultural law, commerce, and
trade. Search the Agricola database for materials held in the NAL
collection.
- The Oliveira Lima
Library located on
the ground
floor of Mullen library at the Catholic University of America is considered one of the best
collections of Luso-Brazilian materials in the United States. It is very strong in Brazilian and
Portuguese history, literature and culture.
- The National Archives and Records
Administration is the official
repository for records of
the United States government. Much of the materials in this collection includes documents
relating to foreign nations and their dealings with the United States. To begin researching
materials on Latin America consult Guide to Materials on Latin America in the
National Archives of the United States (McKeldin Reference Stakcs CD3028.L37U54
1974). For a guide to the full collection consult Guide to the National Archives of
the United States (McKeldin Reference Stacks CD3023.U54 1974). The Archival Research Catalog (ARC) is the online catalog of NARA's nationwide holdings in the Washington, DC area, Regional Archives and Presidential Libraries.
- The Smithsonian
Institution "maintains 22 branch libraries containing more than 1.5 million volumes and 40,000 rare books." The "Smithsonian archives hold an estimated 50,000 cubic feet of paper documents, seven million still photographs, and thousands of films and audio recordings". These collections can be searched through various catalogs in SIRIS the Smithsonian Institution Research Information Systems.
- Grow, Michael. Scholar's Guide to Washington, D.C. for Latin American and
Caribbean Studies. Washington, D.C.: Woodrow Wilson Center Press, 1992.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: F1408.G57 1992
Use this guide to identify other important resources on Latin America and the Caribbean located
in Washington, D.C. Included are descriptions of hundreds of collections located in libraries,
archives, university research centers, federal agencies and international organizations.
return to top
Use the library catalogs and union catalog below to conduct comprehensive searches of
materials held in local, national, and other country libraries.
return to top
- Catalog
To locate books and NONPRINT materials held in the 8 libraries on campus, search the UM Libraries online catalog. Consult the Library of Congress Subject Headings for the
proper terms to use in your search or consult a reference librarian for assistance.
- The Library of Congress Online
Catalog
- Aladin
The shared electronic library catalog of American University, The Catholic University of
America, Gallaudet University, George Mason University, The George Washington University,
Marymount University, and the University of the District of Columbia.
- George
The Georgetown University Lauinger Library catalog.
- Libweb
Links to hundreds of library online catalogs and library
web servers in the United States and overseas.
- Libraries on the Web:
Mexico, the Caribbean, Cenral America, and South
America
Links to library online catalogs in Latin America.
- LANIC: Libraries &
Archives
Links to online
catalogs and homepages of Latin American research libraries and archives.
return to top
Use the Worldcat database below to identify materials held
in
hundreds of libraries in the United States and other countries. The materials located through
this union catalog can be requested through interlibrary loan.
- WorldCat
A computer database which contains millions of records of all types of material (books, serials,
nonprint media, dissertations, masters theses, archival materials, etc.) cataloged by OCLC member
libraries.
return to top
- Background
Notes. Washington, D.C.:
U.S. Department of State. Irregular.
Brief overview of most of the countries of the world.
- Countries and Their Cultures
Includes essays on over 200 countries that document the myriad ways in which culture defines and separates the nations of the world as much as geographical borders do. Surveys each country's shared values, behaviors and cultural variations from foods and rituals to pastimes and arts.
- Country Studies
The Country Studies are prepared by the Library of Congress and sponsored by the Department
of the Army. They are available for most major countries of the world and provide a
comprehensive analysis of each country's history, politics, and economics from the perspective of
the people who live there. Updated irregularly.
LOCATION (Print version): McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: Varies by country. To find source for country of interest do a keyword
search in the Library Catalog, country handbook argentina.
- Europa World Year Book. London: Europa. 1989- .
LOCATION:McKeldin Periodical Stacks. (Latest edition in McKeldin Reference Stacks)
CALL NUMBER: JN1.E85
Brief overview of most countries of the world. Information includes: recent history, basic
economic statistics, government, religion, judicial system, etc.
- South America, Central America and the Caribbean. London:
Europa, 1991- .
LOCATION: McKeldin Periodical Stacks (Latest edition in McKeldin Reference Stacks)
CALL NUMBER: F1401.S6
Contains similar information to the Europa World Year Book (see above) but the regional focus
contains more detail on each of the countries covered.
- World
Factbook.
Gives social, political and demographic descriptions for all countries of the world.
return to top
- Britannica Online
- Cambridge Encyclopedia of Latin America and the Caribbean.
Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 1992.
LOCATION: Mckeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: F1406.C36
One volume encyclopedia covering the following topics in Latin American studies: physical
environment, economy, peoples, history, politics and society and culture.
- Cambridge History of Latin America. Cambridge: Cambridge
University Press, 1984-
LOCATION: McKeldin Stacks
CALL NUMBER: Individual volumes are cataloged separately. In the Libraries Catalog, go to the Advanced Search option and do a Series search on the
title "Cambridge History of Latin America", for titles, call
numbers, and holdings of individual volumes.
Authoritative survey of Latin American history from the late 15th century to the present day.
- Elemadrid Spanish-English, English-Spanish Dictionary
- Enciclopedia de México. Ciudad de México:
Enciclopedia de México, 1996. 15 volumes.
LOCATION: Mckeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: F1204.E46 1996
Multi-volume Spanish language encyclopedia of Mexico.
- Enciclopedia Universal Ilustrada Europeo-Americana. Barcelona:
Espasa, 1907-1930. 70 volumes; appendix 10 volumes; annual supplements for the years
1934-1988.
LOCATION: Mckeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: AE61.E62
A Multi-volume Spanish language general encyclopedia. Especially strong in Spanish and
Spanish-American biography. The 70 volume core set and the appendix volumes are arranged
alphabetically by subject. The supplements, which come out annually, have a separate subject
index in one volume.
- Encyclopedia Latina. Danbury, CT : Grolier Academic Reference, 2005. 4 volumes
LOCATION: Mckeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: E184.S75 E587 2005.
A multi-volume encyclopedia of Latino history and culture.
- Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture
Provides a comprehensive, multidisciplinary view of Latin American history and culture from prehistoric times to the present. Covers cultural issues and includes numerous biographical profiles of important figures in politics, letters and the arts.
- The Encyclopedia of Multiculturalism. New York:
Marshall Cavendish, 1994. 6 volumes.
LOCATION: Mckeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: E184.A1E58 1994.
A multi-volume encyclopedia of multiculturalism in the United States.
- Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultual America
Includes essays on specific minority and ethnic groups in the United States, on culture (religions, holidays, customs, language), historical background and settlement patterns.
- Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America: Primary Documents
New York: Gale Research Inc., 1999. 2 volumes
LOCATION: Mckeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: E184.A1G15 1999.
Includes primary documents such as letters, articles, cartoons, photos and songs which illuminate
the experience of culture groups in the U.S. from colonial times to the present.
- Gran Enciclopedia de Venezuela Caracas : Globe, 1998. 10
volumes.
LOCATION: Mckeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: F2304.G73 1998
Multi-volume Spanish language encyclopedia of Venezuela.
- Gran Enciclopedia Rialp G.E.R. Madrid: Ediciones Rialp,
1971-76. 24 volumes.
LOCATION: Mckeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: AE61.G75
A Multi-volume Spanish language general encyclopedia.
- Handbook of Hispanic Cultures in the United States. Houston,
Tex. : Arte Publico Press, 1993-1994. 4 volumes.
LOCATION: Mckeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: E184.S75H365 1994.
A multi-volume encyclopedia of hispanic culture. Includes volumes on anthropology, history,
literature & art, and sociology.
- Handbook of Middle American Indians. Austin: University of
Texas Press, 1964-1976. 16 volumes and 5 supplements.
LOCATION: Mckeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: F1434.H3
Covers the following topics concerning the Middle American Indians of pre-columbian history:
natural environment and early cultures, archaeology, epigraphy, ethnology, literature, linguistics,
and social and physical anthropology.
- Hispanic-American Experience on File. New York : Facts on File,
1999.
LOCATION: Mckeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: E184.S75H562 1999
Contains "hundreds of maps, graphs, drawings, photographs and other graphic sources of
information on the history of people of Hispanic descent in the United States."
- Lanic: Languages
Links to resources for the study of languages spoken in Latin America
- Latin American History on File. New York : Facts on File,
1996.
LOCATION: Mckeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: F1410.C439 1996
Contains "more than 475 maps, graphs, drawings, and other graphic sources of information on the
history of Latin America and the Caribbean."
- Latin American Women Writers: An Encyclopedia.
New York: Routledge, 2008.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PQ7081.3.L37 2008
- The Latino Encyclopedia. New York:
Marshall Cavendish, 1996. 6 volumes.
LOCATION: Mckeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: E184.S75L357 1996.
A multi-volume encyclopedia of Latino history and culture.
- New Iberian World: A Documentary History of the Discovery and Settlement
of Latin America to the Early 17th Century. New York: Times Books, 1984.
LOCATION: Mckeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: F1411.I18
"A compilation of documents in English translation ... of Iberian-language sources which treat the
background, discovery, and conquest of the Americas, ca. 1250-1600."
- Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2005. 4 volumes
LOCATION: Mckeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: E184.S75 O97 2005.
A multi-volume encyclopedia of Latino history and culture.
- Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican Cultures: the Civilizations of Mexico
and Central America. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2001. 3 volumes
LOCATION: Mckeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: F1218.6.O95 2001.
Encyclopedia of the mesoamerican cultures of Mexican and Central American countries.
- Real Academía Española
Online verisons of numerous dictionaries published by the Real Academía Española.
- Reference Library of Hispanic America. Detroit : Distributed by
Educational Guidance Service, 1993. 3 volumes.
LOCATION: Mckeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: E184.S75R44 1993b
return to top
This section covers foreign government documents, U.S. government documents as well as
intergovernmental organization documents from agencies such as United Nations and UNESCO.
- CIS Annual. 1970-2000 .
LOCATION: McKeldin Government Documents Room
CALL NUMBER: JK8.C6
This database indexes and abstracts the publications of the United States Congress. The CIS
Annual indexes the Serial Set, which is the primary series of documents published by Congress.
The CIS Annual also indexes Congressional hearings which are not part of the Serial Set.
- CIS U.S. Serial Set Index, 1789-1969. Located in the Government Documents Room, 4th Floor McKeldin
CALL NUMBER: Z1223.Z9C65
A retrospective companion series to the CIS Annual above, this title indexes the Serial Set prior
to the 1970 start date of the CIS Annual. It also indexes the predecessor series to the Serial Set,
which ran from 1789 through 1817 and was called the American State Papers.
- Lexis Nexis Congressional
Access to Congressional documents from 1789 to the present, with much of the material from the 1980's forward available full-text. Also includes legislative histories, laws, regulations, and information about Congress, as well as full-text access to the U.S. Congressional Serial Set from 1789-1969.
- Digital National Security
Archives
Most comprehensive collection available of significant primary documents central to US foreign
and military policy since 1945. Nearly 40,000 of the most important, declassified documents -
totaling more than 250,000 pages - are included in the database. Many are published now for the
first time.
- Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean (ECLAC)
Also called Comisión Económica para América Latina y el Caribe (CEPAL). An official web site of the Economic Commission for Latin America and the
Caribbean, a United Nations agency. This site provides electronic versions of many of the
agency's printed documents.
- Federal
Web Locator
Provided by the Villanova Center for Information Law & Policy, this site links to congressional,
judicial, and executive branch web sites.
- Inter-American Development
Bank
"The Inter-American Development Bank (IDB) is an international financial institution created in
1959 to help accelerate the economic and social development of its member countries in Latin
America and the Caribbean. The IDB Group also includes the Inter-American Investment
Corporation and the Multilateral Investment Fund, which promote private sector development in
the region." This site provides electronic versions of many of the institution's printed documents.
- International Monetary Fund
(IMF)
"The IMF is an international organization of 182 member countries, established to promote
international monetary cooperation, exchange stability, and orderly exchange arrangements; to
foster economic growth and high levels of employment; and to provide temporary financial
assistance to countries under adequate safeguards to help ease balance of payments adjustment."
This site provides electronic versions of many of the organization's printed documents.
- Latin American and
Caribbean Government Documents Project
Organizes and describes the many Latin
American official documents now available via the Internet. The project includes the following
types of documents: statistical sources, executive and ministerial documents, national legislative
documents, and national judicial documents.
- Latin American Government Documents Archive (LAGDA)
"(LAGDA) seeks to preserve and facilitate access to a wide range of ministerial and presidential documents from 18 Latin American and Caribbean countries. The Archive contains copies of the Web sites of approximately 300 government ministries and presidencies."
- Organization of American States
(OAS)
Made up of 35 member states within the Americas, the OAS's major goals are "strengthening
freedom of speech and thought as a basic human right, promoting greater participation by civil
society in decision-making at all levels of government, improving cooperation to address the
problem of illegal drugs; and supporting the process to create a Free Trade Area of the
Americas." This site provides electronic versions of many of the organization's printed
documents.
- Pan-American Health
Organization
Part of the World Health Organization (WHO), the Pan-American Health Organization's
"essential mission is to strengthen national and local health systems and improve the health of the
peoples of the Americas, in collaboration with Ministries of Health, other government and
international agencies, nongovernmental organizations, universities, social security agencies,
community groups, and many others." This site provides electronic versions of many of the
organization's printed documents.
- Political Database of the
Americas
This site is a joint project of Georgetown University, the Organization of American States, and
the Canadian Foundation for the Americas. It "provides documentary and statistical political
information on Latin America, including constitutions, electoral laws, legislative and executive
branch information and election data."
- SourceOECD
The online library of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. Comprises book collections by theme, containing all OECD monographs and reports, most OECD periodicals, and the OECD statistical databases.
- United Nations Treaty Collection
"Treaty reference information made available for the United Nations Treaty Series (UNTS) at this
site corresponds to treaties and subsequent actions registered up to April 1998. The complete text
of treaties corresponds to treaties and subsequent actions registered approximately up to February
1998. Currently, the UNTS is being expanded at the rate of over 100 new volumes per year."
Also included are the Status of Multilateral Treaties Deposited with the Secretary General as of 1
December 2000, the Texts of Recently Deposited Multilateral Treaties, and photographs of
signature ceremonies.
- United Nations
The United Nations "works on a broad range of fundamental issues, from sustainable development, environment and refugees protection, disaster relief, counter terrorism, disarmament and non-proliferation, to promoting democracy, human rights, governance, economic and social development and international health, clearing landmines, expanding food production, and more, in order to achieve its goals and coordinate efforts for a safer world for this and future generations."
- World Bank
"The World Bank is the world's largest source of development assistance, providing loans
annually to its client countries. The Bank uses its financial resources, its highly trained staff, and
its extensive knowledge base to individually help each developing country onto a path of stable,
sustainable, and equitable growth." This site provides electronic versions of many of the
organization's printed documents.
return to top
The following sources are useful for identifying primary source materials held in archival and
manuscript collections in the United States, Latin America and the Caribbean.
- ArchivesUSA
Includes the following major archival information resources: Directory of Archives and
Manuscript Repositories in the United States, National Union Catalog of Manuscripts
Collections, and National Inventory of Documentary Sources.
- Grieb, Kenneth J., ed. Research Guide to Central America and the
Caribbean. Madison, WI: University of Wisconsin Press, 1985.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: F2161.R47 1985
- Leonard, Thomas M. A Guide to Central American Collections in the United
States. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1994.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: F1436.L45
- LANIC: Libraries and Archives
An extensive list of links to many Latin American libraries and archives.
- Library of Congress Library of Congress Hispanic and Portuguese
Collections: An Illustrated Guide
- Perez, Louis A. A Guide to Cuban Collections in the United
States. New York: Greenwood Press, 1991.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: F1776.P46
- Tepaske, John J., ed. Research Guide to Andean History: Bolivia, Chile,
Ecuador and Peru. Durham, N.C.: Duke University Press, 1981.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: F3221.R47
- United States. National Archives and Records Service. Guide to Materials on
Latin America in the National Archives of the United States. Washington, D.C.:
GPO, 1974.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: CD3028.L37U54
Guide to materials in the National Archives and
Records Administration related
to Latin America.
- Werlich, David P. Research Tools for Latin American Historians: A Select,
Annotated Bibliography. New York: Garland, 1980.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: F1408.W47
- University
of Texas at Austin. Nettie Lee Benson Latin American Collection
Houses a rich collection of rare books and manuscripts relating to Brazil, Central America Chile,
Mexico, Peru and many other Latin American countries.
return to top
The following are annotated bibliographies of reference sources useful for researching specific
subject areas within Latin American studies.
- Balay, Robert. Guide to Reference Books. Chicago: American
Library Association, 1996.
LOCATION: McKeldin Quick Reference
CALL NUMBER: Z1035.1.G89 1996
The most comprehensive guide to what the editors consider "most useful" reference sources
covering almost all subject areas.
- Covington, Paula H. Latin America and the Caribbean: A Critical Guide to
Research Sources. New York: Greenwood Press, 1992.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: F1408.L28 1992
- McNeil, Robert A., ed. Latin American Studies: A Basic Guide to
Sources. 2nd ed. Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow Press, 1990.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: F1408.L257 1990
return to top
Use the following resources to locate articles in newspapers, magazines, and journals, book
chapters, essays, dissertations, government publications and more.
- Agricola. 1970-.
Agricola is a bibliographic database of citations to the agricultural literature created by the
National Agricultural Library and its cooperators. Covers materials in all formats and encompasses all aspects of
agriculture and allied disciplines.
- CAB
Abstracts. 1973- .
A database of citations to the "significant research and dvelopment literature in the fields of
agriculture, forestry, aspects of human health, human nutrition, animal health, and the
management and conservation of natural resources." Coverage is international in scope.
Environmental Science and Pollution 1981-.
Provides Information about articles in the areas of environmental science and pollution.
return to top
- Anthropological
Index Online. 1957- .
"The Anthropological Index Online is based on the journal holdings of The Anthropology Library
at the The British Museum (Museum of Mankind) which receives periodicals in all branches of
anthropology, from academic institutions and publishers around the world."
- Anthropological
Literature. 1984- .
An index to the journals received by Tozzer Library, the anthropology library of Harvard
University. It covers the following areas: archaeology, biological/physical anthropology,
cultural/social anthropology, linguistics, and related fields.
- AnthroSource.
Coverage includes a complete electronic archive of all American Anthropological Association journals through 2003 plus current issues for 15 of the AAA's most critical peer-reviewed publications.
- Social Sciences Citation
Index (click on ISI Web of Science) 1995 - .
Covers a very broad range of the social sciences.
return to top
- Art
Abstracts and Art Index Retrospective 1929 - .
An international index to periodicals, museum bulletins and yearbooks in the areas of archaeology, architecture, art history, city planning, crafts, films, graphic arts, industrial design, interior design, landscape architecture, museology and photography.
-
ARTBibliographies
Modern. 1969- .
This database provides comprehensive bibliographic coverage of current literature, articles,
books, dissertations, and exhibition catalogs on art and design. Full coverage of the 19th and
20th century is provided. Abstracts are included.
- Bibliography of
the History of Art. 1973- .
Covers the literature on all aspects of European and American (including Latin American) art.
- Oxford Art Online
Art Encyclopedia
return to top
- Lexis/Nexis.
A full text database providing information found in newspapers, news wires, magazines, SEC
filings, marketing reports, etc. consisting of thousands of files.
- Business
& Company Resource Center
Provides information on public and private companies including company histories, chronologies,
investment reports, brief industry overviews and periodical articles.
- Business Source Complete
Covers the journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics.
- EconLit
1969- .
Covers the major economics journals.
- EIU Country
Commerce
"A practical guide to regulations, operating conditions and corporate practices in 60 countries."
Good place to start when looking for information on doing business in other countries, covers
business information from a regulatory perspective.
- EIU Country
Finance
"Comprehensive guide to the world's main financial systems, covering banking and associated
services, government policies and regulations for 47 countries." Good place to start when
looking for information on doing business in other countries, covers business information from a
financial perspective.
- EIU ViewsWire
"The EIU produces objective and timely analysis and forecasts of the political, economic and business environment in more than 180 countries."
-
RDS
Business Reference Suite. 1980- .
Includes the following databases which can be searched individually or collectively: Business &
Industry, Business & Management Practices, and TableBase.
return to top
- Digital Dissertations. 1861- .
The database includes bibliographic citations for materials ranging from the first U.S. dissertation,
accepted in 1861, to those accepted as recently as last semester. Citations for dissertations
published from 1980 forward also include 350-word abstracts written by the author. Citations for
master's theses from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. The full-text of some dissertations
is also available.
return to top
- Education Research Complete.
A bibliographic and full text database covering scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. The database also covers areas of curriculum instruction as well as administration, policy, funding, and related social issues.
-
ERIC. 1966-
Provides access to information from education and education-related journals as well as a variety of non journal materials, or ERIC documents. ERIC documents are available via microfiche in McKeldin's Periodicals/Microform Room on the 1st floor; they are also online from 1993 to the present.
return to top
- Arts
and Humanities Search (available through the Web of Science). 1996- .
Indexes articles from the world's leading arts and humanities journals, plus
relevant articles from social science and science journals.
- Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text.
Provides indexing and abstracts for hundreds of publications, as well as full text for more than 100 journals and nearly 100 books. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation and restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
- Film Literature Index. (1976 - 2001)
Print version: LOCATION and CALL NUMBER: McKeldin Reference Stacks Z5784.M9F45 (1973-2004)
Indexes approximately 300 film journals. IMPORTANT NOTE: The print version of this index is more current than the online version.
- Hanson, Patricia. Film Review Index. Phoenix, AZ: Oryx Press,
1986.
LOCATION: McKeldin Quick Reference Shelf
CALL NUMBER: PN1995.F54
This two-volume set provides references to film reviews from 1882-1985. Reviews from trade
publications, journals, newspapers and books are included.
- International Index to Film Periodicals. 1972- .
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: Z5784.M9I55
Indexes approximately 85 film periodicals from around the world.
return to top
- ArcWorld.
LOCATION: Mckeldin Government Documents Room
This database contains country boundaries, latitude/longitude grids, and more than 500
national-level statistical attributes such as illiteracy rates, life expectancy, women in the labor
force, and deforestation rates. These statistical attributes can be used to develop custom made
maps.
- Social Sciences Citation Index. (click on ISI Web of Science)
1995- .
Covers worldwide literature in the social sciences, including population and migration studies.
- Popline. 1970- .
Covers the areas of family planning population law and policy, and primary health care, including
maternal/child health in developing countries. It is international in scope, and includes journal
articles, monographs, technical reports, and unpublished works.
- Population Index.
1986- .
Covers demographic information culled from books, journals, and dissertations dealing with
fertility, mortality, population size/growth, migration, demographic and economic interrelations.
return to top
- America:
History and Life 1967- .
Indexes and abstracts journal articles and dissertations in the areas of United States and
Canadian history, from prehistory to the present.
- Historical
Abstracts. 1967- .
Indexes and abstracts journal articles and dissertations in world history from 1450 to the present.
Excludes works on United States and Canadian history which are covered in America: History
and Life.
return to top
- Chicano
Database 1967 - .
Information on articles and other materials on Mexican-Americans and the broader Latina/o
cultures including Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans and Central American immigrants.
-
CLASE: Citas Latinoamericanas en Ciencias Sociales y Humanidades
Index to approximately 1,500 humanities and social sciences journals published in Latin America and the Caribbean. Includes links to some full-text articles. *Hint: The host server may be slow at times. If you get a time-out message you may have to repeat your search several times.
- Ethnic
Newswatch. 1995- .
This full text database "is a comprehensive collection of newspapers, magazines and journals of
the ethnic, minority and native press. It provides a rich collection of articles, editorials, and
review with a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints."
- Handbook of Latin American
Studies. 1935- .
Print version is located in McKeldin Periodical Stacks; Call Number: Z1605.H23
This annotated bibliography references key books and articles published on various aspects of
Latin American studies.
- HAPI Online (Hispanic
American Periodicals Index) 1970-.
HAPI contains citations to articles, book reviews, documents, original literary works, and other
materials from over 400 key social science and humanities journals published in Latin America
and throughout the world. Its coverage includes information about Central and South America,
Mexico, the Caribbean, the United States-Mexico border region and Hispanics in the United
States.
-
LANIC Media and
Communications in Latin America.
Provides access to
newspapers,
magazines, radio, television, and other media in Latin America.
- Latin Americanist Research Resources Project
This database provides access to the tables of contents of more than 800 journals, primarily in the humanities and social sciences, published in Latin America.
-
Latindex.
Directory of scholarly journals and journals of academic interest published in Latin America, the Caribbean, Spain and Portugal.
- Red de Revistas Científicas de América Latina, el Caribe, España y Portugal (Redalyc)
Full-text database of a selected number of mostly peer reviewed Latin American journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Coverage is from 1993 to the present and articles are published in English, Portuguese, or Spanish.
- Red de Bibliotecas Virtuales de Ciencias Sociales de América Latina y el Caribe de la Red Clacso (CLACSO)
Full-text database of a selected number of social science journals from Latin American and the Spanish Caribbean. Coverage is from 2003 to the present. Also provides access to e-books and some theses.
-
Researching
Brazil
Includes a database of citations for over 70 Brazilian academic journals in history and the social
sciences. Most of the journals included began in the 1990's; for selected titles coverage goes back
to the mid-1980s.
- SciELO: Scientific Electronic Library
Online
Full-text database of a selected number of peer reviewed Latin American science and social science journals Coverage is from 1997 to the present and articles are published in English, Portuguese, or Spanish.
return to top
- Foreign Newspaper Database (For the most comprehensive information consult the CRL Catalog.
A microfilm collection of extensive runs of over 6,000 foreign newspaper titles, including many published in Latin American countries. These materials may be borrowed from the Center for Research Libraries (CRL) for extended loan periods through the UM Libraries' Interlibrary Loan Department. For the most comprehensive information on CRL Foreign Newspapers, consult the CRL Catalog.
- Lexis/Nexis.
A full text database offering access to hundred of newspapers, magazines, and other news
sources. Includes, major domestic newspapers (New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles
Times, Christian Science Monitor and others) as well as news sources from many other
countries.
- Daily report. Latin America. Index. 11/78-7/96.
LOCATION: McKeldin Government Documents Room
CALL NUMBER: F1401.D332
Index to the Daily report. Latin America. These are translations by the U.S. Foreign Broadcast
Information Service, a government agency, which monitors and translates newspapers, radio and
television broadcasts, and statements of foreign governments. The full text of the Daily report
is available on microfiche in the Government Documents room from 1974 to July 1996 at PrEx
7.10:FBIS-LAT-.
- FBIS Publications. (CD-ROM) Jan-Dec 1996- .
LOCATION: McKeldin Government Documents Room (Ask for CD-ROM at Desk
CALL NUMBER: PREX 7.10/3:
Full text translations of newspaper articles, radio, television broadcasts and statements of foreign
governments searchable via CD ROM software. Copyright restrictions apply to this material.
For earlier years translation access see entry above, the Daily reports. Latin America. Index.
- Latin American Newspapers in United States Libraries: A Union List Compiled in the Serial Division, Library of Congress.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: Z6947.L36
- Abyz News Links
Links to over 15,600 newspapers and other news sources from around the world.
-
LANIC Media and
Communications in Latin America .
Provides access to
newspapers,
magazines, radio, television, and other media in Latin America.
- World News Connection.
1994-.
This database contains full text and summaries of newspaper articles, television and radio
broadcasts, conference proceedings, periodicals, and non-classified technical reports, from
countries around the world including Latin America and the Caribbean. All sources are
translated from their original language into English. Generally, new information is available
within 48-72 hours from the time of original publication or broadcast.
-
WWITV: WorldWide Internet
TV
Links to television stations worldwide.
return to top
- Fletcher
School Multilaterals Project
Links to multilateral conventions organized by broad topic areas.
- La Corte Centroamericana de
Justicia
Full text of basic documents and resolutions.
- Global Legal
Information
Network
Library of Congress site "maintains and provides a database of laws, regulations, and other
complementary legal sources."
- ICL Country
Index: Constitutional Documents
Contains links to national constitutions plus brief background descriptions of the
constitutional development in each country.
- International Court of Justice
"Provides links to all contentious cases and advisory opinions referred to the Court since
1946" plus other documents.
- International Law Reports
Contains the reports of many kinds of international adjudications.
LOCATION: McKeldin Periodical Stacks
CALL NUMBER: JX68.A65
HOLDINGS: v.23-42, v.48- (1956-1971,1975- )
- International Legal Materials
"Each 250-page issue contains the full texts of important treaties and
agreements, judicial and arbitral decisions, national legislation, international
organizations resolutions and other documents. A content summary precedes
each document, many of which are accompanied by authored introductions.
Status information for treaties also appears in each issue."
- Lexis-Nexis
Legal research section contains EU law (legislation and treaties) and case law from selected
countries.
Also, mostly full-text access to US and international newspapers, journals, wire services, and
news transcripts.
- Project Diana: Online
Human Rights Archive
Yale Law School site with online cases and documents.
- United Nations Treaty Collection
"Treaty reference information made available for the United Nations Treaty Series (UNTS)
at this site corresponds to treaties and subsequent actions registered up to April 1998. The
complete text of treaties corresponds to treaties and subsequent actions registered approximately
up to February 1998. Currently, the UNTS is being expanded at the rate of over 100 new volumes
per year." Also included are
the Status of Multilateral Treaties Deposited with the Secretary General as of 1 December 2000,
the Texts of
Recently Deposited Multilateral Treaties, and photographs of signature ceremonies.
- University of Minnesota
Human Rights Library
Online human rights treaties and other instruments; searchable by keyword.
return to top
- Bibligraphie Linguistischer Literatur. 1978- .
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: P3.B51
Indexes periodical articles, essays, and proceedings in the areas of general linguistics, German,
English, and Romance linguistics.
-
LLBA: Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts. 1973- .
A major indexing and abstracting service in linguistics and related areas. Strong coverage in the
areas of applied linguistics, descriptive linguistics, and psycholinguistics. Also covers syntax,
sociolinguistics, theory of linguistics, interpersonal behavior and communication, semantics,
phonetics, phonology, discourse analysis and poetics.
- MLA
International Bibliography. 1920's- .
Covers literary criticism literary, linguistics, and
folklore scholarship. International in scope. Indexes articles, essays, books and book chapters, conference papers, and
dissertations.
- Romanische Bibliographie. 1965- .
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PC3.R49
Bibliography on Romance linguistics, language, and literature.
return to top
- Literature
Resource Center
"Provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analysis of authors from every age and literary discipline."
- MLA
International Bibliography. 1920's- .
Covers literary criticism literary, linguistics, and
folklore scholarship. International in scope. Indexes articles, essays, books and book chapters, conference papers, and
dissertations.
- Year's Work in Modern Language Studies. Annual. 1929/30-.
.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PB1.Y45
Critical survey of work done in modern languages and literature.
return to top
- Lexis/Nexis.
Full text database offering access to hundreds of files. Sources online include national and
international newspapers, transcripts, magazines, company annual reports, magazines, etc.
- Academic
Search Premier. 1984- .
Covers academic and popular journals in the social sciences, humanities, and general science.
return to top
- Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online
A comprehensive online resource devoted to music research of all the world's peoples.
- Music
Index Online 1979- .
Covers international music periodicals.
- Oxford Music Online
Provides full-text access to the following standard reference sources: The New Grove Dictionary of Music & Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, The Oxford Dictionary of Music, and The Oxford Companion to Music.
- RILM Music
The most important scholarly index/abstract in the field of music. Indexes all forms of scholarly
works including articles, books, bibliographies, catalogs, dissertations, films and videos,
conference proceedings and more.
return to top
- CIAO: Columbia International Affairs
Online 1991 -.
International affairs site that "publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 on that includes
working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs,
foundation-funded research projects, and proceedings from conferences."
- EIU ViewsWire
"The EIU produces objective and timely analysis and forecasts of the political, economic
and business environment in more than 180 countries."
-
International Political Science Abstracts.
Covers political science periodicals published throughout the world.
- PAIS
Archive. 1915-.
The PAIS Archive database contains references to books, essays, and periodical articles. The Archive comprises the records from the print publication: PAIS Annual Cumulated Bulletin which was published from 1915 to 1976.
- PAIS
International. 1915-.
Contains information about journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, international agency publications, and more from over 120 countries throughout the world. PAIS International includes records from the print PAIS Bulletin from 1977 to the present; and from the print PAIS Foreign Language Index which was published from 1972 at 1990, at which time it merged with the PAIS Bulletin.
- Social Sciences Citation
Index (click on ISI Web of Science). 1995- .
Covers a very broad range of the social sciences.
-
Women in Politics
Bibliographic Database
Online index to books and articles on the subject of women in politics; international in scope.
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts 1975 - .
Covers magazines, major newspapers, professional
journals, and books devoted to politics and political analyis.
return to top
- PsychINFO 1887- .
This is the primary indexing and abstracting service in the field of psychology and related fields.
Indexes journal articles, books and book chapters.
- Social Sciences Citation
Index (click on ISI Web of Science). 1995- .
Covers a very broad range of the social sciences.
return to top
- ATLA
Religion. 1949- .
Covers academic journals and book essays in the field of religion. International in scope.
- Catholic Periodical and Literature Index. 1930- .
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: AI3.C321
Index to over 130 periodicals. Excellent coverage of the Catholic Church in Latin America and
the Caribbean.
- Religious and Theological Abstracts. 1958 - .
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: BR1.R286
Indexes and abstracts articles from about 400 international periodicals. Abstracts are classified
into biblical, theological, historical, and practical. Subject, author, scripture indexes.
return to top
-
Family & Society
Studies Worldwide. 1970- .
Covers policy and practice literature in the fields of family science, human ecology
and human development. Indexes professional journals, books, popular literature, conference
papers, government reports and other sources.
- Social Sciences Citation
Index (click on ISI Web of Science). 1995- .
Covers a very broad range of the social sciences.
- SocIndex. 1974- .
Offers coverage of sociology and related areas of study. These include abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others.
return to top
-
International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance. 1984- .
Covers all aspects of theatre, performance and dance. Indexes articles, books, book articles, dissertations, and newspapers published worldwide.
- Literature
Resource Center
"Provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analysis of authors from every age and literary discipline."
- MLA
International Bibliography. 1920's- .
Covers the fields of literary criticism (including drama and theater), linguistics, and
folklore scholarship. Indexes articles, essays, books and book chapters, conference papers, and
dissertations.
- Year's Work in Modern Language Studies. Annual, 1929/30-
.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PB1.Y45
Critical survey of work done in modern languages and literature.
return to top
- Contemporary
Women's Issues. 1995- .
This database "provides full text access to global information on women. It includes journals,
newsletters, and research reports from non-profit groups and government and international
agencies. Information on women in over 150 countries is compiled in a single collection,
bringing together such disciplines as sociology, psychology, health, education and human rights."
- GenderWatch
. 1974 -.
Full text database comprised primarily of the many ongoing periodicals that deal with gender
issues, including academic and scholarly journals, regional publications, magazines, newspapers,
newsletters, booklets and reports.
-
Women in Politics
Bibliographic Database
Online index to books and articles on the subject of women in politics. International in scope.
- Women's
Studies International. 1970- .
(Select Women's Resources International from the list of
databases)
This database is a combination of the following files: Women Studies Abstracts (1984 - present),
Women's Studies Database (1972 - present), Women Studies Librarian (4 files), New Books on
Women & Feminism (1987 - present), WAVE: Women's Audiovisuals in English: A Guide to
Nonprint Resources in Women's Studies (1985-1990), Women, Race, and Ethnicity: A
Bibliography (1970-1990). The History of Women and Science, Health and Technology: A
Bibliographic Guide to the Professions and the Disciplines (1970-1995), Women of Color and
Southern Women (1975 - present), Women's Health and Development: An Annotated
Bibliography (1995).
return to top
The following are some of the most extensive gateways to Internet resources on Latin
America
and the Caribbean.
return to top
- Center for Research
Libraries
"The Center for Research Libraries (CRL) is an international consortium of colleges, universities
and libraries that makes available scholarly research resources to users everywhere. Its
outstanding collections include more than 3.5 million volumes of research materials rarely held in
North American libraries." Of interest to Latin Americanists is the The Latin American Microform Project
(LAMP) which includes microform and digitized "collections of unique, scarce,
rare and/or bulky and voluminous research materials pertaining to Latin America". The
LAMP Collections page provides descriptions and guides to the different collections. Also of interest to Latin Americanists is the Foreign Newspapers Collection and the many Latin American microform collections that described in the following Topic Guides. The materials from CRL may be borrowed, often for extended time periods, through the University of Maryland Libraries' Interlibrary Loan Office.
- UM Libraries Microfom
Collections .
The UM Libraries have numerous collections of primary source
material in microfom. The bulk of these collections are held in McKeldin Library and can be
found in McKeldin's Periodicals-Microforms Room. Collections are listed here by names of
issuing countries or organizations, or by title, as appropriate. Most have specialized indexes.
return to top
The following titles are important sources of information for gathering different kind of
statistical data; economic, educational, population demographics, trade, etc.
- ArcWorld.
LOCATION: McKeldin Government Documents Room
This database contains country boundaries, latitude/longitude grids, and more than 500
national-level statistical attributes such as literacy rates, life expectancy, women in the labor force,
deforestation rates, etc. These statistical attributes can be used to develop custom made maps.
-
ECLAC (Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean) CEPAL (Comisión Económica para América Latina y el Caribe)
ECLAC/CEPAL "is one of the five regional commissions of the United Nations. It was founded with the purpose of contributing to the economic development of Latin America, coordinating actions directed towards this end, and reinforcing economic ties among countries and with other nations of the world. The promotion of the region's social development was later included among its primary objectives." The commision produces many
publications with statistical data including The Statistical Yearbook, Economic Survey of Latin America and the Caribbean, and Social Panorama of Latin America.
- Hispanic Americans: A Statistical Sourcebook. Palo Alto, CA:
Information Publications, 2001.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: E184.S75H53 2001
Includes statistics on Latinos in the United States in the following areas: demographics, social
characteristics, househld & family characteristics, education, government & elections, labor,
income, and crime.
- Index to International Statistics. 1983- . Bethesda, MD:
Congressional Information Service.
LOCATION: McKeldin Government Documents Room
CALL NUMBER: HA36.I5
Subject access to the world's major international governmental organizations' statistics, i.e., UN,
OECD, OAS, etc.
- International Financial Statistics Yearbook. 1979- . Washington,
D.C.: IMF. Annual.
LOCATION: McKeldin Periodical Stacks (latest edition in McKeldin Reference Stacks)
CALL NUMBER: HG3881.I6261
"Contains country tables for each of the approximately 150 members of the International
Monetary Fund. Includes data on exchange rates, interest rates, production, prices, trade."
- International Marketing Data and Statistics. 1978/1979- .
London: Euromonitor Publications Ltd. Annual.
LOCATION: McKeldin Periodical Stacks (latest edition in McKeldin Reference Stacks)
CALL NUMBER: HA42.I56
Comparative statistical data for some 150 non-European countries arranged in 24 sections
covering: demographic trends, economic indicators, consumer expenditure patterns, retailing
advertising, consumer market sizes, consumer prices, costs, health & living standards, etc.
-
Latin American
Statistical Sources.
Includes links to National Statistical Bureaus of
individual Latin American countries and International Agency Statistics.
-
Online Sources of International Statistics
This guide links to numerous websites that contain statistical data compiled by
governments and international organizations such as the Inter-American
Development Bank, the Inter-American Commission on Human
Rights, the Organization of American States (OAS), the
Pan American Health Organization, the United
Nations, the World Bank, and the World
Health Organization. The majority of these sources are free-of-charge and
accessible to anyone with access to the World Wide Web.
- SourceOECD
From the Organisation for Economic Co-Operation and Development. Online, full-text access to
OECD's publications from 1998 to the resent, including reports, periodicals, and monographs.
- Statistical Abstract of Latin America. 1955-1956, 1961-1972,
1976- . Los Angeles: University of California, Latin American Center.
LOCATION: McKeldin Periodical Stacks (latest edition in McKeldin Reference Stacks.)
CALL NUMBER: HA935.S8
Covers major areas, including population, health, education, crime, working conditions,
migration, housing, foreign trade, transportation, etc.
- STAT-USA
This multi-file database includes the Globus & NTDB (National
Trade
Data Bank) files, an excellent source for learning about export markets, trade practices of foreign
countries and analyzing patterns of imports/exports by country. The Country
Commercial Guides, which are part of the GLOBUS & NTDB database, are very
useful for detailed information on all the countries of the world from the perspective of doing
business in that country.
- World Development Indicators Online
Provides direct access to more than 550 development indicators, with time series for 200 countries and 18 country groups from 1960, where data are available. Data export options in Excel or ASCII. Data includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and nvironmental indicators.
- World Bank
The Publication section of the World Bank website holds thousands of free, downloadable documents, including operational documents (project documents, analytical and advisory work, and evaluations), formal and informal research papers, and most Bank publications" and the Data and Research section links to numerous World Bank statistical publications.
return to top
- Gibaldi, Joseph. MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers.
New York: Modern Language Association of America, 2009.
LOCATION: McKeldin Quick Reference
CALL NUMBER: LB2369 .G53 2009.
For undergraduate students
- Gibaldi, Joseph. MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing.
New York: Modern Language Association of America, 2008.
LOCATION: McKeldin Quick Reference
CALL NUMBER: PN147 .G444 2008.
For graduate students and scholars
- Citing Sources Using the MLA Handbook
- Citing Sources Using the APA Style Manual
-
Using MLA Style to Cite and
Document Sources
Guidelines for citing Internet sources
- Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association.
Washington, D.C.: American Psychological Association, 1994.
LOCATION: McKeldin Quick Reference
CALL NUMBER: BF76.7.P83 1994
- APA
Style.org
Guidelines for citing sources from the Web, authorized by the American
Psychological Association.
- Writer's
Handbook
Includes a section on documentation styles
return to top
A number of related library guides are also available on the Web.
See also the full list of library
guides.
return to top
Material not held in our libraries can be requested through Interlibrary Loan.
return to top
|