|
Last revised: July 2009
Latina/o Studies
Scope: This guide provides links to and information about major electronic and print resources in Latina/o studies. Email the subject area specialist at herron@umd.edu or call 301-405-9280 for more information.
return to top
Reference sources are often excellent starting points for your research. They provide essays on many topics as well as bibliographies of books and articles for further study.
- Biography and Genealogy Master Index.
Indexes reference sources containing multiple biographies. It enables the user to determine which edition(s) of which publications to consult for biographical information. It provides access to biographical sketches of living and deceased persons from every field of activity and all areas of the world.
- Biographical Dictionary of Hispanic Americans. New York: Checkmark Books/Facts on File, 2001.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: E184.S75 M49 2001
- A Biographical Handbook of Hispanics and United States Film. Tempe, Ariz.: Bilingual Press, 1997.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PN1995.9.H47 K46 1997
- Latina and Latino Voices in Literature: Lives and Works. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2003.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PS153.H56 D39 2003
- Latinas in the United States: A Historical Encyclopedia. Bloomington: Indiana University Press, 2006.
Table of Contents
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: E184.S75 L35 2006
- Latinas!: Women of Achievement. Detroit: Visible Ink Press, 1996.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: E184.S75 L354 1996
- Latino Writers and Journalists. New York: Facts On File, 2007.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PS153.H56 M36 2007
- Notable Hispanic American Women. Detroit: Gale Research, 1993
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: E184.S75 N68 1993
- Notable Hispanic American Women II. Detroit: Gale Research, 1998
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: E184.S75 N68 1998
- Notable Latino Americans: A Biographical Dictionary. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1997
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: E184.S75 M35 1997
- Notable Latino Writers. Pasadena, CA: Salem Press, 2006
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PS153.H56 N68 2006
return to top
- Britannica Online 1970-.
Contains the full-text of the 32-volume Encyclopedia Britannica, plus thousands of additional articles and images not available in the print set.
return to top
- Chronology of Hispanic American History From Pre-Columbian Times to the Presnt. Detroit, Gale Research Inc., 1995.
LOCATION: Mckeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: E184.S75C49 1995.
"A comprehensive listing of historical and cultural events about peoples whose origins or descent is Mexico, Puerto Rico, Cuba, Spain and the Spanish-speaking countries of Central and South America."
- Encyclopedia of Hispanic-American Literature. New York: Facts On File, 2008
LOCATION: Mckeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PS153.H56 R36 2008.
Includes information about major Latino authors and their texts, "important events that have affected Latino literature and relevant topics and terms."
- Encyclopedia Latina. Danbury, CT : Grolier Academic Reference, 2005. 4 volumes
LOCATION: Mckeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: E184.S75 E587 2005.
A multi-volume encyclopedia of Latino history and culture.
- The Encyclopedia of Multiculturalism. New York:
Marshall Cavendish, 1994. 6 volumes.
LOCATION: Mckeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: E184.A1E58 1994.
A multi-volume encyclopedia of multiculturalism in the United States.
- Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultual America
Includes essays on specific minority and ethnic groups in the United States, on culture (religions, holidays, customs, language), historical background and settlement patterns.
- Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America: Primary Documents
New York: Gale Research Inc., 1999. 2 volumes
LOCATION: Mckeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: E184.A1G15 1999.
Includes primary documents such as letters, articles, cartoons, photos and songs which illuminate
the experience of culture groups in the U.S. from colonial times to the present.
- Greenwood Encyclopedia of Latino Literature
Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2008. 3 volumes
LOCATION: Mckeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PS153.H56 G74 2008.
Provides biographical and literary information about Latino writers from colonial times to the present. Also included are entries which "discuss the backdrop against which Latino literature developed."
- Handbook of Hispanic Cultures in the United States. Houston,
Tex. : Arte Publico Press, 1993-1994. 4 volumes.
LOCATION: Mckeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: E184.S75H365 1994.
A multi-volume encyclopedia of hispanic culture. Includes volumes on anthropology, history,
literature & art, and sociology.
- Hispanic-American Experience on File. New York : Facts on File,
1999.
LOCATION: Mckeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: E184.S75H562 1999
Contains "hundreds of maps, graphs, drawings, photographs and other graphic sources of
information on the history of people of Hispanic descent in the United States."
- The Latino Encyclopedia. New York:
Marshall Cavendish, 1996. 6 volumes.
LOCATION: Mckeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: E184.S75L357 1996.
A multi-volume encyclopedia of Latino history and culture.
- Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2005. 4 volumes
LOCATION: Mckeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: E184.S75 O97 2005.
A multi-volume encyclopedia of Latino history and culture.
- Reference Library of Hispanic America. Detroit : Distributed by
Educational Guidance Service, 1993. 3 volumes.
LOCATION: Mckeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: E184.S75R44 1993b
return to top
- Cambridge Encyclopedia of Latin America and the Caribbean.
Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 1992.
LOCATION: Mckeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: F1406.C36
One volume encyclopedia covering the following topics in Latin American studies: physical
environment, economy, peoples, history, politics and society and culture.
- Cambridge History of Latin America. Cambridge: Cambridge
University Press, 1984-.
LOCATION: McKeldin Stacks
CALL NUMBER: Individual volumes are cataloged separately. In the Libraries Catalog, go to the Advanced Search option and do a Series search on the
title "Cambridge History of Latin America", for titles, call
numbers, and holdings of individual volumes.
Authoritative survey of Latin American history from the late 15th century to the present day.
- Countries and their Cultures
Includes essays on over 200 countries that document the myriad ways in which culture defines and separates the nations of the world as much as geographical borders do. Surveys each country's shared values, behaviors and cultural variations from foods and rituals to pastimes and arts.
- Enciclopedia de México. Ciudad de México:
Enciclopedia de México, 1996. 15 volumes.
LOCATION: Mckeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: F1204.E46 1996
Multi-volume Spanish language encyclopedia of Mexico.
- Enciclopedia Universal Ilustrada Europeo-Americana. Barcelona:
Espasa, 1907-1930. 70 volumes; appendix 10 volumes; annual supplements for the years
1934-1988.
LOCATION: Mckeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: AE61.E62
A Multi-volume Spanish language general encyclopedia. Especially strong in Spanish and
Spanish-American biography. The 70 volume core set and the appendix volumes are arranged
alphabetically by subject. The supplements, which come out annually, have a separate subject
index in one volume.
- Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture
Provides a comprehensive, multidisciplinary view of Latin American history and culture from prehistoric times to the present. Covers cultural issues and includes numerous biographical profiles of important figures in politics, letters and the arts.
- Gran Enciclopedia de Venezuela Caracas : Globe, 1998. 10
volumes.
LOCATION: Mckeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: F2304.G73 1998
Multi-volume Spanish language encyclopedia of Venezuela.
- Gran Enciclopedia Rialp G.E.R. Madrid: Ediciones Rialp,
1971-76. 24 volumes.
LOCATION: Mckeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: AE61.G75
A Multi-volume Spanish language general encyclopedia.
- Handbook of Middle American Indians. Austin: University of
Texas Press, 1964-1976. 16 volumes and 5 supplements.
LOCATION: Mckeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: F1434.H3
Covers the following topics concerning the Middle American Indians of pre-columbian history:
natural environment and early cultures, archaeology, epigraphy, ethnology, literature, linguistics,
and social and physical anthropology.
- Lanic: Languages
Links to resources for the study of languages spoken in Latin America
- Latin American History on File. New York : Facts on File,
1996.
LOCATION: Mckeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: F1410.C439 1996
Contains "more than 475 maps, graphs, drawings, and other graphic sources of information on the
history of Latin America and the Caribbean."
- New Iberian World: A Documentary History of the Discovery and Settlement
of Latin America to the Early 17th Century. New York: Times Books, 1984.
LOCATION: Mckeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: F1411.I18
"A compilation of documents in English translation ... of Iberian-language sources which treat the
background, discovery, and conquest of the Americas, ca. 1250-1600."
- Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican Cultures: the Civilizations of Mexico
and Central America. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2001. 3 volumes
LOCATION: Mckeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: F1218.6.O95 2001.
Encyclopedia of the mesoamerican cultures of Mexican and Central American countries.
- Real Academía Española
Online verisons of numerous dictionaries published by the Real Academía Española.
return to top
- Voices of the U.S. Latino Experience.
Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2008.
LOCATION: Mckeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: E184.S75 V65 2008
A multi-volume collection of primary documents related to the history of Latina/os in the United States. Time period covered is 1648 through 2007.
return to top
return to top
If you cannot find what you're looking for in the UM Libraries Catalog, try searching these other library catalogs. Use
the links or the Interlibrary Loan page to place ILL requests for items not owned by UM.
- World Cat
OCLC catalog of books, serial publications, media, visual materials, musical scores, and archival materials in libraries worldwide. Includes over 62
million records in more than 400 languages.
- Center for Research Libraries Catalog
CRL is a consortium of North American academic and independent research libraries. The consortium acquires and preserves newspapers,
journals, documents, archives, and other traditional and digital resources for research and teaching and makes them available
to member institutions through Interlibrary Loan.
return to top
Use the following databases to locate journal articles. Be sure to follow the link. This will direct you to one of three sources: 1. the full text of the article, online, 2. the catalog entry for the print version of the journal, or 3. Interlibrary Loan where you can order the article if the online and print versions are not available from the UM Libraries.
If the database does not have the link you will need to check both the Catalog and E-Journals in Research Port to determine if the journal is available through the Libraries. Check the Journals subset of the Catalog and search under the title of the journal, to see if a paper or microform version of the journal is available. Check the E-Journals link in Research Port to determine if an electronic version of the journal is available. If the UM Libraries do not own the journal you can request it through Interlibrary
Loan
- Chicano
Database. 1967 - .
Information on articles and other materials on Mexican-Americans and the broader Latina/o
cultures including Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans and Central American immigrants.
- Ethnic
Newswatch. 1995- .
This full text database "is a comprehensive collection of newspapers, magazines and journals of
the ethnic, minority and native press. It provides a rich collection of articles, editorials, and
review with a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints."
- HAPI Online (Hispanic
American Periodicals Index). 1970-.
HAPI contains citations to articles, book reviews, documents, original literary works, and other
materials from key social science and humanities journals published in Latin America
and throughout the world. Its coverage includes information about Central and South America,
Mexico, the Caribbean, the United States-Mexico border region and Hispanics in the United
States.
- Anthropological
Index Online. 1957- .
"The Anthropological Index Online is based on the journal holdings of The Anthropology Library at the The British Museum (Museum of Mankind) which receives periodicals in all branches of
anthropology, from academic institutions and publishers around the world."
- Anthropological
Literature.
1984- .
An index to the journals received by Tozzer Library, the anthropology library of Harvard
University. It covers the following areas: archaeology, biological/physical anthropology,
cultural/social anthropology, linguistics, and related fields.
- AnthroSource.
Coverage includes a complete electronic archive of all American Anthropological Association journals through 2003 plus current issues for 15 of the AAA's most critical peer-reviewed publications.
return to top
- Art
Abstracts and Art Index Retrospective. 1929 - .
An international index to periodicals, museum bulletins and yearbooks in the areas of
archaeology, architecture, art history, city planning, crafts, films, graphic arts, industrial design,
interior design, landscape architecture, museology and photography.
-
ARTBibliographies Modern. 1974 -.
This database provides comprehensive bibliographic coverage of current literature, articles,
books, dissertations, and exhibition catalogs on art and design. Full coverage of the 19th and
20th century is provided. Abstracts are included.
- Avery Index. 1960 - .
Information on journal articles about architecture and design, including the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation, and interior design and decoration.
- Bibliography of
the History of Art. 1973 - .
Covers the literature on all aspects of European and American (including Latin American) art.
return to top
- Business Source
Complete. 1965 - .
Provides full text of scholarly business journals covering management, economics,
finance, accounting, international business and much more.
- EconLit.
1969- .
An excellent subject index to major, current economics journals.
- EIU ViewsWire.
"The EIU produces objective and timely analysis and forecasts of the political, economic
and business environment in more than 180 countries."
-
RDS
Business Reference Suite.
Includes the following databases which can be searched individually or collectively: Business &
Industry, Business & Management Practices, and TableBase.
return to top
- Academic Search Premier. 1965 - .
Information about articles in the social sciences, humanities, and sciences. Excellent for current events.
-
LANIC Media and
Communications in Latin America.
Provides access to
newspapers, magazines, radio, television, and other media in Latin America.
- Lexis/Nexis.
Full text database offering access to hundreds of files. Sources online include national and
international newspapers, transcripts, magazines, company annual reports, magazines, etc.
return to top
- Education Research Complete.
A bibliographic and full text database covering scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. The database also covers areas of curriculum instruction as well as administration, policy, funding, and related social issues.
-
ERIC.
1966-.
Provides access to information from education and education-related journals as well as a variety of non journal materials, or ERIC documents. ERIC documents are available via microfiche; they are also online from 1993 to the present.
return to top
- Academic Search Premier. 1965 - .
Information about articles in the social sciences, humanities, and sciences. Excellent for current events including film reviews.
- Arts
and Humanities Citation Index (Part of Web of Science). 1996- .
Indexes articles from over the world's leading arts and humanities journals, plus
relevant articles from social science and science journals.
- Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text.
Provides indexing and abstracts for hundreds of publications, as well as full text for more than 100 journals and nearly 100 books. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation and restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
- Film Literature Index. 1976-2001
Print version is more current: Mckeldin Reference Stacks Z5784.M9F45 (1973-2004)
Information about articles in film journals. Includes film reviews as well as critical articles about on film.
- Hanson, Patricia. Film Review Index. Phoenix, AZ: Oryx Press,
1986.
LOCATION: McKeldin Quick Reference
CALL NUMBER: PN1995.F54
This two-volume set provides references to film reviews from 1882-1985. Reviews from trade
publications, journals, newspapers and books are included.
- International Index to Film Periodicals. 1972- .
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: Z5784.M9I55
Indexes approximately 85 film periodicals from around the world.
return to top
return to top
- Health Source: Nursing.
1975- .
Information about articles in nursing and allied health fields.
- Health Source: Consumer Edition.
Information about articles and other publications related to consumer health.
- Medline.
1975- .
Information about articles in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, psychiatry, pre-clinical sciences, medical education and health care planning and administration of services.
return to top
- America: History and Life. 1964- .
Information on articles, books, book reviews, and dissertations on U.S. and Canadian history from prehistory to the present. Excludes works on history of other countries which are covered in Historical Abstracts.
- Historical
Abstracts. 1954- .
Indexes and abstracts journal articles and dissertations in world history from 1450 to the present.
Excludes works on United States and Canadian history which are covered in America: History
and Life.
return to top
- Abyz News Links
Links to over 15,600 newspapers and other news sources from around the world.
- Handbook of Latin American Studies. 1935- .
This annotated bibliography references key books and articles published on various aspects of
Latin American studies in the humanities and the social sciences
- HAPI Online (Hispanic
American Periodicals Index). 1970-.
HAPI contains citations to articles, book reviews, documents, original literary works, and other
materials from key social science and humanities journals published in Latin America
and throughout the world. Its coverage includes information about Central and South America,
Mexico, the Caribbean, the United States-Mexico border region and Hispanics in the United
States.
- LANIC Media and Communications in Latin America
Provides access to newspapers, magazines, radio, television, and other media in Latin America.
- Red de Revistas Científicas de América Latina, el Caribe, España y Portugal (Redalyc)
Full-text database of a selected number of mostly peer reviewed Latin American journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Coverage is from 1993 to the present and articles are published in English, Portuguese, or Spanish.
- Red de Bibliotecas Virtuales de Ciencias Sociales de América Latina y el Caribe de la Red Clacso
Full-text database of a selected number of social science journals from Latin American and the Spanish Caribbean. Coverage is from 2003 to the present. Also provides access to e-books and some theses.
return to top
-
LLBA: Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts. 1973- .
A major indexing and abstracting service in linguistics and related areas. Strong coverage in the
areas of applied linguistics, descriptive linguistics, and psycholinguistics. Also covers syntax,
sociolinguistics, theory of linguistics, interpersonal behavior and communication, semantics,
phonetics, phonology, discourse analysis and poetics.
- MLA
International Bibliography. 1963- .
An international bibliography of literary criticism, linguistics, and
folklore scholarship. Indexes articles, essays, books and book chapters, conference papers, and
dissertations.
return to top
- International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance
Information about articles, books, book articles, dissertations, and newspapers on all aspects of theatre, performance and dance.
- Literature Resource Center. 1984 - .
Full-text database of author biographies and criticism and reviews of authors' works.
- MLA International
Bibliography. 1920's- .
An international bibliography of literary criticism, linguistics, and folklore scholarship. Indexes
articles, essays, books and book chapters, conference papers, and dissertations.
return to top
- Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online
A comprehensive online resource devoted to music research of all the world's peoples.
- Music
Index Online. 1979- .
Covers international music periodicals.
- Oxford Music Online
Provides full-text access to the following standard reference sources: The New Grove Dictionary of Music & Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, The Oxford Dictionary of Music, and The Oxford Companion to Music.
- RILM Music
The most important scholarly index/abstract in the field of music. Indexes all forms of scholarly
works including articles, books, bibliographies, catalogs, dissertations, films and videos,
conference proceedings and more.
return to top
- EIU ViewsWire
"The EIU produces objective and timely analysis and forecasts of the political, economic
and business environment in more than 180 countries."
-
International Political Science Abstracts. 1989- .
Indexes and abstracts articles from political science periodicals
published throughout the world.
- PAIS
International. 1937- .
Information on books, pamphlets, government publications, reports and periodicals related to
domestic as well as foreign economic and social conditions, public administration and
international relations.
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. 1975 - .
Provides references and abstracts from public affairs magazines, major newspapers, professional
journals, and books devoted to politics and political analyis.
return to top
- PsychINFO. 1887- .
This is the primary indexing and abstracting service in the field of psychology and related fields.
Indexes journal articles, books and book chapters.
return to top
- ATLA
Religion Index. 1949- .
Index to journal articles, essays in multi-author works and book reviews in the field of religion.
- Catholic Periodical and Literature Index. 1930- .
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: AI3.C321
Index to over 130 periodicals. Excellent coverage of the Catholic Church in Latin America and
the Caribbean.
return to top
-
Family and Society
Studies Worldwide. 1970- .
This database covers policy and practice literature in the fields of family science, human ecology
and human development. It indexes professional journals, books, popular literature, conference
papers, government reports and other sources.
- SocIndex. 1895- .
Indexes and abstracts journals, books, and other materials in the field of sociology and related
disciplines.
return to top
- Contemporary
Women's Issues. 1992- .
Covers numerous subject areas pertaining to women's issues, such as lesbian concerns, family life, human rights, violence and exploitation and other related topics.
- GenderWatch
. 1970 -.
Full text database comprised primarily of the many ongoing periodicals that deal with gender
issues, including academic and scholarly journals, regional publications, magazines, newspapers,
newsletters, booklets and reports. Contains archival material, in some cases as far back as
1974.
-
Women in Politics
Bibliographic Database
Online index to books and articles on the subject of women in politics; international in scope.
- Women's
Studies International. 1972- .
Covers issues in women's studies including feminist theory and history, family, mental & physical health, prejudice & gender discrimination, law & legislation, employment etc.
return to top
The following web resources may help you connect with useful information on your topic. Be sure to evaluate the authority
and reliability of all information found on the Internet. See Evaluating
Web Sites or the Checklist for Evaluating Web Sites if you need
help.
The following portals link to hundreds of Latina/o web sites
return to top
The following are among the nation's leading Chicano and Latino archives and libraries. Their collections include large repositories of primary and secondary source material, some of which are available in digital form.
return to top
- Citing Sources Using the MLA Handbook
- Gibaldi, Joseph. MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers.
New York: Modern Language Association of America, 2003.
LOCATION: McKeldin Quick Reference
CALL NUMBER: LB2369.G53 2003.
For undergraduate students
- Gibaldi, Joseph. MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing.
New York: Modern Language Association of America, 1998.
LOCATION: McKeldin Quick Reference
CALL NUMBER: PN147.G444 1998.
For graduate students and scholars
- Citing Sources Using the APA Style Manual
- Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association.
Washington, D.C.: American Psychological Association, 1994.
LOCATION: McKeldin Quick Reference
CALL NUMBER: BF76.7.P83 1994
- Writer's
Handbook
Includes a section on documentation styles
return to top
|