|
last revised August 10, 2006
Legal Research -- Case Law Guide and Resources
Research resources compiled and web page developed by Travis Johnson and Gerri Foudy, Social Sciences Team, McKeldin Library
For additional
assistance, ask a librarian at the Service Plus Information Desk at McKeldin
Library, or contact Travis Johnson
(travismj@umd.edu), law and economics
librarian.
The subscription databases and electronic journals mentioned in this guide are accessible off campus via ResearchPort using your campus ID card barcode number.
Contents:
Primer on the US Legal System
The law comes into being in two principal ways - through legislative action and through court action.
- Legislative: Each state and the federal government passes laws through their various legislative bodies (Congress, state legislatures). These are called Statutes (U.S. Statutes at Large) and arranged in subject order in Codes (the U.S. Code, the Annotated Code of Maryland).
- Court System: Each state and the federal government has its own court system, its own legislature and its own administrative agencies. Common law is set by court decisions, and often involves interpretation of statutory law for specific situations.
- Common Law System:
- Judicial Decisions and Precedent:
Doctrine of stare decisis: "a deliberate or
solemn decision of a court or judge, made after full argument on a question of law fairly arising in a case and necessary to its determination, is an authority or binding precedent in the same court, or in other courts of lower ranks within the same jurisdiction in subsequent cases where the very same point is again presented."
- Judicial Hierarchy:
A higher court can always overturn or revise a lower court's opinion if a case is appealed and considered ("granted certiorari"). Also, a court may change its mind and reverse itself on an issue later in time when a subsequent case raises the same issue. "Case law" generally refers to the written opinions of appellate courts on specific issues raised in litigated disputes. Only a tiny fraction of court cases result in such opinions.
Court Structures
| Generic | Federal Courts | State Courts |
| High Court | Supreme Court | Court of Appeals |
| Intermediate Appellate Court(s) | Courts of Appeal (Circuit Courts) | Court of Special Appeals and Circuit Courts |
Trial Level or General Jurisdiction | District Courts |
District Courts |
- Issues of fact (e.g., a driver ran a stop sign) are determined at the trial court level as well as issues of law (e.g., a judge's opinion on the admissibility of certain evidence). If a trial judge issues a written opinion on an issue of law, it may be published and included within "case law." Note: most trial court actions do not produce any written opinions, and are rarely published.
- A trial judge's ruling on an issue of law may be appealed to a higher court, usually the intermediate appellate court. This court's decision may be further appealed to a higher court. The highest court in each jurisdiction is known as the court of last resort. In the federal system this court is the U.S. Supreme Court; in Maryland it is the Court of Appeals. Not all appellate decisions are published; however, virtually all decisions of the courts of last resort are reported in full. If the court refused to hear the case, you will see the notation "cert. denied."
return to top
Steps in Legal Research
First, if you don't have a research question and are looking for something
of current interest to the legal community, there are a few places to
browse for "hot" or interesting current topics. One such source
is the newsfeed from the Paperchase
project of the Jurist website
from the University of Pittsburgh School of Law.
The Legal Information Institute
(LII) from Cornell Law School also has a useful "law events in the
news" section, as do some of the other general legal websites
listed below.
Once you have an idea for a research question, it will be easier and
more effective to organize your research in a logical way. Legal research
can become daunting if you begin by reading a few cases and following
citations before establishing some understanding of the context and background
of the legal issues involved. We recommend following these steps when
you begin your research:
- Start with general secondary sources that
can give you background on an issue or help you to identify a research
question.. Begin right away to keep an organized list of citations or
titles of cases, legislation or articles that you come across in your
research and seem to be critical to your topic -- it will be very helpful
to have later when you start reading cases or legislation.
Legal Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
-- either general or subject-specific, can be a very good place to
start by learning about key cases and legislation. Legal encyclopedias
for both lawyers and legal research newcomers are available, depending
on the level of complexity needed. Many encyclopedias and other reference
books are available that aren't listed here, you can search the catalog
for others on your topic (possible words to use in your search for
these items are handbook, encyclopedia, dictionary, or guide):
Dictionaries
- Black, Henry Campbell. Black's Law Dictionary 7th ed. St.
Paul, Minn.: West Pub. Co., 1999.
The most widely used law dictionary, includes authoritative definitions
and often provides cites to the court case that defined a particular
word or term.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: KF156.B53 1999
- Hedges, Richard. Bioethics, Health Care, and the Law : A Dictionary.
Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 1999.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: R725.5.H44 1999
- Arnest, Lauren Krohn. Children, Young Adults, and the Law :
A Dictionary. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 1998.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: KF479.A68A76 1998
- Donahue, Debra L. Conservation and the Law: A Dictionary.
Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 1998.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: KF5505.A68D66 1998
- Taylor, Bonnie B. Education and the Law: A Dictionary Santa
Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 1996.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: KF4117.T39 1996
- Patton-Hulce, Vicki. Environment and the Law: A Dictionary.
Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 1995.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: KF3775.A68P38 1995
- Stewart, Chuck. Homosexuality and the Law: A Dictionary.
Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 2001.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: KF4754.5.A68S74 2001
- Hing, Bill Ong. Immigration and the Law : A Dictionary.
Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 1999.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: KF4817.H56 1999
- Sokolow, Gary A. Native Americans and the Law: A Dictionary.
Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 2000.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: KF8203.6.S66 2000
- Anglim, Christopher. Religion and the Law : A Dictionary.
Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 1999.
LOCATION: McKeldin Stacks
CALL NUMBER: KF4865.A68A54 1999
Encyclopedias
- West's Encyclopedia of American Law. Minneapolis/St. Paul:
West Publishing Co., 1998.
Good law dictionary for non-lawyers. Arranged alphabetically by issue
with summaries of key legislation and decisions. Appendix has sections
on: the foundations of US law, English law, origins of the US government,
and information on major civil rights cases.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: KF154.W47 1998 v. 1-12
- Phelps, Shirelle, ed. Gale Encyclopedia of Everyday Law. Detroit:
Thomson/Gale, 2003.
"Containing approximately 200 articles, the Encyclopedia includes: brief
descriptions of each issue's historical background, covering important
statutes and cases; profiles of various U.S. laws and regulations; details
of how laws and regulations vary from state to state, and; comprehensive
bibliographies, including print and Web resources and lists of relevant
organizations."
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: KF387 .G27 2003 v. 1-2
- Levy, Leonard W., ed. Encyclopedia of the American Constitution.
New York: Free Press, 2000.
Information on landmark cases, documents, and processes.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: KF4548.E53 2000 v. 1-6
- Mikula, Mark and L. Mpho Mabunda, eds. Great American Court Cases.
Detroit: Gale Group, 1999.
Four volumes: Individual Liberties; Criminal Justice; Equal Protection
and Family Law; and Business and Government.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: KF385.A4G68 1999 v. 1 - 4
- Johnson, John W. Historic U.S. Court Cases: An Encyclopedia.
2nd. ed. New York: Routledge, 2001.
Organized by broad topics, with selected bibliographies.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: KF385.A4J64 2001 v. 1-2
- Johansen, Bruce Elliott, ed. Encyclopedia of Native American Legal
Tradition. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1998.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: KF8204.E53 1998
- Anzalone, Christopher A., ed. Encyclopedia of Supreme Court Quotations.
Armonk, NY: M.E. Sharpe, 2000.
Quotations on specific subjects and points of law taken from Supreme
Court decisions.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: KF8742.A35E529 2000
- Finkelman, Paul, ed. Religion and American Law: An Encyclopedia.
New York: Garland Pub., 2000.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: KF4783.A68R45 2000
More Exhaustive Legal Encyclopedias for Lawyers
- West's Maryland Law Encyclopedia : Based on Maryland Statutes
and Cases. St. Paul, Minn.: West Group, 1960-
Dozens of volumes arranged by broad topic, with very specific entries
searchable by index or detailed tables of contents. Explanatory articles
and many citations to Maryland cases and statutes.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks or Maryland Room Reference (most
up-to-date copy is in Maryland Room)
CALL NUMBER: KFM1265.W4
- American Jurisprudence 2d (AmJur 2d). Rochester, NY: Lawyers
Cooperative, 1990 - .
Legal encyclopedia on state and federal law; updated with pocket parts
in the back of each volume. Provides comprehensive research references
for each topic.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: KF385.A2
Also available in Westlaw Campus Research
- Corpus Juris Secundum (CJS). Brooklyn, NY: American Law Book
Co., 1938 -.
Legal encyclopedia arranged by title (subject) of American law. Kept
up-to-date by cumulative annual pocket parts, replacement volumes,
and additional, extra numbered and lettered volumes.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: KF100.C63
Other Works
- American Law Reports (ALR) West Group.
ALR collects and analyzes key cases from all US jurisdictions that are focused on specific topics, and summarizes the important information about the cases to illustrate the current court interpretation of specific statutes or points of law.
These volumes are available in print, but our copies are out of date and they can be difficult to use in hard copy. Use Westlaw Campus Research for access (this works well in conjunction with Am Jur 2d because ALRs are better understood if you have a little background on the broader topic, and ALR citations are linked from Am Jur 2d online through Westlaw)
- Deschenaux, Joanne, T. and others, eds. Maryland Damages.
Bernan's Case Summaries. Lanham, MD: Bernan Press, 1998.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: KFM1395.A59M365 1998
- Deschenaux, Joanne, T. and others, eds. Maryland Family Law.
Bernan's Case Summaries. Lanham, MD: Bernan Press, 1998.
LOCATION: Hornbake Maryland Room, Maryland Reference
CALL NUMBER: KFM1761.A58M37 1998
- Eng, Vincent A., and others, eds. Maryland Criminal Law.
Bernan's Case Summaries. Lanham, MD: Bernan Press, 1998.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: KFM1761.A59M37 1998
- Jermyn, Pamela A., Steven Douglas Najarian, and James J. Patton,
eds. Maryland Tort Law. Bernan's Case Summaries. Lanham,
MD: Bernan Press, 1997.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: KFM1395.A59M37 1997
- Mary Miles Prince. Bieber's Dictionary of Legal Abbreviations.
Prince's 5th ed. Buffalo, NY: W.S. Hein, 2001.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference, Quick Reference Shelf
CALL NUMBER: KF246.B46 2001
- Statsky, William P, et al. West's Legal Desk Reference.
St. Paul: West Pub. Co., 1991.
Includes some abbreviations, basic citing guidelines, definitions
of some legal terms, legal directory information, and guidance for
legal practitioners.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference, Quick Reference Shelf
CALL NUMBER: KF387.W492 1991
- Leiter, Richard A., Ed. National Survey of States Laws.
Detroit: Thomson Gale, 2003.
Provides summaries for all 50 states' laws; the chapter on family
laws contains information about abortion, adoption, annulment and
prohibited marriage, child abuse, child custody, grounds for divorce,
marital property, marriage age requirements, and protective orders.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: KF386 .N38 2003
Westlaw Campus Research and other Non-Lexis, high-quality databases and websites
-- I specify non-Lexis because Westlaw does a much better job of incorporating secondary sources, and starting out in Lexis will quickly become overwhelming if you don't yet understand
the breadth of your topic. If you didn't start out with these resources, try Westlaw Campus Research now, using the secondary sources (Am Jur 2d and ALR first -- wait to do Law Reviews until you've focused your topic) and following the linked footnotes and other citations.
- LII: Legal Information Institute
Cornell Law School site with information on laws by topic (example:
family law), and constitutions and codes, court decisions, and law
by source or jurisdiction. Home page tracks major current law events
and big decisions on controversial or important topics.
- Library of Congress
Guide to Law Online
An exhaustive guide to legal resources that are available online for
free. Primarily provides links to online legal documents, but also
includes some subject-specific tips and research guidance from the
law librarians at the Library of Congress and others.
http://www.loc.gov/law/guide/index.html
- Cornell
Legal Research Encyclopedia
An organized collection of links to legal information, organized by
broad subject.
http://www.lawschool.cornell.edu/library/encyclopedia/
- Findlaw
Comprehensive site with a legal subject index (example: Communications
Law) and information on federal, state and foreign law. Click on "Legal
Subjects" for a list -- not much editorial control here, so be careful.
http://www.findlaw.com/
- NOLO Legal
Encyclopedia
Plain-language encyclopedia intended for non-lawyers, published by
a company that sells do-it-yourself law materials.
http://www.nolo.com/encyclopedia/index.html
Books -- legal treatises and other monographs that treat
legal issues in depth can give excellent background and provide pointers
to a lot of other scholarly resources. Use the catalog
to find useful books:
Library Catalog
Search the libraries' catalog
for books and documents on your topic. Start with a "words anywhere"
search.
Example: Sentenc* AND (black or african american)
You can also use the catalog to find out whether the Libraries subscribe
to a particular journal. Click on the "JOURNALS" section of the catalog,
and do a "title beginning with..." search on the journal title (NOT
the article title.)
Example: Family Law Quarterly
- Start looking for articles that are specific to your
topic. You should be getting a little more focused in your search now
that you understand the topic a little and know more keywords to search
on and the names of key cases, people or legislation.
- Law Reviews -- these are the equivalent of scholarly,
academic journals for the law. The articles are generally very long
and research-intensive, and will provide many footnotes to follow
up for additional research. Almost all recent law review articles are available
full text in Westlaw Campus Research or in Lexis-Nexis
Academic. In Westlaw, restricting by state will only get journals published in that state, and the search techniques are more complex but footnote and other resource linking is stronger. In Lexis, try searching by title or by "at least 3" (instead of
keyword) to help narrow down results lists for popular topics.
Again, keep note of citations to cases or legislation or other articles
that seem important to your topic.
- Other periodicals -- beyond law reviews, there
are other academic and non-academic publications that publish articles
on legal issues, many of which can be more accessible than law reviews.
Try some of the other databases listed below,
or others from the "general/multidisciplinary", "public affairs"
or "government" lists on the libraries' database pages. Searching
by name of well-known legislation, or by the parties in a case,
will generally help to narrow your search. Also available in Lexis-Nexis
are newspapers ("General News") and legal newspapers, newsletters
and magazines ("Legal News").
Note: To access these subscription databases
on campus, simply click on the links below. Otherwise, click on the
"Off-Campus Access" link below and log in to Research Port using your
14-digit campus identification number (on the back of your campus
ID card) and your last name.
- Westlaw Campus Research [Off-campus access] (need to agree to license restrictions before accessing)
Westlaw does a good job of integrating secondary and primary legal sources. Start with the encyclopedia (American Jurisprudence 2d), and move through ALRs and Law Reviews for good subject background. All published federal and state case opinions are in Westlaw as well as in Lexis, below, but our version of Westlaw is easier to use, has a fuller citation linking (and checking) system and includes more briefs.
- Lexis-Nexis Academic
Universe [Off-campus
Access]
Legal Research section has full-text of law reviews and legal
newspapers, newsletters and magazines, federal and state case
law, Shepard's citations for US Supreme Court cases, federal
code and regulations, and state code. "Get a case" section is
quickest way to find any U.S. published court decision if you
know party names or citation. It also has mostly full-text access
to US and international newspapers (including the Washington
Post and the New York Times) , journals, wire services,
and news transcripts.
- Academic
Search Premier (EBSCOHost) [Off-campus
Access]
Abstracts and some full-text articles from scholarly journals
in many disciplines; includes articles from some law reviews.
- CQ
Researcher
[Off-campus Access]
Full-text coverage of the CQ (Congressional Quarterly) Researcher
publication from 1992 to the present. Each weekly issue covers
a "hot" public policy issue in depth, with extensive
background information and lengthy bibliographies.
- CQ Supreme Court Collection
[Off-campus Access]
Browse for Supreme Court cases on interesting or controversial
public policy topics, or search for cases by subject or by case
names or citations. Also includes a citation generator.
- Read the actual Law -- When you understand the topic
area pretty well and know which are the key cases or other documents,
you're ready to read the actual publications which make up the law.
Case Law and Statutory (legislative) Law are both available in Lexis-Nexis and in Westlaw, as well as in printed codes and reporters,
and both are much easier to find if you know the exact citation or title.
When reading cases or legislation, keep an eye out for Headnotes,
footnotes, and annotations. These are explanatory materials which will
help make sense of the legal wording and explain key concepts or cite
other resources you may find helpful for more information. These supplemental
materials are usually, with the exception sometimes of footnotes, not
actually part of the law. Westlaw's KeyCite can also be used to find further
cases which cite any case you are interested in, or which overturn,
question or follow the law in that case. (A similar service, Shepard's, is available for SUPREME
COURT ONLY on Lexis).
Federal legislative history, including the development of a law and any hearings, amendments or reports issued during congressional debate, is available through Lexis-Nexis Congressional, and can often be used to research the intent of the law's drafters.
Primary Sources
- Lexis-Nexis Academic
Universe [Off-campus
Access]
Legal Research section has full-text of law reviews and legal newspapers,
newsletters and magazines, federal and state case law, Shepard's
citations for US Supreme Court cases, federal code and regulations,
and state code. "Get a case" section is quickest way to find any U.S.
published court decision if you know party names or citation. It also
has mostly full-text access to US and international newspapers (including
the Washington Post and the New York Times) , journals,
wire services, and news transcripts.
- Westlaw Campus Research [Off-campus access] (need to agree to license restrictions before accessing)
Westlaw does a good job of integrating secondary and primary legal sources. Start with the encyclopedia (American Jurisprudence 2d), and move through ALRs and Law Reviews for good subject background. All published federal and state case opinions are in Westlaw as well as in Lexis, below, but our version of Westlaw is easier to use, has a fuller citation linking (and checking) system and includes more briefs.
- Lexis-Nexis Congressional
[Off-campus
Access]
Comprehensive access to US legislative information including legislative
histories, an index of congressional publications from 1970 to the
present, and congressional hearing testimonies.
- Maryland Legal
Links
Comprehensive site includes links to the Maryland Code and the Code
of Maryland Agency Regulations (COMAR) as well as selected county
and municipal code websites.
http://www.lawlib.state.md.us/mdgen.html
- Repeat! -- cases and legislation that you will read
might open up more questions or send you down slightly different paths
to find more pertinent information. Consult those encyclopedias, dictionaries,
databases and websites that you have found helpful again, or search
out citations to new cases or statutes you have found along the way.
Citing Legal Resources
Legal citations are very specifically formatted and include many abbreviations, and they can be a challenge to create or understand.
- The Bluebook : a uniform system of citation, 17th ed. Cambridge, Mass.: Harvard Law Review Association, 2000.
LOCATION: MCKREF QCKREF
CALL NUMBER: KF245.B58 2000
This is the basic legal citation handbook. Includes great detail but also provides a short list of the basic rules. Also includes helpful tables of abbreviations.
- Introduction to Basic Legal Citation
Cornell site based on the 17th edition of the "Bluebook" and other legal citation sources.
http://www.law.cornell.edu/citation/
- Reading legal citations, an online guide complied by the Boston College Law Library, provides a more concise guide to the basics of citing legal sources and deciphering citations.
http://www.bc.edu/schools/law/library/research/researchguides/citations/.
return to top
The Libraries have prepared guides to Evaluating Web Sources and Citing Electronic Resources.
return to top
|