Last revised: August 31, 2011
LESBIAN, GAY, BISEXUAL, AND TRANSGENDER STUDIES
BIBLIOGRAPHIC GUIDE TO REFERENCE MATERIALS
Scope: This guide supplements the primary LGBT Studies guide, the Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Studies Research Guide and Tutorial. This supplemental guide is intended to provide lists of reference materials (e.g., specialized dictionaries and encyclopedias, guidebooks, handbooks, indexes, bibliographies, biographical resources, etc.) that will assist students and faculty in their research of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender topics.
Table of Contents
return to top
The topics of some of your assignments may require that you look at printed indexes in addition to the Research Port indexes. A good example is an assignment that requires you to find articles in popular magazines or newspapers that were written at the time a past event occurred. Such assignments may lead to you look at the Research Port newspaper indexes (e.g., Lexis Nexis Academic, New York Times Historical, and Washington Post Historical), but in addition, you may wish to look at the following printed indexes:
- Chicago Tribune Index. Wooster, OH: Newspaper Indexing Center, Micro Photo Division, Bell & Howell Co., 1972-1978. Bell & Howell's Index to the Chicago Tribune. Wooster, OH: Newspaper Indexing Center, Micro Photo Division, Bell & Howell Co., 1979-1982. Chicago Tribune Index. New York, New York Times, 1982-1994.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: AI21.C5
Index to the Chicago Tribune newspaper. (Note: The Libraries subscribe to this newspaper. Issues from 1972 to the present are available on microfilm in the Periodicals Room at McKeldin Library. The call number is AN34.C5T7.)
- Los Angeles Times Index. Wooster, OH: Newspaper Indexing Center, Micro Photo Division, Bell & Howell Co., 1972-1978.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: AI21.L6
Index to the Los Angeles Times newspaper. (Note: The Libraries subscribe to this newspaper. Issues of 1886-1890, 1913-1947- and 1972 to the present are available on microfilm in the Periodicals Room at McKeldin Library. The call number is AN25.L6T5.)
- Official Index to the Times. London: Times Pub., 1914-1957.Index to the Times. London: Times Pub., 1957-1972.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: AI21.T46
Index to the Times of London newspaper. (Note: The Libraries subscribe to this newspaper. Issues from 1788 to the present are available on microfilm in the Periodicals Room at McKeldin Library. The call number is AN183.L6T5).
- Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature. Minneapolis, MN: H.W. Wilson Co., 1904- .
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: AI3.R48
Index to popular journals and magazines.
- Baker, Paul. Fantabulosa: a dictionary of Polari and gay slang. London; New york: Continuum, 2002.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PE3727.G39 B34 2002.
Dictionary to gay Polari (special vocabulary that served as a secret language to specific groups, particularly in England) and gay slang.
- Conner, Randy P., David Hatfield Sparks, and Mariya Sparks. Cassell's encyclopedia of queer myth, symbol, and spirit : gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender lore. Herndon, VA: Cassell, 1997.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: HQ75.15.C66 1997
More than 1500 articles that identify gay/lesbian/bisexual/transgendered elements in spiritual traditions and religion, and in the arts.
- Dynes, Wayne R. Homosexuality: a research guide. New York: Garland Pub., 1987.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: HQ76.25.D96 1987
Dated, but extensive (i.e. more than 2500 items) annotated bibliography of homosexuality and lesbianism.
- Ellis, Alan, Liz Highleyman, Kevin Schaub, and Melissa White, eds. The Harvey Milk Institute's guide to lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer Internet research. New York, NY: Harrington Park Press, 2002.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: HQ76.25.H375 2002
- Frayser, Suzanne G. and Thomas J. Whitby. Studies in human sexuality: a selected guide. Englewood, Colorado: Libraries Unlimited, 1995.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: HQ21.F78 1995
Abstracts of more than 600 books.
- Garber, Linda. Lesbian Sources: a bibliography of periodical articles 1970-1990. New York: Garland, 1993.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks and McKeldin Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: HQ75.5.G37 1993
Bibliography, arranged in numerous helpful categories, that provides citations to older articles that are not readily found through online indexes.
- Gates, Gary J. and Jason Ost. The gay and lesbian atlas. Washington, DC: Urban Institute Press, 2004.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: HQ76.3 .U5G355 2004
Atlas that analyzes census data to create maps, lists, tables and statistics that detail the demographics of "same-sex unmarried partner couples" in U.S. cities, counties and states. This is a unique and useful resource.
- Gerstner, David A., ed., Routledge international encyclopedia of queer culture. London : Routledge, 2006.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: HQ76.96 .R68 2006 .
Encyclopedia with more than 1,000 alphabetic entries that look at lgbt cultural life and production from 1945 to the present. Has good international emphasis.
- Haggerty, George E., ed. Gay histories and cultures: an encyclopedia. New York, NY: Garland Pub., 2000.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: HQ75.13.G37 2000.
This is the second of the two volumes of the Encyclopedia of lesbian and gay histories and cultures. Comprehensive; considered the standard in its field.
- Harris, Paul, ed. The queer press guide 2000. New York, NY: Painted Leaf Press, 1999.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: HQ75.9.H37 1999
A state-by-state listing of every g/l/b/t press resource. Includes extensive international listings. Also provides contact information and articles on relevant press and publishing associations.
- Hawley, John C., editor. LGBTQ America today: an encyclopedia. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2009.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: HQ73.3.U6L43 2009.
Encyclopedia of more that 600 essays that cover a wide range of topics that deal LGBTQ life in the U.S. during the past sixty years. Has an emphasis on the popular and contemporary.
- Hogan, Steve. Completely queer: the gay and lesbian encyclopedia. New York, NY: Henry Holt, 1998.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: HQ75.H63 1998
More than 600 informative entries that focus on the gay and lesbian subculture or the latter half of the Twentieth Century. Also contains useful lists (e.g. annual winners of a number of different gay literary awards), a 75 page chronology of the history of "queer experiences," and entertaining facts (e.g. famous homophobes, gay rights slogans, and Gay Games statistics).
- Malti-Douglas, Fedwa, ed. Encyclopedia of sex and gender. Detroit, MI: Macmillan Reference, 2007.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: HQ16.E52 2007
Extensive (730 entries written by contributors from 19 countries)four-volume encyclopedia that covers a wide range of interdisciplinary topics that are relevant to the broad subject of sex and gender.
- Murphy, Timothy, ed. Reader's guide to lesbian and gay studies. Chicago, IL: Fitzroy Dearborn, 2000.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: HQ75.15.R43 2000
Groundbreaking annotated 720 page bibliography of over 400 titles by 223 scholars in lesbian and gay studies. The diverse topics reflect the multidisciplinary nature of the field.
- Nordquist, Joan. Queer theory: a bibliography. Santa Cruz, CA.: Reference and Research Services, 1997.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: HQ75.16.U6N76 1997
Bibliography of theoretical aspects of bisexuality, transsexualism, and transgenderism.
- O'Brien, Jodi, editor. Encyclopedia of gender and society. Los Angeles, CA: SAGE, 2009.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: HQ1115.E54 2009.
Encyclopedia that looks at gender issues, people, and events in contemporary society. Covering a wide range of gender topics, this encyclopedia includes many items of particular interest to LGBT researchers. Examples of such topics include Bisexuality, "Don't Ask, Don't Tell," Drag King, Homosexuality, Homophobia, Lesbian Feminism, Lesbian Separatism, Queer, Sexual Identities & Socialization, and Transgender Political Organization.
- Prono, Luca. Encyclopedia of gay and lesbian popular culture. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 2008.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: HQ75.13.P76 2008
Almost 100 thematic and biographical entries of queer subjects in film, television, theater, popular literature, music, and sport.
- Richardson, Diane, and Steven Seidman, ed. Handbook of lesbian and gay studies Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage, 2002.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: HQ75.15 .H36 2002.
26 essays that discuss the issue and debates within gay and lesbian studies.
- Rodgers, Bruce. The queens' vernacular; a gay lexicon. San Francisco, CA: Straight Arrow Books, 1972.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: HQ9.R63
Well-known dictionary of gay slang of the pre-Stonewall years. Well-researched.
- Smith, Patricia Juliana, ed. The book of gay and lesbian quotations: a collection of 3,000 thoughts, insights, views, and perceptions from antiquity to the present. Collingdale, PA: DIANE Publishing Company, 1999.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: (on order)
A vast collection of historical and literary quotations that provide a record of glbt sensibilities from around the world and over many centuries. This useful resource provides an entertaining look at queer wit and wisdom that ranges from Gore Vidal to Harvey Fierstein and Sappho to Melissa Etheridge.
- Stern, Keith. Queers in history: the comprehensive encyclopedia of historical gays, lesbians and bisexuals, and transgenders. Dallas, TX: BenBella, 2009.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: HQ75.13.S74 2009.
Encyclopedia of entertaining, irreverent, but well-documented bios of persons who are or were or widely suspected to be gay, lesbian, bisexual or transexual.
- Stewart, Chuck. Gay and lesbian issues: a reference handbook. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 2003.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Controversial Issues
CALL NUMBER: HQ76.25 .S748 2003
This handbook covers the wide range of issues that affect the gay/lesbian community, including AIDS, child custody and adoption, employment marriage, the military, and public attitudes. In addition to providing information on these individual issues, this book includes chapters that cover gay history, a chronology of the gay movement, biographical sketches, legal information, and a directory of organizations."
- Tin, Louis-Georges, ed.; translated by Marek Redburn The dictionary of homophobia: a global history of gay and lesbian experience. Vancouver, B.C.: Arsenal Pulp; London: Turnaround, 2008.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: HQ76.4.D5313 2008
This 2008 translation of Dictionnaire de l"Homophobie deals with the history of legal, political and social mistreatment of gays and lesbians worldwide. 70 authors from 15 countries wrote this book's 165 essays. They are sorted in the following categories: theories used to justify homophobia; agents and victims of homophobia throughout history; individual nations and regions; institutions and environments where homophobia is manifested; and topics found in antiqueer rhetoric.
- Williams, Mary E., ed. Homosexuality: opposing viewpoints. San Diego, CA: Greenhaven Press, 1999.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Controversial Issues Shelf
CALL NUMBER: HQ76.3 U5H675 1999
Part of the "Opposing Viewpoints" series that presents debate topics and all types of opinions as a means of stimulating skills in critical reading and thinking.
- Zimmerman, Bonnie ed. Lesbian histories and cultures: an encyclopedia. New York, NY: Garland Pub., 2000.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: HQ75.5 .L4395 2000
This is the first of the two volumes of the Encyclopedia of lesbian and gay histories and cultures. Comprehensive, covering an extensive range of diverse lesbian studies topics.
- Gunn, Drewey Wayne. The gay male sleuth in print and film: a history and annotated bibliography (see entry in the following section, "English and Comparative Literature Reference books."
- Harbin Billy J., Kimberley Bell Marra, and Robert A. Schanke, eds. Gay & lesbian theatrical legacy: a biographical dictionary of major figures in American stage history in the pre-Stonewall era. Ann Arbor, MI: University of Michigan Press, 2005.
LOCATION: Performing Arts Library Reference
CALL NUMBER: PN1995.9.H55S74 1994
Comprehensive (400 pages) dictionary of biographies of more than 100 important actors, directors, playwrights, composers, choreographers, dancers, etc. in the history of the American theater.
- Howes, Keith. Broadcasting it: an encyclopaedia of homosexuality on film, radio and TV in the UK 1923-1993. London, UK; New York, NY: Cassell, 1993.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PN1995.9.H55 H7 1993
Over 3000 entries that pertain to English language (i.e. British, but also some U.S. and Australian) cinema, television, and radio. Includes a wide range of information on such things as persons in the professions, characters in fiction, character names, film and program titles, and abstract subject essays. Both useful and great fun.
- Jackson, Claire and Peter Tapp, eds. The bent lens: a world guide to gay & lesbian film. St. Kilda, Victoria: Australian Catalogue Company, 1997.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PN1995.9.H55B46 1997
Comprised of international film and video listings, with helpful indexes by country, genre, lesbian/gay themes, and directors. Also contains interesting essays, e.g., on "European/Australian/Asian cinema, gays and Hollywood musicals, and lethal women (a.k.a. lesbian vampires)."
- Murray, Raymond Images in the dark: an encyclopedia of gay and lesbian film and video New York, NY: Penguin Group, 1996.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: (on order)
This encyclopedia contains reviews of more than 3,000 films by or about gays and lesbians. It also includes brief biographies and photos of key actors, directors, writers, and other artists. Well-organized and indexed, it offers helpful listings (e.g. "lesbian," "gay," "transgender," "bisexual," etc.) and well-written descriptions.
- Olson, Jenni. The ultimate guide to lesbian and gay film and video. New York, NY: Serpent's Tail, 1996
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PN1995.9.H55 U48 1996.
Information on more than 2000 short and feature films. Compiled by former codirector of the San Franciso International Lesbian and Gay Film Festival.
- Parish, James Robert. Gays and lesbians in mainstream cinema: plots, critiques, casts, and credits for 272 theatrical and made-for-television hollywood releases. Jefferson, N.C.: McFarland & Co., 1993
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PN1995.9.H55P37 1993
A thorough filmography of both Hollywood and made-for-TV films. Includes full cast and character lists, plot synopses, production information, and excerpts from reviews.
- Stewart, Stephen. Gay hollywood film & video guide: 75 years of gay & lesbian images in the movies. Laguna Hills, California: Companion Publications, 1994.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PN1995.9.H55S74 1994
Information, including plot outlines, quotes, etc. of more than 500 films.
- Summers, Claude J. ed. The queer encyclopedia of film and television. San Franciso, CA: Cleis Press, 2006.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PN1590.G39Q44 2005
Another installment of Summer's Queer Encyclopedia series (see following entries), this volume covers a wide variety film and television topics. Though not comprehensive, it is well-indexed, and certainly entertaining.
- Summers, Claude J. ed. The queer encyclopedia of music, dance, & musical theater. San Franciso, CA: Cleis Press, 2004.
LOCATION: Performing Arts Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: ML100.Q44 2004
An encyclopedia that is simultaneously entertaining and scholarly. Comprised of more than 200 well-indexed signed essays covering topics such as �Composers and Lyricists,� �Set and Costume Design,� and �Musical Films.� Examples of the individuals cited range from Little Richard to Tchaikovsky and from Dusty Springfield to Hildegard of Bingen.
- Summers, Claude J. ed. The queer encyclopedia of the visual arts. San Franciso, CA: Cleis Press, 2004.
LOCATION: Art Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: N72.H64Q44 2004
Like its companion performing arts encyclopedia, this reference book is comprised of approximately 200 alphabetically arranged articles, that end with bibliographies and cross references. Written by respective experts in subject fields that include painting, sculpture, architecture and photography.
General Literary Reference Books
- Bennett, Suzanne and Jane T. Peterson. Women playwrights of diversity: a bio-bibliographical sourcebook. Westport, Connecticut: Greenwood Press, 1997.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PS338.W6P48 1997
Biographical information, listing and description of plays, and bibliographies of "women playwrights of diversity," including lesbian playwrights.
- Bloom, Harold, ed. Lesbian and bisexual fiction writers. Philadelphia: Chelsea House, 1997.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PS153.L46L43 1997
Offering much in-depth information often not found elsewhere, this excellent tool provides author biographies and critical extracts about each writer's works. Covers 19th and 20th Century American and British authors.
- Bosman, Ellen. Gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgendeed literature: a genre guide. Westport, CT: Libraries Unlimited, 2008.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PS153.G38B57 2008
Provides information about more than 1,100 titles in 20th Century lgbt literature, organized by genres (e.g. general fiction, historical fiction, romance, science fiction, etc.).
- Castle, Terry, ed. The literature of lesbianism: a historical anthology from Aristo to Stonewall. New York, NY: Columbia University Press, 2003.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PN6071.L47 L58 2003
Not a collection of writings by lesbian writers, as one might assume; this is an anthology of works that explore the emergence and development of the "idea of lesbianism". This comprehensive volume cites hundreds of literary works by both female and male authors who look at the lesbian experience in many different ways: positive and negative, "salacious or satiric, sympathetic and confessional," etc.
- Day, Frances Ann. Lesbian and gay voices: an annotated bibliography and guide to literature for children and young adults. Westport,CT: Greenwood Press, 2000.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: Z1037 .D24 2000
A guide to lesbian/gay literature for youth of all ages.
- Dotson, Edisol W., ed. Putting out: the essential publishing resource for lesbian and gay writers. Pittsburgh, PA: Cleis Press, 1994.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: Z475 .P88 1997
This handbook for l/g writers begins with several short informative introductory chapters, including one that is a brief guide to book contracts. It is then followed by chapters of well-annotated lists of publishers of books, magazines and journals, and newspapers and newsletters. It also has lists of theaters and literary agents.
- Foster, David William, ed. Latin American writers on gay and lesbian themes: a bio-critical sourcebook. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1994.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PQ7081.3F62 1994
Sourcebook to hundreds of texts, biographical information and complete bibliographies on than 130 Latin American authors of gay and lesbian themed works.
- Foster, David William, ed. Spanish writers on gay and lesbian themes: a bio-critical sourcebook. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1999.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PQ6046.S49 1999
Complement to Foster's guide to Latin American gay and lesbian writers, this work analyses work of 60 writers from 13th Century Spain to contemporary Iberian authors.
- Furtado, Ken and Nancy Hellner. Gay and lesbian American plays: an annotated bibliography. Metuchen, New Jersey: Scarecrow Press, 1993.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Stacks & Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PS153.G38F87 1993
Though somewhat dated, provides listing of plays with brief synopses. Has useful appendix with contact information for playwrights, agents and theaters.
- Gay and lesbian literature. Volume 1. Introduction to gay male literature, Wayne R. Dynes; Introduction to lesbian literature/ Barbara G. Grier; editor, Sharon Malinowski; Volume 2. Introduction to gay male literature, Jim Marks; Introduction to lesbian literature/ Loraleee MacPike; editors, Tom Pendergast & Sara Pendergast.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks. Detroit: St. James Press, 1994.
CALL NUMBER: PN56.H57G36 1994 vols.1 & 2
Biographical essays, chronologies and bibliographies of 20th Century writers. Has a variety of helpful indexes.
- Gillon, Margaret. Lesbians in print: a bibliography of 1,500 books with synopses. Irvine, California: Bluestocking Books, 1995.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: HQ75.5.G54 1995
Just what the title says.
- Griffin, Gabiele. Who's who in lesbian & gay writing. New York, NY: Routledge, 2002.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks CALL NUMBER: HQ75.13 .G75 2002
Biographical guide to poets, dramatists, novelists, and current popular writers. Covers literary culture "from Sappho to modern pulp fiction."
- Gunn, Drewey Wayne. The gay male sleuth in print and film: a history and annotated bibliography. Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press, 2005.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks CALL NUMBER: PS374.D4G86 2005
An examination of the history of this genre, along with an annotated bibliography of more than 600 novels, 100 films, and 20 television series.
- Knight, Denise D. and Sandra Pollack, eds. Contemporary lesbian writers of the United States: a bio-bibliographical critical sourcebook. Westport, Connecticut: Greenwood Press, 1993.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PS153.L46C65 1993
A companion volume to Comtemporary Gay American Novelists, this work provides an essay and biographical information about each author, and cites and gives critical responses to her writings.
- Malinowski, Sharon, editor, vol. 1; Pendergast, TOm, and Sara Pendergast, editors, vol. 2. Gay & lesbian literature. Detroit: St. James Press, c1994-c19998.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PN56.H57.G36 1994
Two-volume encyclopedia of almost 400 authors (novelists, poets, short story writers, dramatists, journalists, editors, filmmakers, performance artists, and nonfiction writiers) of gay/lesbian literature. Inclusion is based upon the thematic content of the author's work rather than on the sexual identity of the author, though most are gay or lesbian authors. Provides a wealth of information about each author (e.g. personal information, contact information, publications, biographies, interviews, bibliographies, personal quotes, etc.).
- Malinowski, Sharon and Christa Brelin. The gay & lesbian literary companion. Detroit: Visible Ink Press, c1995.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PN56.H57G362 1995
Features excerpts from the work and details of the lives and times of 45 gay and lesbian writers.
- Markowitz, Judith A. The gay detective novel: lesbian and gay main characters and themes in mystery fiction. Jefferson, NC: McFrarland & Co., 2004.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PS374.H63M37 2004
Study of gay and lesbian detective fiction. Among ways in which the information is examined is by type of character (e.g. policeman, amateur detective, etc.) and by major themes (e.g. homophobia, gay marriage, etc.).
- Miller, Meredith. Historical dictionary of lesbian literature. Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press, 2006.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PN491.3.M55 2006
Dictionary with brief definitions of lesbian authors, literary works, and related historical movements and theoretical concepts from the time of Sappho to the current day.
- Nelson, Emmanuel S., ed. Contemporary gay American novelists: a bio-bibliographic critical sourcebook. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1993
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PS374.N63C66 1993
Biographies, summaries of major works, criticisms, and bibliographies of 57 male novelists.
- Nelson, Emmanuel S., ed. Contemporary gay American poets and playwrights: an A-to-Z guide. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 2003
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PS325.C656 2003
Guide to 62 contemporary (i.e., birthdates 1919-1970) U.S. gay male poets and dramatists. Entries include biographies, overview of major works, critical reception, essays on themes, and bibliographies.
- Slide, Anthony. Gay and lesbian characters and themes in mystery novels: a critical guide to over 500 works in English. Jefferson, North Carolina: McFarland & Company, 1993.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PR1309.D4S55 1993
Though this book serves as a quick reference to characters and titles, it primarily is a reference guide to authors.
- Summers, Clause J., ed. The gay and lesbian literary heritage: a reader's companion to the writers and their works, from antiquity to the present. New York : Routledge, 2002.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PN56.H57G365 2002
A comprehensive literary encyclopedia comprised of more than 500 essays that range from information about individual writers to thematic and topical literature (e.g., AIDS literature, young-adult fiction, and coming-out stories) to international and cross-cultural issues (even Japanese, Middle Eastern, and Native North American literature).
- Young, Ian. The male homosexual in literature: a bibliography. Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow Press, 1982.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PN56.H57Y68 1982
Though published in 1982, this seminal work remains a useful source because it looks at works written before before gay characters appeared frequently in mainstream literature or before the current gay literary market had emerged. This bibliography approximately 4000 English- language novels, short stories, plays, and poems that deal with male homosexuality have gay male characters.
Writer Specific Reference Books
(Note: in addition to the following reference books, the University Libraries have many other bibliographies and literary criticisms of lgbt authors. Check the Libraries' catalog to locate bibliographies of works of lgbt writers, including the following: Andre Gide, Allen Ginsberg, Christopher Isherwood, May Sarton, Ann Allen Shockley, Gertrude Stein, Oscar Wilde, Walt Whitman, Tennessee Williams, and Virginia Woolf.)
- Baker, Susan. Gore Vidal: a critical companion.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PS3543.I26Z53 1997
- Beckson, Karl E. The Oscar Wilde encyclopedia.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PR5823.B34 1998
- Fuller, John. A reader's guide to W. H. Auden.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Stacks & McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PR6001.U4Z69 1970a
- Funk, Robert W. Walt Whitman, 1838-1939: a reference guide.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PS3238.G53 1981
- Giantvalley, Scott. Christopher Isherwood: a reference guide.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PR6017.S5Z68
- Gale, Robert L. A Sarah Orne Jewett companion.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PS2133.A3 1999
- Heintzelman, Greta. Critical companion to Tennessee Williams.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks and Performing Arts Library Reference
CALL NUMBER: PS3545.I5365Z459 2005
- Hussey, Mark. Virginia Woolf A to Z: a comprehensive reference for students, teachers, and common readers to her life, work, and critical reception.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Folio Stacks and McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PR6045.O72Z729 1995
- Izzo, David Garrett. Christopher Isherwood Encyclopedia.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PR6017.S5Z459 2005
- Kellner, Bruce, ed. A Gertrude Stein companion: content with the example.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PS3537.T323Z6153 1988
- Krieg, Joann P/ A Whitman chronology.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PS3231.A2 1998
- Kolin, Philip C., ed. The Tennessee Williams encyclopedia.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PS3545.I5365Z459 2004
- Kolin, Philip C., ed. Tennessee Williams: a guide to research and peformance.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks and Performing Arts Library Reference
CALL NUMBER: PS3231.K84 1982
- Kummings, Donald D. Walt Whitman, 1940-1975: a reference guide.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PS3238.G53 1981
- LeMaster, J.R. and Donald D. Kummings, eds. Walt Whitman, an encyclopedia.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PS3230.W35 1998
- Meyering, Shery L. A reader's guide to the short stories of Willa Cather.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PS3505.A87 Z7425 1994
- Myerson, Joel, ed. Walt Whitman: a documentary volume.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Biography Shelves
CALL NUMBER: PS3231.W325 2000
- Nagel, Gwen L. Sarah Orne Jewett: a reference guide.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Stacks and McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PS2133.N3
- Oliver, Charles M. Critical companion to Walt Whitman: a literary reference to his life and work.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PS3231.O53 2006
- Pollin, Alice M., ed. A concordance to the plays and poems of Federico Garcia Lorca.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PQ613.A763 Z824
- Rice, Thomas Jackson. Virginia Woolf: a guide to research.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Stacks and McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PR6045.O72Z865 1984
- Standley, Fred L., and Nancy V. Standley. James Baldwin, a reference guide.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Stacks and McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PS3662.A45 Z92 1980
- Stock, Janet C. Marcel Proust: a reference guide, 1950-1970.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PQ2631.R63Z916 1991
- White, Ray Lewis. Gertrude Stein and Alice B. Toklas: a reference guide.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PS3537.T323Z94 1984.
- Rosario, Vernon. Homosexuality and science: a guide to the debates. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, c2002.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Stacks and UMCP Online Resources
CALL NUMBER: QP81.6.R656 2002
Examines medical and scientific debates about homosexuality during the past two centuries.
- Shankle, Michael D., ed. The handbook of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender public health : a practitioner's guide to service. New York, NY: Harrington Park Press, c2006.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: RA564.9.H65 H36 2006
Although designed to provide health care professionals with a comprehensive overview of public health issues of lgbt clients, this handbook, full of useful bibliographies, is also an excellent tool for researchers. Among the general areas covered are the health care delivery system, the government and public health infrastructure, employers, the media, and specific health issues that are relevant to respective groups within the queer community.
- Aldrich, Robert, and Garry Wotherspoon, eds. Who's who in gay and lesbian history: from antiquity to World War II. New York, NY: Routledge, 2001.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: HQ75.2 .W47
Aldrich, Robert, and Garry Wotherspoon, eds. Who's who in gay and lesbian history: from World War II to the present day. New York, NY: Routledge, 2001.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: HQ75.2 .W46 2001
Expert international scholars have contributed to these two volumes of biographies of key men and women in the history of homosexuality. Covers antiquity to the middle of Twentieth Century. Includes concise biographies of the pioneering activists involved in the early struggle for gay and lesbian civil rights in America.
- Blasius, Mark, and Shane Phelan, eds. We are everywhere: a historical sourcebook in gay and lesbian politics. New York, NY: Routledge, 1997.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: HQ76.W33 1997
Source of the texts of important documents (e.g. statements, essays, letters, manifestos, speeches, etc.) in the history of same sex attraction. Documents are listed chronologically from 1754 to 1994, and are arranged in six sections, that deal respectively with: (1) male homosexuality in Europe during the Enlightenment and the French Revolution, (2) the beginnings of the gay and lesbian movement in Europe of the 1870's through 1940's United States, (3) gay/lesbian organizing of 1950-1969, (4) gay liberation and the lesbian-feminist movement, (5) the politics of AIDS, and (6) the present and future.
- Bullough, Vern L., ed. Before Stonewall: activists for gay and lesbian rights in historical context. New York, NY: Harrington Park Press, 2002.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: HQ76.5 .R56 2002
Concise biographies of the pioneering activists involved in the early struggle for gay and lesbian civil rights in America.
- Gay Activists Alliance. The gay rights movement [microform]: Gay Activists Alliance, from the International Gay Information Center, The New York Public Library.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Periodicals Room
CALL NUMBER: Microfilm | HQ75.12 .G39 1998
21 microfilm reels of the records of the Gay Activists Alliance. Important primary source materials to be used in research of the post-Stonewall burgeoning gay rights movement. (Important note: a printed reel guide to the set is located in McKeldin Reference under the call number: HQ75.12.G39 1998 Guide.)
- Hunt, Ronald J. Historical dictionary of the gay liberation movement: gay men and the quest for social justice. Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press, 1999.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: HQ76.5 .H86 1999
A brief chronology of the history of gay rights movements is followed by a 28-page introduction that describes three periods: the early homosexual rights movement in Germany, the modern post-WWII movement, and the contemporary (i.e. post-Stonewall) lesbian and gay rights movement. This is follow by the dictionary itself, comprised of alphabetical entries of key organizations, their leaders, and issues and strategies of numerous nations around the world. Concludes with and extensive bibliography.
- Katz, Jonathan Ned. Gay/lesbian almanac : a new documentary in which is contained, in chronological order, evidence of the true and fantastical history of those persons now called lesbians and gay men ... New York, NY: Harper & Row, 1983.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: HQ76.8U5K37 1983
This almanac covers a chronology of gay history of America from colonial times to the 1950's, providing much primary source material such as diaries, letters, cartoons, songs, etc.
- Mattachine Society of New York. The gay rights movement [microform]: Mattachine Society of New York, from the International Gay Information Center, The New York Public Library. New York, NY: Research Publications International, 1951-1979.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Periodicals Room
CALL NUMBER: Microfilm | HQ75.12 .M377
21 microfilm reels of the records of the Mattachine Society of New York. Important primary source materials to be used in research of the early gay rights movement in the U.S. (Important note: a printed reel guide to the set is located in McKeldin Reference under the call number: HQ75.12.M377 1998 Guide.)
- Myers, JoAnne Historical dictionary of the lesbian liberation movement. Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press, 2003.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: HQ76.5.M94 2003.
Documenting the lesbian liberation movement, this dictionary provides good information and definitions relating to persons and events in the history of lesbian rights. The dictionary entries are sandwiched between a detail chronology and an extensive bibliography.
- Ridinger, Robert B. Speaking for our lives: historic speeches and rhetoric for gay and lesbian rights/1892-2000. New York, NY: Haworth Press, 2004.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: HQ75.16.U6 S53 2004
A compilation of more than a hundred years of important speeches on gay and lesbian subjects.
- Ridinger, Robert B. The gay and lesbian movement: references and resources. New York: G.K. Hall, 1996.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL Number: HQ76.5.R53 1996
An annotated bibliography that focuses on the American gay liberation movement from the mid-1800's through 1993. Unique in that it indexes many articles from regional gay and lesbian press.
- Russell, Paul Elliott. The gay 100 : a ranking of the most influential gay men and lesbians, past and present. Secaucus, N.J.: Carol Pub. Group, c1995.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: HQ75.2 .R87 1995
Looking at 2400 years of history, the author of this book selects and ranks the persons who have had the most influence on gay and lesbian life-"from Socrates to Madonna and Michaelangelo Signorile."
- Schlager, Neil, ed. Gay and lesbian almanac. Detroit: St. James Press, 1998
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: HQ76.3U5 S75 1998
Comprehensive work which identifies key topics in gay/lesbian history, and details chronological events and key organizations and persons involved with each of these topics.
- Stein, Marc, ed. Lgbt encyclopedia of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender history in America. New York, NY: Charles Cribner's Sons: Thomson Gale, 2004.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: HQ76.3U5 E53 2004 v.1-3
Invaluable encyclopedia of more than 500 LGBTt topical and biographic entries that cover 400 years of U.S. history. Each entry ends with a bibliography and see references. This resource also has chronologies, a directory or repositories of LGBT materials, helpful outlines, and a detailed index. One of the most significant reference work in the field of LGBT Studies.
- Williams, Walter L., and Yolanda Retter, eds. Gay and lesbian rights in the United States: a documentary history. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2003.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: HQ76.8.U5 G37 2003
Annotated collection of documents, particularly legal materials, that serves as important source material in the history of glbt people in the U.S. from colonial times to the year 2000 Millennium March.
- Siker, Jeffrey S. Homosexuality and religion: an encyclopedia Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2007.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: BL65.H64H63 2007
Encyclopedia that details the respective positions taken by individual religions and religious denominations with respect to homosexuality. The work begins with essays that provide overviews of the topic. This section is followed by encyclopedic entries of the respective religions/denominations as well as a variety of other relevant topics and current issues (e.g. marriage, ex-gay ministries, AIDS and HIV, etc.). The book ends with a lengthy bibliography.
- Curry, Hayden, et. al. A legal guide for lesbian and gay couples. Berkely, CA: Nolo Press, 1999.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: KF539.L44 1999
Written by attorneys, this guide advises same-sex couples on their legal rights. Its eleven chapters discuss living-together contracts, civil-rights discrimination, home ownership, parenting, medical emergencies, estate planning, etc. Includes sample documents.
- Francoeur, Robert T., ed. The international encyclopedia of sexuality. New York, NY: Continuum, 1997.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: HQ21 .I68 1997
Four-volume encyclopedia that provides a nation-by-nation description of behavior, tradition, practices and laws regarding numerous aspects of sexuality, including "homoerotic, homosexual, and ambisexual behavior."
- Hunter, Nan D., Courtney G. Joslin, and Sharon M. McCowan. The Rights of lesbians, gay men, bisexuals, and transgender people: the authoritative ACLU guide to a lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender person's rights. Carbondale, IL: Southern Illinois University Press, 2004.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: KF4754.5.Z9 H86 2004
A useful guide to basic rights of lesbians and gay men. Explains LBGT rights law and explains how these rights can be protected and asserted.
- Kranz, Rachel, and Tim Cusick. Gay rights. New York: Facts on File, 2005.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: HQ76.8.U5 K73 2005
Information-filled overview of gay rights in America. Comprised of a chronology, important court cases, legal issues, biographical profiles of gay rights supporters and foes. Has helpful section on "How to Research Gay Rights."
- Newton, David E. Gay and lesbian rights: a reference handbook Santa Barbara, Calif. : Abc-clio, c2009.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Controversial Issues
CALL NUMBER: HQ76.3.U5N480
This reference handbook covers the background and history of gay rights, including a detailed chronology of relevant events, essays and pro/con arguments, important biographies, key documents and data, listings of relevant organizations, and useful bibliographies.
- Newton, David E. Same-sex marriage: a reference handbook Santa Barbara, Calif. : Abc-clio, c2010.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: HQ1033.N494 2010
This reference handbook covers the background and history of same-sex relationships and marriage, a detailed chronology of relevant events, essays and pro/con arguments, important biographies, key documents and data, listings both of organizations in favor of same-sex marriage and those opposed, and useful bibliographies.
- Nordquist, Joan. Gay and lesbian families: a bibliography. Santa Cruz, CA: Reference and Resarch Services, 2000.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: HQ75.27.N67 2000.
Bibliography that lists books and articles that discuss issues that confront gay and lesbian families. Also includes citations to handbooks and guides and to useful websites.
- Sears, James T., ed. Youth, education, and sexualities : an international encyclopedia. Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, c2005.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: LC192.6 .Y68 2005 vol 1 & 2.
Encyclopedia that examines topics pertaining to lgbt youth, particularly in the educational and school environment.
- Sember, Brette McWhorter. Gay & lesbian rights: a guide for GLBT singles, couples, and families. Naperville, IL: Sphinx Pub., 2003.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: KF4754.5.S455 2003.
Written by a lawyer, this guide focuses on legal issues that affect GLBT people, including health benefits for partners, hate crime laws, domestic partnership issues, child, adoption, and family matters. Cites pending legislation, online resources, and state-specific laws, contacts, and organizations.
- Senak, Mark S. Every trick in the book: the essential lesbian and gay legal guide. New York, NY: Mark Evans & Co., c.2003.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: KF4754.5 .S46 2002
This guide provides important insight and advice to gays and lesbians in understanding current laws and deciding when and how to seek legal advice. Covers gamut of g/l/t topics, such as marriage, the military, adoption, child custody, death/wills/inheritance, employment discrimination, hate crimes, and transgender issues.
- Smith, Raymond A. Gay and lesbian Americans and political participation: a reference handbook. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLAO, c 2002.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: HQ76.3U5S59 2002
Surveys the literature on political activity among LGBT Americans. Includes extensive lists of key documents, key people, laws and terms. Also has a chronology, a resource directory, and a bibliography.
- Stewart, Chuck, ed. The Greenwood encyclopedia of LGBT issues worldwide. Santa Barbara, Calif.: Greenwood Press, c2010.
LOCATION: UMCP Online Resources at Ebrary.
CALL NUMBER: HQ76 .G724 2010
Unique encyclopedia that looks at important and controversial issues that confront lgbt people in more than 80 countries. Each country's entry includes background information, an overview of respective LGBT issues, a detailed discussion of each issue, an outlook for the future, and a bibliography that includes Websites.
- Stewart, Chuck. Homosexuality and the law. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 2001.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: KF4754.5.A68 S74 2002
Monumental work that details legal issues that gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender people encounter. In addition to providing legal material, also presents sociological, psychological, and medical contexts. Has appendix that lists state and local laws, available legal services, and a table of statutes.
- Walzer, Lee. Gay rights on trial: a reference handbook. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 2001.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: KF4754.5.W35 2002
An analysis and reference aid to legal aspects of the gay rights issues. This handbook begins with analytical chapters that study the gay-rights debate, the history of the movement, and the complexity of the issues. He also looks at how other countries have treated gay-rights. Concludes with extensive tools to help students in the understanding of key legal tools, major statues and legal concepts, and with comprehensive bibliographies.
return to top
|