|
Last revised: July 2008
Library and Information Studies
Scope: This guide provides links to and information about major electronic and print
resources for the study of Library and Information Studies. The list is divided into common
subject areas; items within those subject areas are listed in call number order.
Email the subject specialist at kpatter@umd.edu or call
301-405-2067 for more information. Please complete the guide survey so that the
subject specialist can keep the guide relevant.
return to top
return to top
If you cannot find what you're looking for in the UM Libraries Catalog, try searching
these other library catalogs. Use
the links or the Interlibrary Loan page to place ILL requests for
items not owned by UM.
- World
Cat: OCLC catalog of books, serial
publications, media, visual materials, musical scores, and archival materials in libraries
worldwide. Includes over 62
million records in more than 400 languages.
- Center
for Research Libraries Catalog: CRL is a
consortium of North American academic and independent research libraries. The consortium
acquires and preserves newspapers,
journals, documents, archives, and other traditional and digital resources for research and
teaching and makes them available
to member institutions through Interlibrary Loan.
Government Libraries and Library-Related Agencies
- Library of Congress
"More than a Library"--In addition to their massive catalog, the Library of Congress web site hosts a variety
of resources. Use Thomas to find legislative
information, or use the online Library of Congress
Authorities to look up authority headings for Subject, Name, Title and Name/Title
combinations. American Memory, part of the National Digital Library
Program is a digital collection of American historical records, including photographs,
manuscripts, rare books, maps, recorded sound, and moving pictures. The Library is also the
home of the U.S. Copyright Office.
- National Agricultural Library
- National Library of Medicine
- U.S. National Commission on Libraries and Information
Science
- National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), U.S.
Department of Education
NCES collects statistics on all aspects of the education field and produces annual
reports on public, academic and school libraries.
return
to top
Use these resources to find journal articles, book chapters, book reviews, etc. related
to your topic. Consult Research
Port for the full list of available
Library and information Studies subject databases.
Core Databases
- Library Literature and Information Science
Indexes more than 380
library and information science periodicals and selected state library journals, books,
conference proceedings, library school theses, and pamphlets from 1980 to the present. It is
not full-text.
- Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts
Indexes more than
600 library and information science periodicals and selected books, research reports, and
conference proceedings from the mid-1960s. It is not full-text.
Supplemental Databases
- ACM Digital
Library
Full-text repository of papers from publications that have been published, co-published, or
co-marketed by ACM and other publishers. Publications include journals, magazines,
transactions, special interest group (SIG) newsletters, proceedings, and publications by
affiliated organizations.
- Academic
Search Premier
Index and abstracts for over 7,000 general, humanities, social science and science journals.
Full text of articles for over 4,000 of these journals. The database includes a number of
library and information science-related periodicals.
- Business Source Complete
It is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the ultimate collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back to 1886 are included. It provides full text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
- Computer &
Info Systems
Journal articles, technical reports, conference papers, and more on theoretical research
and practical applications in the computer and information sciences.
- Digital Dissertations
Includes citations, abstracts (1980 -
present) and full text (UM dissertations 1997 - present) for more than 1.6 million U.S. and
international masters theses and doctoral dissertations. Search by Subject for "Library
Science."
- Eric
ERIC, the Educational Resource Information Center, is a
national information system supported by the U.S. Department of Education, the National
Library of Education, and the Office of Educational Research and Improvement. ERIC provides
full text of more than 2,200 digests along with references for additional information,
citations and abstracts from over 1000 educational and education-related journals." For the
most effective search, the Thesaurus of ERIC Descriptors (UMCP McKeldin Library CLIS
Instructional Materials LB15.E3) is highly recommended to help you identify the best subject
terms.
- Lexis-Nexis Academic
Full-text database that offers a wide range of news, political, legal, business, and
reference information in full-text format. Primary source of newspaper articles, including
those from the Washington Post and the New York Times. Federal code, regulations, and case
law, plus state codes and case law are also included. From this page you can also access Lexis-Nexis Congressional for access to U.S.
legislative information, and the Lexis-Nexis
Government Periodicals Index.
- Social Sciences Citation Index
Covers 1956-present. Select "ISI Web of Science" from the pull-down menu at the top of
the page. SSCI allows you to trace citations to determine how influential a given book,
article, or author has been in a field.
- Ulrich's
Bibliographic and access information for over 300,000 serials. Entries provide pricing,
subscription and distribution details as well as publisher and editor contacts. Direct links
to URLs and e-mail addresses given when available, along with nearly 8,000 reviews excerpted
from Magazines for Libraries and Library Journal.
- VBIC
VBIC is a web site that contains a collection of electronic and print business
resources intended to provide research assistance to anyone seeking authoritative business
information.
return
to top
- Library Literature. New York: Wilson, 1933-1998. Monthly, with annual
cumulation.
LOCATION: UMCP McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks
CALL NUMBER: Z666.C211 1933-1998.
Published since 1921, Library Literature provides author and subject
access to print materials on library and information science. The index for 1980-present is
also available in electronic form.
- Library Literature and Information Science. New York: Wilson, 1999-.
Monthly, with annual cumulation.
LOCATION: UMCP McKeldin Library: Latest 3 years in UMCP McKeldin Library
Reference Stacks; earlier years in UMCP McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks
CALL NUMBER: Z666.C211 1999-
Continuation of Library Literature, Library Literature and Information
Science, provides author and subject access to print materials on library and
information science. The index for 1980-present is also available in electronic form.
- Library and Information Science Abstracts. London: Bowker-Saur, 1969-.
Monthly.
LOCATION: UMCP McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks; Current issues in UMCP
McKeldin Library Periodicals Rm - Current Periodicals
CALL NUMBER: Z671.L6172 1969-
An excellent supplement to Library Literature and Information Science,
LISA indexes and provides abstracts for approximately 350 titles in the field. Each volume
includes comprehensive name and alphabetical subject indexes.
- Information Science Abstracts. New York: Plenum, 1969–2002. Monthly.
LOCATION: UMCP EPSL Reference
CALL NUMBER: Z699.A1D6 1969-2002
Information Science Abstracts covers "abstracting and indexing,
classification, online information retrieval, information management, electronic publishing,
knowledge management, and more." Each volume includes subject and author indexes.
return
to top
- Library of Congress Virtual
Reference Shelf: Selected web resources compiled by the Library
- Directories
- Infomine is a listing of "scholarly internet
resource collections" and includes over 40,000 links, roughly half of which were compiled
and indexed by librarians.
- The Internet Public Library: The IPL was established by
the School of Information at the University of Michigan; but is currently maintained by
Drexel University's College of Information Science and Technology. The IPL includes
reference sources and a variety of Subject Collections deemed to be useful to users of
public libraries.
- Librarian’s Index to the Internet: "Websites You Can
Trust," LII presents a relatively small collection of resources which have been evaluated,
selected and organized by librarians.
- RefDesk: "The single best source for facts on the
net" includes an amazing variety of reference sources, news, statistics, and more.
- Search Engines--For detailed evaluations and comparisons of search engines, go to
Search Engine Watch, which provides
information on which search engines cover the largest portions of the web, which tend to
provide the highest relevancy of results, etc.
- Google: The current leader in the search engine
race, Google consistently provides wide coverage of the web and a high degree of relevancy
in its results. Also try the Google News Search; for
government resources try the "Uncle Sam"
interface; for scholarly articles try the "Google Scholar" interface.
- Kartoo: Notable for its unique results display, in
which "hits" appear as a solar system-like web.
return
to top
- The Whole Library Handbook 4: Current Data, Professional Advice, and Curiosa about
Libraries and Library services. Ed. George M. Eberhart. Chicago: American Library
Association, 2006.
LOCATION: UMCP McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: Z665.2.U6 E243 2006
- Gorman, G.E. and Peter Clayton. Qualitative Research for the Information
Professional: A Practical Handbook. 2nd. ed. London: Facet, 2005.
LOCATION: UMCP McKeldin Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: Z669.7.G67Q83 2005
- Annual Review of Information Science and Technology. Medford, NJ: Learned
Information, 1991-.
LOCATION: UMCP McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks
CALL NUMBER: Z699.A1 A5
- Gates, Jean Kay. Guide to the Use of Libraries and Information Sources.
6th ed. New York: McGraw-Hill, 1989.
LOCATION: UMCP McKeldin Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: Z710.G27 1989
- The Bowker Annual of Library and Book Trade Information. Medford, NJ:
Information Today, 1961-.
LOCATION: UMCP McKeldin Library: Latest edition in UMCP McKeldin Library
Reference Stacks; prior editions in UMCP McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks
CALL NUMBER: Z731.B6 1961-
- American Reference Book Annuals. Englewood, Colo. : Libraries Unlimited,
1970 - .
LOCATION: UMCP McKeldin Library: Latest edition in UMCP McKeldin Library
Reference Stacks; prior editions in UMCP McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks
CALL NUMBER: Z1035 .A4
return
to top
- ARBA Guide to Library Science Literature, 1970-1983. Eds. Donald G.
Davis, Jr. and Charles D. Patterson. Littleton, CO: Libraries Unlimited, 1987.
LOCATION: UMCP McKeldin Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: Z666.A73 1987
- Prytherch, Ray. Information Management and Library Science: A Guide to the
Literature. 3rd ed. Brookfield, VT: Gower, 1994.
LOCATION: UMCP McKeldin Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: Z666.P935 1994
return
to top
Dictionaries
- Pearce-Moses, Richard. A Glossary of Archival and Records Terminology.
Chicago : Society of American Archivists, 2005.
LOCATION: UMCP McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: CD945 .P43 2005
- Dictionary of Information Science and Technology. Ed. Mehdi Khosrow-
Pour. Hershey, PA : Idea Group Reference, 2007.
LOCATION: UMCP McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: T58.5 .D499 2007
- Prytherch, Raymond John. Harrod’s Librarians’ Glossary and Reference Book.
Burlington, VT : Ashgate, 2005.
LOCATION: UMCP McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: Z1006.H32 2005
- Keenan, Stella. Concise Dictionary of Library and Information Science.
London: Bowker-Saur, 2000.
LOCATION: UMCP McKeldin Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: Z1006.K39 2000
- McCain, Mary Maude. Dictionary for School Library Media Specialists: A Practical
and Comprehensive Guide. Englewood, CO: Libraries Unlimited, 2001.
LOCATION: UMCP McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: Z1006.M43 2001
- Retiz,Joan M. Dictionary for Library and Information Science. Westport,
Conn.: Libraries Unlimited, 2004.
LOCATION: UMCP McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: Z1006.R45 2004
Encyclopedias
- Encyclopedia of Knowledge Management. Ed. David G. Schwartz. Hershey, PA :
Idea Group Reference, 2006.
LOCATION: UMCP McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: HD30.2 .E53 2006
- Encyclopedia of Communities of Practice in Information and Knowledge
Management. Eds. Elayne Coakes and Steve Clarke. Hershey, PA : Idea Group
Reference, 2006.
LOCATION: UMCP McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: HD58.82 .E53 2006
- Encyclopedia of Information Ethics and Security. Ed. Marian Quigley. Hershey, PA : Information Science Reference, 2008.
LOCATION: UMCP McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: HM851 .E555 2008
- Encyclopedia of Information Systems. Ed. Hossein Bidgoli. Boston :
Academic Press, 2003.
LOCATION: UMCP McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: T58.5 .E535 2003
- Encyclopedia of Library History. Eds. Wayne E. Wiegand and Donald G.
Davis, Jr. New York: Garland Publishing, 1994.
LOCATION: UMCP McKeldin Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: Z721.E54 1994
- Encyclopedia of Library and Information Science. 2nd. ed. Ed. Mariam A.
Drake. New York: Dekker, 2003.
LOCATION: UMCP McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: Z1006.E57 2003
- International Encyclopedia of Information and Library Science. Eds. John
Feather and Paul Sturges. London: Routledge, 2003.
LOCATION: UMCP McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: Z1006.I57 2003
return
to top
- Cabell's Directory of Publishing Opportunities in Educational Technology and Library Science. Beaumont, TX: Cabell Pub. Co., 2007.
LOCATION: UMCP McKeldin Library Reference Stacks CALL NUMBER: Z286 .E3 C324 2007
- IFLA Directory. The Hague, Netherlands: International Federation of
Library Associations and Institutions, 1994-.
LOCATION: UMCP McKeldin Library Reference Stacks: Latest Edition only
CALL NUMBER: Z673.I521
- American Library Directory Medford, NJ: Information Today, 1923-.
LOCATION: UMCP McKeldin Library Reference : Latest edition at UMCP McKeldin
Library - Reference Desk; prior editions in McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks
CALL NUMBER: Z731.A53
- Directory of Special Libraries and Information Centers. Detroit: Gale,
1963-.
LOCATION: UMCP McKeldin Library Reference: Latest edition only
CALL NUMBER: Z731.K7
- The ASLIB Directory of Information Sources in the United Kingdom. Ed.
Keith W. Reynard. 11th ed. London: Information Management International, 1982-.
LOCATION: UMCP McKeldin Library Reference Stacks: Latest edition only; prior
editions in McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks
CALL NUMBER: Z791.A1A82 1982-
return
to top
- Association for Library and Information Science. Library and Information
Science Education Statistical Report. Reston, VA: ALISE, 1983-.
LOCATION: UMCP McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks
CALL NUMBER: Z668.L531 1983-
- Association of Research Libraries. ARL Statistics. Washington, DC: ARL,
1974-.
LOCATION: UMCP McKeldin Library: Latest edition only in UMCP McKeldin Library
Reference Stacks; prior editions in UMCP McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks
CALL NUMBER: Z675.U5.A781 1974-
- Cahalan, Margaret Werner. The Status of Academic Libraries in the United States:
Results from the 1996 Academic Library Survey with Historical Comparisons.
Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Education, 2001.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: Z675.U5C13 2001
- Statistical Report ... Public Library Data Service. Prep. Public Library
Association, a division of the American Library Association. Chicago: ALA, 1992-.
Latest two years only.
LOCATION: UMCP McKeldin Library Reference
CALL NUMBER: Z731.P82
return
to top
- American Library Association (ALA):
http://www.ala.org
The American Library Association, "The Voice of America's Libraries," is the oldest and
largest library association in the world, with more than 64,000 members. They provide
library advocacy and support in key "action areas," including Diversity, Education and
Continuous Learning, Equity of Access, Intellectual Freedom, and "21st Century Literacy."
Their web page includes a number of useful resources: Visit the ALA Library for statistical fact sheets,
bibliographies, and "how-to" guides for libraries and the 11 divisions.
- American Association of Law Libraries (AALL)
http://www.aallnet.org
- American Society for Information Science and Technology
(ASIST)
http://www.asis.org
- American Theological Library Association
(ATLA)
http://www.atla.com/atlahome.html
- Art Libraries Society of North America (ARLIS-NA)
http://www.arlisna.org
- Association for Library & Information Science Education
(ALISE)
http://www.alise.org
- Association of Research Libraries (ARL)
http://www.arl.org
- Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS):
http://www.imls.gov
Created by the Museum and Library Services Act of 1996, IMLS is "a federal grant-
making agency that promotes leadership, innovation, and a lifetime of learning by supporting
the nation's museums and libraries." See the list of Publications, Conferences and
Resources.
- International Federation of Library Associations and
Institutions
http://www.ifla.org
- Medical Library Association (MLA)
http://www.mlanet.org
- Music Library Association
http://www.musiclibraryassoc.org
- Reforma (National association to promote library
services to Spanish-speaking populations)
http://www.reforma.org
- Special Libraries Association (SLA):
http://www.sla.org
An international association dedicated to helping "its members serve their
customers more effectively and succeed in an increasingly challenging environment of
information management and technology." The website provides
links to SLA
Publications and Products, and an
online
Career Center.
- Theatre Library Association (TLA)
http://tla.library.unt.edu
- Urban Libraries Council
http://www.urbanlibraries.org
return to top
|