|
Last revised: August 2007
Linguistics Graduate Student Orientation
This page has been designed for graduate students in the Department of Linguistics, with the intent of providing quick access to information about library services and resources. While much of the information on this page may be found on the UM Libraries home page, it is consolidated here to provide easier access to the information most pertinent to you. Graduate students enrolled in the University of Maryland's Linguistics program may contact Tim Hackman, Librarian for English and Linguistics, with any questions or for individual research consultation appointments.
General Information
return to top
Research Assistance
- Directory of Librarian Subject Specialists
Subject specialists may be consulted for help in locating information resources in their areas of expertise, and they are available to conduct instruction sessions for university classes.
- Information & Research Services
For information about in-person, phone, e-mail and chat reference services. Ask Us!
- Library Research Guides
These guides suggest both print and electronic resources to use in your research.
- RefWorks
RefWorks is a Web-based citation management tool that allows you to build your own online personal database of references, manage your references, and generate in-text citations and bibliographies in various citation styles. A very convenient way to keep track of all of your sources during the writing process.
return to top
Printing and Photocopying
- Photocopying Information
UM Libraries charge 10 cents per page to make copies using photocopy machines or computers. (1 dollar per page for color copies.) Set up a
Terrapin Express account to use your student ID card as your copy card. You can also purchase a copy card or add money to your account at Copy Card ATMs located in each of the seven libraries on campus.
- Printing in the Libraries
Information on how to print from the libraries' computer workstations or from your own computer to the Libraries' printers.
- Print Account Information
To print in campus computer labs you will also need to set up a "Print Account" (in addition to your Terrapin Express account.)
return to top
Borrowing Materials
- From UM and USM Campus Libraries
Graduate students may borrow materials from UMCP campus libraries (including Shady Grove) for one academic semester at a time. Loan periods for other USM campus libraries may vary. There is no limit on the number of items students can borrow at one time.
- Through Interlibrary Loan
Includes information on interlibrary loan, reciprocal borrowing from regional libraries, and borrowing or purchasing dissertations.
- Reserve Materials
- Student ID Card
After you register, take your registration form to the Information counter in the Mitchell building for a Student ID card. You will need your Student Identification Number or Social Security number. You need this Student ID card to obtain your email account and to use campus facilities such as shuttle bus, library and campus recreation services.
return to top
Library Catalogs (Finding books and more)
Note: To access subscription databases on campus, simply click on the links below. If you are off-campus, you will need to log in using your 14-digit barcode (on the back of your student ID card) and your last name.
- UM Libraries Catalog
The Catalog provides access to the holdings of the UM Libraries, listing records of its books, nonprint media, technical reports, government documents, periodical titles, videorecordings and more.
Finding Books
on a Topic: Describes how to search the catalog.
Using Library of Congress Call Numbers: Helps you locate items in
the library.
Become familiar with the McKeldin Library Floor Plan [PDF] to help you locate materials.
- Other Libraries' Catalogs
- CIRLA: Chesapeake Information and Research Library Alliance
UM graduate students and faculty have reciprocal borrowing privileges with CIRLA libraries. You must hand in a request form at the Interlibrary
Loan office to receive a library card which will allow you to borrow materials from CIRLA libraries.
- WorldCat
OCLC catalog of books, serial publications, media, visual materials, musical scores, and archival materials in libraries worldwide. Click on Find It to request items not owned by the UM Libraries.
- Center for Research
Libraries Catalog
CRL is a consortium of North American academic and independent research libraries. The consortium acquires and preserves newspapers, journals, documents, archives, and other traditional and digital resources for research and teaching and makes them available to member institutions through ILL. Place requests through Interlibrary Loan for materials not owned by the UM Libraries
return to top
Research Databases (Finding Articles & More)
Use these resources to find journal articles, book chapters, book reviews, etc. related to your topic. Consult Research Port for the full list of available
Linguistics subject databases. Note: To access the databases on campus, simply click on the links below. If you are off-campus, you will need to log in using your 14-digit barcode (on the back of your student ID card) and your last name.
- Multidisciplinary Databases
- Academic Search Premier: Provides abstracts and indexing for over 7,000 journals. Full text of articles for over 4,000 scholarly publications, including more than 3,100 peer-reviewed publications, published since 1965.
- Lexis Nexis Academic: Full-text database that offers a wide range of news, political, legal, business, and reference information in full-text format. Primary source of newspaper articles, including those from the Washington Post and the New York Times. Federal code, regulations, and case law, plus state codes and case law are also included.
- MasterFILE Premier: Provides abstracts and indexing for 2,650 general periodicals. Full text of articles for nearly 2,000 periodicals, and 5,000 full text Magill Book Reviews. Covers multidisciplinary subjects including general reference, business, education, health, general science, multi-cultural issues, biography, and travel.
- Periodicals Index Online: Access to 4,500 arts/humanities & social science journals published since the 19th-century in 40 languages, on 37 key subjects, e.g., architecture, archaeology, area studies, business, law, & linguistics, containing a full-text archive to over 300 periodical titles and direct linking to JSTOR.
- Science Direct: Provides abstracts and indexing for more than 1800 journals. Full text of more than 800 journals is available to USMAI institutions. Some articles are in languages other than English.
Extensive coverage of the physical and biological sciences, significant numbers of journals in the social sciences, and some journals in the humanities.
- Core Subject Databases
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA): Indexes and summarizes journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, selected conference proceedings, and book reviews on linguistics and its subdisciplines. Covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is also given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics.
- Science Citation Index: A multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the sciences. It indexes more than 5,700 major journals across 164 scientific disciplines. Virtually the only index for finding what papers have cited other papers. Cited references can be traced forward in time.
- Social Sciences Citation Index: Indexes over 17,000 journals by subject keyword, author name, journal title & author affiliation. Search author abstracts when available. Provides cited reference searching.
- Digital Dissertations: The authoritative source for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. The database represents the work of authors from over 1,000 graduate schools and universities. Full text is available from 1997 to the present.
- Supplemental Subject Databases
- ERIC: Useful For: Topics related to education, applied linguistics, language teaching and learning, testing, evaluation, etc. Provides access to information from over 1000 education and education-related journals as well as a variety of non-journal materials, or ERIC documents. It also provides the full text of more than 2,200 ERIC Digests (short reports on topics of current interest in education.) For more education-related materials, see Education Research Complete.
- MLA International Bibliography: Useful For: Topics related to literature, stylistics, literary and rhetorical devices, discourse and text analysis, etc. Indexes journals, books, essay collections, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies published worldwide in the areas of literary criticism, language, linguistics, rhetoric, and folklore of all countries.
- Philosopher's Index: Useful For: Topics related to semantics, philosophy of language. Philosopher's Index indexes and abstracts 480 plus journals, books, and anthologies published since 1940. It does not include book reviews. For more materials on the philosophy of language, try the online Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy.
- PsycINFO: Useful For: Topics related to psycholinguistics, cognitive linguistics. PsycINFO is the most comprehensive index in psychology and related fields, with more than 1.7 million citations and abstracts of journal articles, book chapters and books, technical reports, and
dissertations. Its holdings include material from 1,700 periodicals in over 30 languages. For other materials related to cognitive linguistics and neurosciences, see CSA Neuroscience Abstracts or MIT's electronic text collection, CogNet.
- SocIndex: Useful For: Topics related to sociolinguistics. The index features more than 1,300,000 records with subject headings from a sociology-specific thesaurus. Indexes journal articles as well as books, monographs, conference papers, and other sources. Includes full text for 242 "core" coverage journals dating back to 1895, and 72 "priority" coverage journals, as well as full text for 547 books and monographs and 6,711 conference papers.
return to top
Using
Whenever a Database search does not provide the full text of an article, click on the "Find It" button. It will search for and possibly lead you to a full text link or to the citation (and location and call number) in the Library Catalog if we own the respective journal.
When using the Library Catalog to find a book, clicking on the "Find It" button will enable you to possibly get a review of the book, to request the book from other UM System libraries (if our copy is checked out), to get the book through Interlibrary Loan, or even to find sources for purchasing the book.
return to top
Electronic Journals
The University of Maryland Libraries subscribe to a variety of electronic journals, and many more are available via databases.
The most complete listing of e-journals is available through Research Port.
return to top
Theses and Dissertations
return to top
Graduate Student Services
return to top
|