navigation bar
Guides to Information Resources

Guide to the Map Collection

Scope: This Guide describes primary holdings in the print map collection in U.S. Government Information, Maps & GIS Services unit (GovMG), located on McKeldin Library's 4th floor. The Government Information Online guide to maps describes U.S. Government maps and map-related resources available via the Web.

About the Map Collection

The print map collection contains approximately 350,000 maps, atlases and map-related reference materials. Most maps and charts were published in the latter half of the 20th Century by U.S. government agencies and acquired through the Federal Depository Library Program. Other publishers, including foreign government agencies (e.g., Britain's Ordnance Survey) and non-governmental and commercial entities are also represented in the collection (e.g., UNESCO, National Geographic Society, Michelin). The collection covers the United States and its territories and possessions, and many areas outside of the United States.

The collection also includes map- and geography-related reference materials, such as indexes, cartobibliographies, gazetteers, dictionaries, catalogs, books and periodicals.

Accessing the Map Collection

Maps and charts, atlases, and map-related reference materials do not circulate--they may not be checked out except by special permission--but most are physically accessible to the public during McKeldin Library's hours of operation. Exceptions include historical topo maps of Maryland and DC, and Congressional Serial Set maps, both of which require staff assistance.

Large format, black & white photocopies of maps and charts are available, subject to staff availability.

To orient yourself to the collection, please see the Map Collection Layout [pdf].

 return to top

Topographic Maps

Topographic maps depict both natural features--mountains, valleys, plains, lakes, rivers, vegetation--and artifacts of human development and civilization. Streets, roads and railroads, political and administrative boundaries, transmission lines, buildings, dams, parks, airports, mines, and levees may all appear on topographic maps. They are therefore useful for a wide range of applications, including land use planning, agriculture, engineering, development, conservation, recreation, and historical research.

Example of historic USGS topo mapRockville, Maryland quadrangle (1908)

In general, topo maps are filed in map cases by scale/series, then alphabetically by state or territory name, and then by and map/quadrangle name.

Within the 7.5' series, Maryland, DC, Delaware, Virginia, W. Virginia, and Pennsylvania are shelved in adjacent map cases. The remaining states are shelved alphabetically by state name. Some maps cover two states and are named accordingly (e.g., Mount Storm, WV-MD). In cases where Maryland is one of the two states, maps are shelved with Maryland. U.S. Forest Service editions of the 7.5' series and the 1:63,360 (15') series of Alaska maps are both interfiled with USGS 7.5' maps.

UMCP's topographic map holdings for the United States and its territorial possessions are as follows:

Series/Scale Coverage Area Location, Call No.
1:250,000 1° x 2° quadrangles (all states) U.S. Gov't Info Maps, I 19.98:
1:100,000 30' x 60' quads (all states but Alaska) U.S. Gov't Info Maps, I 19.110:
1:63,360 15' quads (Alaska only) U.S. Gov't Info Maps, I 19.81/2:
1:50,000 US Counties (select states) U.S. Gov't Info Maps, I 19.108:
1:50,000 15' quads (select states) U.S. Gov't Info Maps
1:25,000 metric 7.5' quads (select states) U.S. Gov't Info Maps
1:24,000 7.5' quads (all states but Alaska) U.S. Gov't Info Maps, I 19.81: and A 13.28:
1:20,000-1:30,000 7.5' quads (Puerto Rico, USVI, Northern Mariana Islands, American Samoa, Micronesia, Palau) U.S. Gov't Info Maps, I 19.81:

Useful resources:

 return to top

Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps

Example of Sanborn mapBaltimore, Maryland

Sanborn maps--colored, lithograph maps of over 12,000 cities and towns across the United States--were originally used by fire insurance underwriters to assess fire risk in urban structures. Highly detailed and set at a very large scale, Sanborn maps are an invaluable tool for conducting historical research in fields ranging from genealogy and urban studies to social history and public health.

The UMCP's holdings of Sanborn maps (both print and microfilm formats) are part of the Maryland Map Collection in Hornbake Library. The collection is limited to maps of Maryland and the District of Columbia.

Useful resources:

 return to top

Historical Maps--Maryland & DC

Example of historical Maryland mapBaltimore, Maryland (1819)

UMCP's primary collection of historical maps of Maryland and the Chesapeake Bay region are in Hornbake Library's Maryland Map Collection, which contains more than 3,000 map titles dating back to 1590. These maps--antiquarian, Sanborn, city and county, and many thematic/topical maps--are excellent resources for documenting and visualizing the growth of Maryland.

The GovMG collection of topo maps and soil maps are also good sources of historical cartography, as are maps from the Congressional Serial Set, which includes hundreds of maps depicting the growth and development of Georgetown and Washington, D.C., as well as Maryland and the Chesapeake Bay region.

 return to top

Historical Maps--U.S.

Example of Serial Set mapExtermination of the
American bison (1887)

UMCP's holdings of historical U.S. maps include 27,000 sheet maps extracted from the Congressional Serial Set, a massive compilation of official U.S. Government documents and reports that chronicle the growth and development of the U.S. from the early 1800's through the 1950's.

Among the dozens of subjects depicted by these maps: public land surveys; exploration and territorial expansion; Indian affairs; hydrography and navigation; fisheries and agriculture; geology and hydrology; population and demographics; weather and climate; foreign and military affairs; boundary and land claims; urban development.

Serial Set maps are shelved in map cases by size and bibliographic attributes (i.e., Serial Set volume number, document number, and map number). They require staff assistance.

Example of Serial Set mapThe Mall and vicinity (1927)

Useful resources:

 return to top

State Maps

Example of state mapNew York (1974)

State-wide maps, published since the early 1970s by the USGS and the BLM, are available for each of the fifty states. Scales vary from 1:2,500,000 (Alaska) to 1:500,000. Maps depict a variety of features, including topography, roads, relief, wilderness status, land and minerals management, surface management, landcover, and bathymetry. Multiple editions exist for most states. They are shelved in map cases by state.

Useful resources:

 return to top

Soil Maps

Example of soil mapPG County soil map (1901)

Soil surveys and soil maps, published by the USDA since the late 1800s, depict, describe and analyze soils for their use as raw material and as structural support. Contemporary soil maps consist of aerial imagery overlaid with soil data; early editions laid soil data over a topographic map base. Soil maps are useful to a wide array of applications--land use, agriculture, engineering, development, conservation, recreation, and wildlife management, among others. UMCP's collection includes soil surveys and soil maps for most U.S. counties, some of which date back to the early 1900s.

LOCATION: U.S. Gov't Info SuDoc
CALL NUMBER: A 26.5/a:
CALL NUMBER: A 47.5:
CALL NUMBER: A 57.38:county name
CALL NUMBER: A 57.38:state

Example of soil mapPG County soil map (1967)

Useful resources:

 return to top

Geologic & Hydrologic Maps

Example of geologic mapGeology of Frederick County (1968)

Like topographic and soil maps, geologic and hydrologic maps provide useful information about the earth's composition and structure. Because they provide both descriptive and interpretive information about the landscape's physical properties, geologic and hydrologic maps are critical to a wide variety of applications, including property valuation, environmental consulting and clean-up, hazard prevention, exploration and development, civil engineering, city and regional planning (e.g., landfill siting, transportation planning, managing water and sewer systems), and locating natural resources.

Primary sources of geologic maps are state geological surveys and the U.S. Geological Survey, which has published thousands of maps and reports related to geology, hydrology, minerals, coal, oil & gas, and land use--dating back to the late 1800s.

Major USGS series include:

Series Location Call No.
Geologic Atlas of the United States U.S. Gov't Info Atlas I 19.5/1:[no.]
Water Resource Investigations U.S. Gov't Info SuDoc I 19.42/4:WRI-[no.]
Geologic Quadrangle Maps U.S. Gov't Info Maps I 19.88:GQ-[no.]
Hydrologic Investigations Atlases U.S. Gov't Info Maps I 19.89:HA-[no.]
Miscellaneous Geologic Investigations U.S. Gov't Info Maps I 19.91:I-[no.]
Scientific Investigations Maps U.S. Gov't Info Maps I 19.91/3:[no.]
Miscellaneous Field Studies U.S. Gov't Info Maps I 19.113:MF-[no.]
Bulletins Engineering Library QE75 .B9
Professional Papers Engineering Library QE75 .P9
Water-Supply Papers Engineering Library TC801 .U2

Useful resources:

 return to top

Nautical/Navigation Charts

Example of NOAA nautical chartBaltimore Harbor (2008)

Nautical/navigation charts typically depict: water depths; shallow areas; navigable channels and passages; shoals, banks and bars; anchorages; fixed and floating navigation aids (e.g., buoys and lighthouses); underwater hazards and obstructions; buildings and manmade structures. Several types are available:

  • Domestic coastlines and inland waterways are charted by the Office of Coast Survey (OCS). Charts are organized into five geographic regions and shelved in map cases by chart number.
    LOCATION: U.S. Gov't Info Maps (map cases)
    CALL NUMBER: C 55.418/7:[no.]
  • International coastlines are charted by the National Geospatial Intelligence Agency (NGA). Charts are organized into nine regions and shelved in map cases by chart number.
    LOCATION: U.S. Gov't Info Maps (map cases)
    CALL NUMBER: D 5.356:[no.]
  • Inland rivers are charted by the Army Corps of Engineers. Charts exist for several rivers in the U.S., including the Arkansas, Mississippi, Ohio, and Red.
    LOCATION: U.S. Gov't Info Atlas
    CALL NUMBER: D 103.66:

Useful resources:

 return to top

Census Bureau Maps

Example of census mapPittsburgh mortality rates (1890)

Census maps depict statistical and and administrative boundaries (e.g., counties, enumeration districts, tracts, blocks, statistical areas), as well as aggregated data (e.g., population distributions). They allow researchers to study and visualize demographic, social, industrial, and agricultural trends by state, county, city, congressional district, tract, block, etc.

Sheet maps, which accompany the statistical volumes from the 1960-1990 Decennial Censuses, allow users to associate geographical boundaries with compiled Census data. Major holdings of UMCP's sheet maps include:

Series/Type Coverage Location
2000 Census Blocks Prince George's, Montgomery Counties; Washington, DC U.S. Gov't Info Maps
(map cases)
2000 Census Tracts Maryland; Washington, DC U.S. Gov't Info Maps
(map cases)
2000 Census Urbanized Areas Maryland; Washington, DC U.S. Gov't Info Maps
(map cases)
1990 Census Tracts and Block Numbering Areas US Metro Statistical Areas; other areas U.S. Gov't Info SuDoc,
C 3.223/11:990
1980 Census Tracts US Metro Statistical Areas; other areas U.S. Gov't Info SuDoc,
C 3.223/11:980
1980 Census Blocks US Metro Statistical Areas; other areas U.S. Gov't Info SuDoc,
C 3.224/5:PHC 80
1970 Census Tracts and Blocks Select Urban Areas U.S. Gov't Info SuDoc,
C 3.224/5:970
1960 Census Tracts and Blocks Select Urban Areas U.S. Gov't Info SuDoc,
C 3.224/9:960

Atlases provide users with a variety of maps depicting distributions of notable demographic or social characteristics, such as income, education level, age, race and ethnicity, etc. The data behind atlas maps are usually highly aggregated--maps often show the data by state or county. UMCP's census-related atlases include:

Example of census mapPG County
Block Map (2000)

Useful resources:

 return to top

Land Management Maps

Example of BLM mapMcCall, Idaho (2004)

These 1:100,000-scale maps, published by the Bureau of Land Management (BLM), are cadastral survey maps of public lands in 13 western states (Arizona, California, Colorado, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oregon, South Dakota, Utah, Washington, and Wyoming). There are two series:

  • Surface Management maps depict land ownership information by state and federal agencies (e.g., U.S. Forest Service, U.S. Fish & Wildlife, BLM, National Park Service).
    LOCATION: U.S. Gov't Info Maps (map cases)
    CALL NUMBER: I 53.11/4:
  • Surface and Mineral Management maps depict land ownership information by state and federal agencies, and the location and nature of federally owned mineral rights.
    LOCATION: U.S. Gov't Info Maps (map cases)
    CALL NUMBER: I 53.11/4-2:

Both series portray basic geographic, topographic and roadway information, as well as township, range and section boundaries. Maps are updated regularly to accommodate changes in surface ownership, and older editions are retained for historical purposes.

BLM maps are shelved in map cases by state, then by series, then alphabetically by map/quadrangle name.

 return to top

Flood Insurance Rate Maps

Example of FEMA flood mapPG County FIRM (1996)

Federal Emergency Management Agency Flood Insurance Rate Maps (FIRMs) graphically depict Special Flood Hazard Areas and other features related to flood risk assessment. FIRMs are the basis for floodplain management, mitigation, and insurance activities of the National Flood Insurance Program, and are therefore useful to a wide range of users, including homeowners, developers and civil engineers, government officials, insurance agents and brokers, and lending institutions.

UMCP's holdings include print maps for the entirety of Anne Arundel, Charles, Howard, Montgomery, and Prince George's counties (including incorporated areas such as Annapolis, Indian Head, Gaithersburg, Rockville, and Laurel), as well as Baltimore City and the District of Columbia.

FIRMs are stored in map cases and organized by geographical area (e.g., county or city).

Useful resources:

 return to top

Forest Service Maps

Example of Forest Service map

Forest Service maps can depict a wide variety of geographic and cultural features, including topography, river, streams and lakes, trails, roads, administrative boundaries, recreation facilities, ranger stations, and wilderness areas. They may also describe wood cutting and vehicle use restrictions. Scales vary.
LOCATION: U.S. Gov't Info Maps
CALL NUMBER: A 13.28:
LOCATION: U.S. Gov't Info Maps
CALL NUMBER: A 13.36/2-6:

Note: U.S. Forest Service editions of the 1:24,000-scale topographic quadrangle maps are interfiled with USGS topo maps.

Useful resources:

  • Inventory of UMCP's National Forest maps. (This inventory lists only those USFS maps stored in map cases.)

 return to top

Aeronautical Charts

Example of TPC chartTPC G-6C: Afghanistan,
India, Pakistan (1992)

The Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) and the National Geospatial Intelligence Agency (NGA) publish aeronautical charts designed to assist pilots in navigation. The can depict a variety of features useful to both pilotage and general research, including topography and relief, populated places, drainage patterns, roads, railroads, and other distinctive landmarks, as well as visual and radio aids to navigation, airports, controlled airspace, restricted areas, obstructions, and related data.

The NGA's TPC, ONC, JNC and GNC series of charts are the only contemporary, English-language, medium- and small-scale maps of the earth's surface still made available to the general public by the U.S. government. Their near-global coverage makes them a unique source of (relatively) current cartographic information. UMCP's holdings include:

  • Tactical Pilotage Charts (1:500,000-scale)
  • Operational Navigational Charts (1:1,000,000)
  • Jet Navigational Charts (1:2,000,000)
  • General Navigation Charts (1:5,000,000)

NGA aero charts are folded and stored in pamphlet boxes by series and chart number.
LOCATION: U.S. Gov't Info Maps
CALL NUMBER: D 5.354:

Example of FAA chartTerminal Area Chart

Domestic aeronautical charts include:

  • Terminal Area Charts (1:250,000-scale)
  • Sectional Aeronautical Charts (1:500,000)
  • World Aeronautical Charts (1:1,000,000)
  • Helicopter Route Charts (1:125,000)

FAA aero charts and related products, including Airport/Facility Directories and Terminal Procedures, are stored in pamphlet boxes by series and chart number.
LOCATION: U.S. Gov't Info Maps
CALL NUMBER: TD 4.79: - TD 4.80:

Useful resources:

 return to top

Central Intelligence Agency Maps

Example of CIA mapEthnolinguistic Groups
in the Caucasus Region (1995)

The CIA produces an excellent series of sheet maps, atlases, map folios, and pocket-sized street map guides. UMCP's holdings include more than 1,600 items dating from 1967 to the present. Overall coverage is worldwide--cities, countries, transnational regions, continents, oceans, and assorted territories and geopolitical features are covered.

CIA maps often depict basic political and geographic features; they may also depict social, demographic, or geographic themes, such as religion, ethnicity, vegetation, and land use. Scales and detail vary widely, as does the frequency of updates--world and continent maps are generally updated annually, while regional and national maps may be updated much less frequently. CIA map products are not replaced or superseded--all editions are retained--so they are useful for historical comparison.

Example of CIA mapDisputed Area of Kashmir (2003)

CIA Maps, Folios, and Street Guides
LOCATION: U.S. Gov't Info Maps (binders and map cases)
CALL NUMBER: PrEx 3.10/4:

CIA Atlases
LOCATION: U.S. Gov't Info Atlas
CALL NUMBER: PrEx 3.10/4:

 return to top

National Geographic Society Maps

Example of National Geographic mapBible Lands (1938)

National Geographic maps are excellent reference tools. In addition to depicting basic political and geographic features, National Geographic products often display significant cultural, scientific and historical themes.

UMCP's holdings include more than 375 maps dating from 1914 to the present, which means the collection is a useful means of conducting both contemporary and historical research. Scales and geographic coverages vary--NGS maps depict cities, states, countries, regions, and continents, as well as earth and other celestial bodies.

National Geographic maps are stored in map cases as a series, and shelved according to geographic region.

Useful resources:

 return to top

Foreign/World Maps

Example of AMS mapLyon, France (1962)

The Foreign/World Map collection includes more than 100,000 sheet maps of foreign countries, transnational regions (e.g., East Africa), and continents. Maps in this collection depict a wide range of thematic material, including topography, roads, soil, geology, climate, transportation, minerals, oil & gas, bathymetry, and satellite imagery. Large-scale city plans also exist for hundreds of foreign cities.

Most items are from the mid-20th Century (1920-1970), but publication dates vary widely, as do scales, language of publication, and completeness of coverage. Many are part of national and regional series produced or acquired by the U.S. Army Map Service (AMS) before, during and after World War II; others were published by foreign mapping agencies.

Example of city planTripoli, Tripolitania (1943)

Maps are shelved in map cases alphabetically by country, region, or continent name, followed by series or subject (if applicable). Users are strongly advised to consider current and former country names (e.g., British Honduras/Belize, Rhodesia/Zimbabwe), regional names (e.g., Scandinavia, Indochina, Balkans), and continent or sub-continental names (e.g., Asia, Central America) to locate needed maps. Coverage can be poor in one category (e.g., Ethiopia), but much stronger in another (e.g., East Africa).

Single- or multi-sheet world maps, including Department of Defense series 1202, 1301, 1404, and 1501 (aka Joint Operations Graphics, or JOG Charts), the UNESCO Geologic Atlas of the World, and FAO/UNESCO soil maps, are shelved under "W".

Useful resources:

 return to top

Road Maps & Travel Guides

Example of road atlasMontgomery County
Road Atlas (2008)

UMCP's collection includes current road atlases/gazetteers, published by DeLorme and ADC, for Maryland counties and states in the Mid-Atlantic region. These items are shelved in the map collection near the public access workstation. Like USGS topographic maps, they depict natural features, such as topography and bodies of water, as well as political and administrative boundaries (e.g., ZIP codes and subdivisions), manmade features (roads, buildings, cemeteries, mass transit lines) and tourist and recreational attractions, such as historic sites, lighthouses, campgrounds, and scenic drives.

There are also road, tourist, and travel maps/guides for the 50 states and hundreds of foreign cities and countries. Most of these items were published by non-governmental organizations (e.g., AAA, local tourism boards), corporate entities (e.g., Michelin, Shell Oil), or state/local governments; they are not U.S. government publications.

Example of oil company mapMorocco (1958)
These maps are not collected systematically, and many are not current. They are best used as a source of historical geography, particularly for users interested in large- and very large-scale depictions of domestic and foreign cities.

Useful resources:

 return to top

Atlases

Example of atlasCensus Atlas (2007)

GovMG's atlas collection includes approximately 500 titles useful for both general reference and subject- or location-specific research. The collection includes national atlases, as well as titles that depict and explain historical events, statistical distributions, social trends, scientific phenomena, and much more.

Atlases can be located in the catalog. Note that many more atlases are stored in other locations, such as McKeldin's Folio section, and are not part of the GovMG collection.

 return to top

Map-Related Reference Materials

Example of a gazetteerColumbia Gazetteer (2008)

UMCP's collection includes materials that are useful for conducting cartographic research and identifying map publishers, as well as locating and using maps and other cartographic materials (such as aerial photos). These resources include:

  • Gazetteers and place-name indexes
  • Publications of the U.S. Board on Geographic Names
  • Cartobibliographies
  • Catalogs of map publishers
  • Guides to other map libraries

Most reference items can be located in the catalog.

 return to top

 

© 2007 University Libraries. University of Maryland. College Park, MD 20742-7011, (301) 405-0800
Last modified: June 30, 2009

Send us your comments | Privacy Policy
University of Maryland Libraries Home Catalog Research Port Ask us! How do I...? Site index Search