navigation bar
Guides to Information Resources

Last revised: July 2007

Materials Science

This guide was created to help students and faculty find information in the field of materials science. Email the subject area specialist Bob Kackley at rkackley(@umd.edu) or call 301-405-9155 for more information.

Finding Books

At UM Libraries

To locate books on a specific topic, search the online catalog. To start with, try a subject beginning with ... search using phrases such as Materials Fatigue, Materials science, or Materials Testing. This search will return books classified under those subject headings. For example, a subject search for Materials handling, would return the following:

To narrow your results down to a particular focus, use the catalog's advanced search and limit your search by publication year, location, or by adding additional keywords.

A word/s anywhere search will locate terms and phrases that appear in the title, subject headings, or notes of a catalog record. Examples of some common terms and phrases used to locate books on materials science include:

alloys
"biological materials"
ceramics
"electronic materials"
"magnetic materials"
"manufacturing processes"
"materials deterioration"
"materials management"
    "materials testing"
"mechanical properties"
metallurgy
metals
"photonic materials"
polymers
semiconductors
"structural design"

Books dealing with similar subjects are likely to be grouped together on the shelves. Thus, another way to locate books on a particular topic is to shelf-browse. The following are some call number ranges where you can find books about or related to materials science:

TA 401 - 492
TA 405 - 409.3
TA 410 - 417.7
TA 418.9 - 455
TA 459 - 492
TN 1 - 264
TN 600 - 799
TP 785 - 869
TP 1080 - 1185
TS 200 - 770
    Materials of engineering and construction
Strength of materials. Mechanics of materials
Testing of materials (general and mechanical)
Nonmetallic materials
Metallic materials
Mining engineering
Metallurgy
Clay industries. Ceramics. Glass
Polymers and polymer manufacture
Metal manufactures. Metalworking

At Other Libraries

The best tool for locating books and journals beyond holdings of the University of Maryland and its consortium libraries is WorldCat. WorldCat contains records for materials found in research libraries worldwide. However, in order to obtain materials found outside the university system you will need to request an interlibrary loan.

 return to top

Reference Works

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

 return to top

Handbooks and Manuals

 return to top

Directories

 return to top

Finding Articles

Core Databases

Metadex

Includes abstracts on a variety of topics including Steel, Microstructure, Strength, Refining, Casting, Coatings, Heat Treatment, Metal Matrix Composites, Nonferrous metals, Corrosion, Extracting and Smelting, Blast Furnaces, Machining, Welding, Testing and Analysis, Environmental and Safety Issues.

Engineered Materials

Covers the topics of Biomedical materials, Ceramics, Composites, Compounding and Blinding, Corrosion, Design, Joining, Machining, Mechanical properties, Microstructure, Molding and forming, Physical properties, Polymers, Preparation and Synthesis, Quality Control, and Testing.

Compendex (EI Village)

Engineering Village 2 is a Web-based information service that offers a wide range of quality resources for information specialists, professionals, and researchers working in the applied science and engineering fields. It is a comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database with engineering journals, conference materials, Physics Abstracts, Electrical & Electronics Abstracts and Computer & Control Abstracts.

Inspec

Indexes and abstracts 4,000 scientific/technical journals and conference proceedings in physics, electrical engineering, computing, and information technology. Core coverage of computing, electronics, and physics, with related coverage of materials science, oceanography, nuclear engineering, geophysics, and biomedical engineering.

Materials Business File

Focuses on industry news, international trade data, government regulations and management issues related to the metals and materials industries. Citations for this database are pulled from 2,000 journals, plus patents, dissertations, government reports, conference proceedings, and books indexed by expert editors from Materials Information.

Ceramic Abstracts

Continuing online Ceramic Abstracts & World Ceramic Abstracts, indexes technical literature for the ceramics industry including manufacture, processing, applications, & properties contained in over 200 journals, proceedings, books, patents, standards & company product literature.

Corrosion Abstracts

Abstracts of international literature on corrosion testing and prevention.

Aluminum Industry Abstracts

Abstracts of international technical literature on aluminum production, applications, industry, metallurgy, ores, and testing.

Copper Data Center

Abstracts of journal articles, technical reports, patents and more on all aspects of copper, copper alloys, and copper technology Includes abstracts of 5582 documents published between 1863 and 1964.

Weldasearch

Abstracts of articles, research reports, books, standards, patents, theses and special publications. Covers about 50 journals, but is international. Covers all areas of welding, joining metals, plastics and ceramics, metal and ceramic spraying, thermal cutting, brazing, soldering and related topics.

 return to top

Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Premier

Provides abstracts and indexing for over 7,000 journals. Full text of articles for over 4,000 scholarly publications, including more than 3,100 peer-reviewed publications.

Conference Papers

Conference Papers provides citations to papers and poster sessions presented at major scientific meetings around the world. Records include complete ordering information to obtain preprints, abstracts, proceedings and other publications derived from the conference, together with title and author information needed to track the specific papers.

Digital Dissertations

This database is the authoritative source for information about and full text of doctoral dissertations and master's theses. The database represents the work of authors from over 1,000 graduate schools and universities.

netLibrary

A collection of E-texts covering topics specifically chosen by Maryland Academic Libraries. Some titles available through netLibrary that are relevant to Materials Science include Future Materials Science Research on the International Space Station and Materials Science and Engineering: Forging Stronger Links to Users.

NTIS

Covers U.S. government-sponsored research and reports from federal agencies. NTIS is the central source for the sale of unclassified and publicly available information from federal sources. Indexes and abstracts technical research reports, journal articles, data files, computer programs and audio-visual products.Information is also available from some foreign governments. Additionally, NTIS includes some technical reports from international agencies such as NATO and AGARD.

Science Citation Index (Web of Science)

A multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the sciences. It indexes more than 5,700 major journals across 164 scientific disciplines. The best database for finding what papers have cited other papers. Cited references can be traced forward in time.

WorldCat

Catalog of books, serial publications, media, visual materials, musical scores, and archival materials in libraries worldwide.

 return to top

Periodicals

To find journals conduct a Journal Search in the UM catalog or browse E-Journals in Research Port. The following is a select list of materials science e-journals:

Advances in Applied Ceramics

Annual Review of Materials Science

Bulletin of Materials Science

Ceramics Monthly

Journal of Materials Science

      Materials in Engineering

Materials Research

Materials Science

Mineral Processing and Extractive Metallurgy Review

Progress in Materials Science

 return to top

Web Resources

General

AMMTIAC (Advanced Materials, Manufacturing and Testing Analysis Center)
http://ammtiac.alionscience.com/

AMMTIAC has a bibliographic database, a lengthy list of related links, and much more.

Biomat.net: The Biomaterials Network
http://www.biomat.net/

The Biomaterials Network has links to "top sites," organizations, jobs, events, and much more.

MatDL: Materials Digital Library Pathway
http://matdl.org/repository/index.php

"The NSDL MatDL Pathway aims to provide stewardship for content and services needed across the MS community and in particular for its targeted audience of materials undergraduate and graduate students, educators, and researchers by offering: 1. Tools, like the Repository and Soft Matter Wiki, to describe, manage, exchange, archive, and disseminate data among national and international government-funded materials teams and centers. 2. MatForge for open access development of modeling and simulation tools. 3. Teaching Archive for collaborative development of core undergraduate MS teaching materials. 4. Services and content for virtual labs in large undergraduate introductory science courses."

Photonics Dictionary
http://www.photonics.com/dictHome.aspx

"The Photonics Dictionary contains more than 6000 industry-related terms, along with acronyms, abbreviations and illustrations."

 return to top

Web Databases

Ceramic Properties Databases
http://www.acers.org/cic/propertiesdb.asp
A list of free online databases compiled by the American Ceramic Society.

DSpace at MIT
http://dspace.mit.edu/handle/1721.1/7835
DSpace is MIT's database of digital research materials. This link goes directly into the community of the Department of Materials Science and Engineering at MIT.

MatWeb
http://www.matweb.com
"The heart of MatWeb is a searchable database of material data sheets, including property information on thermoplastic and thermoset polymers such as ABS, nylon, polycarbonate, polyester, polyethylene and polypropylene; metals such as aluminum, cobalt, copper, lead, magnesium, nickel, steel, superalloys, titanium and zinc alloys; ceramics; plus semiconductors, fibers, and other engineering materials."

PGM Database
http://www.platinummetalsreview.com/jmpgm/
"A collection of published data and internal Johnson Matthey data defining the physical properties and characteristics of platinum group metals and their alloys." This databse "can perform selection based on material properties, showing only materials with the properties that you define."

 return to top

Online Journals

 return to top

Professional Associations

 return to top

Please take a minute to fill out this survey so we can continue to provide you with excellent service.

What is your current status?
Undergraduate Graduate or PhD Faculty Other

How did you find this research guide?

What did you use this guide for?   

Did you find this guide useful?
Very Useful Somewhat Useful A Little Useful Not Useful

How could this guide be improved?
  

 return to top

 

© 2007 University Libraries. University of Maryland. College Park, MD 20742-7011, (301) 405-0800
Last modified: June 21, 2007

Send us your comments | Privacy Policy
University of Maryland Libraries Home Catalog Research Port Ask us! How do I...? Site index Search