|
Last revised: June 2007
Mathematics
Scope: This guide was created to help
students and faculty find information resources in the field of
Mathematics. For further assistance, e-mail the subject specialist
Nevenka Zdravkovska at nevenka(@umd.edu).
REFERENCE WORKS
The following resources may be helpful for looking up quick facts,
formulas, and explanations for
math principles, theories, and applications.
In Print
return to top
Online
- Wolfram
MathWorld
A comprehensive and interactive mathematics encyclopedia intended for
students, educators, math
enthusiasts, and researchers.
- S.O.S. Mathematics
Free, online resource offering quick summaries of mathematical topics,
tables, and formulas.
- Wikipedia:
Mathematics
Wikipedia's Mathematics section contains many encyclopedia articles on
topics ranging from
axiomatization to wavelets.
- Ma
thWorks MATLAB
Tutorial
Offers step-by-step introduction to learning basic and advanced
features of MATLAB.
- Science &
Engineering Encyclopedia
Science and engineering descriptions, equations, conversions,
calculators and material data. Organized by A to Z, subject and
interlinked.
- Access
Science
Searchable, electronic version of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of
Science and Technology which
includes a science dictionary, news articles, research updates,
biographies, and more.
- Encyclopaedia
Britannica
Online
Contains the full-text of the 32-volume Encyclopaedia Britannica,
Webster's Third New
International Dictionary Unabridged, and the Britannica Book of the
Year.
return to top
LOCATING BOOKS
Locating Books at EPSL
To locate books at the library you'll need use the UM
Catalog. Often, the best way to find books on a particular topic is
to browse by subject. To
browse catalog subject headings select "Subject beginning with..." as
your search type and enter your search term(s). Thus, for example, a
subject search for "differential equations" would
return something like the following:

Click on the subject heading to view the list of books classified by
that heading.
Click here for further instructions on
searching the UM Catalog.
Another way of locating books on a particular topic may to be browse
the collections directly.
Books on similar topics are likely to be grouped together on the
shelves. Browsing the shelves
requires some familiarity with the Library of Congress Classification
system. Books on
mathematics are classified under call numbers beginning with QA:
| QA1-939 | Mathematics |
| |
| QA1-43 | ....General |
| QA47-59 | ....Tables |
| QA71-90 | ....Instruments and machines |
| QA75-76.95 | ........Calculating machines |
| QA75.5-76.95 | ........Electronic computers. Computer
science |
| QA76.75-76.765 | ...........Computer software |
| QA101-(145) | ....Elementary mathematics.
Arithmetic |
| QA150-272.5 | ....Algebra |
| QA273-280 | ....Probabilities. Mathematical
statistics |
| QA299.6-433 | ....Analysis |
| QA440-699 | ....Geometry. Trigonometry.
Topology |
| QA801-939 | ....Analytic mechanics |
Click here for an overview of the
EPSL floor plan and a
tutorial on reading call numbers.
return to top
Locating Books at Other Libraries
Occasionally, you may find it necessary to search for resources beyond
those held by EPSL. The
best tool for locating books and journals beyond holdings of the
University of Maryland and its
consortium libraries is WorldCat. WorldCat contains records for materials found in
research libraries worldwide.
However, in order to obtain materials found outside the university
system you will need to
request an interlibrary loan.
return to top
LOCATING ARTICLES
To locate journals in your field of interest you can conduct a Journal Search
in the UM catalog or
browse the E-Journal collections
in Research
Port. To find precise articles on a topic, however, you will want to
search some of the following
electronic databases accessible through Research Port.
Core Math Databases
The following databases are the primary electronic resources available
for locating journal
articles in mathematics.
- MathSciNet
Covering mathematical literature since 1940 this international database
provides bibliographic
data and reviews of mathematical research literature from 1700 current
journals, books and other
original documents.
- Web of
Science (Science Citation Index)
A multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the
sciences. It indexes more
than 5,700 major journals across 164 scientific disciplines. Virtually
the only index for finding
what papers have cited other papers.
- JSTOR
Electronic archive of core journals in the humanities, social sciences,
and sciences. Includes
complete runs of journals with full-text of all articles published
prior to the most current five
years. (Note: Click on "Advanced Search" and select Mathematics and/or
Statistics from the list
of subjects).
return to top
Applied Math/Engineering Databases
While not explicitly devoted to math topics, the following databases
may contain materials
related to applied mathematics:
- Inspec
Indexes and abstracts 4,000 scientific/technical journals and
conference proceedings in
physics, electrical engineering, computing, and information technology.
- Compendex
Database that offers a wide range of quality resources for information
specialists,
professionals, and researchers working in the applied science and
engineering fields.
return to top
Multidisciplinary Databases
The following is a list of general, multidisciplinary databases that
may be helpful for your
research:
- WorldCat
Union catalog of books, journals, media, and archival materials in
libraries worldwide.
- Academic
Search Premier
Provides abstracts and indexing for over 7,000 journals. Full text of
articles for over 4,000
scholarly publications, including more than 3,100 peer-reviewed
publications.
- Web of
Science (Science Citation Index)
A multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the
sciences. It indexes more than 5,700 major journals across 164
scientific disciplines.Virtually the only index for finding what papers
have cited other papers.
- Ingenta
Search or browse more than 20,000 publications from the Ingenta
database. Some full text is
available.
- Digital
Dissertations
This database is the authoritative source for information about
doctoral dissertations and
master's theses. The database represents the work of authors from over
1,000 graduate schools and
universities.
return to top
WEB RESOURCES
The following are some math-related resources available for free on the
web:
Digital Libraries
return to top
Online Journals
return to top
Gateways
return to top
Professional Associations
return to top
DEPARTMENTAL PAGES
The following links provide information for staying abreast with events
in your department.
return to top
|