navigation bar
Guides to Information Resources

Last revised: July 2009

Mechanical Engineering

Scope: This guide was created to help students and faculty find information resources in the field of Mechanical Engineering. For further assistance, e-mail the subject specialist Jim Miller at jmiller2(@umd.edu).

return to top


Locating Books

At UM Libraries

To locate books at the library you'll need use the UM Catalog. You can search the catalog in a number of different ways including author, title, keyword, and subject. To narrow your results, use the catalog's advanced search and limit your search by publication year, location, or by adding additional keywords. Choosing the best search method depends on how much you know about the books you're searching for. When looking for a known book, conduct an author or title search. When looking for books on a particular topic, search by keyword or subject.

A word/s anywhere search will locate terms and phrases that appear in the title, subject headings, or notes of a catalog record. A subject beginning with... or subject word/s search locates terms that appear in the subject headings of the catalog record. Examples of some common terms and phrases used to locate books on mechanical engineering include:

automobiles     mechanical drawing
computer-aided design     mechanical engineering
fluid dynamics     mechanical properties
heat transfer     mechanics
industrial engineering     nanotechnology
hydraulics     pneumatics
machinery     power (mechanics)
mass transfer     reliability engineering
materials     thermodynamics
materials testing     vibration

Books dealing with similar subjects are likely to be grouped together on the shelves. Thus, another way to locate books on a particular topic is to browse by call number. You can do this: a) physically -- by going to the stacks and shelf-reading, or b) or virtually -- by doing a call number search in the online catalog using the first few digits of a call number (i.e., TJ266 for books on turbines). The following are some call number ranges where you can find books on mechanical engineering topics:

TJ 1-1570   Mechanical engineering and machinery
TJ 163.13-163.25   Power resources
TJ 163.26-163.5   Energy conservation
TJ 170-179   Mechanics
TJ 181-210   Mechanical movements
TJ 210.2-211.47   Mechanical devices
TJ 212-225   Control engineering systems. Automatic machinery
TJ 227-240   Machine design and drawing
TJ 241-254.7   Machine construction
TJ 255-265   Heat engines
TJ 266-267.5   Turbines
TJ 268-740   Steam engineering
TJ 603-695   Locomotives
TJ 751-805   Miscellaneous motors and engines, including gasoline, diesel engines
TJ 807-830   Renewable energy sources
TJ 836-927   Hydraulic machinery
TJ 940-940.5   Vacuum technology
TJ 950-1030   Pneumatic machinery
TJ 1040-1119   Machinery exclusive of prime movers
TJ 1125-1345   Machine shops and machine shop practice
TJ 1350-1418   Hoisting and conveying machinery
TJ 1425-1475   Lifting and pressing machinery
TJ 1480-1496   Agricultural machinery
TJ 1501-1519   Sewing machines
TL 1-4050   Motor Vehicles

return to top

At Other Libraries

Occasionally, you may find it necessary to search for resources beyond those held by our libraries. The best tool for locating books and journals beyond holdings of the University of Maryland and its consortium libraries is WorldCat. WorldCat contains records for materials found in research libraries worldwide.

However, in order to obtain materials found outside the university system you will need to request an interlibrary loan. Materials requested through interlibrary loan take approximately two weeks to arrive.

return to top


Reference Works

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Preston, Edward J. CAD/CAM Dictionary. New York: Dekker, 1985.
LOCATION: EPSL Reference
CALL NUMBER: TS155.6.P73 1985

Keller, Harald. Dictionary of Engineering Acronyms and Abbreviations. New York: Neal-Schuman Publishers, 1994.
LOCATION: EPSL Reference
CALL NUMBER: T11.K43 1994

Keller, Harald. Dictionary of Engineering Materials. Hoboken: John Wiley, 2004.
LOCATION: EPSL Reference
CALL NUMBER: TA402.K43 2004

Nayler, G. H. F. Dictionary of Mechanical Engineering. Warrendale, PA: Society of Automotive Engineers, 1996.
LOCATION: EPSL Reference
CALL NUMBER: TJ9.N28 1996

Braun, S. Encyclopedia of Vibration. San Diego: Academic Press, 2002.
LOCATION: EPSL Reference
CALL NUMBER: TA355.E497 2002

McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology. New York: McGraw-Hill, 1997.
LOCATION: McKeldin Stacks
CALL NUMBER: Q121.M3 1997

Parker, Sybil P. McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Engineering. New York: McGraw-Hill, 1997.
LOCATION: EPSL Reference
CALL NUMBER: TA9.M35 1997

return to top

Directories

Plunkett’s Engineering and Research Industry Almanac. Houston: Plunkett Research, Ltd., 2008.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: TA160.P58

ThomasRegister of American Manufacturers. New York: Thomas Pub. Co., 2005.
LOCATION: EPSL Reference
CALL NUMBER: T12.T6
ELECTRONIC: http://www.thomasnet.com/

return to top

Handbooks & Manuals

Matthews, Clifford. ASME Engineer’s Data Book. New York: ASME Press, 2005.
LOCATION: EPSL Reference
CALL NUMBER: TJ151.M392 2005

Davis, Thomas Bieber. Audel Millwrights and Mechanics Guide. New York: Wiley, 2004.
LOCATION: EPSL Reference
CALL NUMBER: TJ151.N42 2004

Dorf, Richard C. CRC Handbook of Engineering Tables. Boca Raton: CRC Press, 2004.
LOCATION: EPSL Reference
CALL NUMBER: TA151.C76 2004

Kreith, Frank. CRC Handbook of Mechanical Engineering. Boca Raton: CRC Press, 2005.
LOCATION: EPSL Reference
CALL NUMBER: TJ151.C73 2005

Saleh, Jamal M. Fluid Flow Handbook. New York: McGraw-Hill, 2002.
LOCATION: EPSL Reference
CALL NUMBER: TA357.S35 2002

Murray, G.T. Handbook of Materials Selection for Engineering Applications. New York: M. Dekker, 1997.
LOCATION: EPSL Reference
CALL NUMBER: TA403.4.H37 1997

Hicks, Tyler Gregory. Handbook of Mechanical Engineering Calculations. New York: McGraw-Hill, 2006.
LOCATION: EPSL Reference
CALL NUMBER: TJ151.H327 2006

Kutz, Myer. Heat-Transfer Calculations. New York: McGraw-Hill, 2006.
LOCATION: EPSL Reference
CALL NUMBER: TJ260.H38927 2006

Parmley, Robert O. Machine Devices and Components Illustrated Sourcebook. New York: McGraw-Hill, 2005.
LOCATION: EPSL Reference
CALL NUMBER: TJ243.I45 2005

Brown, Thomas H. Marks’ Calculations for Machine Design . New York: McGraw-Hill, 2005.
LOCATION: EPSL Reference
CALL NUMBER: TJ233.B76 2005

Rothbart, Harold. Mechanical Design Handbook: Measurement, Analysis, and Control of Dynamic Systems. New York: McGraw-Hill, 2006.
LOCATION: EPSL Reference
CALL NUMBER: TJ230.M433 2006

Kutz, Myer. Mechanical Engineers’ Handbook. Hoboken: John Wiley & Sons, 2006.
LOCATION: EPSL Reference
CALL NUMBER: TJ151.M395 2006

S.A.E. Handbook.. New York: Society of Automotive Engineers, 2005.
LOCATION: EPSL Stacks
CALL NUMBER: TL151.S62

Bhushan, Bharat. Springer Handbook of Nanotechnology. New York: Springer-Verlag, 2004.
LOCATION: EPSL Reference
CALL NUMBER: T174.7.S67 2004

Shigley, Joseph E. Standard Handbook of Machine Design. New York: McGraw-Hill, 2004.
LOCATION: EPSL Reference
CALL NUMBER: TJ230.S8235 2004

return to top

Standards

American Society for Testing and Materials. Annual Book of ASTM Standards. Philadelphia: ASTM, 2006-.
LOCATION: EPSL Reference
CALL NUMBER: TA401.A653

return to top


Databases

Core Databases

Compendex
Large, interdisciplinary engineering database containing abstracts and full text from journals, conference proceedings, and trade publications. (Coverage: 1884-present)

Inspec Archive
Inspec backfile for pre-1969 scientific literature. (Coverage: 1898-1968)

Mechanical Engineering
Covers worldwide literature in mechanical engineering, engineering management, and production engineering. (Coverage: 1981–2002)

return to top


Specialized Databases

Aerospace Database
Covers basic and applied research in aeronautics, astronautics, and space sciences. (Coverage: 1962-present)

AIAA Meeting Papers
Full text access to the meeting papers of the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) from 1988-2004 as well as journal articles from 1996-2004.

Aluminum Industry Abstracts
Abstracts of technical literature on aluminum production, applications, industry, metallurgy, ores, and testing. (Coverage: 1972-present)

Ceramic Abstracts
Abstracts of technical literature on the ceramics industry including manufacture, processing, and applications. (Coverage: 1975-present)

Copper Data Center
Abstracts of technical literature on all aspects of copper and copper technology. (Coverage: 1965-present)

Corrosion Abstracts
Abstracts of international literature on corrosion testing and prevention. (Coverage: 1980-present)

Engineered Materials
Journal articles, technical reports, conference papers and more on properties and applications of polymers, ceramics and composites. (Coverage: 1986-present)

METADEX
Abstracts of articles and papers on metals, metallurgy and materials science. (Coverage: 1966-present)

NASA Technical Reports Server
Database of NASA technical reports and scientific literature.

NTIS (National Technical Information Service)
http://www.ntis.gov/search/index.aspx
Abstracts of government-sponsored research and reports from federal agencies. (Coverage: 1964-present)

Weldasearch
Covers all areas of welding, joining metals, plastics and ceramics, metal and ceramic spraying, thermal cutting, brazing, soldering and related topics. (Coverage: 1967-present)

return to top

Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Premier
Large multidisciplinary database providing abstracts and full-texts to journals in a wide variety of subject areas. (Coverage: 1965-present)

Conference Papers
Citations to papers and poster sessions presented at major scientific meetings around the world. (Coverage: 1982-present)

Digital Dissertations
Abstracts and full-text of dissertations and theses from over 1,000 graduate schools and universities. (Coverage: 1861-present; Full-text from 1997)

Science Citation Index
A multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the sciences. (Coverage: 1945-present)

U.S. Patent Database
Bibliographic and full-text content of patents from the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO). Full-text 1976 to present, images since 1790, applications since 2001.

WorldCat
Union catalog of books, journals, media, and archival materials held by research libraries worldwide.

return to top


Periodicals

To locate journals in your field of study conduct a Journal Search in the UM catalog or browse the E-Journal collections in Research Port. The following is a select list of journals in mechanical engineering:

Journal of applied mechanics. 1959-
HOLDINGS: v.26- (1959- )
LOCATION: EPSL Periodical Stacks
CALL NUMBER: TJ1.A7 ser. E
Electronic version available via Research Port

Journal of computing and information science in engineering. 2001-
HOLDINGS: v.2- (2002- )
LOCATION: EPSL Periodical Stacks
CALL NUMBER: TA345.J648
Electronic version available via Research Port

Journal of dynamic systems, measurement, and control. 1971-
HOLDINGS: v.93- (1971- )
LOCATION: EPSL Periodical Stacks
CALL NUMBER: TJ1.A7 ser. G
Electronic version available via Research Port

Journal of electronic packaging. 1989-
HOLDINGS: v.111-
LOCATION: EPSL Periodical Stacks
CALL NUMBER: TK7870.J656
Electronic version available via Research Port

Journal of engineering for gas turbines and power. 1984-
HOLDINGS: v.106- (1984- )
LOCATION: EPSL Periodical Stacks
CALL NUMBER: TJ1.A71
Electronic version available via Research Port

Journal of engineering for industry. 1959-1996
HOLDINGS: v.81-118 (1959-1996)
LOCATION: EPSL Periodical Stacks
CALL NUMBER: TJ1.A7 ser.B

Journal of engineering for power. 1959-1983
HOLDINGS: v.81-105 (1959-1983)
LOCATION: EPSL Periodical Stacks
CALL NUMBER: TJ1.A7 ser.A

Journal of engineering materials and technology. 1973-
HOLDINGS: v.95- (1973- )
LOCATION: EPSL Periodical Stacks
CALL NUMBER: TA401.J66
Electronic version available via Research Port

Journal of fluids engineering. 1973-
HOLDINGS: v.95- (1973- )
LOCATION: EPSL Periodical Stacks
CALL NUMBER: TA357.J6
Electronic version available via Research Port

Journal of fuel cell science and technology. 2004-
HOLDINGS: v.1- (2004- )
LOCATION: EPSL Current Periodicals
CALL NUMBER: No call number
Electronic version available via Research Port

Journal of manufacturing science and engineering. 1996-
HOLDINGS: v.118,no.2- (1996- )
LOCATION: EPSL Periodical Stacks
CALL NUMBER: TS176.J684
Electronic version available via Research Port

Journal of tribology. 1984-
HOLDINGS: v.106- (1984- )
LOCATION: EPSL Periodical Stacks
CALL NUMBER: TJ1075.A2 J68
Electronic version available via Research Port

Journal of turbomachinery. 1986-
HOLDINGS: v.108- (1986- )
LOCATION: EPSL Periodical Stacks
CALL NUMBER: TJ1.A711
Electronic version available via Research Port

Mechanism and machine theory. 1972-
HOLDINGS: Holdings: v.7-
LOCATION: EPSL Periodical Stacks
CALL NUMBER: TJ1.J64
Electronic version available via Research Port

Power engineering. 1950-
HOLDINGS: Holdings: v.54- (1950- )
LOCATION: EPSL Periodical Stacks
CALL NUMBER: TJ1.P77
Electronic version available via Research Port

Proceedings of the Institution of Mechanical Engineers. Part A, Journal of power and energy. 1990-
HOLDINGS: v.204- (1990- )
LOCATION: EPSL Periodical Stacks
CALL NUMBER: TJ1.I511
For electronic version, click on the Find It button in the catalog record.

Proceedings of the Institution of Mechanical Engineers. Part B, Journal of engineering manufacture. 1989-
HOLDINGS: v.203- (1989- )
LOCATION: EPSL Periodical Stacks
CALL NUMBER: TJ1.I5151
For electronic version, click on the Find It button in the catalog record.

Proceedings of the Institution of Mechanical Engineers. Part C, Journal of mechanical engineering science. 1989-
HOLDINGS: v.203- (1989- )
LOCATION: EPSL Periodical Stacks
CALL NUMBER: TJ5.P761
For electronic version, click on the Find It button in the catalog record.

Proceedings of the Institution of Mechanical Engineers. Part D, Journal of automobile engineering. 1989-
HOLDINGS: v.203- (1989- )
LOCATION: EPSL Periodical Stacks
CALL NUMBER: TJ1.I516
For electronic version, click on the Find It button in the catalog record.

Proceedings of the Institution of Mechanical Engineers. Part E, Journal of process mechanical engineering. 1989-
HOLDINGS: v.203- (1989- )
LOCATION: EPSL Periodical Stacks
CALL NUMBER: TS176.P7286
For electronic version, click on the Find It button in the catalog record.

Proceedings of the Institution of Mechanical Engineers. Part F, Journal of rail and rapid transit. 1989-
HOLDINGS: v.203- (1989- )
LOCATION: EPSL Periodical Stacks
CALL NUMBER: TF1.P76
For electronic version, click on the Find It button in the catalog record.

Proceedings of the Institution of Mechanical Engineers. Part G, Journal of aerospace engineering. 1989-
HOLDINGS: v.203- (1989- )
LOCATION: EPSL Periodical Stacks
CALL NUMBER: TJ1.I5165
For electronic version, click on the Find It button in the catalog record.

Proceedings of the Institution of Mechanical Engineers. Part H, Journal of engineering in medicine. 1989-
HOLDINGS: v.203- (1989- )
LOCATION: EPSL Periodical Stacks
CALL NUMBER: R856.A1P76
For electronic version, click on the Find It button in the catalog record.

Proceedings of the Institution of Mechanical Engineers. Part I, Journal of systems and control engineering. 1991-
HOLDINGS: v.205- (1991- )
LOCATION: EPSL Periodical Stacks
CALL NUMBER: TJ5.P77
For electronic version, click on the Find It button in the catalog record.

Proceedings of the Institution of Mechanical Engineers. Part J, Journal of engineering tribology. 1994-
HOLDINGS: v.208- (1994- )
LOCATION: EPSL Periodical Stacks
CALL NUMBER: TJ1075.A2P69
For electronic version, click on the Find It button in the catalog record.

Proceedings of the Institution of Mechanical Engineers. Part K, Journal of multi-body dynamics. 1999-
HOLDINGS: v.213- (1999- )
LOCATION: EPSL Periodical Stacks
CALL NUMBER: TA352.P76
Electronic version available via Research Port

Proceedings of the Institution of Mechanical Engineers. Part L, Journal of materials, design and applications. 1999-
HOLDINGS: v.213- (1999- )
LOCATION: EPSL Periodical Stacks
CALL NUMBER: TA401.P65
Electronic version available via Research Port

Proceedings of the Institution of Mechanical Engineers. Part M, Journal of engineering for the maritime environment. 2002-
HOLDINGS: v.216- (2002- )
LOCATION: EPSL Periodical Stacks
CALL NUMBER: VM595.P77
Electronic version available via Research Port

Proceedings of the Institution of Mechanical Engineers. Part N, Journal of nanoengineering and nanosystems. 2004-
HOLDINGS: v.218- (2004- )
LOCATION: EPSL Current Periodicals
CALL NUMBER: No call number
Electronic version available via Research Port

return to top


Internet Resources

Gateways

BUBL: Mechanical Engineering
http://bubl.ac.uk/link/m/mechanicalengineering.htm
Catalog on Internet resources in mechanical engineering.

Intute: Science, Engineering & Technology
http://www.intute.ac.uk/sciences/cgi-bin/browse.pl?id=25712
Annotated collection of online resources in engineering, mathematics and computing. Search by keyword or browse by topic.

Galaxy: Mechanical Engineering
http://www.galaxy.com/directory/11144/
Collection of links to online resources in engineering including e-journals, calculators, tutorials, and reference tools.

Martindale's Virtual Engineering Center
http://www.martindalecenter.com/GradEngineering.html
Collection of links to online resources in engineering including e-journals, calculators, tutorials, and reference tools.

return to top

Reference Resources

ASME Codes & Standards
http://www.asme.org/codes/
Search and read abstracts of ASME standards. Many ASME standards can be found in EPSL's Reference Stacks - TA 368.A4 ASME 140-166.

Engineers Edge
http://www.engineersedge.com/
Offers technical information on a variety of subjects of interest to engineers. Also features news updates, an online forum, and a career center.

eFunda: Engineering Fundamentals
http://www.efunda.com/
eFunda provides an array of resources useful for engineers such as unit conversion, equations, online calculators, and material data.

How Stuff Works
http://www.howstuffworks.com/
Free online encyclopedia offering simple explanations for the inner workings of complex scientific and technological phenomena.

Industrial Quick Search
http://www.industrialquicksearch.com/
Directory of products, services, manufacturers and suppliers.

Martindale's Calculators On-line Center: Engineering Calculators
http://www.martindalecenter.com/Calculators4.html
A collection of online calculators used to compute standard engineering problems. Calculators are arranged by subject.

Science & Engineering Encyclopedia
http://www.diracdelta.co.uk/
Science and engineering descriptions, equations, conversions, calculators and material data. Browse alphabetically or by subject.

ThomasNet
http://www.thomasnet.com/
A useful resource for industrial information including product specs, company information, CAD drawings and more.

return to top

E-Journals

Directory of Open Access Journals
http://www.doaj.org/
Directory of open access scientific and scholarly journals on the web.

Highwire Press
http://highwire.stanford.edu/lists/freeart.dtl
Highwire Press provides free full-text access to a number of online science journals.

Internet Public Library - E-Journals
http://www.ipl.org/div/serials
Links to free journals on the web. Arranged by subject.

return to top

Professional Associations

American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA)
http://www.aiaa.org/

American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air-Conditioning Engineers (ASHRAE)
http://www.ashrae.org/

American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME)
http://www.asme.org/

Institute of Industrial Engineers (IIE)
http://www.iienet.org/

Institution of Mechanical Engineers (IMechE)
http://www.imeche.org.uk/

International Federation of Automotive Engineering Societies (FISITA)
http://www.fisita.com/

International Fluid Power Society (IFPS)
http://www.ifps.org/

Society for Experimental Mechanics (SEM)
http://www.sem.org/

Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE)
http://www.sae.org/

Society of Manufacturing Engineers (SME)
http://www.sme.org/

return to top


Departmental Pages

Department of Mechanical Engineering (ENME)
http://www.enme.umd.edu/

ENME Research Centers
http://www.enme.umd.edu/research/centers.html

Engineering Student Organizations
http://www.enme.umd.edu/undergrad/organizations.html

Engineering Co-op & Career Services
http://www.coop.engr.umd.edu/

A. James Clark School of Engineering
http://www.eng.umd.edu/

return to top

 

© 2006 University Libraries. University of Maryland. College Park, MD 20742-7011, (301) 405-0800
Last modified: July 27, 2009

Send us your comments | Privacy Policy
University of Maryland Libraries Home Catalog Research Port Ask us! How do I...? Site index Search