navigation bar
Guides to Information Resources

Last revised: July 2007

Meteorology

This guide was created to help students and faculty find information in the field of meteorology. Email the subject area specialist Bob Kackley at rkackley(@umd.edu) or call 301-405-9155 for more information.

Raindrops in water Lightning bolts Sky with clouds and sun

Finding Books

At UM Libraries

To locate books on a specific topic, search the online catalog. To start with, try a subject beginning with ... search using phrases such as Meteorology, Atmosphere, or Weather. These searches will return books classified under those subject headings.

To narrow your results down to a particular focus, use the catalog's advanced search and limit your search by publication year, location, or by adding additional keywords.

A word/s anywhere search will locate terms and phrases that appear in the title, subject headings, or notes of a catalog record. Examples of some common terms and phrases used to locate books on meteorology include:

atmosphere
"atmospheric chemistry"
"climatic changes"
climatology
meteorology
    oceanography
tides
weather
"weather control"
"weather forecasting"

Books dealing with similar subjects are likely to be grouped together on the shelves. Thus, another way to locate books on a particular topic is to shelf-browse. The following are some call number ranges where you can find books about or related to meteorology:

QC 851 - 999
    QC 974.5 - 976
    QC 980 - 999
        QC 994.95 - 999
    Meteorology. Climatology (Including the earth's atmosphere)
Meteorological optics
Climatology and weather
Weather forecasting

At Other Libraries

The best tool for locating books and journals beyond holdings of the University of Maryland and its consortium libraries is WorldCat. WorldCat contains records for materials found in research libraries worldwide. However, in order to obtain materials found outside the university system you will need to request an interlibrary loan.

 return to top

Reference Works

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

return to top

Handbooks & Manuals

return to top

Finding Articles

Core Databases

AIAA Meeting Papers
Full text access to the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) meeting papers from 1988-2004 as well as journal articles from 1996-2004.

Aerospace Database
Indexes journals, conference papers, reports, including those published by AIAA, IEEE, ASME, and more.

Agricultural and Environmental Biotechnology Abstracts
Indexes publications covering agricultural products, both plant and animals, new applications across the food industry, and wide-ranging environmental developments. Plant genome studies are examined in detail.

Earthscape
An interdisciplinary resource that connects the earth and environmental sciences with their social, political, and economic dimensions. Selects, gathers, edits, and links a wide range of Earth resources available online. Designed for teachers, students, scientists, and decision-makers. Includes a daily news selection.

Encyclopedia of Space Science
This reference outlines what astronomers know about the sun, planets, galaxy, and universe as well as the effect of the space environment on human and other biological systems. The Encyclopedia also provides an in-depth summary of the engineering involved in launching a rocket or satellite and the control systems involved on the ground, in orbit, or in deep space. Manufacturing in space from planetary and other resources is also discussed.

INSPEC
Indexes and abstracts 4,000 scientific/technical journals and conference proceedings in physics, electrical engineering, computing, and information technology.

NASA Technical Reports Server
The NASA Scientific and Technical Information (STI) Program's mission is to collect, archive, and disseminate NASA aerospace information, and locate domestic and international STI pertinent to NASA's missions and Strategic Enterprises.

NTIS (CSA)
Covers U.S. government-sponsored research and reports from federal agencies. NTIS is the central source for the sale of unclassified and publicly available information from federal sources. Indexes and abstracts technical research reports, journal articles, data files, computer programs and audio-visual products.Information is also available from some foreign governments. Additionally, NTIS includes some technical reports from international agencies such as NATO and AGARD.

Science Citation Index (Web of Science)
A multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the sciences. It indexes more than 5,700 major journals across 164 scientific disciplines. The best database for finding what papers have cited other papers. Cited references can be traced forward in time.

ScienceDirect
Provides abstracts and indexing for more than 1800 journals. Full text of more than 800 journals is available to USMAI institutions. Some articles are in languages other than english.

 return to top

Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Premier

Provides abstracts and indexing for over 7,000 journals. Full text of articles for over 4,000 scholarly publications, including more than 3,100 peer-reviewed publications.

Conference Papers

Conference Papers provides citations to papers and poster sessions presented at major scientific meetings around the world. Records include complete ordering information to obtain preprints, abstracts, proceedings and other publications derived from the conference, together with title and author information needed to track the specific papers.

Digital Dissertations

This database is the authoritative source for information about and full text of doctoral dissertations and master's theses. The database represents the work of authors from over 1,000 graduate schools and universities.

netLibrary

A collection of E-texts covering topics specifically chosen by Maryland Academic Libraries.

WorldCat

Catalog of books, serial publications, media, visual materials, musical scores, and archival materials in libraries worldwide.

 return to top

Periodicals

To find journals conduct a Journal Search in the UM catalog or browse E-Journals in Research Port. The following is a select list of meteorology e-journals:

Agricultural and Forest Meteorology

Atmospheric Environment

Boundary-Layer Meteorology

Bulletin of the American Meteorological Society

The Global Atmosphere and Ocean System

Journal of Applied Meteorology

Journal of Applied Meteorology and Climatology

      Journal of Atmospheric Chemistry

Journal of Atmospheric and Ocean Science

Journal of Meteorology

Journal of Physical Oceanography

Meteorology and Atmospheric Physics

National Weather Digest

Progress in oceanography

 return to top

Web Resources

General

Climate TimeLine
http://www.ngdc.noaa.gov/paleo/ctl/
"The Climate TimeLine uses a "powers of ten" exponential approach (see CTL Overview) to frame 1) meteorological and climatic processes (Climate Science) and 2) specific climate events of the past (Climate History) at varying timescales. Each timescale has its own collection of resources and links to more information."

Defense Meteorological Satellite Program (DMSP)
http://www.ngdc.noaa.gov/dmsp/dmsp.html
"The DMSP is a Department of Defense (DoD) program run by the Air Force Space and Missile Systems Center (SMC). The DMSP designs, builds, launches, and maintains satellites monitoring the meteorological, oceanographic, and solar-terrestrial physics environments."

EPA AirData
http://www.epa.gov/air/data/index.html
"The AirData Web site gives you access to air pollution data for the entire United States."

National Center for Atmospheric Research
http://www.ucar.edu/
"The National Center for Atmospheric Research and the UCAR (University Corporation for Atmospheric Research) Office of Programs provide research, facilities, and services for the atmospheric and Earth sciences community."

The National Climatic Data Center (NCDC)
http://lwf.ncdc.noaa.gov/oa/ncdc.html
"NCDC is the world's largest active archive of weather data. NCDC produces numerous climate publications and responds to data requests from all over the world."

National Hurricane Center (NHC)
http://www.nhc.noaa.gov/
National Weather Services's NHC provides information on hurricane awareness, history, forecasts, and more.

National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)
http://www.noaa.gov/
“NOAA is a federal agency focused on the condition of the oceans and the atmosphere.” NOAA’s mission is “To understand and predict changes in the Earth’s environment and conserve and manage coastal and marine resources to meet our nation’s economic, social and environmental needs.”

NOAA Earth System Research Laboratory (ESRL)
http://www.esrl.noaa.gov/
"ESRL was formed to pursue a broad and comprehensive understanding of the Earth system. This system comprises many physical, chemical and biological processes that need to be dynamically integrated to better predict their behavior over scales from local to global and periods of minutes to millennia."

NOAA National Severe Storms Laboratory (NSSL)
http://www.nssl.noaa.gov/
"NOAA's National Severe Storms Laboratory studies severe and hazardous weather processes and develops tools to help National Weather Service forecasters, and federal, university and private sector partners use weather information more effectively." This website provides information on NSSL research, observations, and more.

National Weather Service (NWS)
http://www.nws.noaa.gov/
Part of NOAA, NWS provides weather warnings, forecasts, observations, climate information, weather safety information, and much more.

U.S. Naval European Meteorology and Oceanography Center (NEMOC)
https://www.nemoc.navy.mil/
"NEMOC's mission is to provide satellite imagery, real-time sensor data, and observational data to DoD users worldwide."

 return to top

Web Databases

Global Change Master Directory (GCMD)
http://gcmd.gsfc.nasa.gov/
GCMD's "goal is to enable users to locate and obtain access to Earth science data sets and services relevant to the global change and Earth science research. The GCMD database holds more than 17,000 descriptions of Earth science data sets and services covering all aspects of Earth and environmental sciences."

 return to top

Online Journals

The American Meteorological Society makes many of their journals available online. Many of these journals are only available for certain dates (usually from the year they were first published until 2001). These AMS journals include Journal of Applied Meteorology, Journal of Atmospheric Sciences, Monthly Weather Review, and much more.

 return to top

Professional Associations

return to top

Please take a minute to fill out this survey so we can continue to provide you with excellent service.

What is your current status?
Undergraduate Graduate or PhD Faculty Other

How did you find this research guide?

What did you use this guide for?   

Did you find this guide useful?
Very Useful Somewhat Useful A Little Useful Not Useful

How could this guide be improved?
  

 return to top

 

© 2007 University Libraries. University of Maryland. College Park, MD 20742-7011, (301) 405-0800
Last modified: July 23, 2007

Send us your comments | Privacy Policy
University of Maryland Libraries Home Catalog Research Port Ask us! How do I...? Site index Search