navigation bar
Guides to Information Resources

Last revised: August, 2008


NCJRS (National Criminal Justice Reference Service) Material

Scope: This guide describes how to locate publications from the National Criminal Justice Reference Service. If you have any questions or would like further assistance, please contact the U.S. Government Information, Maps & GIS Services staff at govdocs@umd.edu or 301.405.9165.

Overview

The National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) was created by the National Institute of Justice in 1972 to provide information for five Department of Justice Agencies. The NCJRS network provides indexes, abstracts, and documents in many areas of criminology and criminal justice. For more information about NCJRS, visit their About NCJRS site.

NCJRS Abstract Database

NCJRS Abstract Database
http://www.ncjrs.gov/abstractdb/search.asp
NCJRS' free online database indexes over 195,000 journal articles, books, research reports, hearings, and audio-visual materials on criminology and criminal justice back to 1972. It includes citations to items published by the Department of Justice, other government agencies, and commercial publishers.

Locating an NCJRS Document

Publications found in the NCJRS Abstract Database can be found in one of several ways:

Sample NCJRS Entry

Sample NCJRS Summary

 return to top

 

© 2007 University Libraries. University of Maryland. College Park, MD 20742-7011, (301) 405-0800
Last modified: August 22, 2008

Send us your comments | Privacy Policy
University of Maryland Libraries Home Catalog Research Port Ask us! How do I...? Site index Search