|
Last revised: July 2007
Neuroscience & Cognitive Science
Scope: This is a selective guide to finding key research material in the areas of
Neuroscience & Cognitive Science. Neuroscience is the study of how the nervous system, composed of the brain and the spinal cord, develops and functions. Information sources included in this guide emphasize research areas of interest to
faculty and students in the Neuroscience & Cognitive Science (NACS) graduate program. Sources listed in this guide are compiled from Using the Biological Literature: A Practical Guide.3rd. Edition. by Diane Schmidt, Elisabeth B. Davis, and Pamela F. Jacobs., 2002.
See Also: Neuropsychology and Psychophysiology
Email the subject area specialist at
sgagnon@umd.edu for more information.
- Hall, Zach W.An Introduction to Molecular Neurobiology. Sunderland, MA: Sinauer, 1992.
LOCATION: McKeldin Stacks
CALL NUMBER: QP356 .2 .I58 1992
- Koch, Christof. Biophysics of Computation: Information Processing in Single Neurons. New York, New York: Oxford University Press, 1999.
LOCATION: McKeldin Stacks
CALL NUMBER: QP357.5 .K63 1999
- Levitan, Irwin B. and Kaczmarek, Leonard K.The Neuron: Cell and Molecular Biology. 2nd. ed. New York: Oxford University Press, 1996.
LOCATION: McKeldin Stacks
CALL NUMBER: QP356 .2 .L48 2002
- McIlwain, James T. An Introduction to the Biology of Vision. New York: Cambridge University Press, 1996.
LOCATION: McKeldin Stacks
CALL NUMBER: QP475 .M37 1996
- Neurons, Networks, and Motor Behavior. Paul S.G. Stein, Douglas G. Stuart, and Allen I. Selverston, eds. Cambridge, MA: MIT Press, 1997.
LOCATION: McKeldin Folio
CALL NUMBER: QP383 .15 .N48 1997
- Springer Handbook of Auditory Research R.R. Fay and A.N. Popper, series editors. New York, NY: Springer.
Search the library catalog for individual titles or search by the series title to retrieve all available volumes.
- Encyclopedia of Neuroscience. Adelman, George and Smith, Barry H., editors. 2nd ed. New York, NY: Elsevier, 1999.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference
CALL NUMBER: RC334 .E53 1997
- Hirsch, Martin. Dictionary of Human Neuroanatomy. Berlin; New York: Spring Verlag, 1999.
LOCATION: McKeldin Stacks
CALL NUMBER: QM451 .H57 2000
- Encyclopedia of Life Sciences
http://www.mrw.interscience.wiley.com/emrw/047001590X/home
General encyclopedia of all biological sciences topics.
- Auger, Anne M.R. and Lee, Ming J. Grant's Atlas of Anatomy. 11th edition. Baltimore, MD: Williams & Wilkins, 2005.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL Number: QM25 .A38 2005
- Gray, Henry. Anatomy of the Human Body. 30th edition. Philadelphia, PA: Lea & Febiger, 1985.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: QM23.2 .G73 1985
ONLINE
- The Johns Hopkins Atlas of Human Functional Anatomy 4th edition. George D. Zuidema, ed. Baltimore, MD: Johns Hopkins University Press, 1997.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Folio
CALL NUMBER: QM23.2 .J63 1997
- Brain Mapping: The Methods. Toga, Arthur W. and John C. Massiotta, eds. Boston, MA: Academic Press, 2002.
LOCATION: Chemistry Stacks
CALL NUMBER: QP376 .B714 2002
- Brain Research Protocols (v.1, 1997-) New York: Elsevier.
- Culturing Nerve Cells. Banker, Gary and Goslin, Kimberly, eds. 2nd ed. Cambridge, MA: MIT Press, 1998.
LOCATION: Chemistry Stacks
CALL NUMBER: QP363 .5 .C85 1988
- Electrical Manipulation of Cells. Lynch, Paul T. and Davey, Michael, R., eds. New York, New York: Chapman & Hall, 1995.
LOCATION: McKeldin Stacks
CALL NUMBER: QH585 .5 .E48E43 1996
To find books on a certain topic, do a keyword search in the library catalog. You can also
search using the Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH) by typing any
of the following selected subject headings in the library catalog:
Neurosciences
Brain
Neurobiology
Psycholinguistics
Cognitive Science
Biological Systems
Cellular Signal transduction
To find articles in research journals, search any of the following databases using keywords
that describe your topic. Below is a list of databases covering the core study of neuroscience.
- BIOSIS Previews (1990-) UM only
BIOSIS Previews provides the most comprehensive coverage to the literature of
the life sciences. Coverage includes primary research articles in the basic
areas of biology: botany, zoology and microbiology, as well as related fields such
biomedicine, agriculture, pharmacology and ecology.
- CogNet UM only
Searchable collection of fulltext books, journals, conference papers, and reference sources in cognitive and brain sciences.
- Animal Behavior Abstracts (1982-) UM only
Indexes journal articles, book chapters, conference papers on all aspects of animal behavior.
- CSA Neurosciences Abstracts (1982-)UM only
Covers all aspects of vertebrate and invertebrate neuroscience, including motor, visual, auditory, vestibular systems, neural networks, and computation.
- PubMed
National Library of Medicine's database covering abstracts to articles from U.S. and international biomedical journals. Indexing is from the mid-1960s to present.
- Science Citation Index Expanded (1945-) UM only
The Science Citation Index Expanded (SCI) is an important tool for locating research articles.
SCI coverage is multidisciplinary and allows you to see the cited references (bibliography)
of a particular article, number of times an article has been cited and related records.
- Zoological Record (1978-) UM only
Zoological Record (ZR) provides the most comprehensive coverage to the world's
zoological literature. ZR provides complete coverage to taxonomy and nomenclature and other
areas such as ecology, behavior, life cycle, methodology, physiology and others.
Review journals are a good starting point for finding a research topic of interest. You may
expand the scope of your search by searching an index such as the Science Citation Index. SCI
provides the cited references for a particular article, number of times cited and related records.
Current issues of journals are shelved alphabetically in the Current Periodicals Room on the
1st floor of McKeldin Library. Bound journals are located in the stacks by call number.
To locate a particular volume, search by title of the publication in the online library catalog.
Annual Review of Neuroscience
LOCATION & HOLDINGS: Chemistry Periodical Stacks QP351 .A5; vol. 1- (1978-current)
ONLINE
Brain Research Reviews
LOCATION & HOLDINGS: Chemistry Periodical Stacks QP376 .A1 B73; vol. 14-44 (1989-2004)
ONLINE
Current Opinion in Neurobiology
LOCATION & HOLDINGS: Chemistry Periodical Stacks QP351 .C885; vol. 5 (1995-present)
ONLINE
International Review of Neurobiology
LOCATION & HOLDINGS: McKeldin Stacks RC341 .I5 vol.1-9, 11- (1959-1967, 1969-)
Progress in Brain Research
LOCATION & HOLDINGS: Chemistry Periodical Stacks QP376 .P7 vol. 34-36, 38-43, 45- (1971-present). Search the library catalog for individual titles.
Trends in Neurosciences
LOCATION & HOLDINGS: Chemistry Periodical Stacks RC321 .T72; vol. 23- (2000-present)
ONLINE
Brain Research
LOCATION & HOLDINGS: Chemistry Periodical Stacks QP376 .B75 v.2 (1966-present)
ONLINE
Brain Research Bulletin
LOCATION & HOLDINGS: Chemistry Periodical Stacks QP376 .B725 v.1 (1976-present)
ONLINE
Cellular and Molecular Neurobiology
LOCATION & HOLDINGS: Chemistry Periodical Stacks QP351 .C37 v.1-24 (1981-2004)
ONLINE
Cerebral Cortex
LOCATION & HOLDINGS: Chemistry Periodical Stacks QP383 .C455 v.5- (1995-present)
ONLINE
European Journal of Neuroscience
LOCATION & HOLDINGS: Chemistry Periodical Stacks QP351 .E97 v.15-20 (2002-2004)
ONLINE
Experimental Brain Research
LOCATION & HOLDINGS: Chemistry Periodical Stacks QP376 .E9 v.1- (1966-present)
ONLINE
Journal of Comparative Neurology
LOCATION & HOLDINGS: Chemistry Periodical Stacks RC321 .J6 v.26- (1916-present)
ONLINE
Journal of Neurochemistry
LOCATION & HOLDINGS: Chemistry Periodical Stacks QP351 .J57 v.1- (1956-)
ONLINE
Journal of Neurophysiology
LOCATION & HOLDINGS: Chemistry Periodical Stacks QP351 .J6 v.20-51, v.53-(1957-present)
ONLINE
Journal of Neuroscience
LOCATION & HOLDINGS: Chemistry Periodicals Stacks QP351 .J65 v.1- (1981-present)
ONLINE
Journal of Neuroscience Research
LOCATION & HOLDINGS: Chemistry Periodical Stacks QP351 .J64 v.1 (1975-present).
ONLINE
Molecular Brain Research
LOCATION & HOLDINGS: Chemistry Periodical Stacks QP376 .B753 v.5 (1989-present).
ONLINE
Nature Neuroscience no print issues available
ONLINE
Neurobiology of Learning and Memory
LOCATION & HOLDINGS: McKeldin Periodical Stacks QL750 .B5312 v.63-80 (1995-2003)
ONLINE
Neurochemistry International
LOCATION & HOLDINGS: Chemistry Periodical Stacks QP356.3 .N65 v.4-43 (1982-2003)
ONLINE
NeuroImage on order
Neuron
LOCATION & HOLDINGS: McKeldin Periodicals QP356.2 .N48 v.2 (1989-present)
ONLINE
Neuroreport
LOCATION & HOLDINGS: Chemistry Periodical Stacks RC321 .N48 v.13- (2002-present)
Neuroscience Letters
LOCATION & HOLDINGS: Chemistry Periodical Stacks QP351 .N43 v.1-354 (1975-2004)
ONLINE
Access Library databases and online journals while you are off campus using the Research Port interface.
You must log in using your barcode number (14 digit number on the back of your University of Maryland
student ID card) and your last name.
return to top
|