navigation bar
Guides to Information Resources

Last revised: September, 2010

News Sources on the Web

Scope: This guide provides links to a variety of news sources on the Web. See also the News: Indexing, Abstracting and Full-Text Sources guide for additional resources for accessing news topics, or e-mail the subject specialist librarian, Maggie Saponaro for more information.


Table of Contents

Electronic Newspapers

Listed here are the top 50 daily newspapers circulated in the United States, according to Editor & Publisher 2009. The news coverage published in electronic editions of newspapers may vary as compared to their print counterparts. For additional newspapers and other kinds of media see also the
Media Directories/Metasites and WebFirst/WebOnly News Sources sections of this guide.

Atlanta J-Constitution
Arizonia Republic
Baltimore Sun
Boston Globe
Charlotte Observer
Chicago Sun-Times
Chicago Tribune
Cincinnati Enquirer
Cleveland Plain Dealer
Columbus Dispatch
Dallas Morning News
Denver Post
Denver Rocky Mt. News
Detroit Free Press
Ft. Worth Star-Telegram
Houston Chronicle
Indianapolis Star
Kansas City Star

Long Island Newsday
Los Angeles Times
Louisville Courier-Journal
Miami Herald
Mil. Journal-Sentinel
Minneapolis Star Tribune
Newark Star-Ledger
New York
New York Daily News
New York Post
New York Times
Orlando Sentinel
Orange County (CA) Register
Philadelphia Inquirer
Pittsburgh Post-Gazette
Portland Oregonian

Sacramento Bee
Saint Paul Pioneer Press
San Antonio Express-News
San Diego Union-Tribune
San Francisco Chronicle
San Francisco Examiner
San Jose Mercury News
Seattle Times
St. Louis Post-Dispatch
St. Petersburg Times
Sun-Sentinel
Tampa Tribune
USA Today
Wall Street Journal
Washington Examiner
Washington Post

International Newspapers

Japan Times
Montreal Gazette
Globe and Mail (Toronto)
Das Parlament
Frankfurter Allgemeine
Haaretz (English version)

return to top

WebFirst/WebOnly News Sources

Arizona Guardian
Baltimore Brew
Chicago Reader
Christian Science Monitor
Daily Beast
Drudge Report
Global Post
Huffington Post
Investigative Voice (Baltimore)
Noows (Germany)
ProPublica
Salon
San Francisco Public Press
Slate
Texas Tribune
Texas Watchdog
Voice of San Diego

return to top

Historical Newspapers

Listed here are a few important Web-based historical newspaper collections:

The Black Press (Newspapers & Biographies)
The British Library
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers (From the Library of Congress)
Maryland State Archives/Maryland Newspapers
United States Newspaper Project

return to top

Aggregated News Sources

Google News
Yahoo News

Media Directories/Metasites

Media directories/metasites provide access to a vast array of media available online:

AJR News Sources

    This site, from the American Journalism Review, provides 8,000 links to newspapers (arranged by geographic location), college papers, magazines, radio and television stations, and news services worldwide. Provides links to many other types of information including fulltext articles from AJR, job notices and awards.

Abyz News Links

    Links to over 15,600 newspapers and other news sources from around the world.

Kidon Media Link

    Provides extensive links to newspapers, magazines, television and radio stations, film studios, news agencies and related Web sites. Arranged by media type and geographic area.

Newspaperindex.com

    Newspaperindex.com provides links to newspapers and publications that contain local, free and independent news from each country in the world. It does not provide an exhaustive list of sources. This site has links to some broadcast networks and maintains a blog concerned with media topics.

News Voyager.Com

    A meta-site produced by the Newspaper Association of America. Newspapers can be searched by state and/or by name.

The Paperboy.com

    From Australia, this site provides access to over 6,300 newspapers from 112 countries daily.

News and Media Listings (Yahoo!)

    Provides links to newspapers, magazines, television and radio stations, regional business papers and college and university papers.

return to top

Archives: Newspapers and Television

News: Indexing, Abstracting and Full-text Sources (UM Librairies)

    This guide (developed at the University of Maryland Libraries), provides indexing, abstracting and full-text sources for locating news. The print and electronic sources are available at the University of Maryland Libraries.

U.S. News Archives on the Web (Special Libraries Association)

    Newspapers are arranged by state, providing coverage of the archive and retrieval costs.

Television News Archive (Vanderbilt University)

    Provides indexing to national television news programs from 1968 to the present. Videotapes of programs are available for loan from the archive.

return to top

News & Current Events Databases

The University of Maryland Libraries have subscriptions (or site licensing agreements) to the following news and current events databases, accessed through ResearchPort on the Library's home page. Access is available to anyone on campus. If you are attempting to use these databases from remote locations (off campus), you can do so by logging in with your UMD userid and password. For more information regarding off-campus access, see the off-campus access directions.

return to top

Online News Magazines

Many magazine titles are available both in print and online (for a subscription price), while others exist free and are available only on the Web. Several examples appear below:

Directories

Dogpile.com
MagPortal.com
PubList.com
Yahoo! - Magazines

Examples of Online Magazines

Aviation Week & Space Technology
CNet News
The Crisis
Forbes
The Lancet
The Nation
National Geographic

New York Magazine
Science Magazine
Technology Review
T.V. Guide
U.S. News & World Report
Utne Reader

return to top

News Headlines: Newswires, Broadcast Networks and Real Audio & Video

Newswires

Newswires electronically distribute top national and international stories and up-to-the-minute news.

Agence France-Presse
Associated Press
Business Wire
PR Newswire
Reuters
VOA - Voice of America
World News Forecast

Broadcast Networks & Real Audio/Video

Broadcast network Websites provide late breaking news, weather, sports and entertainment stories. See also the Local News Resources section of this guide for additional local news resources.

ABC News | ABC News Radio
Al Jazeera (English) | Al Jazeera (Arabic)
BBC News | BBC World Service
CBC News | CBC Newsworld
CBS News | CBS Video

C-SPAN News | C-SPAN Live | C-SPAN Video Library
FOX News | FOX News Video
MSNBC News | MSNBC TV
NPR Online | Click on RealAudio
PBS NewsHour | Click on NewsHour Index

return to top

Government News Sources

Many U.S. government departments and agencies have Web sites that provide news, hot topics and press releases:

The White House - Click on "Briefing Room"

Dept. of Agriculture
Dept. of Commerce | U.S. Census Bureau
Dept. of Defense
Dept. of Education
Department of Energy
Dept. of Health & Human Services
Dept. of Housing & Urban Development
Dept. of the Interior
Dept. of Justice
Dept. of Labor
Dept. of State
Dept. of Transportation
Dept. of the Treasury | U.S. Customs
Dept. of Veterans Affairs
Library of Congress News Releases
United States Courts

Links to other U.S. government and foreign news sources:

All Politics (CNN & Time Magazine)
Documents in the News - Current Events Research (University of Michigan)
Roll Call (Newspaper)
United Nations News Centre
U.S. Government News (FCIC Gateway)

return to top

Weather & Traffic News

Consult these sites for the latest weather and traffic news:

Intellicast.com
Traffic Cams (Yahoo!)
U.S. National Weather Service
Weather.com - The Weather Channel
WeatherOnline
WeatherPost
The Weather Underground
Yahoo! Weather

return to top

Local (Maryland/D.C.) News Sources

Consult these sites for information from Maryland/D.C. broadcast and news radio sources. See the Broadcast Networks section of this guide for national sources.

ABC7/News Channel 8 (TBD.Com)
NBC4 Washington DC
WTTG Fox 5
WTOP News
WUSA CBS Channel 9
Washington DC News and Media Sources - From Yahoo!
Washington DC Local News Media Outlets - From MondoTimes

return to top

Personalized News

These sites allow you to sign-up and personalize the kind of news, stock quotes, weather, business and investment information, etc. that you want to receive, all in one place.

(Please note: Personalize your news pages on your own home or office computer, and not on library or WAM Lab workstations.)

CNN Financial News
CNN News
CRAYON
Google Groups
Individual.com
My Excite
My Lycos
My Yahoo!

return to top

Other News Sources

News Sources at the University of Maryland

Between the Columns (Newsletter)
Capital News Service
College Park International (Newsletter)
The Diamondback (Newspaper)
Maryland Newsline (UM College of Journalism)
Outlook (Newsletter; 1986-2004) - From the University Archives
Scientific Terrapin - For undergraduate research
UM Library Newsletters
UM News Releases
UMTV (Television)
WMUC-FM Radio

Editorial Cartoons, Comic Strips, News Parodies
Comic Strips (Yahoo!)
News Parodies (Yahoo!)
Today's Best Cartoons - From Slate.Com

Associations, Archives, Museums and Special Collections

Library of American Broadcasting (UM Libraries)
National Archives & Records Administration: What's New
National Press Club
National Public Broadcasting Archives (UM Libraries)
Newseum

return to top

 
 
University of Maryland Libraries Home Catalog Research Port Ask us! How do I...? Site index Search