|
Last revised: August 2007
NUTRITION AND FOOD
SCIENCESCOPE: This guide
includes the major reference sources, both electronic and print, for the
literature in nutrition and food science. Although some of the sources
selected here do include animal nutrition, the main focus of this guide is
human nutrition and food for human consumption (for sources specific to
animal nutrition consult the Animal Science and Veterinary Medicine
guides). Contact the subject area specialist, Damon Austin, at daustin@umd.edu or call (301)314-0014
for more information.
- Brodgon, Jennie, and Wallace C. Olsen. The Contemporary and
Historical Literature of Food Science and Human
Nutrition.
Ithaca, NY: Cornell University Press,
1995. LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks CALL NUMBER:
TX357.C564 1995 Summarizes the development and trends in the
published literature of food science and human nutrition over the last
twenty-five years in developed countries and the third world, and
delineates the differences and overlaps between them. It ranks core
journals, major monographs, and valuable reference tools.
- Subject
Bibliography SB-291 Nutrition.
Washington, DC: U. S.
Government Printing Office, 1999. LOCATION: GOV DOC Quick Reference;
NETWORK WWW CALL NUMBER: SUDOC GP3.22/2:291/999 List of
nutrition-related sources available for sale from the U.S. Government
Printing Office. Many of these sources are found in our Government Documents
collection.
- Frank, Robyn C., and Holly Berry Irving. Directory of Food
and Nutrition Information for Professionals and Consumers. 2nd
ed.
Phoenix, AZ.: Oryx Press, 1992. LOCATIONS: McKeldin Library
Reference Stacks, EPSL Reference CALL NUMBER: TX353.D56 1992 This
directory can help you identify sources of food and nutrition
information. The emphasis is on nutrition education, food science, food
service management, and related aspects of applied nutrition. It lists
organizations, academic programs, and bibliographic materials such as
reference books, abstracts and indexes, and professional journals and
newsletters.
- Bellenir, Karen (ed.). Diet and Nutrition
Sourcebook.
Detroit, MI.: Omnigraphics,
1999. LOCATION(S): McKeldin Library Reference Stacks CALL NUMBER:
RA784.D534 1999 Provides basic consumer health information about
dietary guidelines, recommended daily intake values, vitamins, minerals,
fiber, fat, weight control, diet supplements and food additives.
Includes a special section on nutrition needs throughout life and for
people with medical concerns such as high blood pressure and diabetes.
return to top
- AccessScience
UM only
Browse the topic area Food Science
& Technology-Food Engineering for encyclopedia articles on food,
food engineering, and food manufacturing and for research updates on
food biotechnology, food irradiation and food safety. You can also
browse the Nutrition category under the Medicine topic area.
- Bender, Arnold E. Dictionary of Nutrition and Food
Technology. 7th ed.
London, England and Boston, MA:
Butterworths, 1999. LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: TX349.B4 1999 Includes bibliographical references.
- Roberts, Arthur J., Mary E. O'Brien, and Genell Subak-Sharpe (eds.).
Nutraceuticals : The Complete Encyclopedia of Supplements,
Herbs, Vitamins, and Healing Foods.
New York, NY: Perigee
Book, 2001. LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks CALL
NUMBER: RM258.5 .N88 2001 Includes a list of disorders and
recommended nutraceuticals. It also lists the top 200 nutraceuticals
divided into sections on vitamins, minerals, nutraceutical supplements,
and botanical medicines. The appendixes have information on resources
and guidelines for buying and using nutraceuticals and a selected
bibliography.
- Laqua, Rosalinda T. Nutrition and Diet Therapy Reference
Dictionary. 4th ed.
New York, NY: Van Nostrand Reinhold,
1996. LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks CALL NUMBER:
RM217.L34 1996 Includes almost 4,000 terms used in nutrition and diet
therapy. Contains bibliographical references.
- Ensminger, Audrey H, et al. The Concise Encyclopedia of
Foods and Nutrition.
Boca Raton, FL: CRC Press,
1995. LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks, EPSL
Reference CALL NUMBER: TX349.F573 1995
- Encyclopedia of Food Science and Technology. 2nd
ed., 4 vols.
New York, NY: Wiley, 2000. LOCATION: McKeldin
Reference Stacks CALL NUMBER: TP368.2.E62 2000 Includes
bibliographical references and index.
- Kent, Michael. Food and Fitness: A Dictionary of Diet and
Exercise.
Oxford, England: Oxford University Press,
1997. LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks CALL NUMBER:
RA784.K397 1997 Topics covered include diets, food ingredients,
sports, and exercise.
- Ensminger, Audrey H. Foods and Nutrition
Encyclopedia. 2nd ed., 2 vols.
Boca Raton, FL: CRC Press,
1994. LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks CALL NUMBER:
TX349.F575 1994 Covers commodities, nutrients, concepts, nutrition
disorders, and simple nutrition biochemistry. Includes tables,
illustrations and index.
- Igoe, Robert S., Hui, Y.H. Dictionary of Food
Ingredients. 3rd. ed.
New York, NY: Chapman & Hall,
1996. LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks CALL
NUMBER:TX551.I26 1996
- Ronzio, Robert A. Encyclopedia of Nutrition and Good
Health. 2nd ed.
New York, NY: Facts on File,
2003. LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks CALL NUMBER:
RA784.R646 2003
- Russell, Percy J., and Anita Williams. The Nutrition and
Health Dictionary.
New York, NY: Chapman and Hall,
1995. LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks CALL NUMBER:
QP141.R93 1995
- Sadler, Michele (ed.). Encyclopedia of Human
Nutrition. 3 vols.
San Diego: Academic Press,
1999. LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks CALL NUMBER:
QP141.E526 1999 Broad coverage of all aspects of nutrition, including
dietetics. Has a contents list arranged alphabetically by keyword to
link readers to the appropriate article.
return to top
- Duyff, Roberta Larson. The American Dietetic Association
Complete Food and Nutrition Guide. 2nd ed.
New York, NY: Johnn Wiley & Sons, 2002.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: RA784.D89 2002
Practical resource for healthy eating.
- Gropper, Sareen Annora Stepnick. The Biochemistry of Human
Nutrition: A Desk Reference. 2nd ed.
Belmont, CA: Wadsworth Thomson Learning, 2000.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: QP141.G76 2000
Alphabetical listing of biochemical terms and concepts for nutrition
science. It includes structural formulas and biochemical pathways.
- Pennington, Jean A.T. Bowes and Church's Food Values of
Portions Commonly Used. 18th ed.
Philadelphia, PA: Lippincott, Williams & Wilkins, 2005.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: TX551.P385 2005
Major, comprehensive source of American food composition tables.
- Joint FAO/WHO Codex Alimentarius Commission. Codex alimentarius.
Rome: Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations : World
Health Organization, 2001.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: TP374.5.C631 2001
Collection of internationally adopted food standards.
- Berdanier, Carolyn D. CRC Desk Reference for Nutrition.
Boca Raton, FL: CRC Press, 1998.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: QP141.B523 1998
Alphabetical list of entries range from descriptions of nutrition
concepts to brief essays on nutrition topics. It includes tables and
diagrams.
- Altman, Tracy A. FDA and USDA Nutrition Labeling Guide.
Lancaster, PA: Technomic Pub. Co., 1998.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: KF1620.F66A95 1998
Provides hands-on information about food labeling regulations as well
as a "plain-English" analysis of FDA and USDA Food Safety and Inspection
Service (FSIS) labeling rules.
- Redman, Nina. Food Safety: A Reference Handbook.
Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 2000.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: TX531.R44 2000
- Roberts, Cynthia A. The Food Safety Information Handbook.
Westport, CT: Oryx Press, 2001.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: TX531.R57 2001
- Food Safety Sourcebook.
Detroit, MI: Omnigraphics, 1999.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: TX531.F5685 1999
- Manual of Clinical Dietetics. 6th ed.
Developed by the Chicago Dietetic Association, The South Suburban
Dietetic Association, and the Dietitians of Canada.
Chicago, IL: American Dietetic Association, 2000.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: RM216.M29 2000
Practice guidelines for therapeutic nutrition interventions. "Best
practices" for nutrition care in North America.
- McCance, R. A. McCance and Widdowson's The Composition of
Foods.
Compiled by the Food Standards Agency and the Institute of Food Research.
6th ed.
Cambridge, England: Royal Society of Chemistry, 2002.
LOCATION: McKeldin Libary Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: TX551.M1
Supplements, I (Fruits and Nuts); II (Vegetable Dishes); III (Fish
and Fish Products), (Cereals and Cereal Products); IV(Miscellaneous
Foods),(Milk Products and Eggs); VI (Meat Products and Dishes).
- Garrison, Robert H. The Nutrition Desk Reference (www.Net Library.com)
New Canaan, CN: Keats Pub., 1995.
LOCATION:MDL WWW
CALL NUMBER: QP141.G33 1995eb
This electronic reference book provides basic nutrition information
as well as information about nutrition research.
- Gebhardt, Susan E. Nutritive Value of Foods.
Washington, DC: USDA Human Nutrition Information Service, 2002.
LOCATION: GOVDOC
CALL NUMBER: SUDOC A 1.77:72/2002
Chiefly tables. Includes bibliographical references.
- National Research Council. Subcommittee on the Tenth Edition of
the RDAs. Recommended
Dietary Allowances. 10th rev. ed.
Washington, DC: National Academy Press, 1989.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER:TX551.N393 1989
return to top
To locate
books, search the UM Libraries Catalog.
Use a word/s anywhere search for a topic. Examples of
words or terms related to nutrition are:
| diet |
foodborne diseases |
| diet therapy |
functional foods |
| dietetics |
minerals in nutrition |
| enriched foods |
nutrition |
| irradiated foods |
nutrition and children |
| food |
nutrition and aging |
| food allergy |
nutrition counseling |
| food biotechnology |
nutrition disorders |
| food composition |
nutrition extension work |
| food contamination |
nutrition policy |
| food industry and trade |
nutrition surveys |
| food labeling |
nutrients |
| food law and legislation |
radiation preservation of food |
| food safety measures |
vitamins in nutrition |
| food standards |
To effectively search the catalog and indexes and abstracts of
periodicals, you should become familiar with developing a search strategy.
For further information, please see Keywords and Boolean
Logic
return to top
The following serial publications
direct the user to articles which survey the current thinking on topic.
These articles often contain lengthy bibliographies of up to 100
references or more.
- Annals of Nutrition and Metabolism. 1981-
.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks CALL NUMBER:
RM214.N751
- Annual Review of
Nutrition
LOCATION: NETWRK WWW (1997-) Print version:
McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks CALL NUMBER: TX341.A5 (1981-)
- CRC Critical Reviews in Food Science and Nutrition.
1980- .
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks CALL NUMBER:
TP368.C462
- Nutrition Reviews. 1942- .
LOCATION: McKeldin
Library Periodical Stacks CALL NUMBER: TX341.N85
- Proceedings
of the Nutrition Society
LOCATION: NETWRK WWW (on
order) Print version: McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks CALL
NUMBER: TX551.A1 N8 (1944-)
- World Review of Nutrition and Dietetics. 1959-
.
LOCATION(S): McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks CALL NUMBER:
QP141.A1.W6
return to top
- American Dietetic Association
(ADA).
[http://www.eatright.org]
The ADA is the largest group of food and nutrition professionals in
the United States. This site is a good source for nutrition information.
- Center for Food Safety
and Applied Nutrition
[http://vm.cfsan.fda.gov]
CFSAN, a center within the Food and Drug Administration, is "responsible
for promoting and protecting the public's health by ensuring that
the nation's food supply is safe, sanitary, wholesome, and honestly
labeled".
- Center for Science in
the Public Interest (CSPI).
[http://www.cspinet.org/]
CPSI is a nonprofit organization that "focuses on improving the safety
and nutritional quality of the food supply".
- Food and Agriculture Organization
(FAO), United Nations.
[http://www.fao.org]
FAO is an intergovernmental agency with 183 member countries. It has
lead responsibility within the United Nations for agriculture, forestry,
fisheries and rural development. It is concerned with increasing food
production and food security and the improvement of nutrition. FAO
hosts the Codex Alimentarius
web site. The Codex is the main international system for developing
and promulgating food standards.
- Food and Drug Administration
(FDA) , U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
[http://www.fda.gov]
Regulates food products and dietary supplements.
- Food and Nutrition
Information Center, National Agricultural Library.
[http://www.nalusda.gov/fnic/]
Includes links to food guide pyramids, Dietary Guidelines For Americans,
2000, food composition data, information about dietary supplements,
and other resources.
- Food Safety
and Inspection Service, USDA.
[http://www.fsis.usda.gov/index.htm]
Regulates meat, poultry and eggs products. Hosts the U.S Codex web site.
- Food Safety Research
Information Office, National Agricultural Library.
[http://www.nalusda.gov/fsrio/]
Provides information on food safety research projects.
- International Bibliographic
Information on Dietary Supplements (IBIDS) Database.,
National Institute's of Health Office of Dietary Supplements.
[http://ods.od.nih.gov/databases/ibids.html]
"A database of published, international, scientific literature on
dietary supplements, including vitamins, minerals, and botanicals."
- International Food Policy
Research Institute
[http://www.ifpri.org/]
The mission of IFPRI is to "identify and analyze policies for sustainably
meeting the food needs of the developing world". Links to events,
research, publications, information about datasets, and web resources.
Latest publication Food Safety in Food
Security and Food Trade.
- Martindale's Health
Science Guide: The "Virtual" Nutrition Center
[http://www.martindalecenter.com/HSGuide.html]
A directory of nutrition information. Provides access to literature
and patent searches, dictionaries and glossaries, and online nutrition
calculators. Contains information on food science, labeling, and food
safety.
- Nutrient
Data Laboratory Home Page, U.S. Department of Agriculture,
Agricultural Research Service.
[http://www.ars.usda.gov/]
Source of food composition data. Includes the USDA National Nutrient
Database for Standard Reference, Release 15 and data sets for flavonoids,
isoflavones, carotenoids, sugar, vitamin K, and more.
- Nutrition.gov
[http://www.nutrition.gov]
Portal to nutrition information across the agencies of the Federal
Government.
Hot Topics - Nutrition and Food Science in the News
return to top
|