navigation bar
Guides to Information Resources

Last revised: July 2009

Patent and Trademark Information

PTDL Logo

Scope

The U.S. Government grants a patent to an inventor "to exclude others from making, using, offering for sale, or selling the invention throughout the United States or importing the invention into the United States."

A trademark is a word, phrase, symbol or design, or combination of words, phrases, symbols or designs, which identifies the source of goods or services of one party from those of another.

The Engineering and Physical Sciences Library (EPSL) at the University of Maryland is a designated U.S. Patent and Trademark Depository Library (PTDL). This is a selective guide to available library resources on patents and trademarks.

For patent and trademark assistance, visit or contact the library during Information Desk Hours. For an in depth consultation, contact Jim Miller at jmiller2(@umd.edu), or call (301)-405-9152, or Bob Kackley at rkackley(@umd.edu), or call (301)-405-9155, to set up an appointment.

Obtaining Copies of Patents and Trademarks

Patent copies and delivery times may be cheaper and faster from the U.S. Patent office. Compare ILL policies and prices with prices and delivery options at the USPTO.

Printing and Photocopying at UM Libraries
ALL U.S. patents, and 20+ million others, are available in full-text pdf on the Web.

Faster Printing and Download

Getting Started

You may want to start with a brief overview of what patents are, how they are used, and the basics of searching. The World Intellectual Property Organization provides a helpful guide (PDF) that includes an introduction to searching patents.

Many resources are available for searching patents and trademarks. The following databases are recommended for their coverage and search capabilities. For additional places to search, try Internet Resources.

USPTO Web Patent Databases
http://www.uspto.gov/patft/index.html
  • Full text of U.S. Patents 1976-Present
  • Search by patent number and current US classifications 1790-Present
  • Full text images from 1790-Present are available using a free TIFF plug-in
  • The Advanced search page explains index fields (title, current class, inventor, cited references, etc.) at the bottom of the page
  • Many records cite earlier technology: US patent numbers, foreign patent numbers, articles, books, technical reports, and even company catalogs
  • Please note: the rapidly growing Patent Applications database (2001-present) is a separate file
European Patent Office (Includes international patents)
http://ep.espacenet.com
  • Search titles and some abstracts of over 50 million patents from 71 countries
  • Display and print full text of US utility patents 1836-Present
  • Use the Advanced Search to search US titles, inventors and assignees (applicants) from 1920-Present
  • Search by patent number and European Classification (ECLA) or International Patent Classification (IPC) for older patents
  • Use the Classification Search for detailed help with ECLA searching
  • If you have a patent number, use the Number Search and type the patent number in the Publication Number box in the format us25151 with no leading zeros
Trademark Electronic Search System (TESS)
http://tess2.uspto.gov/bin/gate.exe?f=login&p_lang=english&p_d=trmk
  • Provides access to more than 4 million pending, registered and dead federal trademarks
  • This is the same file the trademark examiners use and it allows very complex searches
  • You can display logos (images) and search for them using design search codes

return to top

University of Maryland Collections

UM onsite collections consist of mainly backup archives. Except for PubWEST, most have corresponding sources available free on the web (See Internet Resources).

EPSL Onsite Resources

  • PubWEST
    • Please call ahead: Librarian login required
    • Faster than the USPTO free web database
    • Offers more features and search capabilities than the USPTO free web database
    • Includes international patents

  • USAPat
    • DVD-ROM (not a searchable database)
    • All US Patents (scanned images) 1790-Present

  • USAMark
    • DVD-ROM (not a searchable database)
    • All Registered U.S. Trademarks (scanned images) 1870-Present
    • Includes over 600,000 "Dead" (abandoned) marks NOT available in TESS (These images are also available online in Trademark Document Retrieval (TDR)

  • Official Gazette
    • Microfilm: vol.1(1872) - vol.845(1967)
      EPSL Periodical Stacks: 1943-1998
      EPSL Reference: Patents 1998-2002 (after 2002 on CD-ROM See Information Desk for assistance); Trademarks 1999-2005
      Call Number: T223.A3
      Online: Patents (most recent 52 issues); Trademarks (most recent five issues)

DVD/CD-ROM Databases

These are mostly backup archives, but they are sometimes faster, or better for downloading huge sets of data, spreadsheets, etc.

  • Cassis Patent & Trademark Assignments
  • Cassis Patents BIB
    • Search abstracts 1988-present
    • Search titles 1969-present
  • Cassis Trademarks BIB
  • Cassis Patents Assist
    • Includes Art Unit/Supervisory Examiner index, Attorneys & Agents list, and classification search options not available on the web
  • Patent Abstracts of Japan
  • GlobalPat
  • DEPAROM

McKeldin Government Documents

  • U.S. Utility Patents, 1790 to present
  • Design Patents, 1842 to present
  • Reissue Patents, 1983 (R31,119) to present
  • Defensive Publications, 1975 (T9300,001) to 1986
  • Statutory Invention Registrations (SIRS), 1985 to present
  • Reexamination Certificates, 1983 to present
  • CDR (Corrections, Disclaimers, Reissues), 1983 to 1987
  • Patent Status File, 1987 to present

return to top

Internet Resources

United States Patent and Trademark Internet Resources

GENERAL
U.S. Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO)
www.uspto.gov
  • Links to information about patents and trademarks
  • For information on international intellectual property sites try Related Web Sites
PATENTS
USPTO Patent Information
http://www.uspto.gov/main/patents.htm
  • Links to the Manual of Classification, Index to the Manual, classification definitions, and much more.
USPTO Web Patent Databases
www.uspto.gov/patft/index.html
  • Full text of U.S. Patents 1976-Present
  • Search by patent number and current US classifications 1790-Present
  • Full text images from 1790-Present are available using a free TIFF plug-in
  • The Advanced search page explains index fields (title, current class, inventor, cited references, etc.) at the bottom of the page
  • Many records cite earlier technology: US patent numbers, foreign patent numbers, articles, books, technical reports, and even company catalogs
  • Please note: the rapidly growing Patent Applications database (2001-present) is a separate file
Boliven
http://www.boliven.com
  • US, PCT, EPO, JPO, and Korea patents from mid 1970s
  • Good search interface
  • Includes drugs, clinical trials, trademarks, and other files
Depatisnet
http://depatisnet.dpma.de
  • The German Patent Office's international patent database
  • U.S. patents from 1790 (X1)
  • Includes plant and design patents
Google Patents
http://google.com/patents
  • An important source of historical and genealogical patent information
  • Search U.S. patents full text from 1790
  • Note: OCR text has significant errors and omissions
  • Google is NOT yet ready for Patent Classification (subject) searching, as of Summer 2008
Edison's Patents
http://edison.rutgers.edu/patents.htm
  • Rutgers University's Edison Papers web site provides full text of Thomas Edison's 1,093 patents
TRADEMARKS
Trademark Electronic Search System (TESS)
http://tess2.uspto.gov/bin/gate.exe?f=login&p_lang=english&p_d=trmk
  • Provides access to more than 4 million pending, registered and dead federal trademarks
  • This is the same file the trademark examiners use and it allows very complex searches
  • You can display logos (images) and search for them using design search codes
Maryland Secretary of State Trademarks and Servicemarks
http://www.sos.state.md.us/Registrations/Trademarks/Trademarks.htm
  • Provides access to the Maryland state trademarks database
  • Contains links to other state trademark offices
FindLaw: State Trademark Information
http://smallbusiness.findlaw.com/trademark/trademark-registration/
state-trademark-info-links.html

  • Provides links to most state's trademark and company name databases

return to top

International Patent and Trademark Internet Resources

GENERAL
The British Library: Patents
http://www.bl.uk/collections/patents.html
  • A comprehensive source of patent and other intellectual property information
IP Newsflash
http://www.ipnewsflash.com
  • Rolf Claessen's free intellectual property news and law site
  • Includes links to international patent and trademark legal news and case law
PATENTS
European Patent Office
http://ep.espacenet.com
  • Search titles and some abstracts of over 50 million patents from 71 countries
  • Display and print full text of US utility patents 1836-Present
  • Use the Advanced Search to search US titles, inventors and assignees (applicants) from 1920-Present
  • Search by patent number and European Classification (ECLA) or International Patent Classification (IPC) for older patents
  • Use the Classification Search for detailed help with ECLA searching
  • If you have a patent number, use the Number Search and type the patent number in the Publication Number box in the format us25151 with no leading zeros
Canadian Patent Database
http://Patents1.ic.gc.ca/intro-e.html
  • Provides access to over 75 years of patent descriptions and images
  • Includes links to trademark databases and other Canadian company information
Delphion
http://www.delphion.com
  • Requires registration
  • Free-of-charge option includes some features not available on the free sites, such as cited year searching
Depatisnet
http://depatisnet.dpma.de
The German Patent Office's international patent database.
  • U.S. patents from 1790 (X1)
  • Includes plant and design patents
Industrial Property Digital Library
http://www.ipdl.inpit.go.jp/homepg_e.ipdl
The Japan Patent Office's Patent & Utility Model, Design, and Trademarks databases.
  • Click on PAJ - Patent Abstracts of Japan
  • Search Applicants, Titles, Abstracts in English
  • Search IPC (International Patent Classification)
  • Click grey "Number" button at upper right for number search
  • Next to "Search Results" total, click "Index Indication"
  • Click numbers in Index list for image and English abstract
  • Click "Detail" for machine translation of text
TRADEMARKS
World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO)
http://www.wipo.int/portal/index.html.en

return to top

Historical Patents Internet Resources

Historical Patents and Trademarks
http://ptdla.org/history
This collection of Microsoft Excel spreadsheets compiled by Jim Shaw includes indexes of all US patents from 1790-1874, including the 7500 "X-Patents" lost in the 1836 fire.

Cincinnati Inventors Database
http://www.cincinnatilibrary.org/resources/invent/
Indexes Cincinnati area inventors' patents from 1814-1873. This database allows browsing by inventor or invention and searching by inventor.

Historical Idaho Patents Database
http://db.lib.uidaho.edu/patents/
Search by inventor, assignee, city, title, patent number, or date for Idaho patents from 1866-1928.

Iowa Inventors Database
http://www.statelibraryofiowa.org/cgi-bin/patents/ Browse by location or search by keyword Iowa inventions from 1843-2006.

Index to Early Louisiana Patents 1810-1890
http://adler.lib.muohio.edu/%7Eshocker/LAPAT/index.html
This database can be searched by place or year, browsed by assignee, inventor, parish, or subject, and supports keyword searching for inventor and title.

Nevada Inventors Database
http://www.knowledgecenter.unr.edu/subjects/guides/government/nevada/nvinventors.html
The goal of this work-in-progress is to include all Nevada patents from the 1860s to 1975. The current database includes up to the 1920s, and is browseable by the inventor's last name or issuing year, and searchable by patent number, inventor, city, or patent title.

South Carolina Inventors
http://sys.lib.clemson.edu/scinventors/search.asp
Searchable by inventor, invention, residence, date, and patent number. Includes patents from 1796 to 1896.

Women Inventors Index 1790-1895
http://staff.lib.muohio.edu/~shocker/FemInv/
This database can be searched by place or year, browsed by assignee, inventor, state, or subject, and supports keyword searching for inventor and title. Also included here are lists of the women with the most patents, patents by subject, patents by state, and African American female inventors.

Wyoming Inventors Database
http://cowgirl.state.wy.us/inventors/
Browse or search by inventor name, or try the advanced search for further search options such as city, patent number, and date searching. Includes patents from 1867-present.

return to top

Search Aids

The following are indexes and other tools used for searching and browsing patents and trademarks. To search for patents and trademarks on the internet, try the United States Patent and Trademark Office or the European Patent Office.

PATENTS
Index to the U.S. Patent Classification System
  Location: EPSL Reference
  Call Number: T223.A25

Manual of Classification
  Location: EPSL Reference
  Call Number: T223.F4U58

Patent Classification Definitions
http://www.uspto.gov/go/classification/

Subject-matter Index of Patents for Inventions Issued by the U.S. Patent Office from 1790 to 1873, inclusive
  Location: EPSL Reference
  Call Number: T223.D7A45
  Online spreadsheets available at: PTDLA Historical Patents

Early Unnumbered United States Patents 1790-1836
  Location: EPSL Reference
  Call Number: T223.D7R46

Annual patent indexes 1847-1997, with some gaps (title varies)
Annual report of the Commissioner of Patents
Commissioner of Patents and Trademarks annual report
  Location: EPSL Reference
  Call Number: T223.H2

Commissioner of Patents annual report
  Location: EPSL Periodical Stacks
  Call Number: T223.H2

TRADEMARKS
Design Code Manual for Trademarks (print version)
  Location: EPSL Reference
  Call Number: T223.V15

Design Code Manual for Trademarks (online version)
http://tess2.uspto.gov/tmdb/dscm/index.htm

Index of trademarks issued from the United States Patent and Trademark Office
1928-1972; 1974-1997
  Location: EPSL Reference
  Call Number: T223.V1U5

return to top

 

© 2006 University Libraries. University of Maryland. College Park, MD 20742-7011, (301) 405-0800
Last modified: August 17, 2009

Send us your comments | Privacy Policy
University of Maryland Libraries Home Catalog Research Port Ask us! How do I...? Site index Search University of Maryland Libraries Home Catalog Research Port Ask us! How do I...? Site index Search