navigation bar
Guides to Information Resources

Table of Contents

Home

UM Collections

Internet Resources

Search Aids

Historical Patents Internet Resources

Historical Patents and Trademarks
http://ptdla.org/history

This collection of Microsoft Excel spreadsheets compiled by Jim Shaw includes indexes of all US patents from 1790-1874, including the 7500 "X-Patents" lost in the 1836 fire.

Cincinatti Inventors Database
http://www.cincinnatilibrary.org/resources/invent/

Indexes Cincinatti area inventors' patents from 1814-1873. This databases allows browsing by inventor or invention and searching by inventor.

Historical Idaho Patents Database
http://db.lib.uidaho.edu/patents/

Search by inventor, assignee, city, title, patent number, or date for Idaho patents from 1866-1928.

Iowa Inventions Database
http://www.statelibraryofiowa.org/cgi-bin/patents/

Browse by location or search by keyword Iowa inventions from 1843-2006.

Index to Early Louisiana Patents 1810-1890
http://adler.lib.muohio.edu/%7Eshocker/LAPAT/index.html

This database can be searched by place or year, browsed by assignee, inventor, parish, or subject, and supports keyword searching for inventor and title.

Nevada Inventors Database
http://www.library.unr.edu/depts/bgic/nvinventors.html

The goal of this work-in-progress is to include all Nevada patents from the 1860s to 1975. The current database includes up to the 1920s, and is browseable by the inventor's last name or issuing year, and searchable by patent number, inventor, city, or patent title.

South Carolina Inventors
http://sys.lib.clemson.edu/scinventors/search.asp

Searchable by inventor, invention, residence, date, and patent number. Includes patents from 1796 to 1896.

Women Inventors Index 1790-1895
http://staff.lib.muohio.edu/~shocker/FemInv/

This database can be searched by place or year, browsed by assignee, inventor, state, or subject, and supports keyword searching for inventor and title. Also included here are lists of the women with the most patents, patents by subject, patents by state, and African American female inventors.

Wyoming Inventors Database
http://cowgirl.state.wy.us/inventors/

Browse or search by inventor name, or try the advanced search for further search options such as city, patent number, and date searching. Includes patents from 1867-present.

 

© 2006 University Libraries. University of Maryland. College Park, MD 20742-7011, (301) 405-0800
Last modified: May 02, 2007

Send us your comments | Privacy Policy
University of Maryland Libraries Home Catalog Research Port Ask us! How do I...? Site index Search University of Maryland Libraries Home Catalog Research Port Ask us! How do I...? Site index Search