Table of Contents
Home
UM Collections
Internet Resources
Search Aids
|
International Patent and Trademark Internet Resources
The British Library: Patents
http://www.bl.uk/collections/patents.html
- A comprehensive source of patent and other intellectual property information
IP Newsflash
http://www.ipnewsflash.com
- Rolf Claessen's free intellectual property news and law site
- Includes links to international patent and trademark legal news and case law
Patents
European Patent Office
http://ep.espacenet.com
- Search titles and some abstracts of over 50 million patents from 71 countries
- Display and print full text of US utility patents 1836-Present
- Use the Advanced Search to search US titles, inventors and assignees (applicants) from 1920-Present
- Search by patent number and European Classification (ECLA) or International Patent Classification (IPC) for older patents
- Use the Classification Search for detailed help with ECLA searching
- If you have a patent number, use the Number Search and type the patent number in the Publication Number box in the format us25151 with no leading zeros
Canadian Patent Database
http://Patents1.ic.gc.ca/intro-e.html
- Provides access to over 75 years of patent descriptions and images
- Includes links to trademark databases and other Canadian company information
Delphion
http://www.delphion.com
- Requires registration
- Free-of-charge option includes some features not available on the free sites, such as cited year searching
Depatisnet
http://depatisnet.dpma.de
- The German Patent Office's international patent database
- U.S. patents from 1790 (X1)
- Includes plant and design patents
Industrial Property Digital Library
http://www.ipdl.inpit.go.jp/homepg_e.ipdl
- The Japan Patent Office's Patent & Utility Model, Design, and Trademarks databases
- Click on PAJ - Patent Abstracts of Japan
- Search Applicants, Titles, Abstracts in English
- Search IPC (International Patent Classification)
- Click grey "Number" button at upper right for number search
- Next to "Search Results" total, click "Index Indication"
- Click numbers in Index list for image and English abstract
- Click "Detail" for machine translation of text
Trademarks
World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO)
http://www.wipo.int/portal/index.html.en
|