Table of Contents
Home
UM Collections
Internet Resources
Search Aids
|
Getting Started
Recommended Resources
Many resources are available for searching patents and trademarks. The following databases are recommended for their coverage and search capabilities. For additional places to search, try Internet Resources.
USPTO Web Patent Databases
http://www.uspto.gov/patft/index.html
- Full text of U.S. Patents 1976-Present
- Search by patent number and current US classifications 1790-Present
- Full text images from 1790-Present are available using a free TIFF plug-in
- The Advanced search page explains index fields (title, current class, inventor, cited references, etc.) at the bottom of the page
- Many records cite earlier technology: US patent numbers, foreign patent numbers, articles, books, technical reports, and even company catalogs
- Please note: the rapidly growing Patent Applications database (2001-present) is a separate file
European Patent Office (Includes international patents)
http://ep.espacenet.com
- Search titles and some abstracts of over 50 million patents from 71 countries
- Display and print full text of US utility patents 1836-Present
- Use the Advanced Search to search US titles, inventors and assignees (applicants) from 1920-Present
- Search by patent number and European Classification (ECLA) or International Patent Classification (IPC) for older patents
- Use the Classification Search for detailed help with ECLA searching
- If you have a patent number, use the Number Search and type the patent number in the Publication Number box in the format us25151 with no leading zeros
Trademark Electronic Search System (TESS)
http://tess2.uspto.gov/bin/gate.exe?f=login&p_lang=english&p_d=trmk
- Provides access to more than 4 million pending, registered and dead federal trademarks
- This is the same file the trademark examiners use
and it allows very complex searches
- You can display logos (images) and search for them using
design search codes
|