|
Last revised: October 2007
Physics
Scope: This guide was created to help students and faculty find information in the field of Physics. No attempt has been made to
present an exhaustive list of reference materials on the subject. For further assistance, please access Physics subject specialist Nedelina
Tchangalova's professional webpage or e-mail her at nedelina(@)umd.edu.
At UM Libraries
To locate books at the library you'll need to use the UM Catalog. Choosing the best search
method depends on how much you know about the books you're searching for.
When looking for a known book search by:
When looking for books on a particular topic search by:
This search box will open the UM Catalog and launch your search in a new window.
To narrow your results, use the catalog's advanced search and limit your search
by:
- publication year
- location
- adding additional keywords
A word/s anywhere search will locate terms and phrases that appear in the title, subject headings, or notes of a catalog record. Examples of some
common terms and phrases used to locate books on physics include:
| physics |
    |
astrophysics |
    |
microphysics |
    |
solid state physics |
| ballistics |
    |
biophysics |
    |
motion |
    |
sound |
| capillarity |
    |
conservation laws |
    |
nanostructures |
    |
thermodynamics |
| constraints |
    |
cosmic physics |
    |
nuclear physics |
    |
viscosity |
| critical phenomena |
    |
diffusion |
    |
optics |
    |
radiation |
| expansion (heat) |
    |
fluids |
    |
permeability |
    |
mechanics |
| force and energy |
    |
general relativity |
    |
physical metallurgy |
    |
matter |
| geophysics |
    |
gravitation |
    |
pneumatics |
| heat |
    |
magnetism |
    |
quantum theory |
return to top
Books dealing with similar subjects are likely to be grouped together on the shelves. Thus, another way to locate books on a particular topic is to browse by call number. You can browse:
- physically -- by going to the stacks and shelf-reading
- virtually -- by doing a call number search in the online catalog using the first few digits of a call number (i.e., QC20 for books on mathematical physics)
The following are some call number ranges where you can find books on physics:
| QB 1 - QB 991 |     | Astronomy |
| QB 1 - QB 139 |     | General Astronomy |
| QB 140 - QB 237 |     | Practical and Spherical Astronomy |
| QB 460 - QB 466 |     | Astrophysics |
| QB 495 - QB 903 |     | Descriptive Astronomy |
| QC 1 - QC 999 |     | Physics |
| QC 1 - QC 75 |     | General Physics |
| QC 6 |     | General Relativity |
| QC 20 |     | Mathematical Physics |
| QC 73 |     | Conservation Laws (Physics) |
| QC 81 - QC 114 |     | Weights and Measures |
| QC 120 - QC 168.85 |     | Descriptive and Experimental Mechanics |
| QC 141 - QC 168 |     | Fluids |
| QC 170 - QC 197 |     | Atomic Physics |
| QC 173 - QC 175 |     | Field Theory (Physics) |
| QC 174 |     | Quantum Theory |
| QC 178 |     | Gravitation |
| QC 221 - QC 246 |     | Acoustics. Sound |
| QC 251 - QC 338.5 |     | Heat |
| QC 350 - QC 467 |     | Optics. Light |
| QC 474 - QC 496.9 |     | Radiation Physics (General) |
| QC 501 - QC 721 |     | Electricity |
| QC 750 - QC 766 |     | Magnetism |
| QC 770 - QC 798 |     | Nuclear and Particle Physics. Atomic Energy |
| QC 801 - QC 809 |     | Geophysics |
| QC 811 - QC 849 |     | Geomagnetism |
| QC 851 - QC 999 |     | Meteorology |
If the UM libraries don't have a specific title you are looking for, then suggest a book for purchase by filling out the electronic form at www.lib.umd.edu/CLMD/Faculty/bookrequest.html.
return to top
At Other Libraries
If you cannot find what you're looking for in the UM Catalog, you can search for resources beyond those held in our libraries. You can use a link when you find the material in other catalogs. The best tool
for locating books and journals beyond holdings of the University of Maryland and its consortium
libraries is WorldCat. WorldCat contains records for materials
found in research libraries worldwide.
You may also use the Interlibrary Loan page to place ILL requests for items not owned by UM. Materials requested through
interlibrary loan take approximately two weeks to arrive.
return to top
Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
- Basu, Dipak. Dictionary of pure and applied physics. Boca Raton, Fla. : CRC Press, c2001.
Location: EPSL Reference
Call number: QC5 .D485 2001
- Daintith, John. A dictionary of physics. Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2005.
Location: EPSL Reference
Call number: QC5 .C56 2005
- Daintith, John and Richard Rennie. The facts on file dictionary of physics. New York : Facts On File, c2005.
Location: EPSL Reference
Call number: QC5 .F34 2005
- Isaacs, Alan. A dictionary of physics. Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2000.
Location: EPSL Reference
Call number: QC5 .D496 2000
- Lerner, Rita G. and George L. Trigg. Encyclopedia of Physics. Weinheim : Wiley-VCH, 2005.
Location: EPSL Reference
Call number: QC5 .E545 2005
- Moore, John H. and Nicholas D. Spencer. Encyclopedia of chemical physics and physical chemistry. Philadelphia : Institute of Physics Pub., c2001.
Location: Chemistry Reference
Call number: QD451 .E539 2001
- Rosen, Joe. Encyclopedia of physics. New York : Facts on File, 2004.
Location: EPSL Reference
Call number: QC5 .R596 2004
return to top
Handbooks & Manuals
- Alenitsyn, Alexander G., Eugene I. Butikov, and Alexander S. Kondratyev. Concise handbook of mathematics and physics. Boca Raton, Fla. : CRC Press ; Moscow : Nauka Publishers, c1997.
Location: EPSL Reference
Call number: QC61 .A4813 1997
- Benenson, Walter. Handbook of physics. New York : Springer, c2002.
Location: EPSL Stacks
Call Number: QC61 .H33 2002
- Coghill, A. and Lorrin R. Garson The ACS style guide : effective communication of scientific information.. Washington, DC : American Chemical Society ; Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2006.
Location: Chemistry Reference
Call Number: QD8.5 .A25 2006
- Cohen, E. Richard, David R. Lide, and George L. Trigg. AIP physics desk reference. New York : Springer, c2003.
Location: EPSL Reference
Call Number: QC61 .P49 2003
- Cohen, E. Richard. The physics quick reference guide. Woodbury, N.Y. : American Institute of Physics, c1996.
Location: EPSL Reference, EPSL Stacks
Call number: QC61 .C65 1996
- Diagram Group. The Facts on File physics handbook. New York : Facts on File, c2000.
Location: EPSL Reference
Call number: QC61 .F33 2000
- Drake, Gordon W.F. Atomic, molecular & optical physics handbook. Woodbury, N.Y. : AIP Press, c1996.
Location: EPSL Reference
Call number: QC173 .A827 1996
- Grigoriev, Igor S. and Evgenii Z. Meilikhov.Handbook of physical quantities. Boca Raton : CRC Press, c1997.
Location: EPSL Reference
Call number: QC61 .H36 1997
- Nordling, Carl, Jonny Österman. Physics handbook for science and engineering. Lund, Sweden : Studentlitteratur, c1996.
Location: EPSL Reference
Call number: QC61 .N67 1996
- Poole, Charles P., Jr. The physics handbook : fundamentals and key equations. New York : John Wiley, c1998.
Location: EPSL Reference
Call number: QC61 .P65 1998
return to top
Directories
return to top
Research Port is an electronic resource that allows you to:
- Search for journal articles and books
- Access databases and e-journals from on and off campus
- Search an individual database OR search several simultaneously
- Search databases and the UM Libraries’ catalog simultaneously
- Find full-text articles
- E-mail or save article citations
Note: Off-campus access to databases is restricted to current UM students, faculty and staff. When seeking off-campus access through Research Port you will need the barcode from your new ID card and your last name. You can also establish a VPN (Virtual Private Network) on your home computer for complete access to Research Port and other UM library resources.
Core Databases
Compendex
Compendex offers a wide range of information resources in the applied science and engineering fields.
INSPEC
INSPEC covers the subjects computing, electronics, and physics, with related coverage of materials science, oceanography, nuclear engineering, geophysics, and biomedical engineering.
INSPEC Archive
INSPEC Archive covers the subjects computing, electronics, and physics, with related coverage of materials science, oceanography, nuclear engineering, geophysics, and biomedical engineering from 1868-1968.
NTIS
NTIS covers U.S. government-sponsored research and reports from federal agencies. Indexes and abstracts technical research reports, journal articles, data files, computer programs and audio-visual products.
PROLA
PROLA (Physical Review Online Archive) indexes all APS journal material published from 1893 to present.
Science Citation Index
Science Citation Index is a multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the sciences. It indexes more than 5,700 major journals across 164 scientific disciplines. Virtually the only index for finding what papers have cited other papers.
Scitation
Scitation searches more than 100 journals from AIP, APS, ASCE, ASME, SPIE, and a host of other prestigious science and engineering journals.
Solid State Abstracts
Solid State Abstracts provides access to the current research on theory, production, and practical applications of solid state materials and devices, including high- and low-temperature superconductivity technology.
return to top
Multidisciplinary Databases
Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier provides abstracts and indexing for over 7,000 journals. Full text of articles for over 4,000 scholarly publications, including more than 3,100 peer-reviewed publications.
Digital Dissertations
This database is the an authoritative source for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. The database represents the work of authors from over 1,000 graduate schools and universities. Full text is available from 1997 to the present.
Ingenta
Ingenta gives access to more than 20,000 publications from the ingenta database. Some full text is available; faculty may be able to purchase some articles for fax or online delivery.
JSTOR
JSTOR is an electronic archive of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. It includes complete runs of journals with full-text of all articles published prior to the most current five years.
LexisNexis Academic
LexisNexis Academic is a full-text database that offers a wide range of news, political, legal, business, and reference information in full-text format. Primary source of newspaper articles, including those from the Washington Post and the New York Times. Federal code, regulations, and case law, plus state codes and case law are also included.
MasterFILE Premier
MasterFILE Premier provides abstracts and indexing for 2,650 general periodicals. Full text of articles for nearly 2,000 periodicals, and 5,000 full text Magill Book Reviews.
netLibrary
netLibrary is a collection of E-texts covering topics specifically chosen by Maryland Academic Libraries. It includes computer science, business, international relations, education, environmental science, psychology, and civil rights law and history collections.
ScienceDirect
ScienceDirect provides abstracts and indexing for more than 1800 science journals. Full text of more than 800 journals is available. Some articles are in languages other than English.
US Patent Database
The U.S. Patent Database provides full-text patents, images of patents, and published patent applications from the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office web database.
return to top
The level of scholarship is different in various publications. Information on how to distinguish scholarly journals from trade publications and popular magazines can be found at http://www.lib.umd.edu/UES/journals.html.
Physics E-Journals
This is a list of physics journals with electronic access. It was created to help students and faculty find information in the field of Physics. The goal is to eventually make this an exhaustive list of electronic physics journals.
A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
A
Acoustical Physics
Acta Physica Slovaca
Advances in physics
Advances in theoretical and mathematical physics
AIP conference proceedings
American journal of physics
Annalen der Physik
Annales de physique
Annales Henri Poincare
Annals of physics
Annual review of nuclear and particle science
Applied Physics A: Materials Science & Processing
Applied Physics B: Lasers and Optics
Applied Physics Letters
Astroparticle physics
Astrophysics and Space Physics Reviews
Atomic data and nuclear data tables
B
Brazilian Journal of Physics
British Journal of Applied Physics
Bulletin of the American Physical Society
C
Canadian journal of physics
Central European Journal of Physics
Chemical Physics
Chemical Physics Letters
Chemistry and Physics of Lipids
Chinese Journal of Physics
Chinese Physics
Chinese Physics Letters
Comments on Modern Physics
Communications in Mathematical Physics
Condensed matter Physics
Contemporary physics
D
Doklady. Physics
E
Electronic Journal of Theoretical Physics
European Physical Journal A - Hadrons and Nuclei
European Physical Journal. Applied Physics
European Physical Journal B - Condensed Matter
European Physical Journal C - Particles and Fields
European Physical Journal D - Atomic, Molecular and Optical Physics
European Physical Journal E - Soft Matter
Europhysics letters
Experiments in Fluids
F
Fluid phase equilibria
Fortschritte der Physik
Foundations of Physics
Foundations of Physics Letters
G
General Relativity and Gravitation
H
High Temperature
Historical studies in the physical and biological sciences
I
IEE Proceedings. A, Physical science, measurement and instrumentation, management and education, reviews
Industrial Physicist
Interdisciplinary science reviews (ISR)
International journal of bifurcation and chaos in applied sciences and engineering
International journal of modern physics A, Particles and fields, gravitation, cosmology
International journal of modern physics B, Condensed matter physics, statistical physics, applied physics
International journal of modern physics C, Physics and computers
International journal of modern physics D, Gravitation, astrophysics, cosmology
International journal of modern physics E, Nuclear physics
International Journal of physical distribution and logistics management
International Journal of Theoretical Physics
International Journal of Thermophysics
J
Japanese journal of applied physics Part 1, Regular Papers and short notes
Journal de physique I, Proceedings
Journal of applied clinical medical physics
Journal of applied mechanics and technical physics
Journal of applied physics
Journal of atmospheric and solar-terrestrial physics
Journal of biological physics
Journal of Chemical Physics
Journal of computational physics
Journal of cosmology and astroparticle physics
Journal of engineering physics and thermophysics
Journal of experimental and theoretical physics
Journal of geometry and physics
Journal of high energy physics. Paper archive
Journal of Low Temperature Physics
Journal of macromolecular science. Physics
Journal of magnetism and magnetic materials
Journal of mathematical and physical sciences
Journal of mathematical physics
Journal of mathematical physics, analysis, geometry
Journal of Medical Physics
Journal of modern optics
Journal of molecular spectroscopy
Journal of Nonlinear Mathematical Physics
Journal of nonlinear optical physics and materials
Journal of Physics A, General Physics (Proceedings of the Physical Society)
Journal of Physics A, Mathematical and General
Journal of Physics A, Mathematical, nuclear, and general
Journal of physics and chemistry of solids
Journal of Physics B, Atomic and molecular physics
Journal of Physics B, Atomic, molecular, and optical physics
Journal of Physics C, Solid State Physics
Journal of Physics Condensed Matter
Journal of Physics - Conference Series
Journal of Physics D, Applied Physics
Journal of Physics E, Scientific Instruments
Journal of Physics F, Metal Physics
Journal of Physics G, Nuclear and particle physics
Journal of Physics Nuclear Physics
Journal of plasma physics
Journal of quantitative spectroscopy & radiative transfer
Journal of research of the National Institute of Standards and Technology
Journal of rheology
Journal of sound and vibration
Journal of Statistical Physics
Journal of Superconductivity
Journal of the Acoustical Society of America
Journal of the Mechanics and Physics of Solids
Journal of the Optical Society of America. B, Optical Physics
Journal of the Physical Society of Japan
Journal of Undergraduate Research in Physics
Journal of vacuum science & technology A, Vacuum, surfaces, and films
K
L
Letters in Mathematical Physics
Living Reviews in Solar Physics
Low temperature physics
Laser and particle beams
M
Macromolecular Chemistry and Physics
Materials Physics and Mechanics
Materials Science and Engineering: R: Reports
Measurement Science & Technology
Medical Physics
Microporous and mesoporous materials
Modern Physics Letters A
Modern Physics Letters B, Condensed Matter Physics, Statistical Physics, Applied Physics
Molecular Physics
N
Nano Letters
Nanotechnology
Natural Product Reports
Nature
Nature Cell Biology
Nature Chemical Biology
Nature Materials
Die Naturwissenschaften
New Journal of Physics
Newsletter - Center for History of Physics
Nordic Journal of Building Physics
Nucleic Acids Research
Nuclear Fusion
Nuclear Instruments & methods in physics research. Section A, Accelerators, spectrometers, detectors and associated equipment
Nuclear Instruments & methods in physics research. Section B, Beam interactions with materials and atoms
Nuclear physics. A
Nuclear physics. B
Nuclear physics. B, Proceedings, supplements
Nuclear Physics News
Nucleosides, nucleotides and nucleic acids
O
P
Philadelphia Journal of the medical and physical sciences
Philosophical magazine. A, Physics of Condensed matter, defects and mechanical properties
Philosophical Transactions. Mathematical, physical, and engineering sciences
Philosophical transactions of the Royal Society of London. Series A, Containing papers of a mathematical or physical character
Philosophical transactions of the Royal Society of London. Series A, Mathematical and physical sciences
Physica A
Physica B, Condensed Matter
Physica C, Superconductivity
Physica D Nonlinear phenomena
Physica E Low-dimensional systems & nanostructures
Physica scripta T
Physica status solidi. A, Applied research
Physica status solidi B, Basic Research
Physica Status Solidi C
Physical Biology
Physical Chemistry - Chemical Physics
Physical review
Physical Review A
Physical Review A, Atomic, molecular, and optical physics
Physical review A, General Physics
Physical Review B, Condensed Matter
Physical Review B. Condensed Matter and Materials Physics
Physical Review C. Nuclear Physics
Physical Review D
Physical Review D. Particles, Fields, Gravitation, Cosmology
Physical Review E, Statistical, nonlinear, and soft matter physics
Physical Review E. Statistical Physics, Plasma, Fluids, and Related Interdisciplinary Topics
Physical Review Focus
Physical Review Letters
Physical Review Special Topics - Accelerators and Beams
Physics and chemistry of liquids
Physics and chemistry of minerals
Physics and chemistry of the earth
Physics and chemistry of the earth. Parts A/B/C
Physics and Society
Physics Education
Physics Essays
Physics in medicine and biology
Physics in perspective
Physics in technology
Physics Journal of the IPS
Physics letters. A
Physics letters B
Physics of Atomic Nuclei
Physics of Fluids
Physics of Fluids. A, Fluid Dynamics
Physics of Fluids. B, Plasma Physics
Physics of Life Reviews
Physics of particles and nuclei
Physics of Plasmas
Physics of the earth and planetary interiors
Physics of the solid state
Physics Reports
Physics Today
Physics, Uspekhi
Physics World
Plasma physics
Plasma physics, accelerators, thermonuclear research
Plasma Physics & Controlled Fusion
Plasma Physics Reports
Plasma Sources Science and Technology
PLoS Biology
Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences of the United States of America
Proceedings of the Royal Society of London
Proceedings of the Royal Society of London: Series A, Containing papers of a mathematical and physical character
Proceedings of the Royal Society of London: Series A, Mathematical and Physical Sciences
Proceedings of the Royal Society of London: Series B, Biological Sciences
Proceedings: Mathematical and Physical Sciences
Proceedings: Mathematical, Physical and Engineering Sciences
Proceedings of the Japan Academy. Series B, physical and biological sciences
Proceedings of the Physical Society
Proceedings of the Physical Society. Section A
Proceedings of the Physical Society. Section B
Proceedings of the Royal Society of London
Proceedings of the Royal Society of London. Series A, Containing papers of a mathematical and physical character
Proceedings of the Royal Society of London. Series A, Mathematical and Physical Sciences
Progress in Biophysics and Molecular Biology
Progress in Particle and nuclear physics
Progress in physics
Q
R
Reliability of Electron Devices, Failure Physics and Analysis, 1996. Proceedings of the 7th European Symposium
Reliability of Physics Symposium 1988. 26th Annual Proceedings.
Reliability of Physics Symposium 1989. 27th Annual Proceedings.
Reliability of Physics Symposium 1990. 28th Annual Proceedings.
Reliability of Physics Symposium 1991. 29th Annual Proceedings.
Reliability of Physics Symposium 1992. 30th Annual Proceedings.
Reliability of Physics Symposium 1993. 31st Annual Proceedings.
Reliability of Physics Symposium 1994. 32nd Annual Proceedings.
Reliability of Physics Symposium 1995. 33rd Annual Proceedings.
Reliability of Physics Symposium 1996. 34th Annual Proceedings.
Reliability of Physics Symposium 1997. 35th Annual Proceedings.
Reports on mathematical physics
Reports on Progress in Physics
Review of Physics in technology
Review of Scientific Instruments
Reviews in mathematical physics.
Reviews of Modern Physics
Russian physics journal
S
Science
Science Online
Semiconductor physics quantum electronics and optoelectronics
Sensors and actuators. A, Physical
Solar Physics
Studies in history and philosophy of science. Studies in history and philosophy of modern physics
Surveys in high energy physics
T
Technical physics
Technical physics letters
Theoretical and mathematical physics
Topics in applied physics
Transport theory and statistical physics
Turkish journal of physics
V
Virtual Journal of Nanoscale Science and Technology
Virtual Journal of Biological Physics Research
Z
ˇurnal fģziCnih doslid˛en
|
return to top
General
American Physical Society(APS)
http://www.aps.org/resources/
Physics Related Resources on the Internet (APS)
Intute: Science, Engineering, & Technology
http://www.intute.ac.uk/sciences/physics/
The Intute Physics Gateway provides free access to high quality resources on the Internet.
Lasers, Optics and Photonics
http://optics.org/
Lasers, Optics and Photonics Resources and News
Online Particle Physics Information
http://www.slac.stanford.edu/library/pdg/hepinfo.html
Online resources that are of value to the particle physics community.
Physics Central
http://www.physicscentral.com/
Learn how your world works
Physics Web
http://physicsweb.org/
Physics news, jobs and resources
PhysLINK
http://www.physlink.com/
Physics and Astronomy online
PhysNet
http://physnet.uni-oldenburg.de/PhysNet/
The worldwide physics departments and documents network
PSRC Physical Sciences Resource Center
http://physnet.uni-oldenburg.de/PhysNet/
American Association of Physics Teachers
return to top
Professional and Scholarly Organizations
American Association for Physicists in Medicine (AAPM)
http://www.aapm.org/
American Institute of Physics (AIP)
http://www.aip.org/
American Physical Society (APS)
http://www.aps.org/
European Physical Society
http://www.eps.org/
Institute of Physics (IoP)
http://www.ioppublishing.com/
International Association of Mathematical Physics (IAMP)
http://www.iamp.org/
International Centre for Theoretical Physics (ICTP)
http://www.ictp.it/
International Union of Pure and Applied Physics (IUPAP)
http://www.iupap.org/
Scholarly Societies List
http://www.lib.uwaterloo.ca/society/physics_soc.html
return to top
|